DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and are examined on their merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on September 5th 2025, June 18th 2025, October 25th 2024, September 10th 2024, November 30th 2023, and August 18th 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4, 10, and each of their dependent claims are indefinite for the term “prodrugs thereof,” because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the metes and bounds of the chemical structures encompassed by the term. While one of ordinary skill in the art would certainly recognize “prodrugs,” as compounds that are metabolized into the instant compound genus, these metabolization processes are necessarily complex. Applicant provides no
examples of prodrugs, nor the full extent of the structural metes and bounds encompassed by the term. As one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the structural metes and bounds encompassed by the term “prodrugs,” applicant’s claims are indefinite.
Claims 5 and 12 are indefinite for the phrase “comprises various cancers,” because it is unclear how the phrase further limits the method of claim 4. The phrase, as written, implies that the method of claim 5 involves the treatment of multiple cancers at once. For the purpose of examination, claim 5 will be read as “The method of claim 4, wherein said disease, disorder or medical condition in a patient is a form of cancer.”
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "especially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination, claim 7 will be read as “The method of claim 6, wherein said disease, disorder or medical condition in a patient is mediated through KRAS mutant G12C.”
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the cancer" in reference to the method of claim 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Duplicate Claims
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 6 be found allowable, claim 13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 8 be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tian (US 2024/0109893 A1 published on April 4th 2024, effectively filed on December 22nd 2020).
Claims 1-2 and 10 are directed to a compound of Formula I:
.
One such compound is compound 1a:
.
Tian teaches compound 1a (Tian, pg. 801, 2nd row), anticipating claims 1-2 and 10.
Claim 3 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition of the compound of claim 1. Tian teaches pharmaceutical compositions (Tian, pg. 941, claim 22), anticipating claim 3.
Claim 4 is directed towards the treatment of a disease comprising administration of a therapeutic agent comprising a compound of claim 1. Tian teaches the treatment of KRAS G12C mediated cancers with the compound (Tian, pg. 941, claim 23), anticipating claim 4.
Claim 5 limits the disease of claim 4 to cancers, and is anticipated by Tian who teaches the treatment of KRAS G12C mediated cancers with the compound (Tian, pg. 941, claim 23).
Claim 6 limits the disease of claim 5 to KRAS mediated diseases and is anticipated by Tian who teaches the treatment of KRAS G12C mediated cancers with the compound (Tian, pg. 941, claim 23).
Claim 7 limits the disease of claim 7 to KRAS mediated diseases, especially KRAS G12C and is anticipated by Tian who teaches the treatment of KRAS G12C mediated cancers with the compound (Tian, pg. 941, claim 23).
Claim 8 limits the cancer of claim 6 to be selected from a list including pancreatic cancer. Tian teaches the treatment of pancreatic cancer (Tian, pg. 301, paragraph [095]), anticipating claim 8.
Claim 9 limits the method of claim 4 to require administration of an additional therapeutic agent. Tian teaches the administration of additional therapeutic agents (Tian, pg. 301, paragraph [0098]), anticipating claim 9.
Claim 11 is directed towards the method of claim 4 wherein the pharmaceutical composition of claim 3 is administered. As Tian teaches the treatment of KRAS G12C mediated cancers with the compound (Tian, pg. 941, claim 23) and pharmaceutical compositions (Tian, pg. 941, claim 22), Tian anticipates claim 11.
As claim 12 is a substantial duplicate of claim 5, it is anticipated by Tian for the same reasons.
As claim 13 is a substantial duplicate of claim 6, it is anticipated by Tian for the same reasons.
As claim 14 is a substantial duplicate of claim 7 (see the above 112(b) rejection for claim 7 for the interpretation of the claim), it is anticipated by Tian for the same reasons.
As claim 15 is a substantial duplicate of claim 8, it is anticipated by Tian for the same reasons.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/859,365 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds of the reference application differ from the instant application only in the definitions of Y and G, which share significant overlap between the two applications. Furthermore, each of the species of Formula I claimed by applicant are also present in the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629