Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “the mould for the salt moulded part contains a negative structure of the salt molded part, and the negative structure abuts the support body (claim 14)” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2 and claim 17, line 1, “claim 0” should be “claim 1” and “claim 16”, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, lines 1 – 3 states “wherein the at least one stator part has a radial strength that the support body interior chamber has interior dimensions after de-moulding that are equivalent to dimensions”. It is unclear if the claim is referring to the at least one stator part having a radial strength that is equivalent to the support body interior chamber or if the claim is referring to the at least one stator part having a radial strength and an interior chamber with the equivalent interior dimensions as the support body interior chamber, thus the claim is rejected. For the purposes of examination, the claim limitation will be construed to the latter. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding Claim 14, lines 5 – 7 states “the mould for the salt moulded part contains a negative structure of the salt molded part, and the negative structure abuts the support body”. It is unclear what the negative structure is in Applicant’s specification and figures thus, the claim is rejected. For the purposes of examination, “the negative structure” will be construed to already being apart of the mould for the salt moulded part. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (US 20180138762 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Jeong et al. discloses an electric motor (rotating electrical machine) (Jeong et al. Para [0035] whole paragraph), comprising:
(a) a one-piece cast electric motor housing (stator support member 100) in which a cooling channel (110) extends, wherein the cooling channel, at least in sections, does not extend in a straight line (Jeong et al. Para [0038] lines 3 – 7),
(b) a housing or housing part (cooling channel wall part 112 of cooling channel 110) is produced entirely from identical casting material (Jeong et al. Para [0039] lines 1 – 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Jeong et al. discloses the electric motor according to claim 18 wherein the channel has a non-round cross-section (Jeong et al. Fig. 1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 – 8, 10 – 12, and 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (KR 102055746 B1) in view of Song (KR 20160047809 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoo discloses a method for producing an electric motor housing (Yoo et al. abstract), comprising:
(a) positioning at least one stator part (300) in a support body interior chamber (of inner support 150) of a support body (of motor housing 100) (Yoo Para [0047] lines 5 – 7),
(b) arranging a casting core (600a) on the support body (Yoo Para [0047] lines 1 – 4).
Yoo does not disclose:
(c) casting liquid metal around the support body and the casting core to produce in a torque-proof connection between the at least one stator part and a casting as a result of solidification of the liquid metal.
Yoo and Song structurally disclose:
(c) casting liquid metal around the support body and the casting core (of Yoo Para [0036] lines 1 – 4 discloses a molten metal is used during high-pressure die casting around the motor housing and core) to produce in a torque-proof connection between the at least one stator part (200_1) and a casting (100_1) as a result of solidification of the liquid metal (of Song Para [0054] whole paragraph).
Yoo and Song disclose casting therefore, Song constitutes as prior art. Song discloses a manufacturing method for a motor housing utilizing casting wherein the motor housing is integrated to the stator core upon solidification. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have casting liquid metal around the support body and the casting core to produce in a torque-proof connection between the at least one stator part and a casting as a result of solidification of the liquid metal of structurally disclosed Yoo and Song for the purpose of securing the motor housing to the stator.
Regarding Claim 3, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 1.
Yoo does not disclose:
wherein casting the liquid metal is done at an injection pressure that causes the support body to deform radially inwards,
and/or the injection pressure of the liquid metal during casting and/or a densification pressure of the liquid metal during solidification is selected such that the torque-proof connection forms between the at least one stator part and the casting core.
Yoo and Song structurally disclose:
wherein casting the liquid metal is done at an injection pressure that causes the support body to deform radially inwards,
and/or the injection pressure of the liquid metal during casting (of Yoo Para [0036] lines 1 – 4 discloses casting is done a high-injection pressure) and/or a densification pressure of the liquid metal during solidification is selected such that the torque-proof connection forms between the at least one stator part and the casting core (300_1) (of Song Para [0054] whole paragraph).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein casting the liquid metal is done at an injection pressure that causes the support body to deform radially inwards, and/or the injection pressure of the liquid metal during casting and/or a densification pressure of the liquid metal during solidification is selected such that the torque-proof connection forms between the at least one stator part and the casting core of structurally disclosed Yoo and Song for the purpose of securing the at least one stator part to the casting core.
Regarding Claim 5, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 1.
Yoo does not disclose:
wherein the at least one stator part is fixed in the casting mould.
Song discloses:
wherein the at least one stator part is fixed in the casting mould (Song Fig. 4).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one stator part is fixed in the casting mould for the purpose of integrating the stator to the casting of the support member.
Regarding Claim 7, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 1 wherein the at least one stator part is not permanently connected to the support body prior to casting the liquid metal around the support body (Yoo Para [0047] lines 5 – 7 disclose stator 300 is fitted into internal support 150 before high-pressure die casting).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to according to claim 1 wherein the casting core comprises a salt moulded part or a pipe with a salt core (Yoo Para [0036] whole paragraph discloses the casting core can be formed of a filler such as salt),
and further comprising dissolving the salt moulded part or the salt core so as to produce a channel (Yoo Para [0054] whole paragraph discloses the filler can be removed to create a cooling channel).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoo and Song discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the casting core is supported during casting by the support body (Yoo Para [0052] whole paragraph).
Regarding Claim 11, Yoo and Song discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the support body has a cylindrical lateral surface at least in sections (Yoo Fig. 1), and/or the liquid metal is cast around or onto the support body and/or the torque proof connection encloses the support body in a spiral shape at least in sections.
Regarding Claim 12, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
introducing salt or a salt mixture in liquid form into a mould for a salt moulded part that encloses the support body (Yoo Para [0036] whole paragraph discloses salt is used as a filler in a mold for a salt core embedded in the motor housing 100), the salt or salt mixture coming into contact with the support body so that the salt moulded part rests against the support body (Yoo Para [0036] whole paragraph),
collectively de-moulding the salt moulded part and the support body (Yoo Para [0054] whole paragraph),
arranging the salt moulded part and the support body in a casting mould, wherein the salt moulded part is not separated from the support body until arrangement in the casting mould (Yoo Para [0052] whole paragraph).
Regarding Claim 14, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 12, wherein the mould for the salt moulded part encloses or contains the support body (Yoo Para [0036] whole paragraph discloses salt is used as a filler in a mold for a salt core embedded in the motor housing 100),
the mould for the salt moulded part contains a negative structure of the salt moulded part (Yoo Para [0036] whole paragraph discloses salt is used as a filler in a mold for a salt core embedded in the motor housing 100),
and the negative structure abuts the support body so that the salt or the salt mixture comes into contact with the support body (Yoo Para [0036] whole paragraph discloses salt is used as a filler in a mold for a salt core embedded in the motor housing 100).
Regarding Claim 15, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
(a) inserting a rotor (400) into a housing (motor housing 100) (Yoo Fig. 7), and/or
(b) connecting a channel to a first connection and a second connection so that a fluid is conductable through the first connection into the channel and out of the channel by the second connection.
Claims 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Song and further in view of Jeong et al.
Regarding Claim 2, Yoo and Song discloses the method according to claim 1.
Yoo and Song do not disclose:
wherein the support body is arranged in a casting mould such that the support body interior chamber of the support body is sealed against the casting mould,
and casting the liquid metal is done such that no liquid metal enters the support body interior chamber.
Jeong et al. discloses:
wherein the support body (stator support member 100) is arranged in a casting mould (core mold 310) such that the support body interior chamber of the support body is sealed against the casting mould (Jeong et al. Fig. 2A),
and casting the liquid metal is done such that no liquid metal enters the support body interior chamber (Jeong et al. Fig. 2A).
Yoo, Song, and Jeong et al. disclose casting therefore, Jeong et al. constitutes as prior art. Jeong et al. discloses a casting of stator support member using a casting mold. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the support body is arranged in a casting mould such that the support body interior chamber of the support body is sealed against the casting mould, and casting the liquid metal is done such that no liquid metal enters the support body interior chamber of Jeong et al. for the purpose of protecting the inner components of the at least one stator part after casting has been solidified in producing the electric motor housing.
Regarding Claim 4, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 1.
Yoo and Song do not disclose:
further comprising: after arranging the support body in the casting mould, closing the casting mould by moving at least two mould parts towards each other,
wherein when the at least two mould parts are moved towards each other, the support body is sealed against the casting mould.
Jeong et al. discloses:
further comprising: after arranging the support body (stator support member 100) in the casting mould (core mold 310), closing the casting mould by moving at least two mould parts (upper die 311 and lower die 312) towards each other (Jeong et al. Fig. 3B),
wherein when the at least two mould parts are moved towards each other, the support body is sealed against the casting mould (Jeong et al. Fig. 3B).
Yoo, Song, and Jeong et al. disclose casting therefore, Jeong et al. constitutes as prior art. Jeong et al. discloses a casting of stator support member using a core mold. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprise after arranging the support body in the casting mould, closing the casting mould by moving at least two mould parts towards each other and wherein when the at least two mould parts are moved towards each other, the support body is sealed against the casting mould of Jeong et al. for the purpose of having a precise structure for the support body.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Song and further in view of Schwanemann et al. (WO 2019206380 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 1.
Yoo and Song do not disclose:
wherein the interior dimensions of the support body interior chamber are equivalent to dimensions present after de-moulding and positioning in the support body.
Schwanemann et al. discloses:
wherein the interior dimensions of the support body interior chamber are equivalent to dimensions present after de-moulding (removal of the die-casting mould 20) and positioning in the support body (housing 10) (Schwanemann et al. Fig. 12 discloses that the housing 10 has the same dimensions when the die-casting mold 20 is removed such that the interior space of the housing is also the same).
Yoo, Song, and Schwanemann et al. disclose a casting mold therefore, Schwanemann et al. constitute prior art. Schwanemann et al. discloses a die-casting mold forming a motor housing that has equivalent dimensions after the demolding od the die-casting mold. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the interior dimensions of the support body interior chamber are equivalent to dimensions present after de-moulding and positioning in the support body of Schwanemann et al. for the purpose of preventing distortions and warping of the support body casting structure.
Regarding Claim 9, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 1.
Yoo and Song do not disclose:
wherein the at least one stator part has a stator part projection and/or a stator part recess on a stator part outer side, and wherein the support body has a support body recess on a support body inner side, said support body recess forming a form-fit connection with the stator part projection and/or the support body projection which forms a form-fit connection with the stator part recess, and/or the at least one stator part has a stator part projection and/or a stator part recess on at least one stator part end face, and the support body has a support body recess on a support body inner side, said support body recess forming a form-fit connection with the stator part projection and/or a support body projection which forms a form-fit connection with the stator part recess.
Schwanemann et al. discloses:
wherein the at least one stator part (2) has a stator part projection (plurality of teeth 14) and/or a stator part recess on a stator part outer side, and wherein the support body (housing 10) has a support body recess (recess of wall 9) on a support body inner side (wall 9 of housing 10) (Schwanemann et al. Fig. 8), said support body recess forming a form-fit connection with the stator part projection (Schwanemann et al. Para [0017] whole paragraph discloses the stator and the housing can form a shrink fit) and/or the support body projection which forms a form-fit connection with the stator part recess, and/or the at least one stator part has a stator part projection and/or a stator part recess on at least one stator part end face, and the support body has a support body recess on a support body inner side, said support body recess forming a form-fit connection with the stator part projection and/or a support body projection which forms a form-fit connection with the stator part recess.
Yoo, Song, and Schwanemann et al. disclose a stator and a housing therefore, Schwanemann et al. constitute prior art. Schwanemann et al. discloses a form-fitting connection such as shrink fitting between a stator with projections and housing with recesses. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one stator part has a stator part projection and/or a stator part recess on a stator part outer side, and wherein the support body has a support body recess on a support body inner side, said support body recess forming a form-fit connection with the stator part projection and/or the support body projection which forms a form-fit connection with the stator part recess, and/or the at least one stator part has a stator part projection and/or a stator part recess on at least one stator part end face, and the support body has a support body recess on a support body inner side, said support body recess forming a form-fit connection with the stator part projection and/or a support body projection which forms a form-fit connection with the stator part recess of Schwanemann et al. for the purpose of securing the stator to the support body.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Song and further in view of Schneider et al. (DE 102014221358 A1)
Regarding Claim 13, Yoo and Song disclose the method according to claim 12.
Yoo and Song do not disclose:
wherein the introduction of the salt or the salt mixture into the mould for the salt moulded part is a core shooting of the salt or the salt mixture into a core-shooting mould, and/or the salt or the salt mixture contains soluble glass.
Schneider et al. discloses:
wherein the introduction of the salt or the salt mixture into the mould for the salt moulded part is a core shooting of the salt or the salt mixture into a core-shooting mould (Schneider et al. Para [0013] whole paragraph), and/or the salt or the salt mixture contains soluble glass.
Yoo, Song, and Schneider et al. discloses casting therefore, Schneider et al. constitutes prior art. Schneider et al. discloses a casting involving a salt core that uses a core shooting process. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the introduction of the salt or the salt mixture into the mould for the salt moulded part is a core shooting of the salt or the salt mixture into a core-shooting mould, and/or the salt or the salt mixture contains soluble glass of Schneider et al. for the purpose of producing an efficient and precise salt core for a casting of a support body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 – 17 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 16, the prior art does not anticipate or render obvious a cast production system for producing an electric motor housing comprising: (a) a salt moulded part production machine for producing a salt moulded part that comprises (i) a mould for a salt moulded part, (ii) an insertion device designed to automatically enclose a support body and introduce a salt or a salt mixture in liquid form into the mould for the salt moulded part so that the salt or salt mixture comes into contact with the support body, and (iii) a de-moulding device for de-moulding the salt moulded part resulting in a pre-blank, (b) an injection moulding machine for injection moulding metal around the salt moulded part resulting in a blank, wherein the injection moulding machine comprises an injection mould configured to enclose the support body, and (c) a salt moulded part removal device for dissolving the salt moulded part resulting in the electric motor housing is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 17, it is allowed as being dependent on allowed claim 16.
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834