CTNF 18/546,983 CTNF 85118 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Status of Claims: Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 USC §101 Rejection. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 USC §103 Rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as addressed below. The new 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (Vol. 84 No. 4, Jan 7, 2019 pp 50-57) has been applied and the claims are deemed as being patent ineligible. The current 35 USC 101 analysis is based on the current guidance (Federal Register vol. 79, No. 241. pp. 74618-74633). The analysis follows several steps. Step 1 determines whether the claim belongs to a valid statutory class. Step 2A prong 1 identifies whether an abstract idea is claimed. Step 2A prong 2 determines whether an abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. If the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application the claim is patent eligible under 35 USC 101. Last, step 2B determines whether the claims contain something significantly more than the abstract idea. In most cases the existence of a practical application predicates the existence of an additional element that is significantly more. Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The below claim is considered to be in a statutory category (process). Under Step 1 of the analysis, claim 1 does belong to a statutory category, namely it is a process claim. Under Step 2A Prong 1, the independent claim 1 includes abstract ideas as highlighted (using a bold font) below. “1. An information processing apparatus comprising a state estimation unit that estimates a state of a grindstone by using event data supplied from an event sensor that outputs, as event data, a temporal change of an electrical signal obtained by photoelectrically converting an optical signal, and outputs a result of the estimation”. The highlighted steps indicated as Abstract idea are considered to be equivalent to mathematical steps and fundamental aspect of mathematics or directed to mental processes performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation and opinion). Under step 2A prong 2, The claim 1 just comprises any field of use of grindstone, but does not comprise the particular additional element/steps therefore, claims do not direct to any practical application. The steps of “outputs a result of the estimation” just insignificant additional steps of outputting data. Under step 2B The Claim 1 does not comprise any specific additional elements/steps. Claim 1 comprising the “a state estimation unit”, these are merely a part of general computer and generic pieces of the computer and software running on the computer. The general computer and software running on the computer do not make the claims significantly more than the abstract idea. All of these additional elements are generic computer and generic components of the computer, which are in light of Alice, as not being significantly more. The steps of “outputs a result of the estimation” just insignificant additional steps of outputting data. The dependent claims 2, 3, 9, 10 and 11 merely extend the details of the abstract idea of mathematical concepts, more particularly mathematical calculations or mental steps as accrued. The dependent claim 8 comprises steps of “outputs a result of the estimation” which is just the insignificant additional step of outputting data. The dependent claims 4, 6 and 7 just additionally describe the type of data. The claim 5 additionally comprises the image generated unit, which is part of computer device. The general computer and software running on the computer do not make the claims significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim 5 additionally generates an event image, which is part of abstract idea. Therefore claims 2-11 are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komichiyo et al., (JP7164318B2) in view of Izawa (WO2020170861), hereinafter Izawa. Regarding Claim 1, Komichiyo disclose an information processing apparatus comprising a state estimation unit (para [009], where arithmetic and control unit 18) that estimates a state of a grindstone by using event data (para [009], and [010], where horizontal shift amount is detected …it is transmitted to the arithmetic and control unit 18; amount detection means of grinding sparks, using a shutter function with a camera 7,… the grinding sparks and bright, this is the area occupied in the image, it is possible to quantify the generation of grinding sparks, e.g., quantity pf the grinding sparks corresponds to the state of grindstone) supplied from an event sensor (para [007], where grinding to the support 14 if the contact roll 5, shutter function with a camera 7) that outputs, as event data (para [10], where the grinding sparks and bright this is the area occupied in the image, it is possible to quantify the generation of grinding sparks, e.g., event data), and outputs a result of the estimation (paragraphs 0012 to 0016, etc. para [0014], where control conditions for this are set based on the value obtained by the numerical calculation.). Komichiyo does not disclose “a state of a grindstone by using event data, a temporal change of an electrical signal obtained by photoelectrically converting an optical signal”. Izawa disclose using event data a temporal change of an electrical signal obtained by photoelectrically converting an optical signal (Abstract, where change in the electric signal of a pixel that performs photoelectric conversion and generates an electric signal, and output event data indicating the occurrence of the event; Page 1, last paragraph, lines background-art, where outputs event data representing the occurrence of an event when the brightness change of a pixel is used as the event; and further on Page 2, lines 1-6, where image sensor that captures an image in synchronization with a vertical synchronization signal and outputs frame data that is image data for one frame (screen) at the cycle of the vertical synchronization signal can be called a synchronous image sensor. On the other hand, an image sensor that outputs event data outputs event data when an event occurs, and thus can be called an asynchronous (or address control) image sensor, see further on Page 3, lines 13-15, 20-22, where the pixel 31 has a PD (Photo Diode) 51 as a photoelectric conversion element. The pixel 31 receives light incident on the PD 51 in the PD 51, performs photoelectric conversion , and generates and flows a photocurrent (Iph) as an electric signal ; since the change in the photocurrent generated in the pixel 31 can be regarded as the change in the light amount of the light incident on the pixel 31, the event is also referred to as the change in the light amount of the pixel 31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide electrical signal obtained by photoelectrically converting an optical signal, as taught by Izawa into Komichiyo in order to increase sensitivity in signal capture and detect a wider range of signals. Regarding Claim 2, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Komichiyo disclose wherein the state estimation unit estimates the state of the grindstone by using the event data in which a spark generated between the grindstone and a workpiece is captured, and outputs a result of the estimation (abstract, where shutter function detecting grinding sparks F incurred between the grinding surface of the thick steel plate 6 and the grinding belt 2. The grinding sparks F are intermittently photographed by the camera 7, e.g., detecting data related to a grinding spark (event) using an event sensor). Regarding Claim 3, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state estimation unit estimates the state of the grindstone on a basis of a feature amount of the event data, and outputs a result of the estimation (paragraphs 0010 and 0020 detecting the amount of grinding sparks generated (the number of grinding sparks) as a feature amount of event data. In addition, it is also understood that the amount of grinding sparks generated represents the frequency at which grinding sparks are generated). Regarding Claim 5, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, further Komichiyo disclose comprising an image generation unit that generates an event image from the event data, wherein the feature amount of the event data is a feature amount detected from the event image (para [0010], as the generation amount detection means of grinding sparks, using a shutter function with a camera 7, intermittently taking a grinding spark F generated in a particular area, the captured image is still of, than the still image Akira implicitly binarized. Then, the grinding sparks and bright, this is the area occupied in the image, it is possible to quantify the generation of grinding sparks). Regarding Claim 6, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, further Komichiyo disclose wherein the feature amount of the event data includes at least one of the number of sparks, a size of a spark, a speed of the spark, a flight distance of the spark, or a flight angle of the spark (para [0016], where control the grinding number of times, para [0018], where the grinding amount per one grinding (grinding depth) together with a set to be in the range of 50 ~ 60Myuemu, the generation amount of grinding sparks , which corresponds to the amount of grinding , pressing force and the control amount of the contact roll 5, time to replace the judgment condition of the grinding belt, we set the number of times grinding or the like in accordance with Kizufuka, e.g., amount of grinding sparks corresponds to the (the number of grinding sparks see paragraph 0020, etc.).). Regarding Claim 9, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Komichiyo does not disclose wherein the state estimation unit adjusts an event threshold value on a basis of the event data in parallel with the processing of estimating the state of the grindstone. Izawa disclose the state estimation unit adjusts an event threshold value on a basis of the event data in parallel with the processing of estimating the state of the grindstone (Can be adjusted, and by extension, the time until the difference signal Vout becomes equal to or greater than the threshold value +Vth and the time until the difference signal Vout becomes equal to or less than the threshold value −Vth can be adjusted (delayed).). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to adjust an event threshold value, as taught by Izawa into Komichiyo in order to increase accuracy of the grinding process. Regarding Claim 11, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state estimation unit estimates the state of the grindstone acquired by the event data, and outputs a result of the estimation, as recited in claim 1. Komichiyo does not disclose by using sensor data acquired by an external sensor. Izawa disclose using sensor data acquired by an external sensor (Fig. 9, #1201 to 1204, Page 10 , lines 32-33, where imaging units 12101 to 12104 may be an infrared camera that detects infrared rays). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide external sensor data, as taught by Izawa into Komichiyo in order to increase accuracy of the estimation sate of the grindstone . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komichiyo in view of Izawa , as applied above and further in view of Shoji (JP S6215076A), hereinafter Shoji . Regarding Claim 4, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the feature amount of the event data (para [0010], where the generation amount detection means of grinding sparks). Komichiyo and Izawa do not disclose event data is an event rate. Shoji discloses event data is an event rate (Abstract, where frequency of an oscillator 6 for driving the transistor 5 is made 10kHz apart from the change frequency of disturbance light such as grinding spark). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide event data is an event rate, as taught by Shoji in combination of Izawa and Komichiyo in order to allow for real-time adjustments to improve safety, surface finish, and tool life, and also improves precision and surface smoothness . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komichiyo et al., (JP7164318B2) in view of Izawa , as applied above and further in view of Pan (WO2015123931A1), hereinafter Pan . Regarding Claim 7, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the feature amount of the event data, as recited in claim 4. Komichiyo and Izawa do not disclose event data includes at least one of the number of droplets of a coolant liquid, a size of a droplet of the coolant liquid, or a speed of the droplet of the coolant liquid. Pan disclose event data the number of droplets of a coolant liquid, a size of a droplet of the coolant liquid, or a speed of the droplet of the coolant liquid (claim 7, where cooling method is liquid mist cooling, the coolant used is preferably one or more of water, methanol, ethanol and acetone, and the mist droplet size is preferably 2 -50 microns). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide droplet size, as taught by Pan in combination of Izawa and Komichiyo in order to increase accuracy of the grinding process . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komichiyo et al., (JP7164318B2) in view of Izawa , as applied above and further in view of Mizutani (JP2003170344A), hereinafter Mizutani. Regarding Claim 8, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state estimation unit outputs, as recited in claim 1, but Komichiyo and Izawa do not disclose an alert on a basis of the result of the estimation. Mizutani disclose alert on a basis of the result of the estimation (page 8, lines 33-36, where cutting back force becomes an abnormal value Pc larger than a preset allowable value due to clogging of the grindstone surface of the honing grindstones 10, 10, ... .. are rapidly reduced and restored (abnormality avoidance process), and an alarm lamp, an alarm buzzer, and the like alert the operator of the occurrence of an abnormal situation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide alert, as taught by Mizutani in combination of Izawa and Komichiyo in order to indicate the abnormal situation . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komichiyo in view of Izawa , as applied above and further in view of Nakagawa (WO2020195770A1), hereinafter Nakagawa . Regarding Claim 10, Komichiyo and Izawa disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state estimation unit estimates the state of the grindstone, and outputs a result of the estimation, as recited in claim 1. Komichiyo and Izawa do not disclose by using a learning model generated by machine learning using the event data, and outputs a result of the estimation. Nakagawa disclose by using a learning model generated by machine learning using the event data (page 4, para 8, where motion detection by the motion detection unit 12, object detection by the object detection unit 15, motion vector estimation by the motion vector estimation unit 16, and behavior pattern determination by the behavior pattern determination unit 17 are stored in advance in a memory or the like. Machine learning using a trained model may be used). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to a learning model generated by machine learning, as taught by Nakagawa in combination of Izawa and Komichiyo in order to provide automated, high-speed analysis of event data and improve accuracy. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KALERIA KNOX whose telephone number is (571)270-5971. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Schechter can be reached at (571)2722302. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KALERIA KNOX/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857 /ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 2 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 3 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 4 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 5 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 6 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 7 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 8 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 9 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 10 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 11 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 12 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/546,983 Page 13 Art Unit: 2857