DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more isolators coupled to the bottom/lower stiff plate as set forth in claims 1 and 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The bottom stiff plate is described as being reference #246; however, it is only shown in figure 6 and there is no top or bottom isolator coupled to it. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification misidentifies reference numbers throughout.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “one or more top isolators coupled to the bottom stiff plate to form a second self-supporting structure” in lines 7-8. It is unclear whether “one or more top isolators” is the same or different as “one or more top isolators” as recited in line 4 of the claim. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. Claims 2-5 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1. It appears the limitation is meant to recite “one or more bottom isolators” and examiner will use that interpretation for purposes of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kozlowski (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0117552).
Regarding claim 1, Kozlowski discloses a sound-reducing system for reducing noise emitted by a motor in a blender (abstract), the sound-reducing system including:
a top stiff plate (reference #124);
one or more top isolators coupled to the top stiff plate to form a first self-supporting structure (reference #140);
a bottom stiff plate (reference #112); and
one or more top isolators coupled to the bottom stiff plate to form a second self-supporting structure (reference #108).
Regarding claim 2, Kozlowski discloses wherein the sound-reducing system is located within a base of the blender (figure 1, reference #100).
Regarding claim 3, Kozlowski discloses wherein the base is coupled to a blending container in which contents to be blended are contained (figure 4, reference #420; [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Kozlowski discloses further comprising foam abutting at least one of the top stiff plate, the one or more top isolators, the bottom stiff plate, and the one or more bottom isolators ([0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Kozlowski discloses a blender system (abstract), the blender system comprising:
a motorized base including a motor within the motorized base (figure 1, reference #100 and 122);
at least one stiff plate located within the motorized base (figure 1, reference #124 or reference #112); and
at least one elastic isolator coupled to the stiff plate (figure 1, reference #108 or 140).
Regarding claim 7, Kozlowski discloses further including a mixing assembly coupled to the motorized base in which contents to be blended may be contained (figure 4, reference #420 and 430; [0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Kozlowski discloses wherein the blender system includes each of an upper stiff plate (figure 1, reference #124 or reference #120) and a lower stiff plate (figure 1, reference #132 or reference #112), and wherein the at least one elastic isolator is coupled at a first end to the upper stiff plate and at a second end to the lower stiff plate (figure 1, reference #140 or reference #108; [0029] or [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Kozlowski discloses wherein the motorized base further includes acoustic foam adjacent to the motor ([0031]).
Regarding claim 12, Kozlowski discloses further comprising a sealing sub-assembly positioned and located between the motorized base and the mixing assembly such that the sealing sub-assembly physically abuts each of the motorized base and the mixing assembly (figure 1, reference #128; [0027]).
Regarding claim 13, Kozlowski discloses wherein the blender system includes a housing surrounding the motor to further reduce noise emitted by the motor (figure 1, reference #130).
Regarding claim 14, Kozlowski discloses further comprising a shroud surrounding the motor that includes a tortuous internal path (figure 1, internal walls through ought reference #100, including reference #116, 120, 132).
Regarding claim 15, Kozlowski discloses a blender system (abstract), the blender system comprising:
a motorized base including a motor within the motorized base (figure 1, reference #100 and 122); and
at least one isolator within the motorized base coupled to one or more components within the motorized base, the at least one isolator being elastic for reducing transmission of vibrations within the motorized base (figure 1, reference #108 and 140; [0031]; [0033]; [0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Kozlowski discloses the motorized base further including at least one stiff plate contained therein for reducing transmission of vibrations within the motorized base (figure 1, reference #112 or 124; [0029]; [0036])).
Regarding claim 17, Kozlowski discloses further including a mixing assembly coupled to the motorized base in which contents to be blended may be contained (figure 4, reference #420 and 430; [0027]).
Regarding claim 18, Kozlowski discloses wherein the blender system includes a blending container that can be coupled to the motorized base (figure 4, reference #420; [0027]).
Regarding claim 20, Kozlowski discloses further comprising a sealing sub-assembly positioned adjacent to and abutting the motorized base for providing a gap between the motorized base and the blending container (figure 1, reference #128; [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozlowski in view of Dickson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,957,577).
Regarding claims 5, 8, and 19, Kozlowski discloses all the limitations as set forth above. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose a sound cover.
Dickson et al. teaches another blender (abstract). The reference teaches a sound cover surrounding the blending container (figure 1, reference #20 24, 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the sound cover of Dickson et al. surrounding the blending container of Kozlowski. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach blenders. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do the foregoing because it reduces noise generated when the processing device is activated (Dickson et al. column 3, lines 21-24).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozlowski in view of Williams (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0014696).
Regarding claim 11, Kozlowski discloses all the limitations as set forth above. While the reference discloses a fan (figure 1, reference #118), the fan is not decoupled from the motor.
Williams teaches another blender (abstract). The reference teaches a wherein the motorized base includes a fan decoupled from the motor for cooling the motor (reference #28; [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the fan of Kozlowski to be decoupled from the motor as taught by Williams. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach blenders. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do the foregoing because it allows the cooling fan to operate while the motor is not running or operate at a different rotational speed than the motor to better adjust for the temperature of the motor and the housing (Williams [0022]-[0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kolar et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20220240724) discloses an isolator (reference #1117; [0104]) and plate (reference #114). Boozer (U.S. Patent No. 9,084,512) discloses bottom isolator (reference #56), top isolator (reference #74), top stiff plate (reference #48), bottom stiff plate (top wall reference #12).
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774