DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the above application filed on 08/18/2023 which is a 371 of PCT/NO2022/050035 filed on 02/08/2022 which claims foreign priority to Norway application NO20210225 filed on 02/22/2021. Claims 16 – 28 are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Figure 5a should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Figure 5a appears to be similar to Fig. 7 on Pg. 3 of Rakesh Panguloori, "Achieve Bidirectional Control and Protection Through Back-to-Back Connected eFuse Devices", Texas Instruments Application Report SLVA948, December 2017. Applicant’s Specification Paras. [0090] and [0091] disclosed “The FCFO-bidirectional power switches of FIGS. 5a and 5b are available components from Texas Instruments and other semiconductor manufacturers.”
Figure 5b should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Figure 5b appears to be similar to Fig. 5 on Pg. 3 of Rakesh Panguloori, "Achieve Bidirectional Control and Protection Through Back-to-Back Connected eFuse Devices", Texas Instruments Application Report SLVA948, December 2017. Applicant’s Specification Paras. [0090] and [0091] disclosed “The FCFO-bidirectional power switches of FIGS. 5a and 5b are available components from Texas Instruments and other semiconductor manufacturers.”
Figure 6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Figure 6 appears to be taken from an EiceDRIVER™ 1EDI Datasheet. EiceDRIVER™ is a trademark of Infineon Technologies AG, Munich, Germany. Applicant’s Specification Para. [0092] disclosed “FIG. 6 shows an example of a bidirectional power switch driver 56, which can be used in the controller 50 of the invention. There are many components available on the market, which may be used. This figure shows just one example, which is available from Infineon. It concerns the 1EDI EiceDriver™ Compact 1EDI20N12AF.”
Figures 6 and 10 are objected under 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3) because some of the text sizes are too small to be legible. 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3) stated “Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. They should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. They should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. When necessary, such as indicating a surface or cross section, a reference character may be underlined and a blank space may be left in the hatching or shading where the character occurs so that it appears distinct”.
Figure 7 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Figure 7 appears to be similar to Fig. 1 on Pg. 1 of Allegro Microsystems, "ACS71020 Single Phase, Isolated, AC Power Monitoring IC with Voltage Zero Crossing and Overcurrent Detection”, ACS71020-DS, Rev. 10, MCO-0000459, December 17, 2021, cited in the 08/18/2023 IDS. Applicant’s Specification Para. [0094] disclosed “FIG. 7 shows an example of a power-monitoring module 52, which can be used in the heating system 100, 100-2 of the invention. There are many components available on the market, which may be used. This figure shows just one example which may be used, which is available from Allegro Microsystems. It concerns the “ACS71020 Single Phase Isolated, AC Power Monitoring IC with Voltage Zero Crossing and Overcurrent Detection”.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, ll. 4 – 7 “a controller for being connected to the terminals for receiving the grid voltage, the controller connected to the at least one resistive heat element and being configured for controlling a load current through the at least one resistive heat element, wherein the controller is configured controlling the load current though the at least one resistive heat element” is believed to be in error for --a controller for being connected to the terminals for receiving the grid voltage, the controller connected to the at least one resistive heat element to control the load current though the at least one resistive heat element-- to clarify the repeated functional limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 - 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites “The heating system according to claim 23, wherein a second mode of the at least two operational modes is a synchronous mode or a non-regulated mode”. However, the original written description failed to define the meaning of “synchronous mode or a non-regulated mode”. Paras. [0028] and [0032] just disclosed the terms without providing Applicant’s definition of the terms. The original written description basically repeated the claim limitations without any addition descriptions as to the meaning of the claim limitations. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention because Applicant failed to define the meaning of “synchronous mode or a non-regulated mode”. Claims 25 and 26 depend from Claim 24 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knappenberger et al. (11,454,677) in view of Rakesh Panguloori, "Achieve Bidirectional Control and Protection Through Back-to-Back Connected eFuse Devices", Texas Instruments Application Report SLVA948, December 2017, hereinafter “Panguloori”.
Regarding Claim 16, Knappenberger teaches, in Figs. 1 - 10, the invention as claimed, including a heating system comprising: - at least one resistive heat element (103, 104 – Figs. 2, 3, and 7, Col. 9, ll. 30 – 35 “Heating elements 103 and 104 may be resistive heaters which increase in temperature as more current passes through them”); - at least two terminals (101 and 102) for receiving a grid voltage from a power grid (Col. 7, ll. 55 – 60 “Line 101 and neutral 102 may draw alternating current (AC) from a typical wall outlet.” and Col. 12, ll. 40 – 45 “power grid”.), and - a controller (100, 113) for being connected to the terminals (101 and 102) for receiving the grid voltage, the controller (100, 113) connected to the at least one resistive heat element (103, 104) and being configured for controlling (Col. 9, ll. 50 – 55 “In other words, microprocessor 113 controls the current drawn, and thus the temperature, of heating elements 103 and 104 by controlling the triac drivers 111 and 112.”) a load current through the at least one resistive heat element (103, 104), wherein the controller (100, 113) is configured controlling the load current though the at least one resistive heat element (103, 104), wherein the controller comprises a bidirectional power switch (108 and 109) connected in series (108 connected in series with 103 and 109 connected in series with 104) with the at least one resistive element (103, 104) for controlling the load current that is received from the power grid (Col. 9, ll. 50 – 55).
Knappenberger is silent on said bidirectional power switch being a forced-closure forced-opening bidirectional power switch. However, Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 25 – 35, “The protection circuit 100 disclosed herein describes the use of triacs to control current flowing to heating elements 103 and 104, however it will be understood that other solid state bidirectional switches may be used in place of a triacs consistent with the present inventions”.
Panguloori teaches, on Pgs. 1 – 3, Fig. 5, and Fig. 7, a forced-closure forced-opening bidirectional power switch. Applicant’s Specification Paras. [0090] and [0091] disclosed “The FCFO-bidirectional power switches of FIGS. 5a and 5b are available components from Texas Instruments and other semiconductor manufacturers. More information about these components can be found in: SLVA948-December 2017 “Achieve Bidirectional Control and Protection Through Back-to-Back Connected eFuse Devices” pp: 2-3.”
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Knappenberger with the forced-closure forced-opening bidirectional power switch, taught by Panguloori, because all the claimed elements, i.e., the heating system comprising: at least one resistive heat element; at least two terminals for receiving a grid voltage from a power grid, a controller for being connected to the terminals for receiving the grid voltage, the controller connected to the at least one resistive heat element, wherein the controller is configured controlling the load current though the at least one resistive heat element, the controller comprises a bidirectional power switch connected in series with the at least one resistive element for controlling the load current that is received from the power grid, and the forced-closure forced-opening bidirectional power switch, were known in the art, and one skilled in the art could have substituted the forced-closure forced-opening bidirectional power switch, taught by Panguloori, for the bidirectional power switch of Knappenberger, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., the forced-closure forced-opening bidirectional power switch would have facilitated controlling of the load current in a binary way, includes a closed state, wherein the bidirectional power switch allows load current to flow in both directions and an open state, wherein the bidirectional power switch blocks the load current, Panguloori – Pg. 2, under heading “1 What is a Bidirectional Power Switch?”. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(B).
Re Claim 17, Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, including wherein the bidirectional power switch is for controlling of the load current in a binary way, includes a closed state, wherein the bidirectional power switch allows load current to flow in both directions and an open state, wherein the bidirectional power switch blocks the load current, refer to Claim 16 rejection above.
Re Claim 18, Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, including wherein the bidirectional power switch is a Solid-State Relay comprising power MOSFETs. Panguloori, teaches, in Figs. 5 and 7 on Pg. 3, bidirectional power switches which were Solid-State Relays comprising power MOSFETs. Also refer to Applicant’s Specification Paras. [0088] and [0089] disclosing the commercial off the shelf (COTS) forced-closure forced-opening bidirectional power switch sold by Texas Instruments, i.e., Panguloori.
Re Claim 19, Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Knappenberger further teaches, wherein the controller (100, 113) further comprises a bidirectional power switch driver (111 and 112) connected to the bidirectional power switch (108 and 109, respectively). Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 35 – 40, “Triac drivers 111 and 112 control triacs 108 and 109 by “opening” and “closing” them to allow or prevent current from passing to heating elements 103 and 104”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that in the combination of Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, the power MOSFETs would have been driven with a driving signa from the bidirectional power switch driver because that was how the conventional forced-closure forced-opening bidirectional power switch worked.
Re Claim 20, Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 5 – 15, wherein the controller (100, 113) further comprises a digital processing unit (113) for controlling the bidirectional power switch (108 and 109) by a control signal (dashed lines). Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 5 – 15, “During normal operation, microprocessor 113 controls the heat and temperature setting by controlling the flow of electricity to heating elements 103 and 104.” Applicant’s Specification disclosed, in Para. [0093], “For the digital processing unit 54 in FIGS. 3 and 4 there are many alternative available, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor with its peripheral circuitry, a digital signal processor (DSP) or a field-programmable gate array (FPGA).”
Re Claim 21, Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 10, ll. 15 – 25 and Col. 10, ll. 65 – 67, wherein the controller (100, 113) further comprises a power monitoring module (110, 119) connected to the at least one resistive heat element (103, 104) for measuring the load current and for providing this information to the digital processing unit (113) including detection of zero-crossings (110 - Col. 10, ll. 15 – 25). Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 10, ll. 15 – 25, “The zero crossing detection unit 110 sends a control signal each time the alternating current, as measured through step down transformer 115, crosses zero. Using this signal, microprocessor 113 can identify the present status of an alternating current's wave form. Tracking the zero crossings enables microprocessor 113 to turn triacs 108 and 109 on and off in a manner that reduces the harmonics introduced.” Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 10, ll. 65 – 67, “The Hall Effect sensor 119 measures the current delivered to heating elements 103 and 104 and sends a current measurement to microprocessor 113 via a control/data line.”
Re Claim 22, Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 10, ll. 15 – 25, wherein the digital processing unit (113) is configured for controlling the load current in accordance with at least two operational modes (off or on). Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 10, ll. 15 – 25, “Using this signal, microprocessor 113 can identify the present status of an alternating current's wave form. Tracking the zero crossings enables microprocessor 113 to turn triacs 108 and 109 on and off in a manner that reduces the harmonics introduced.”
Re Claim 23, Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, wherein a first mode of the at least two operational modes is a cold-start mode. Applicant’s Para. [0003] defined “cold-start mode” as “There are certain challenges when such systems are started up, which is also being referred to as the cold-start.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that in the combination of Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, when the cold, i.e., around room temperature, at least one resistive heat element were initially turned “on” the operational mode would have been in the cold-start mode.
Re Claim 24, [Refer to 112(b) rejection above.] Knappenberger, i.v., Panguloori, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 11, ll. 50 – 67, wherein a second mode of the at least two operational modes is a synchronous mode or a non-regulated mode. In the interest of compact prosecution the “synchronous mode or a non-regulated mode” is interpreted as a steady-state mode. Applicant’s Specification Para. [0028] disclosed “Once the heating system has reached its steady-stage temperature, it may either switch to a synchronous regulated mode or to a non-regulated mode, depending on the circumstances and requirements”. ‘Steady-stage temperature’ is interpreted as steady-state temperature. Knappenberger further teaches, in Col. 11, ll. 50 – 67, “Microprocessor 113 may use a feedback loop from thermocouples 121 and 122 to deliver current to a heating element 103 and/or 104 until a desired temperature is achieved. The desired temperature may then be maintained at a steady state. A person of ordinary skill would recognize that raising the temperature of a heating element 103 or 104 draws more current than maintaining the temperature. … Once microprocessor 113 recognizes that the desired “HIGH” temperature has been achieved (for example via feedback from thermocouples 121 and 122), microprocessor 113 can reduce the current delivered in order to maintain the temperature at a steady state.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25 and 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 27 and 28 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent apparatus Claim 25, prior art fails to teach in combination with the other limitations of the claim, “...wherein, in the cold-start mode, the controller causes the bidirectional power switch to block the load current during a phase angle interval wherein an absolute value of the load current would be equal to or higher than a predefined current threshold unless a start of the phase angle interval comes later than a predefined phase angle threshold.” Claim 26 depends from Claim 25 and is in condition for allowance for the same reasons.
Regarding independent method Claim 27, prior art fails to teach in combination with the other limitations of the claim, “...the method comprising steps of: a) starting a cold-start mode; b) setting a current threshold and a phase angle threshold; c) detecting a zero-crossing of the grid voltage and setting an actual phase angle to zero at this point; d) if not already switched on then switching on the bidirectional power switch for allowing load current to flow through the resistive load; e) measuring an actual load current through the resistive load; f) determining an actual phase angle of the grid voltage; g) comparing an absolute value of the actual load current with the current threshold and if the actual load current is larger than or equal to the current threshold then going to step h), otherwise going to step j); h) switching off the bidirectional power switch and storing the actual phase angle as a phase interval start value; i) comparing the phase interval start value with the phase angle threshold and if the phase interval start value is larger than the phase angle threshold then going to step o), otherwise going to step k); j) comparing the actual phase angle with the phase angle threshold and if the actual phase angle is larger than or equal to the phase angle threshold then going to step o), otherwise going to step f); k) determining the actual phase angle; l) comparing the actual phase angle with a value equalling pi minus the phase interval start value and if this value is reached going to step m), otherwise going to step k); m) switching on the bidirectional power switch for allowing load current to flow through the resistive load; n) repeating from step c); o) stopping the cold-start mode and optionally switching to a second mode.”
Regarding independent apparatus (non-transitory computer-readable medium) Claim 28, prior art fails to teach in combination with the other limitations of the claim, “...the method comprising steps of: a) starting a cold-start mode; b) setting a current threshold and a phase angle threshold; c) detecting a zero-crossing of the grid voltage and setting an actual phase angle to zero at this point; d) if not already switched on then switching on the bidirectional power switch for allowing load current to flow through the resistive load; e) measuring an actual load current through the resistive load; f) determining an actual phase angle of the grid voltage; g) comparing an absolute value of the actual load current with the current threshold and if the actual load current is larger than or equal to the current threshold then going to step h), otherwise going to step j); h) switching off the bidirectional power switch and storing the actual phase angle as a phase interval start value; i) comparing the phase interval start value with the phase angle threshold and if the phase interval start value is larger than the phase angle threshold then going to step o), otherwise going to step k); j) comparing the actual phase angle with the phase angle threshold and if the actual phase angle is larger than or equal to the phase angle threshold then going to step o), otherwise going to step f); k) determining the actual phase angle; l) comparing the actual phase angle with a value equalling pi minus the phase interval start value and if this value is reached going to step m), otherwise going to step k); m) switching on the bidirectional power switch for allowing load current to flow through the resistive load; n) repeating from step c); o) stopping the cold-start mode and optionally switching to a second mode.”
Correspondence
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741