DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 03/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 10-11, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
The amendment to the abstract has overcome the objection to the specification, therefore the objection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/20/2026 have been fully considered but are rendered moot by the use of a new prior art reference to reject the indicated limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-13, and 15-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan et al. (US 20230328666 A1), hereinafter Gan, in view of Takada (US 20230371078 A1), hereinafter Takada, and further in view of Jang et al. (US 20230120236 A1), hereinafter Jang236.
For claim 1,
Gan teaches a communication device that performs wireless communication using a plurality of links ([Abstract] communication apparatus capable of multiple link communication), wherein the communication device:
acquires a first period of transmission in a first link of the plurality of links, the first period of transmission having a first period of transmission that has a first stop time ([0013] and [0010] first transmission opportunity (TXOP) with a duration and end time is included as part of the first PPDU);
starts a transmission in the first link in accordance with the first period of transmission ([FIG. 4] and [0021] shows transmission of PPDU 1 on link 1, and the apparatus includes a first sending module configured to send a first PPDU over the first link.);
after starting the transmission in the first link, acquires a second period of transmission in a second link of the plurality of links, the second period of transmission overlapping the first period of transmission and ([Abstract], [FIG. 4], [0021], and [0010] end time of the second PPDU transmitted during the second TXOP is not later than an end time of the first PPDU. According to [0010] “not later than” includes “earlier than or equal to”. FIG. 4 shows the transmission of the first PPDU on link 1 overlaps with the transmission of the second PPDU on link 2.)…
starts a transmission in the second link in accordance with the second period of transmission ([FIG. 4] and [0021] shows transmission of PPDU 2 on link 2, and the apparatus includes a second sending module configured to send a second PPDU over the second link during the second TXOP.); and
Gan does not explicitly teach, however Jang236 teaches the second period of transmission having a second stop time earlier than the first stop time ([FIG. 47] shows TXOP of link 2 is less than TXOP of link 1, indicating a stop time that is earlier than the first TXOP stop time);
wherein the change in the first period of transmission comprises a shortening of the first period of transmission to a non-zero value ([FIG. 54] shows truncation of a TXOP on link two. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that this truncation could also apply to the TXOP on link 1 as an obvious alternative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gan for having a second transmission period and a change in the first transmission period with the method of Jang236 for the second transmission period having a stop time earlier than the first stop time and the change in the first period of transmission comprising a shortening of the first transmission period to reduce delay in the transmission and reception of the messages and avoid interference.
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada teaches sending, during the first period of transmission first period of transmission the transmission in the second link ([Abstract], [FIG. 4], and [0009] first frame which includes information relating to a transmission prohibition period for the first link is transmitted using the first link, and the prohibition period is caused by a probe transmission sent by the second link.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a first transmission period and change of the first transmission period with the method of Takada for sending a notification of the change in the first period to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 2, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 1.
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein the communication device notifies a transmission destination of the information, using the second link ([Abstract] and [FIG. 4] apparatus transmits, using the second link, information relating to the transmission prohibition in the first link; ([0052-0053] MAC unit in each communication apparatus that, on the receiving side of the MAC frame, can determine the link state (to include the information received about the transmission prohibition period) from the received frame transmitted by the other MAC unit through the data processing unit which controls the entire apparatus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a change of the first transmission period with the method of Takada for sending a notification of the change in the first period using the second link to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 3, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 1.
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein the information is written for each transmission unit forming a data frame to be transmitted in the second link ([FIG. 3] transceiver unit in each communication apparatus, [0009], and [0052] a transmission unit transmits a data frame, containing information related to transmission prohibition of the first link, using the second link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a change of the first transmission period with the method of Takada for sending a notification of the change in the first period using the second link to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 5, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 1.
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein information indicating whether or not information regarding at least a transmission period written in a frame to be transmitted in the first link has been changed, and information regarding a change in the transmission period in the first link are written for each transmission unit forming a data frame to be transmitted in the second link ([FIG. 3] transceiver unit in each communication apparatus, [0009], [0062], and [0052] a transmission unit transmits a data frame, containing information related to transmission prohibition of the first link, using the second link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a change of the first transmission period with the method of Takada for sending a notification of the change in the first period using the second link to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 6, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 1.
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein other transmission using at least one of the first link or the second link is performed within an original transmission period in the first link ([FIG. 4], multiple transmissions from either the first link or second link prior to the transmission prohibition period starting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a first transmission period with the method of Takada for performing other transmissions in the original transmission period to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 7, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 6.
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein another side of communication using the plurality of links is permitted to perform transmission using at least one of the first link or the second link within the original transmission period in the first link ([Fig. 4] both sides of communication perform transmission within the original transmission period and before the period change).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a first transmission period with the method of Takada for allowing another side of communication to perform transmissions in the original transmission period in the first link to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 12, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11,
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein the communication device receives the information in the second link ([Abstract] and [FIG. 4] the information is transmitted via the second link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a first transmission period with the method of Takada for another side of communication receiving transmissions in the second link to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 13, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11,
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein the communication device controls a communication operation in the first link, on a basis of the information received in the second link ([Abstract] and [FIG. 4] the transmission prohibition message is transmitted via the second link to start transmission prohibition of the first link, therefore controlling a communication operation of the first link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a first link with the method of Takada for controlling a communication operation in the first link based on information received in the second link to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 15, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11,
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein the communication device receives, in the second link, information indicating whether or not information regarding at least a transmission period written in a frame to be transmitted in the first link has been changed, and information regarding a change in the transmission period in the first link, and ([0009], [0062], and [0052] a transmission unit transmits a data frame, containing information related to transmission prohibition of the first link, using the second link.)
controls a communication operation in the first link([Abstract] and [FIG. 4] the transmission prohibition message is transmitted via the second link to start transmission prohibition of the first link, therefore controlling a communication operation of the first link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a change of the first transmission period with the method of Takada for sending a notification of the change in the first period using the second link to reduce delays and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 16, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11,
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches comprising: MAC layer processing units that perform processing in MAC layers in the respective links ([FIG. 3, reference 303] and [0052-0053] MAC unit in each communication apparatus that perform sending and receiving of some data for the respective links); and
a common data processing unit that performs data processing common to all links ([FIG. 2 reference 202], [FIG. 4], [0015] and [0040] control unit is made up of CPU or the like which controls the entire communication apparatus, including data processing for all links),
wherein the MAC layer processing unit in the second link notifies the MAC layer processing unit in the first link of the information received in the second link through the common data processing unit ([0052-0053] MAC unit in each communication apparatus that, on the receiving side of the MAC frame, can determine the link state (to include the information received about the transmission prohibition period) from the received frame transmitted by the other MAC unit through the data processing unit which controls the entire apparatus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a multilink communication apparatus with the method of Takada for having MAC layers and the MAC layer of the second link notifying the MAC layer of the second link of information received through the common data processing unit to allow for faster retransmission of data, reduce waiting time, and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claim 17, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11,
Gan and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein the MAC layer processing unit in the second link receives, in the second link, information indicating whether or not information regarding at least a transmission period written in a frame to be transmitted in the first link has been changed, and the information regarding the change in the transmission period in the first link ([0052-0053] the MAC frame generation unit creates a probe response for telling the communication unit that the transmission prohibition (period) has been set or cancelled. These are transmitted and received over the second link), and
notifies the MAC layer processing unit in the first link of the received information through the common data processing unit ([FIG. 4], [0049] and [0059] the transceiver unit performs, via the communication unit, transmission including the MAC frame, and reception of a frame from the partner communication apparatus. The power save state, which takes place in the first link, contains a link indicated in a MAC frame indicating the power save state, received by the transceiver unit from the partner communication apparatus. This shows that the MAC unit of the first link is notified of the information being received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the methods of Gan and Jang236 for having a multilink communication apparatus with the method of Takada for having MAC layers and the MAC layer of the second link notifying the MAC layer of the second link of information received through the common data processing unit to allow for faster retransmission of data, reduce waiting time, and allow the system to balance traffic across both links.
For claims 10, 11, and 20, they are rejected on the same basis as claim 1, with the added limitations in claims 11 and 20 of reception instead of transmission as an obvious alternative to facilitate bi-directional communication in the system.
Claim(s) 4, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan, in view of Takada, further in view of Jang236, and further in view of Seok et al. (US 20210315025 A1), hereinafter Seok.
For claim 4, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11,
Gan, Takada, and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Seok teaches wherein information indicating whether or not acquisition of a transmission right is being attempted in the second link is written for each transmission unit forming a data frame to be transmitted in the first link ([FIG. 7] and [0015] an A-MPDU is used to transmit notification of other link attempting acquisition of transmission rights. Once the back-off counter of the second link has expired, the first link initiates exchange of the frame over the first wireless link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gan, Takada, and Jang236 for communication using a plurality of links with the method of Seok for transmitting information indicating whether or not the second link is attempting acquisition of the transmission right to avoid self-interference and manage resources appropriately to ensure efficiency of the system.
For claim 14, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11.
Gan, Takada, and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Seok teaches wherein, when receiving, in the first link, information indicating that another side of communication is attempting to acquire a transmission right in the second link, the communication device performs a reception process in the second link ([FIG. 7], [FIG. 6], and [0015] an A-MPDU is used to transmit notification of other link attempting acquisition of transmission rights. Once the back-off counter of the second link has expired, the first link initiates exchange of the frame over the first wireless link. An RX BA is received in the second link based on the A-MPDU reception in the first link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gan, Takada, and Jang236 for communication using a plurality of links with the method of Seok for transmitting information indicating whether or not the second link is attempting acquisition of the transmission right and a reception process being performed to avoid self-interference and manage resources appropriately to ensure efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan, in view of Takada, further in view of Jang236, and further in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 20210007168 A1), hereinafter Asterjadhi.
For claim 8, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 6.
Gan, Takada, and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Asterjadhi teaches wherein a notification of opening of the second link is sent to another terminal within the original transmission period in the first link ([FIG. 4A] and [0135] a first frame, implying that it is transmitted in the original transmission period, includes a control field, or other indicator, informing the terminal to activate the auxiliary link (second link)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gan, Takada, and Jang236 for communication using a plurality of links with the method of Asterjadhi for notifying the other terminal that an auxiliary link is to be opened to manage an increase in traffic flow and manage resources appropriately to ensure efficiency of the system.
For claim 9, Gan, Takada, Jang236, and Asterjadhi teach claim 8.
Gan, Jang236, and Asterjadhi do not explicitly teach, however Takada further teaches wherein the notification includes information for identifying a terminal prohibited from performing transmission in the second link, and information indicating a transmission prohibition period ([FIG. 4] and [Abstract] the apparatus decides, with no apparent reason provided, that the first link will be the link with the transmission prohibition period. An obvious alternative is that the apparatus could choose either the first or second link to have the prohibition period, based on the fact that the first link is arbitrarily chosen. Information indicating a transmission prohibition period for the chosen link is also transmitted.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gan, Jang236, and Asterjadhi for providing notification of the opening of a second link with the method of Takada for identifying a terminal that is prohibited from performing transmission in the second link to avoid collision or transmission interference and manage resources appropriately to ensure efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan, in view of Takada, further in view of Jang236, and further in view of Jang et al. (US 20230422328 A1), hereinafter Jang.
For claim 18, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11,
Gan, Takada, and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Jang teaches wherein, when the communication device is able to perform only one of transmission or reception in the plurality of links ([FIG. 20], [0007], and [0238-0248] communication device is in asynchronous mode using a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair),
the communication device notifies another side of communication using the plurality of links of information regarding whether or not reception of asynchronized transmission in which transmission start times are not aligned in the plurality of links is possible ([0238-0248] station may transmit to an AP operation mode information related to whether or not it can operate as a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gan, Takada, and Jang236 for communication using a plurality of links with the method of Jang for notifying another communication side whether or not simultaneous communication is possible to avoid self-interference and manage resources appropriately to ensure efficiency of the system.
For claim 19, Gan, Takada, and Jang236 teach claim 11,
Gan, Takada, and Jang236 do not explicitly teach, however Jang further teaches wherein the communication device notifies another side of communication using the plurality of links of information regarding a combination of links in which simultaneous transmission and reception is not possible, but reception of asynchronized transmission is possible ([0238-0248], [FIG. 20], [0007], and [0238-0248] communication device is in asynchronous mode using a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair. A station may transmit to an AP operation mode information related to whether or not it can operate as a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR). Based on the information received, the AP may decide which mode the station will operate in, implying that if the station is not able to operate as an STR, it may operate as an NSTR and send/receive asynchronous transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Gan, Takada, and Jang236 for communication using a plurality of links with the method of Jang for notifying another communication side that simultaneous communication is not possible, however asynchronous communication is possible, to avoid self-interference and manage resources appropriately to ensure efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN T. RANEW/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465