DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, 8-9, 14 & 29 in the reply filed on 12/18/25 is acknowledged. SEQ ID NO 7 has been elected.
The claims are examined as they read on the elected invention, i.e. the claimed treatment using a DNASE1L2 as defined by SEQ ID NO 7.
Claims 32, 54-55, 57-58, 74, 79, 82, 85, 87 and 89 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/18/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9 & 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0115690 A1 (Neutrolis, Inc.) in view of PG Pubs 2013/0259923 (Bancel0.
Neutrolis discloses a method for treating a subject in need of extracellular DNA degradation [0233]) extracellular chromatin degradation, extracellular trap 'ET' degradation and or neutrophil extracellular trap 'NET' degradation the method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amounts of DNASE1L2 enzyme [0225]. Neutrolis teaches variants of extracellular DNASE enzymes engineered to have advantages in manufacturing, providing for production of the recombinant enzyme suitable for use in therapy. Neutrolis teaches using variants including recombinant D1, D1L1, D1L2, and D1L3 variant comprising one or more amino acid substitutions in cysteine residues or PEGylation of certain residues resulting in reduced intra- and inter-molecular cross-linking via disulfide bridges during protein expression [0013]. Neutrolis also teaches various embodiments, the subject has a disease that is or has been treated with wild-type DNases, including D1 and streptodornase. Such diseases or conditions include thrombosis, stroke, sepsis, lung injury, atherosclerosis, viral infection, sickle cell disease, myocardial infarction, ear infection, wound healing, liver injury, endocarditis, liver infection, pancreatitis, primary graft dysfunction, limb ischemia reperfusion, kidney injury, blood clotting, alum-induced inflammation, hepatorenal injury, pleural exudations, hemothorax, intrabiliary blood clots, post pneumatic anemia, ulcers, otolaryngological conditions, oral infections, minor injuries, sinusitis, post-operative rhinoplasties, infertility, bladder catheter, wound cleaning, skin reaction test, pneumococcal meningitis, gout, leg ulcers, CF, Kartegener's syndrome, asthma, lobar atelectasis, chronic bronchitis, bronchiectasis, lupus, primary ciliary dyskinesia, bronchiolitis, empyema, pleural infections, cancer, dry eyes disease, lower respiratory tract infections, chronic hematomas, Alzheimer's disease, and obstructive pulmonary disease [0240].
Neutolis does not teach wherein the treatment uses a enzyme as defined by SEQ ID NO 7, however it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to use a known DNASE1L2 in the treatment of Neutrolis because the reference teaches that a wide variety of DNASES including many other known variants of DNASE1L2 are useful to treat the claimed disorders. The enzyme as defined by SEQ ID No 7 was not novel at the time the invention was filed as it is disclosed by Bancel as SEQ ID NO 2590 and as such would have been obviously used in the invention of Neutrolis and reasonably be expected to function in a therapeutic manner like the other disclosed DNASE1L2 variants. Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
Conclusion
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657