DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 have been cancelled.
Claims 16-27 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant’s submission of prior art Zhu et al (US 20200008069).
Regarding claim 16, Zhu discloses an apparatus (Fig, 1A, “EN-DC UE” 110) comprising at least one processor ([0055], and in FIG. 4, “according to an exemplary embodiment, device 400 includes a bus 405, a processor 410, a memory/storage 415 that stores software 420”);
and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform ([0022] states that “EN-DC UE 110 may include a computational device having multiple coverage mode capabilities, and thus the capability to communicate simultaneously with different wireless stations (e.g., eNB 125, gNB 135, etc.) using different wireless channels (e.g., channels 190/192) corresponding to the different RANs (e.g., E-UTRAN 120 and 5G NR RAN 130”); [0055] states that “ FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating exemplary components of a device 400 that may correspond to one or more of the devices described herein. For example, device 400 may correspond to components included in end device 105/110/115, wireless stations 125/135/145/148, network devices 155, or network devices 175. As illustrated in FIG. 4, according to an exemplary embodiment, device 400 includes a bus 405, a processor 410, a memory/storage 415 that stores software 420”):
register to a first radio access technology network and to a second radio access technology network ([0022] states that “EN-DC UE 110 may include a computational device having multiple coverage mode capabilities, and thus the capability to communicate simultaneously with different wireless stations (e.g., eNB 125, gNB 135, etc.) using different wireless channels (e.g., channels 190/192) corresponding to the different RANs, e.g., E-UTRAN 120 and 5G NR RAN 130”)’; further, [0040] states that “Referring to FIG. 2C, exemplary connections are shown when UE 110 is in a coverage area 210 (e.g., serviced by eNB/gNB 145) with NR shared spectrum for 5G and without any mmWave coverage available. According to implementations described herein, when UE 110 is in the RRC idle mode and located within the coverage area of a combined eNB/gNB 145, UE 110 may camp on either a 4G frequency band or a 5G frequency band of eNB/gNB 145, as indicated by reference 234-A and 234-B, respectively. When UE 110 changes to the RRC connected mode for a data session, UE 110 may use dual connectivity (as shown by data session 244-A and data session 244-B) to provide a desired bandwidth.” It is further submitted that dual connectivity in Fig. 2C is performed via EPC (150) and 5GC (170). It is noted that having multiple coverage mode capabilities, and thus the capability to communicate simultaneously with different wireless stations (e.g., eNB 125, gNB 135, etc.) and … UE 110 may use dual connectivity (as shown by data session 244-A and data session 244-B) to provide a desired bandwidth is interpreted as registering to a first radio access technology network and to a second radio access technology network);
select, in response to detecting a need to transit from an idle state to a connected state in a camped on cell, which is one of cells linked for spectrum sharing, one of the cells linked, wherein the cells linked comprise at least a cell of a first type according to the first radio access technology and a cell of a second type according to the second radio access technology ([0031] states that “…According to the implementation of FIG. 1B, eNB/gNBs 145 may use portions of the lower frequency bands (e.g., wireless channels 194 for 5G communications) that are part of (but distinct from) the lower frequency bands allocated for 4G communications (e.g., wireless channels 190). For example, in one implementation, eNB/gNBs 145 may be configured to statically allocate portions of allocated spectrum (e.g., Band 2, 1900 PCS) for 4G and 5G connections. As used herein, “NR shared spectrum” may refer to lower frequency bands (in comparison to mmWave frequencies) allocated for 5G, and “4G shared spectrum” may refer to lower frequency bands allocated for 4G. In one implementation, eNB/gNBs 145 may interface with EPC network 150 via a Diameter S1 interface and interface with 5G NR RAN 130 via an NG3 interface;” Further, [0037] states that “With the introduction of the 5G SA architecture (e.g., FIGS. 1B and 1C), end devices 110/115 may select between multiple RAT-types (e.g., using eNB 125, mmWave gNB 135, and eNB/gNB 145 or eNB/gNB 148). A selection may be network driven or UE/application driven.” Further [0084] states that “Similarly, when EN-DC UE 110 initiates a voice call when camped on mmWave gNB spectrum or 4G spectrum, EN-DC UE 110 may trigger a swap to NR shared spectrum on eNB/gNB 145”); and
perform initial access to a cell selected to transit from the idle mode to the connected state (Further, [0037] states that “With the introduction of the 5G SA architecture (e.g., FIGS. 1B and 1C), end devices 110/115 may select between multiple RAT-types (e.g., using eNB 125, mmWave gNB 135, and eNB/gNB 145 or eNB/gNB 148). A selection may be network driven or UE/application driven.” Further [0084] states that “Similarly, when EN-DC UE 110 initiates a voice call when camped on mmWave gNB spectrum or 4G spectrum, EN-DC UE 110 may trigger a swap to NR shared spectrum on eNB/gNB 145”). The examiner further submits that that the cited paragraphs are interpreted as a UE registered on an LTE cell that shares spectrum with an NR cell, also performs reselection to the NR cell using the NR shared spectrum to establish the voice call).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to at least to perform: determine movement speed of the apparatus ([0045] “local anchor point during handover procedures between eNBs 125, gNBs 135, and/or eNB/gNB 145.” Examiner submits that is known as a fact that UE mobility state and neighboring cells signal level or quality during cell reselection (handovers) process is considered or interpreted as movement speed of the apparatus); and use at least the movement speed when selecting the cell where to perform the initial access .” Examiner submits that is known as a fact that UE mobility state and neighboring cells signal level or quality during cell reselection (handovers) process is considered or interpreted as movement speed of the apparatus).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to at least to perform: determine one or more signal characteristics of the cell of the first type comprised in the cells linked and signal characteristic of at least one neighbor cell of the second type ([0035] “During the RRC idle mode, an end device 105/110/115 may camp on a cell after cell selection or reselection takes place, where factors such as, for example, radio link quality, cell status, and radio access technology may be considered”); and use measured signal characteristics when selecting the cell whereto perform the initial access ([0035] “As used herein “camping” on a selected cell refers to end device 105/110/115 maintaining data exchanges with a core network within the confines of a selected cell. A “cell” may include a coverage area served by a wireless station (e.g., one of eNBs 125, gNB 135, or eNB/gNB 145) using a particular frequency band. Thus, in some cases, a cell and the wireless station servicing the cell may be referred to interchangeably.”)
Regarding claim 19, Zhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to at least to perform: detecting that the camped on cell is one of the linked cell based on information received at least from one of the first and second radio access technology networks ([0036] End devices 105/110/115 may also monitor a paging channel to detect incoming calls and acquire system information. In the idle mode, the control plane protocols include cell selection and reselection procedures. During the RRC connected mode, end device 105/110/115 may provide a wireless station 125/135/145 with downlink channel quality and neighbor cell information, so that E-UTRAN 120 and/or 5G NR RAN 130 may assist end device 105/110/115 to select the most suitable cell.).
Regarding claim 20, Zhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the information is received in a dummy field in a system information block from the first radio access technology network ([0036] “the key parameters of the cell, (e.g., found in the master information block (MIB) and the system information blocks (SIBs) broadcast by wireless stations 125/135/145), may be scanned for the intra-frequency and inter-frequency neighboring cells. The measurements may be tracked and uploaded to the RRC layer, which makes control decisions on which cell end device 105/110/115 is to camp. Accordingly, cell selection/reselection may be based on a number of levels of criteria, which may include absolute priority, radio link quality, and/or cell accessibility.”).
Regarding claim 21, Zhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the information is configuration information relating to the cells linked and being received in a prior connected mode ([0039] “According to implementations described herein, when UE 110 is in the RRC idle mode and located within the coverage area of a combined eNB/gNB 145, UE 110 may camp on a 4G frequency band of eNB/gNB 145, as indicated by reference 232. When UE 110 changes to the RRC connected mode for a data session, UE 110 may swap to initially use eNB/gNB 145 for the shared spectrum for 5G (as shown by data session 242-A), and switch to a non-standalone spectrum for EPC network 150 (as shown by data session 242-B) to provide more available spectrum.”).
Regarding claim 22, Zhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the first radio access technology network is based on new radio access technology and the second radio access technology network is based on legacy radio access technology ([0084] “For example, when a wireless station (e.g., eNB/gNB 145 or gNB 135) receives a page request for EN-DC UE 110, the wireless station may identify the purpose of the paging request as initiating a voice call and may initiate a switch from the current cell to the NR shared spectrum on eNB/gNB 145. In one implementation, the paging request may include a voice call indicator that may be identified by the wireless station. Similarly, when EN-DC UE 110 initiates a voice call when camped on mmWave gNB spectrum or 4G spectrum, EN-DC UE 110 may trigger a swap to NR shared spectrum on eNB/gNB 145.”).
Claim 23 contains subject matter similar to claim 16, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Zhu, Abstract “methods provide reliable voice connections and highest possible data rates in New Radio dual-connectivity environments, given limitations of available spectrum”).
Claim 24 contains subject matter similar to claim 17, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 25 contains subject matter similar to claim 18, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 26 contains subject matter similar to claim 16, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Zhu, [0055 “As illustrated in FIG. 4, according to an exemplary embodiment, device 400 includes a bus 405, a processor 410, a memory/storage 415 that stores software 420”).
Regarding claim 27, Zhu discloses the computer-readable medium according to claim 26, wherein the computer-readable medium is a non-transitory computer-readable medium ([0093] Additionally, embodiments described herein may be implemented as a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores data and/or information).
Conclusion
/JULIO R PEREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644