DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 2013 March 16, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2023 August 17 was filed before the mailing date of the 2024 January 18. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
FIG. 7A — Reference numeral 710 is labeled "HOUSING" in the figure, but ¶[0072] refers to the housing of the sound input unit as housing 770.
FIG. 7A — Reference numeral 71B appears in FIG. 7A with label "PROCESSING UNIT," but the spec at ¶[0074] uses "processing unit 718."
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A title that reflects the inventive concept of this particular Electromagnetic Transducer Charging method, that separates it from other electromagnetic transducer charging methods.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 — "wherein the coil is configured receive": the particle "to" is missing before "receive".
Claim 31 — "selectively tuning the coil to resonant": the word "resonant" should be "resonate" (verb form).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 7, 17 – 19, 25 – 27, 30 – 33, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TERLIZZI (US 2014/0241555 A1).
In re claim 1, TERLIZZI discloses an apparatus (device 10), comprising: at least one rechargeable battery (battery 110); an electromagnetic transducer (speaker 26) comprising a coil (inductor 52); and battery charging circuitry (wireless charging circuitry 114) electrically connected to the at least one rechargeable battery (routes DC power to battery 110) and the coil (coupled to inductor 52 at terminals 78 and 80).
In re claims 2 and 3, TERLIZZI discloses wherein the coil is configured to receive an electromagnetic field that induces current flow in the coil (AC current induced in inductor 52 by wireless signals 40), wherein the battery charging circuitry is configured to use the current flow in the coil to charge the at least one rechargeable battery (power management circuitry 102 converts AC power received by inductor 52 to DC power, routes DC power to battery 110), and wherein the battery charging circuitry comprises a rectifier (power management circuitry 102; rectification is inherent to AC-to-DC conversion as the mechanism by which alternating current is converted to unidirectional current).
In re claim 5, TERLIZZI discloses further comprising an amplifier (output driver 82) configured to deliver amplified output signals to the electromagnetic transducer (outputs drive signals across terminals 78 and 80 of inductor 52 in speaker 26).
In re claims 6, 7, and 33, TERLIZZI discloses wherein the battery charging circuitry comprises a rectifier and a blocking module (switch 106) connected between the rectifier and the coil (switch 106 is interposed between the wireless charging circuitry 114 and inductor 52), wherein the blocking module comprises one or more switches configured to be selectively opened or closed to prevent the amplified output signals from reaching the rectifier or one or more filters configured to prevent the amplified output signals from reaching the rectifier (switch 106 placed in open or closed state via control line 108; open state decouples charging circuitry 114 from inductor 52).
In re claim 17, TERLIZZI discloses a system (system 18) comprising the apparatus of claim 1, and an inductive charger (wireless charging equipment 34) configured to induce current flow in the coil (generates wireless signals 40 via inductor 38 through resonant inductive coupling, inducing AC current in inductor 52), and wherein the battery charging circuitry is configured to use the current flow in the coil to charge the at least one rechargeable battery (converts AC power received by inductor 52 to DC; routes DC power to battery 110).
In re claims 18 and 19, TERLIZZI discloses wherein the inductive charger comprises a charger coil configured to generate, external to the apparatus, an electromagnetic field that induces the current flow in the coil (inductor 38 is in external wireless charging equipment 34, separate from device 10; wireless signals 40 generated by inductor 38; resonant inductive coupling between inductor 38 and inductor 52 induces AC current in inductor 52), and wherein the inductive charger is configured to direct the electromagnetic field to the coil (wireless charging equipment 34 directs wireless signals 40 to inductor 52 in device 10).
In re claim 25, TERLIZZI discloses a method, comprising: generating, with an electromagnetic transducer comprising a coil, vibration signals (¶[0042], [0046]: vibrator control signals (square wave at 20–500 Hz)) for delivery to a recipient of an apparatus (user of device 10 perceives mechanical vibration produced by speaker 26 in vibrator); receiving inductive charging signals via the coil (¶[0025], [0038]: inductor 52 receives wireless signals 40 from inductor 38 of wireless charging equipment 34 through resonant inductive coupling); and charging at least one rechargeable battery of the apparatus with the inductive charging signals received via the coil (¶[0039]: power management circuitry 102 converts AC power received by inductor 52 to DC and routes it to battery 110 using current induced in inductor 52 by wireless signals 40).
In re claims 26 and 27, TERLIZZI discloses wherein receiving inductive charging signals via the coil, comprises: receiving, at the coil, an electromagnetic field that induces current flow in the coil (¶[0025], [0038]: AC current induced in inductor 52 via wireless signals 40), the apparatus comprises battery charging circuitry configured to use the current flow in the coil to charge the at least one rechargeable battery (¶[0039]: power management circuitry 102 converts AC power received by inductor 52 to DC and routes it to battery 110), and further comprising: generating the electromagnetic field with a charger coil disposed outside of the apparatus (¶[0025]: inductor 38 is in wireless charging equipment 34, external to device 10; generates wireless signals 40).
In re claim 30, TERLIZZI discloses wherein the current flow in the coil comprises alternating current (¶[0025], [0038]: AC current induced in inductor 52), and wherein the method further comprises: rectifying the alternating current with a rectifier in the battery charging circuitry to generate a direct current output (¶[0039]:power management circuitry 102 inherently rectifies wireless signals 40 to convert to DC power).
In re claim 31, TERLIZZI discloses selectively tuning the coil (coupling capacitor 104 to inductor 52 via switch 106 to form tuned LC circuit) to resonate at a predetermined resonant frequency (¶[0021]: system 18 uses resonant inductive coupling at a designated frequency) while receiving the inductive charging signals (switch 106 is closed during wireless charging mode, selectively establishing the resonant LC).
In re claim 32, TERLIZZI discloses wherein generating the vibration signals for delivery to a recipient of an apparatus, comprises: generating amplified output signals at an amplifier of the apparatus (¶[0042]: driver 82 produces output drive signals on lines 84 and 86); and delivering the amplified output signals to the coil (¶[0042]: driver 82 drives output signals across terminals 78 and 80 of inductor 52).
In re claim 40, TERLIZZI discloses sending charging control signals from the apparatus to an external charger, wherein the external charger initiates generation of the inductive charging signals. (¶[0030]: "Wireless signals 40 may be used to transmit power from wireless charging equipment 34 to device 10 and may, if desired, be used in transferring unidirectional or bidirectional data between device 10 and equipment 34").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TERLIZZI (US 2014/0241555 A1), and further in view of ZINK et al. (US 2002/0113572 A1).
In re claim 4, TERLIZZI is silent to wherein the battery charging circuitry further comprises a tuning network connected between the rectifier and the coil.
ZINK discloses wherein the battery charging circuitry further comprises a tuning network (¶[0026], [0037]: tuned resonance circuit comprising coil 13/52 & capacitor 14/54) connected between the rectifier and the coil (tuning capacitor interposed between receiving coil and regulated charging circuit (rectifier) in the charging signal path).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to incorporate ZINK's tuned resonance circuit into TERLIZZI's wireless charging system, between the rectifier and coil, to improve energy transfer efficiency between the external charger and the receiving coil through resonant matching.
Claim(s) 9 – 11, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TERLIZZI (US 2014/0241555 A1), and further in view of BLUM et al. (US 2017/0127196 A1).
In re claim 9, TERLIZZI is silent to wherein the one or more filters comprise one or more high-pass filters (HPF).
BLUM discloses wherein the one or more filters comprise one or more high-pass filters (FIG. 33, ¶[0261]).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to substitute or add BLUM's filter-based switching circuit in place of or alongside TERLIZZI's mechanical switch to reduce the risk of interference between audio and power functions that share the same telecoil.
In re claims 10, 11, and 37, TERLIZZI does not expressly disclose wherein the blocking module comprises one or more switches configured to be selectively opened or closed to prevent the inductive charging signals from reaching the amplifier or one or more filters configured to prevent the inductive charging signals from reaching the amplifier.
BLUM discloses wherein the blocking module comprises one or more switches (switching circuit 3242, filters 3244) configured to be selectively opened or closed to prevent the inductive charging signals from reaching the amplifier or one or more filters configured to prevent the inductive charging signals from reaching the amplifier (¶[0261]: low-pass filter (LPF) in switching circuit 3242 attenuates F2 (wireless power transfer (WPT)) signals above audio frequency range, preventing those signals from coupling to audio processing circuitry 3204 and amplifier 3205; ¶[0292]: HPF decouples above-audio-frequency signals from audio processing circuitry so interference with audio function is avoided).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to substitute or add BLUM's filter-based switching circuit in place of or alongside TERLIZZI's mechanical switch to reduce the risk of interference between audio and power functions that share the same telecoil.
Claim(s) 13, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TERLIZZI (US 2014/0241555 A1), and further in view of BRZEZINSKI et al. (US 2018/0064224 A1).
In re claim 13, TERLIZZI discloses wherein the apparatus comprises a housing (housing 12).
TERLIZZI is silent to one or more magnetically conductive elements disposed between the electromagnetic transducer and the housing, wherein the one or more magnetically conductive elements are configured to forward externally-generated electromagnetic fields to the electromagnetic transducer.
BRZEZINSKI discloses one or more magnetically conductive elements (ferrite plate 1108) disposed between the electromagnetic transducer and the housing (ferrite plate 1108 positioned between receiver coil 1102 and insert housing 1110), wherein the one or more magnetically conductive elements are configured to forward externally-generated electromagnetic fields to the electromagnetic transducer (¶[0065]: ferrite plate 1108 "pulls the flux towards it," actively concentrating and directing external magnetic flux toward receiver coil 1102).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate BRZEZINSKI's ferrite plate between the receiver coil and the device housing in TERLIZZI's wireless charging system to improve wireless charging efficiency by concentrating external magnetic flux toward the receiving coil.
In re claim 21, TERLIZZI is silent to wherein the inductive charger comprises a charging case comprising a housing configured to enclose the apparatus therein.
BRZEZINSKI discloses wherein the inductive charger comprises a charging case (case 720) comprising a housing (housing 105) configured to enclose the apparatus therein (housing 105 defines interior space to receive portable listening devices).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to configure TERLIZZI's wireless charging system with a charging case enclosure as taught by BRZEZINSKI, to provide convenient storage and concurrent wireless charging of the apparatus in a single housing.
Claim(s) 20, 28 – 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TERLIZZI (US 2014/0241555 A1), and further in view of ARNOLD et al. (WO 2012/071088 A1).
In re claim 20, TERLIZZI is silent to wherein the inductive charger is configured to vibrate the apparatus at a selected frequency to cause magnetic components in the apparatus to generate an electromagnetic field that induces the current flow in the coil.
ARNOLD discloses wherein the inductive charger is configured to vibrate the apparatus at a selected frequency (p. 11, ll. 13–21: transmitting coil 51 generating alternating magnetic field at selected frequency) to cause magnetic components in the apparatus to generate an electromagnetic field (p. 12, ll. 13–19: alternating field from coil 51 excites magnet 53 into mechanical resonance) that induces the current flow in the coil (p. 12, ll. 23–25: vibrating magnet 53 induces voltage/current in receiving coil 52).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate ARNOLD's electrodynamic coupling mechanism into TERLIZZI's wireless charging apparatus, to achieve safer, lower-frequency wireless power delivery by leveraging mechanical resonance rather than high-frequency inductive coupling.
In re claim 28 and 29, TERLIZZI is silent to generating the electromagnetic field with the electromagnetic transducer inside the apparatus, wherein the electromagnetic transducer comprises one or more magnetic components, and wherein generating the electromagnetic field with the electromagnetic transducer comprises: vibrating the one or more magnetic components via an externally applied vibration, where vibration of the one or more magnetic components generates the electromagnetic field.
ARNOLD discloses generating the electromagnetic field with the electromagnetic (EM) transducer inside the apparatus (p. 12, ll. 13–14: "The combined receiving coil and magnet form an electrodynamic transducer"; p. 12, ll. 23–25: vibrating magnet 53 generates oscillating EM field inside the receiver), wherein the electromagnetic transducer comprises one or more magnetic components (magnet 53), and wherein generating the electromagnetic field with the electromagnetic transducer comprises: vibrating the one or more magnetic components via an externally applied vibration, where vibration of the one or more magnetic components generates the electromagnetic field (Abstract; p. 11, ll. 13–21, p. 12, ll. 23–25: alternating magnetic field from transmitting coil 51 applies magnetic force to magnet 53, exciting it into mechanical resonance; source of the EM field that induces current in receiving coil 52).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate ARNOLD's electrodynamic coupling mechanism into TERLIZZI's wireless charging apparatus, to achieve safer, lower-frequency wireless power delivery by leveraging mechanical resonance rather than high-frequency inductive coupling.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TERLIZZI (US 2014/0241555 A1), and further in view of MESKENS (US 2015/0375003 A1).
In re claim 24, TERLIZZI is silent to wherein the apparatus is an implantable medical device configured to be implanted in a recipient, and wherein the inductive charger is configured to be worn by the recipient.
MESKENS discloses wherein the apparatus is an implantable medical device (implantable component 104) configured to be implanted in a recipient (implantable component 104 is positioned below a recipient's skin), and wherein the inductive charger (wireless charger 110) is configured to be worn by the recipient (Claims 8, 9).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply TERLIZZI's shared-inductor wireless charging architecture to an implantable medical device system as taught by MESKENS, to provide portable power charging of the implantable device via a charger worn by the recipient, eliminating the need for repeated surgical access to recharge an implanted power supply.
Conclusion
/D. JOHANN DJANAL-MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859