DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Effective filing date is 02/18/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 08/17/2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Current Status of 18/546,919
This Office Action is in response to the amended claims of 08/17/2023.
Claims 1 is original; and claims 2-21 are currently amended.
Claims 1-21 are examined in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to for in appropriate use of comma as shown below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin (WO-03011027-A1) with evidentiary reference of Wigginton et. al. (Environ. Sci. Technol. 2016, 50, 10, 5077–5085)
Martin discloses a disinfectant composition comprising of, a 0.005% to 45% m/v solution of glutaraldehyde (within the range of claims 4-6 and 9-11, thus anticipating claims 4-6 and 9-11); an alcohol ethoxylate non-ionic surfactant; sodium acetate trihydrate; and pH modifier (Martin, page 2) anticipating claim 1.
Martin discloses composition can be used in water-treatment plant (examiner interpret this as closed volume) (table on page 9) thus anticipating claim 2. Martin further discloses composition is sprayed (spraying indicates aerosolized from of the solution) on surface (page 5 paragraph [2], and (table on page 9) (thus anticipating claim 3 and 7-8.
The evidentiary reference of Wigginton et.al. discloses non-enveloped (claims 18-21) and enveloped viruses (claims 15-17) are present in waste water (abstract), thus composition disclosed in Martin is reducing virus load of both enveloped and non-enveloped viruses in water-treatment plant (page 9), thus anticipating claims 15-21.
Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-21 are directed to the ability of the composition to “inactivate virus by at least 4-log1010 reduction” in different times, examiner interpret this as inherent properties of the composition. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Thus Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-21 are anticipated.
Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-21 are directed to the ability of the composition to “inactivate virus by at least 4-log1010 reduction “examiner interpret this as inherent properties of the composition. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Thus Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-21 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Martin (WO-03011027-A1) with evidentiary reference of Wigginton et. al. (Environ. Sci. Technol. 2016, 50, 10, 5077–5085)
In view of
Anisel et.al. “PHARMACEUTICAL DOSAGE FORMS AND DRUG DELIVERY SYSTEMS” 7th edition, 1999.
Martin ((WO-03011027-A1) with evidentiary reference of Wigginton et. al. (Environ. Sci. Technol. 2016, 50, 10, 5077–5085) teaches claims 1-11 and 15-21 (see 102 rejection above).
Anisel et.al. teaches dosages (examiner interpret this as concentration) of pharmaceuticals are routinely optimized (Anisel et.al. page 50).
Martin does not teach concentration glutaraldehyde in the aerosol droplet of the composition of claim 1 when sprayed. Martin further does not teach the dilution of composition of claim 1 with water.
Anisel et.al does not teaches concentration of glutaraldehyde in aerosol droplets or dilution of the concentration of the composition with water.
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing different concentration of disinfectant.
Claims 12-14 are drawn to dilution of composition of claim 1 with water. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to dilute the composition with water since the composition of claim 8 is in water. Therefore, it would be expected dilution with water would achieve the desired concentration of claims 12-14. Thus, teaching claims 12-14.
Claims 4-6 and 9-14 are directed to concentration of glutaraldehyde in droplet and in solution. Examiner interprets these attributes as variables the artisan would normally be expected to routinely optimize. For example, Anisel et.al. teaches dosages (examiner interpret this as concentration) of pharmaceuticals are routinely optimized (Anisel et.al. page 50). Generally, concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such attributes are critical. The specification does not indicate the dosage and frequency of the dosage to be critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 rejected on the ground of obvious type nonstatutory double patenting as being obvious over claims 1-9, 11-16 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,729,135
In view of
Wigginton et. al. (Environ. Sci. Technol. 2016, 50, 10, 5077–5085)
In further view of
Anisel et.al. “PHARMACEUTICAL DOSAGE FORMS AND DRUG DELIVERY SYSTEMS” 7th edition, 1999.
Instant claims of 08/17/2023 was used to make this rejections.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because reference claims 1-9 and 11-16 discloses an aqueous composition comprising glutaraldehyde, an alcohol ethoxylate non-ionic surfactant, a pH modifier and a buffer comprising at least sodium acetate trihydrate same as instant claim 1. The specification of the reference claims disclose method of disinfecting various surfaces including waste water treatment (which examiner is interpreting at enclosed volume or partially enclosed volume, using BRI) (column 5, line 20-45) same as instant claims 2. The specification of the reference discloses spraying composition (spraying indicates aerosolized from of the solution) on surface (column 3, lines 30-35, and column 5, line 20-45) teaching claim 3 and 7-8.
The evidentiary reference of Wigginton et.al. discloses non-enveloped (claims 18-21) and enveloped viruses (claims 15-17) are present in waste water (abstract), thus composition disclosed in Martin is reducing virus load of both enveloped and non-enveloped viruses in water-treatment plant (page 9), thus anticipating claims 15-21.
Anisel et.al. teaches dosages (examiner interpret this as concentration) of pharmaceuticals are routinely optimized (Anisel et.al. page 50)
Reference claims does not teach concentration glutaraldehyde in the aerosol droplet of the composition of claim 1 when sprayed.
Wigginton et.al. does not teach disinfecting virus with composition of claim 1.
Anisel et.al does not teaches concentration of glutaraldehyde in aerosol droplets or dilution of the concentration of the composition with water.
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing different concentration of disinfectant.
Regarding instant claims 1-8, a person skilled in the art would be motivated to develop a method of in-activating virus load with the composition of reference claims 1-9 and 11-16 since the specification of the reference claims teaches a method of disinfecting surface and waste water treatment plants (column 3, lines 30-35, and column 5, line 20-45) thus teaching instant claims 1-8.
Regarding instant claims 15-21 a person skilled in the art would be motivated develop a method of inactivating both enveloped and non-enveloped viruses with composition of claim 1. Since the reference specification teaches disinfection of waste water column 3, lines 30-35, and column 5, line 20-45) with the composition and according to Wigginton et.al waste water contains both non-enveloped and enveloped viruses(Wigginton abstract), thus teaching instant claims 15-21.
Claims 12-14 are drawn to dilution of composition of claim1 with water. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to dilute the composition with water since the composition of claim 8 is in water. Therefore, it would be expected dilution with water would achieve the desired concentration of claims 12-14. Thus, teaching claims 12-14.
Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-21 are directed to the ability of the composition to “inactivate virus by at least 4-log1010 reduction” in different times, examiner interpret this as inherent properties of the composition. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Thus teaching Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-21.
Claims 4-6 and 9-14 are directed to concentration of glutaraldehyde in droplet and in solution. Examiner interprets these attributes as variables the artisan would normally be expected to routinely optimize. For example, Anisel et.al. teaches dosages (examiner interpret this as concentration) of pharmaceuticals are routinely optimized (Anisel et.al. page 50). Generally, concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such attributes are critical. The specification does not indicate the dosage and frequency of the dosage to be critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claims 1-2, 7 and 15-21 rejected on the ground of obvious type nonstatutory double patenting as being obvious over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 8,252,844 In view of
Wigginton et. al. (Environ. Sci. Technol. 2016, 50, 10, 5077–5085)
In further view of
Anisel et.al. “PHARMACEUTICAL DOSAGE FORMS AND DRUG DELIVERY SYSTEMS” 7th edition, 1999.
Instant claims of 08/17/2023 was used to make this rejections.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because reference claims 1-15 discloses an aqueous composition comprising glutaraldehyde, an alcohol ethoxylate non-ionic surfactant, a pH modifier and a buffer comprising at least sodium acetate trihydrate same as instant claim 1. The specifications of the reference claims disclose method of disinfecting (column 5, lines 10-15).
The evidentiary reference of Wigginton et.al. discloses non-enveloped (claims 18-21) and enveloped viruses (claims 15-17) are present in waste water (abstract), thus composition disclosed in Martin is reducing virus load of both enveloped and non-enveloped viruses in water-treatment plant (page 9), thus teaching claims 15-21.
Reference claims does not teach concentration glutaraldehyde in the aerosol droplet of the composition of claim 1 when sprayed.
Wigginton et.al. does not teach disinfecting virus with composition of claim 1.
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing different concentration of disinfectant.
Regarding 1-2 and 7 a person skilled in the art would be motivated to develop a method of in-activating virus load with the composition of reference claims 1-15 since the specification of the reference claims teaches a method of disinfecting surface (column 5, lines 10-15) (examiner interpret surface as both enclosed and partially enclosed volume) thus instant claims 1-2 and 7.
Regarding instant claims 15-21 a person skilled in the art would be motivated develop a method of inactivating both enveloped and non-enveloped viruses with composition of claim 1. A person skilled in the art would be expected to disinfect waste water with the composition of claim 1 to disinfect both non-enveloped and enveloped viruses in waste water(Wigginton abstract), thus teaching instant claims 15-21.
Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-21 are directed to the ability of the composition to “inactivate virus by at least 4-log1010 reduction” in different times, examiner interpret this as inherent properties of the composition. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Thus Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-21 are anticipated.
Conclusion
No Claims are allowable as written.
/R.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625