DETAILED ACTION
1. The office Action is in response to RCE filed on 09/30/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 4.
Status of Claims
5. In the RCE amendment 09/30/2025, claims 11-14, 16 and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 9 and 15 have been canceled. Claims 21-22 added. Accordingly, claims 1-8, 10-14 and 16- 22 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application 18546859 filed on 08/17/2023.
Priority # Filling Data Country
2101633 2021-02-19 FR
7. Response to Remarks
Applicant’s Remarks filed on 09/30/2025, pages 8-10 have been fully considered.
Applicant does not argue the rejection in the final rejection 06/30/2025. In the advisory action, examiner suggested to clarify the definition of “pixel-by-pixels basis”; claim 17, reads as: “wherein said determining is performed pixel by pixel for each pixel of said at least one current set of pixels”; however, the prior arts KIMURA discloses the limitation in page 57 as: “, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel”. If the pixel-by-pixel basis has different meaning, applicants are encouraged to further clarify it.
Applicant has added claim 21/22 from Fig. 5D/5E; examiner acknowledge that there are some allowable subject matter there and indicate that in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-6, 10, 17-18 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIMURA et al. (JP H11136523) and in view of LEE (WO 2018117706) and further in view of LI et al. (TW 201715891).
Regarding claim 1, KIMURA teaches a determination method (fig. 10) implemented by a determination device (fig. 4; page 10, … FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the flow of the mode determining operation of the mode determining unit 2 and the encoding operation executed based on the result of the determination mode determination) and comprising,
for at least one current set of pixels (fig. 10; page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel) :
determining at least one encoding mode, or respectively a decoding mode, for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels, from among at least two encoding modes, or respectively at least two decoding modes (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; there are at least two modes, as suggested in page 5, …Conventional Example 3. Further, as a conventional encoding device and a conventional decoding device, for example, by switching between two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel),
wherein said at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least one reference set of pixels that has already been decoded (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; page 93, …and a specific encoding mode based on a value of the reference pixel from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance).
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels.
LEE discloses of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 21; page 2, … a motion compensation method for a block being decoded may be variably determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included; the displacement of at least one reference set of pixels also determines the mode, as suggested in page 4, …the motion information includes a motion vector for specifying a position of the reference block within the reference face, and whether the current face and the reference face are the same. Accordingly, the start position of the motion vector can be adaptively determined…when the current face and the reference face are the same, the motion vector is the reference block from a corresponding position block corresponding to the position of the current block in the reference picture. Coordinate difference up to In the video signal encoding / decoding method and apparatus according to the present invention, when the current face and the reference face are different, the motion vector may indicate a coordinate difference from the reference position in the reference face to the reference block; in which, coordinate difference is the displacement;
` In addition, Lee also discloses that in fig. 17/18. Motion compensation method can be interpreted as one coding mode, which is determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included (page 2); As showed in fig. 17 and fig. 18, the difference between positions of a face in a current picture and its reference picture is the displacement).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels as a modification to the method for the benefit of that improving encoding / decoding efficiency since the coding mode can be determined by information of reference blocks by using Lee’s method (page 3).
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of outputting the at least one encoding mode, or respectively the at least one decoding mode.
LI discloses of outputting the at least one encoding mode, or respectively the at least one decoding mode (fig. 5; page 19, … Mode selection unit 40 also provides syntax elements (such as motion vectors, in-frame mode indicators, partition information, and other such syntax information) to entropy encoding unit).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that outputting the at least one encoding mode, or respectively the at least one decoding mode as a modification to the method for the benefit of that providing encoding/decoding mode information (page 19).
Regarding claim 10, KIMURA teaches a non-transitory computer-readable information medium comprising instructions of a computer program stored thereon which when executed (page 66, …. , the function of each component may be realized by software. Alternatively, it may be realized by firmware. Alternatively, it may be realized by a combination of these. Alternatively, all or some of the functions may be realized in a form integrated on one semiconductor chip) by at least one processor (fig. 4, 101/102); of a determination device (fig. 4) configure the determination device to execute a method (fig. 10; page 10, … FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the flow of the mode determining operation of the mode determining unit 2 and the encoding operation executed based on the result of the determination mode determination) comprising:
for at least one current set of pixels (fig. 10; page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel) :
determining at least one encoding mode, or respectively a decoding mode, for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels, from among at least two encoding modes, or respectively at least two decoding modes (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; there are at least two modes, as suggested in page 5, …Conventional Example 3. Further, as a conventional encoding device and a conventional decoding device, for example, by switching between two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel),
wherein said at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least one reference set of pixels that has already been decoded (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; page 93, …and a specific encoding mode based on a value of the reference pixel from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance).
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels.
LEE discloses of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 21; page 2, … a motion compensation method for a block being decoded may be variably determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included; the displacement of at least one reference set of pixels also determines the mode, as suggested in page 4, …the motion information includes a motion vector for specifying a position of the reference block within the reference face, and whether the current face and the reference face are the same. Accordingly, the start position of the motion vector can be adaptively determined…when the current face and the reference face are the same, the motion vector is the reference block from a corresponding position block corresponding to the position of the current block in the reference picture. Coordinate difference up to In the video signal encoding / decoding method and apparatus according to the present invention, when the current face and the reference face are different, the motion vector may indicate a coordinate difference from the reference position in the reference face to the reference block; in which, coordinate difference is the displacement;
` In addition, Lee also discloses that in fig. 17/18. Motion compensation method can be interpreted as one coding mode, which is determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included (page 2); As showed in fig. 17 and fig. 18, the difference between positions of a face in a current picture and its reference picture is the displacement).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels as a modification to the non-transitory computer-readable information medium for the benefit of that improving encoding / decoding efficiency since the coding mode can be determined by information of reference blocks by using Lee’s method (page 3).
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of outputting the at least one encoding mode, or respectively the at least one decoding mode.
LI discloses of outputting the at least one encoding mode, or respectively the at least one decoding mode (fig. 5; page 19, … Mode selection unit 40 also provides syntax elements (such as motion vectors, in-frame mode indicators, partition information, and other such syntax information) to entropy encoding unit).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that outputting the at least one encoding mode, or respectively the at least one decoding mode as a modification to the non-transitory computer-readable information medium for the benefit of that providing encoding/decoding mode information (page 19).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of KIMURA, LEE and LI teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, LI further discloses that wherein the analysis of at least one reference set of pixels implements motion estimation or filtering of said at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 5, 42, 44, 46; page 27, …. Video encoder 20 (in particular, motion estimation unit 42 of FIG. 5) may further calculate motion vectors for the tiles based on bi-directional prediction (174)).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of KIMURA, LEE and LI teaches the limitations recited in claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, LI further discloses that wherein the motion estimation comprises optical flow motion estimation (fig. 7, 184; page 29, … Determining the first time distance from the current image to the first reference image (TD) .sub.0 Determining a second time distance from the current image to the second reference image (TD) .sub.1 ); and use MV .sub.0 MV .sub.1 TD .sub.0 And TD .sub.1 The current block is encoded according to the bidirectional optical flow).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of KIMURA, LEE and LI teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, LI further discloses that wherein a single mode from among said at least two modes is determined for at least one pixel of the current set of pixels, and a single mode from among said at least two modes is determined for at least one other pixel of the current set of pixels, the determination of one or the other mode varying from said at least one pixel to at least one other pixel of said set (fig. 5; page 5, … modify the motion vector on a per-pixel basis for the current block …; page 9, …the video codec determines each pixel modification of the motion vector for the current block, and constructs the reference block such that the reference block includes reference pixels identified by the motion vector and corresponding to the current block. Each pixel of the pixel is modified; page 21, …Motion compensation unit 44 may derive the reliability of the motion vector for the pixel by analyzing the relationship of the BIO motion of a pixel to the BIO motion of neighboring pixels of the pixel. For example, when one or more deviations between BIO motion for the current pixel and BIO motion for neighboring pixels of the current pixel are large, motion compensation unit 44 may determine that the BIO motion for the current pixel is reliable…; which means a single mode from among said at least two modes is determined for at least one pixel of the current set of pixels, and a single mode from among said at least two modes is determined for at least one other pixel of the current set of pixels, the determination of one or the other mode varying from said at least one pixel to at least one other pixel of said set).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KIMURA, LEE and LI teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, LI further discloses that wherein the at least two modes are determined in combination for at least one pixel of the current set of pixels (as shown in fig..5 or fig. 6; page 21, …Motion compensation unit 44 may derive the reliability of the motion vector for the pixel by analyzing the relationship of the BIO motion of a pixel to the BIO motion of neighboring pixels of the pixel. For example, when one or more deviations between BIO motion for the current pixel and BIO motion for neighboring pixels of the current pixel are large, motion compensation unit 44 may determine that the BIO motion for the current pixel is reliable).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KIMURA, LEE and LI teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, LI further discloses that wherein the determination of said at least one mode is modified by a modification parameter that results from joint analysis of the current set of pixels and of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 5; page 18-19, … The mode selection unit 40 in turn includes a motion compensation unit 44, a motion estimation unit 42, an in-frame prediction unit 46, and a segmentation unit 48… video encoder 20 receives the video frame or block to be written. The frame or block can be divided into multiple video blocks. Motion estimation unit 42 and motion compensation unit 44 perform inter-frame predictive coding of the received video block relative to one or more blocks in one or more reference frames to provide temporal prediction. In-frame prediction unit 46 may instead in-frame predict the received video block to provide spatial prediction using pixels of one or more adjacent blocks in the same frame… Mode selection unit 40 may select one of an in-frame prediction mode or an inter-frame prediction mode (eg, based on an erroneous result) and provide the resulting predicted block to summer 50 to generate residual data; which is joint analysis of the current set of pixels and of at least one reference set of pixels).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of KIMURA, LEE and LI teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, KIMURA further discloses that wherein said determining is performed pixel by pixel for each pixel of said at least one current set of pixels (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of KIMURA, LEE and LI teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, KIMURA further discloses that wherein the at least one current set of pixels belongs to a current image (fig. 55, the camera 325 provide current image with current set of pixels; page 67, … FIG. FIG. 53 is a diagram illustrating an imaging device (digital camera) according to an embodiment of the image processing device of the present invention, and is a diagram illustrating a configuration example of a digital camera 600 that records a still image);
and wherein the at least one encoding mode, or respectively decoding mode, determined for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels is not signaled in a data stream representative of the current image (page 20, … from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance, based on the value taken by the reference pixel, for the encoded pixel, one of a specific encoding mode and the other encoding mode A mode determination step of selecting
A; in which, when mode A is selected based on reference pixel and it is not signaled in data stream ).
10. Claims 7, 11-14, 16, 19-20 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIMURA et al. (JP H11136523) and in view of LEE (WO 2018117706).
Regarding claim 7, KIMURA teaches a determination device (fig. 4) for determining at least one encoding mode, or respectively at least one decoding mode (fig. 10; page 10, … FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the flow of the mode determining operation of the mode determining unit 2 and the encoding operation executed based on the result of the determination mode determination) and comprising,
for at least one current set of pixels (fig. 10; page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel) :
comprising:
at least one a processor (fig. 4, 101/102);
and at least one processor readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor configures the determination device (page 66, …. , the function of each component may be realized by software. Alternatively, it may be realized by firmware. Alternatively, it may be realized by a combination of these. Alternatively, all or some of the functions may be realized in a form integrated on one semiconductor chip) to:
determining at least one encoding mode, or respectively a decoding mode, for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels, from among at least two encoding modes, or respectively at least two decoding modes (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; there are at least two modes, as suggested in page 5, …Conventional Example 3. Further, as a conventional encoding device and a conventional decoding device, for example, by switching between two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel),
wherein said at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least one reference set of pixels that has already been decoded (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; page 93, …and a specific encoding mode based on a value of the reference pixel from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance).
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels.
LEE discloses of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 21; page 2, … a motion compensation method for a block being decoded may be variably determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included; the displacement of at least one reference set of pixels also determines the mode, as suggested in page 4, …the motion information includes a motion vector for specifying a position of the reference block within the reference face, and whether the current face and the reference face are the same. Accordingly, the start position of the motion vector can be adaptively determined…when the current face and the reference face are the same, the motion vector is the reference block from a corresponding position block corresponding to the position of the current block in the reference picture. Coordinate difference up to In the video signal encoding / decoding method and apparatus according to the present invention, when the current face and the reference face are different, the motion vector may indicate a coordinate difference from the reference position in the reference face to the reference block; in which, coordinate difference is the displacement;
` In addition, Lee also discloses that in fig. 17/18. Motion compensation method can be interpreted as one coding mode, which is determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included (page 2); As showed in fig. 17 and fig. 18, the difference between positions of a face in a current picture and its reference picture is the displacement).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels as a modification to the device for the benefit of that improving encoding / decoding efficiency since the coding mode can be determined by information of reference blocks by using Lee’s method (page 3).
.
Regarding claim 11, KIMURA teaches a method (fig. 10) implemented by an encoding device (fig. 27/fig. 28/fig. 28; page 10, … FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the flow of the mode determining operation of the mode determining unit 2 and the encoding operation executed based on the result of the determination mode determination) and comprising,
For encoding at least one current set of pixels in a data stream (fig. 27/fig. 28/fig. 28; page 57, … FIGS. 27, 28 and 29 show a first encoder 5a, a second encoder 6a, and a third encoder 5a) :
determining at least one encoding mode for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels, from among at least two encoding modes (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; there are at least two modes, as suggested in page 5, …Conventional Example 3. Further, as a conventional encoding device and a conventional decoding device, for example, by switching between two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel),
based on an analysis of at least one reference set of pixels that has already been decoded (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; page 93, …and a specific encoding mode based on a value of the reference pixel from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance);
and encoding the at least one current set of pixels based on the determination of the at least one encoding mode (fig. 4; page 71, … an encoding method corresponding to a plurality of encoding modes is provided, and image information is efficiently encoded or decoded by an encoding method corresponding to the encoding mode);
wherein the at least one encoding mode is not signaled in the data stream (page 5, … two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel; since the coding mode is based on the value of the reference pixel, it is not signaled in the data stream)
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels.
LEE discloses of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 21; page 2, … a motion compensation method for a block being decoded may be variably determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included; the displacement of at least one reference set of pixels also determines the mode, as suggested in page 4, …the motion information includes a motion vector for specifying a position of the reference block within the reference face, and whether the current face and the reference face are the same. Accordingly, the start position of the motion vector can be adaptively determined…when the current face and the reference face are the same, the motion vector is the reference block from a corresponding position block corresponding to the position of the current block in the reference picture. Coordinate difference up to In the video signal encoding / decoding method and apparatus according to the present invention, when the current face and the reference face are different, the motion vector may indicate a coordinate difference from the reference position in the reference face to the reference block; in which, coordinate difference is the displacement;
` In addition, Lee also discloses that in fig. 17/18. Motion compensation method can be interpreted as one coding mode, which is determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included (page 2); As showed in fig. 17 and fig. 18, the difference between positions of a face in a current picture and its reference picture is the displacement).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels as a modification to the method for the benefit of that improving encoding / decoding efficiency since the coding mode can be determined by information of reference blocks by using Lee’s method (page 3).
Regarding claim 12, KIMURA teaches a encoding device (fig. 27-29) for encoding at least one current set of pixels in a data stream (fig. 4; page 10, … FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the flow of the mode determining operation of the mode determining unit 2 and the encoding operation executed based on the result of the determination mode determination; page 72, … FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration example of an encoding device),
comprising:
at least one a processor (fig. 4, 101/102);
and at least one processor readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor configures the encoding device to encode at least one current set of pixels by (page 66, …. , the function of each component may be realized by software. Alternatively, it may be realized by firmware. Alternatively, it may be realized by a combination of these. Alternatively, all or some of the functions may be realized in a form integrated on one semiconductor chip)
determining at least one encoding mode for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels, from among at least two encoding modes (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; there are at least two modes, as suggested in page 5, …Conventional Example 3. Further, as a conventional encoding device and a conventional decoding device, for example, by switching between two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel),
based on an analysis of at least one reference set of pixels that has already been decoded (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; page 93, …and a specific encoding mode based on a value of the reference pixel from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance);
and encoding the at least one current set of pixels based on the determination of the at least one encoding mode (fig. 4; page 71, … an encoding method corresponding to a plurality of encoding modes is provided, and image information is efficiently encoded or decoded by an encoding method corresponding to the encoding mode);
wherein the at least one encoding mode is not signaled in the data stream (page 5, … two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel; since the coding mode is based on the value of the reference pixel, it is not signaled in the data stream)
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels.
LEE discloses of at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 21; page 2, … a motion compensation method for a block being decoded may be variably determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included; the displacement of at least one reference set of pixels also determines the mode, as suggested in page 4, …the motion information includes a motion vector for specifying a position of the reference block within the reference face, and whether the current face and the reference face are the same. Accordingly, the start position of the motion vector can be adaptively determined…when the current face and the reference face are the same, the motion vector is the reference block from a corresponding position block corresponding to the position of the current block in the reference picture. Coordinate difference up to In the video signal encoding / decoding method and apparatus according to the present invention, when the current face and the reference face are different, the motion vector may indicate a coordinate difference from the reference position in the reference face to the reference block; in which, coordinate difference is the displacement;
` In addition, Lee also discloses that in fig. 17/18. Motion compensation method can be interpreted as one coding mode, which is determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included (page 2); As showed in fig. 17 and fig. 18, the difference between positions of a face in a current picture and its reference picture is the displacement).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels as a modification to the method for the benefit of that improving encoding / decoding efficiency since the coding mode can be determined by information of reference blocks by using Lee’s method (page 3).
Regarding claim 13, KIMURA teaches a method (fig. 10) implemented by a decoding device (fig. 13; page 10, … FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the flow of the mode determining operation of the mode determining unit 2 and the encoding operation executed based on the result of the determination mode determination; page 72, … FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration example of a decoding device) and comprising,
or decoding at least one current set of pixels from a data stream (fig. 13; page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel) :
determining at least one decoding mode for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels, from among at least two decoding modes (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; there are at least two modes, as suggested in page 5, …Conventional Example 3. Further, as a conventional encoding device and a conventional decoding device, for example, by switching between two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel; decoding is the reverse process of encoding and there are multiple decoding modes, as suggested in page 83, …a mode determiner (42) for selecting one of a specific decoding mode and another decoding mode for a decoded pixel based on a value taken by a reference pixel from a plurality of predefined decoding modes),
based on an analysis of at least one reference set of pixels that has already been decoded (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; page 93, …and a specific encoding mode based on a value of the reference pixel from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance);
and decoding the at least one current set of pixels based on the determination of the at least one decoding mode (fig. 13; page 83, … a mode determiner (42) for selecting one of a specific decoding mode and another decoding mode for a decoded pixel based on a value taken by a reference pixel from a plurality of predefined decoding modes. A first decoding unit (201) for inputting a code word, predicting the value of a decoded pixel, determining whether the prediction is correct, and decoding the code word into a decoded pixel value based on the determination result);
wherein the at least one decoding mode is not signaled in the data stream (page 5, … two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel; since the coding mode is based on the value of the reference pixel, it is not signaled in the data stream)
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels.
LEE discloses of at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 21; page 2, … a motion compensation method for a block being decoded may be variably determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included; the displacement of at least one reference set of pixels also determines the mode, as suggested in page 4, …the motion information includes a motion vector for specifying a position of the reference block within the reference face, and whether the current face and the reference face are the same. Accordingly, the start position of the motion vector can be adaptively determined…when the current face and the reference face are the same, the motion vector is the reference block from a corresponding position block corresponding to the position of the current block in the reference picture. Coordinate difference up to In the video signal encoding / decoding method and apparatus according to the present invention, when the current face and the reference face are different, the motion vector may indicate a coordinate difference from the reference position in the reference face to the reference block; in which, coordinate difference is the displacement;
` In addition, Lee also discloses that in fig. 17/18. Motion compensation method can be interpreted as one coding mode, which is determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included (page 2); As showed in fig. 17 and fig. 18, the difference between positions of a face in a current picture and its reference picture is the displacement).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels as a modification to the method for the benefit of that improving encoding / decoding efficiency since the coding mode can be determined by information of reference blocks by using Lee’s method (page 3).
Regarding claim 14, KIMURA teaches a decoding device for decoding at least one current set of pixels from a data stream (fig. 13; page 10, … FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the flow of the mode determining operation of the mode determining unit 2 and the encoding operation executed based on the result of the determination mode determination; page 72, … FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration example of a decoding device) and comprising,
at least one a processor (fig. 13, 201/202);
and at least one processor readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor configures the encoding device to encode at least one current set of pixels by (page 66, …. , the function of each component may be realized by software. Alternatively, it may be realized by firmware. Alternatively, it may be realized by a combination of these. Alternatively, all or some of the functions may be realized in a form integrated on one semiconductor chip)
determining at least one decoding mode for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels, from among at least two decoding modes (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; there are at least two modes, as suggested in page 5, …Conventional Example 3. Further, as a conventional encoding device and a conventional decoding device, for example, by switching between two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel; decoding is the reverse process of encoding and there are multiple decoding modes, as suggested in page 83, …a mode determiner (42) for selecting one of a specific decoding mode and another decoding mode for a decoded pixel based on a value taken by a reference pixel from a plurality of predefined decoding modes),
based on an analysis of at least one reference set of pixels that has already been decoded (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; page 93, …and a specific encoding mode based on a value of the reference pixel from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance);
and decoding the at least one current set of pixels based on the determination of the at least one decoding mode (fig. 13; page 83, … a mode determiner (42) for selecting one of a specific decoding mode and another decoding mode for a decoded pixel based on a value taken by a reference pixel from a plurality of predefined decoding modes. A first decoding unit (201) for inputting a code word, predicting the value of a decoded pixel, determining whether the prediction is correct, and decoding the code word into a decoded pixel value based on the determination result);
wherein the at least one decoding mode is not signaled in the data stream (page 5, … two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel; since the coding mode is based on the value of the reference pixel, it is not signaled in the data stream)
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels.
LEE discloses of at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 21; page 2, … a motion compensation method for a block being decoded may be variably determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included; the displacement of at least one reference set of pixels also determines the mode, as suggested in page 4, …the motion information includes a motion vector for specifying a position of the reference block within the reference face, and whether the current face and the reference face are the same. Accordingly, the start position of the motion vector can be adaptively determined…when the current face and the reference face are the same, the motion vector is the reference block from a corresponding position block corresponding to the position of the current block in the reference picture. Coordinate difference up to In the video signal encoding / decoding method and apparatus according to the present invention, when the current face and the reference face are different, the motion vector may indicate a coordinate difference from the reference position in the reference face to the reference block; in which, coordinate difference is the displacement;
` In addition, Lee also discloses that in fig. 17/18. Motion compensation method can be interpreted as one coding mode, which is determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included (page 2); As showed in fig. 17 and fig. 18, the difference between positions of a face in a current picture and its reference picture is the displacement).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels as a modification to the device for the benefit of that improving encoding / decoding efficiency since the coding mode can be determined by information of reference blocks by using Lee’s method (page 3).
Regarding claim 16, KIMURA teaches a non-transitory computer-readable information medium comprising instructions of a computer program stored thereon which when executed (page 66, …. , the function of each component may be realized by software. Alternatively, it may be realized by firmware. Alternatively, it may be realized by a combination of these. Alternatively, all or some of the functions may be realized in a form integrated on one semiconductor chip) by at least one processor (fig. 4, 101/102); of an encoding device (fig. 4) or a decoding device (fig. 13) configure the encoding device or the decoding device to execute a method (fig. 10; page 10, … FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the flow of the mode determining operation of the mode determining unit 2 and the encoding operation executed based on the result of the determination mode determination) comprising:
for at least one current set of pixels (fig. 10; page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel) :
determining at least one encoding mode, or respectively a decoding mode, for at least one pixel of said at least one current set of pixels, from among at least two encoding modes, or respectively at least two decoding modes (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; there are at least two modes, as suggested in page 5, …Conventional Example 3. Further, as a conventional encoding device and a conventional decoding device, for example, by switching between two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel),
wherein said at least one encoding mode, or respectively said at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least one reference set of pixels that has already been decoded (page 57, … The encoding mode can be determined for each pixel only by the state of the reference pixel; page 93, …and a specific encoding mode based on a value of the reference pixel from a plurality of encoding modes defined in advance).
and encoding in a data stream the at least one current set of pixels based on the determination of the at least one encoding mode (fig. 4; page 71, … an encoding method corresponding to a plurality of encoding modes is provided, and image information is efficiently encoded or decoded by an encoding method corresponding to the encoding mode).
or respectfully decoding, from the data stream, the at least one current set of pixels based on the determination of the at least one encoding mode, or respectfully the at least one decoding mode (fig. 13; page 83, … a mode determiner (42) for selecting one of a specific decoding mode and another decoding mode for a decoded pixel based on a value taken by a reference pixel from a plurality of predefined decoding modes. A first decoding unit (201) for inputting a code word, predicting the value of a decoded pixel, determining whether the prediction is correct, and decoding the code word into a decoded pixel value based on the determination result).
wherein the at least one encoding mode, respectfully the at least one decoding mode, is not signaled in the data stream (page 5, … two encoding modes, that is, mode A and mode B, or a decoding mode, by performing a predetermined condition determination on the value of the reference pixel; since the coding mode is based on the value of the reference pixel, it is not signaled in the data stream).
It is noticed that KIMURA does not disclose explicitly of at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels.
LEE discloses of at least one decoding mode, is determined based on an analysis of at least a position and displacement of at least one reference set of pixels (fig. 21; page 2, … a motion compensation method for a block being decoded may be variably determined according to the position of a face in which a reference block is included; the displacement of at least one reference set of pixels al