DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is allowable.
Claims 7 – 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. JP2007172461 (hereinafter Nakayama) in view of Roessler et al. US 2005/270021 (hereinafter Roessler).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama teaches: a switch system comprising:
a controller (Fig. 7, #4);
a plurality of switches (Abstract - - noncontact door switch); and
a signal line annularly connecting the controller and the plurality of switches, wherein a signal, transmitted from the controller to a first switch being one of the plurality of switches, is passed through the plurality of switches sequentially and returned from a second switch being one of the plurality of switches to the controller (Fig. 12, [0091]-[0093] - - multiple switches connected to controller in a ring),
wherein each of the plurality of switches includes an operating body (Fig. 12, [0091]-[0093] - - actuator 10a), a detection unit configured to detect proximity of the operating body (Fig. 12, [0091]-[0093] - - sensor unit 10b), a reception unit configured to receive the signal via the signal line (Fig. 7, [0069] - - input unit 11), a control unit configured to include, in the signal, proximity information indicating whether the operating body is in proximity to the detection unit (Fig. 7, [0075] - - wave generation unit 14 is a control unit), and a transmission unit configured to transmit the signal including the proximity information via the signal line (Fig. 7, [0069] - - output unit 12 is a transmission unit), and
But Nakayama does not explicitly teach:
the signal that the controller receives from the second switch includes the proximity information of each of the plurality of switches.
However, Roessler teaches:
the signal that the controller receives from the second switch includes the proximity information of each of the plurality of switches ([0045]-[0046]).
Nakayama and Roessler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to system of switches.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Nakayama, and incorporating signal including information of each switches, as taught by Roessler.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce wiring effort, as suggested by Roessler ([0019]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nakayama and Roessler teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Roessler further teaches: a part corresponding to each of the plurality of switches in the signal includes the proximity information of a corresponding switch among the plurality of switches (Fig.3, [0046] - - transferring switching state information).
Nakayama and Roessler are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nakayama and Roessler teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Roessler further teaches: the signal includes a first value and a second value, and the control units of the plurality of switches each set the part corresponding to each of the plurality of switches in the signal to the first value when the operating body is in proximity to the detection unit, and set the part corresponding to each of the plurality of switches in the signal to the second value when the operating body is not in proximity to the detection unit (Fig. 3, [0041] - - state 1 and 0).
Nakayama and Roessler are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nakayama and Roessler teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Roessler further teaches: the first value is High level, and the second value is Low level (Fig. 3, [0041] - - state 1 and 0; it is a design choice which state is high level and which state is low level).
Nakayama and Roessler are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nakayama and Roessler teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Roessler further teaches: the first value is Low level, and the second value is High level (Fig. 3, [0041] - - state 1 and 0; it is a design choice which state is high level and which state is low level).
Nakayama and Roessler are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nakayama and Roessler teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nakayama further teaches: the controller includes, in the signal to be transmitted to the first switch, request information for requesting status information indicating a state of a switch of the plurality of switches, the control units of the plurality of switches each determine whether the status information is requested, based on the request information included in the signal, and when the status information is requested, the control unit includes the status information in the signal ([0069] - - the predetermined pattern signal is a request; the detection pulse signal indicates state of switch), and
the signal that the controller receives from the second switch includes the status information of at least one of the plurality of switches ([0069] - - the detection pulse signal indicates state of switch).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Nakayama and Roessler teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nakayama further teaches: the switch is connected to the controller by the signal line (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Nakayama and Roessler teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nakayama further teaches: the switch is connected to other two of the plurality of switches by the signal line (Fig. 12 - - the switch at the center is connected to other two switches).
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116