DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 24, 5, 7-9, are pending and being examined.
Response to Amendment
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0217526 A1 to Pivovar et al. (hereinafter Pivovar) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 08-239395 A to Yoshida et al. (hereinafter Yoshida) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 2053153 A to Deibig et al. (hereinafter Deibig’1) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deibig et al., “Heat-stable polymers. II. Poly(cyclotriphosphazenamide)(polycondensate from 2,2,4,6-tetrakis(dimethylamine)-4,6-dichlorocyclotriphosphazene and aromatic diamines),” Angewandte Makromolekulare Chemie, vol. 25, 179-185, (1972), (hereinafter Deibig’2) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akbas et al., “Synthesis, structural and thermal properties of the hexapyrrolidinocyclotriphosphazenes-based protic molten salts: Antiproliferative effects against HT29, HeLa, and C6 cancer cell lines,” Journal of Molecular Liquids, vol 230, pp. 482-495, (2017), (hereinafter Akbas) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0019396 A1 to Kessler et al. (hereinafter Kessler) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0315786 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter Li) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1-8, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0136185 A1 to Ji et al. (hereinafter Ji) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites wherein the phosphazene bond-containing polymer…comprises: (i) a structure unit (A-1)… or “(ii) a structural unit (A-2) represented by formula (A-2) and a structural formula unit (A-3) represented by the following formula (A-3)…” However, claim 1 appears to require “two or more cyclic-phosphazene structures…” and it is unclear how the above formulas represent the new limitations. It appears that claim 2 should recite a “repeating” or “two or more” structure units. Furthermore, from the Applicant’s specification, it appears that formulas (D-1) to (D-6) are a clearer representation of claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites wherein the phosphazene bond-containing polymer…comprises: (i) a structure unit (A-1)…X1 and X2 are each….a nitrogen-containing group…X1 and X2 are optionally bonded to each other…and the phosphorus atom P or nitrogen atom N in the formula is optionally positively charged…” or “(ii) a structural unit (A-2) represented by formula (A-2) and a structural formula unit (A-3) represented by the following formula (A-3)…” wherein “X1 and X2 are optionally bonded to each other…and the phosphorus atom P or nitrogen atom N in the formula is optionally positively charged.” However, claim 1 states that the phosphazene bond-containing polymer is “cationic” and “having two or more cyclic-phosphazene structures.” It appears that claim 2 states that the cationic charge and cyclic-phosphazene structures are optional requirements and thus, broadens claim 1 and fails to further limit.
From the Applicant’s specification, it appears that formulas (D-1) to (D-6) are a clearer representation of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 106380604 A to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-8, Lin teaches a porous material containing a polycyclotriphosphazene used to filter out iodine. (See abstract). The polycyclotriphosphazene has a repeating structure unit of the formula
, wherein R is
(page 3), which meets the phosphazene bond with a nitrogen-containing group bonded to the phosphorus atom and nitrogen atom with a hydrocarbon group bonded. The above is also a repeating unit of a polymer and thus, would have two more cyclic-phosphazene structures connected after R group. Lin further teaches the above porous material absorbs methyl iodine (page 3 and Examples). The porous material with the absorbed/captured methyl iodine would form the cationic and counter anion as shown by the Applicant’s examples.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benson et al., “Cyclophosphazenes tethered together via N-ring centres with ortho-, meta- and para-xylylene linkers,” Journal of Organometallic Chemistry, vol. 692, pp. 2768–2772 (2007). (hereinafter Benson).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, Benson teaches the formulas
and
, (page 2769), which meets the claimed cationic phosphazine-bond containing polymer having two cyclic-phosphazene structures, wherein a nitrogen atom is bonded to a hydrocarbon group and a counter anion. Benson teaches the above has uses in polyelectrolyte materials and membranes. (page 2771).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandt et al., “A Regioselective Route to New Polytopic Receptors by Diaminolysis of Chlorocyclotriphosphazatriene-Containing Crown Ethers,” Journal of Organic Chemistry, vol. 64, pp. 7299-7304, (1999). (hereinafter Benson).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, Brandt teaches the formula
, wherein
and specifically,
(page 7300-7301), and the above forms a metal-cation complex with metal cations. (page 7302-7303), which meets the claimed cationic phosphazene-bond containing polymer having two cyclic-phosphazene structures, wherein a nitrogen atom is bonded to a hydrocarbon group and a counter anion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in part.
On page 6, the Applicant argues that Lin only teaches that the polycyclotriphosphazene porous material “physically absorbs” the iodine and nothing in Lin suggest that the polycyclotriphosphazene “chemically reacts” with the methyl iodine to form a cationic polymer. This is not persuasive because Lin teaches in the background technology is in the development of adsorption materials “with strong iodine binding,” and thus, has a high adsorption capacity/efficiency and that Lin solves these issues with the polycyclotriphosphazene porous material that has a high adsorption capacity for iodine and/or methyl iodine in solution. (page 2-3). It appears that the polycyclotriphosphazene porous material capable of adsorbing methyl iodine because it would bind with iodine. This is further evidenced by the Applicant’s examples which show substantially similar polymer membranes become cationic when mixed with a solution containing methyl iodide. Thus, the porous material of Lin, with the absorbed/captured methyl iodine, would form the cationic and counter anion as shown by the Applicant’s examples.
Applicant’s other arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766