DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 05/29/2026
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10 of remarks, filed 05/29/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 14-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 14-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 has been withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11-12 of remarks, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 and 14-17 in view of Khan (US Pat. No. 10,778,460) have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/29/2026 with regards to rejection of claims 1-4, 6-11 and 14-17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant in page 13-14 argues in part, “Referring to the present specification, the present specification indicates that "operation site parameters obtained from an operation site where the HVAC system is to be installed. comprise "detailed address information," "information of the inquiry of customer concerning the HVAC system installation," "parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated" and "parameters regarding any previously installed or existing HVAC systems." Spec. at p. 9, In. 12 top. 13, In. 4. In other words, the "operation site parameters" are information about the site where the HVAC system will be delivered and installed."
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “comprise "detailed address information," "information of the inquiry of customer concerning the HVAC system installation," "parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated" and "parameters regarding any previously installed or existing HVAC systems.") are not recited in the rejected claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 16 or 17. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Independent claim recites, “a first parameter set comprising a plurality of operation site parameters”, the specification does not define or limit the interpretation of the term “operation site parameters”. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the term “operation site parameters” can be include various different parameters including identification information as taught by KHAN (US10778460B1) in Column 19 Line 40-58.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/29/2026 with regards to rejection claims 12-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument appears to substantially rely on the same arguments made with respect to rejection of claims 1-4, 6-11 and 14-17 and based on the interpretation of “operation site parameters”. As mentioned above in response to the argument regarding claims 1-4, 6-11 and 14-17, the term “operation site parameters” is a broad term, which is not defined or limited by the examples provided in the specification. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, KHAN’s (US10778460B1) teaching in Column 19 Line 40-58 regarding identification information reads on the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN (US10778460B1) in view of Land (US20160116179A1)
Regarding claim 1,
Khan teaches, A method for configuring and commissioning an HVAC system, comprising:
storing, by a central storage unit, a first parameter set comprising a plurality of operation site parameters obtained from an operation site where the HVAC system is to be installed; (Khan in Column 19 Line 40-58 teaches storing configuration data indexed by corresponding identifications (site parameter) of edge devices 460 in memory of server 430. Column 10 Line 51 teaches, "The edge device 460 is a HVAC")
storing, by the central storage unit, a second parameter set comprising a plurality of HVAC configuration parameters of the HVAC system to be delivered to the operation site; (Khan in Column 19 Line 40-58 teaches The configuration data generator 852 may generate the configuration data indicating determined operating parameters of the edge devices 460 and store the configuration data)
generating, …a configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system on the basis of the first parameter set and the second parameter set stored in the central storage unit such that the HVAC system is brought into operation, (Column 19 Line 40-55 teaches generating indexed configuration data based on configuration data and identification)
uploading, by the computing device, the generated configuration file to a central storage unit; (Column 4 Line 40-44 teaches, A server (also referred to as “a central computing device”) generates and stores configuration data specifying one or more parameters of the edge devices for climate control. Column 19 Line 43-45 teaches configuration data generator 852 of server 430 stores the default values of the operating parameters at the memory 850.
downloading, by a mobile device, the uploaded configuration file from the central storage unit; (Column 15 Line 7-20 teaches configuration data retriever 652 of controller device retrieves and stores configuration data from the server. Column 11 Line 35-40 teaches, “the controller device 410 is implemented as a smart phone”)
transmitting, by the mobile device, the downloaded configuration file to an HVAC control unit comprised in the HVAC system located at the operation site; and (Column 13 Line 1-5 teaches, the controller device may automatically connect to multiple edge devices within the predetermined distance through wireless networks hosted by the edge devices and transmit configuration data through the wireless networks. Column 18 Line 7-15 teaches edge device includes a HVAC controller.)
commissioning, by the HVAC control unit, the HVAC system located at the operation site with the transmitted configuration file. (Column 13 Line 5-7 teaches, the controller device 410 may configure multiple edge devices within the predetermined distance through a seamless process. Column 18 Line 7-15 teaches edge device includes a HVAC controller.)
Khan doesn’t teach, generating, by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold, and that is different than the operation site, a configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system such that the HVAC system is brought into operation, wherein the configuration file is generated at the configuration site and the HVAC system is to be delivered to the operation site; (Khan in Column 19 Line 40-55 teaches computing device (server 430) generating configuration data. However, it doesn’t teach the configuration data is generated by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold. Land in ¶0023 teaches, server system 120 may facilitate the ability of the client system 130 to specify and program the configuration of the controller 104 at a customer's site and the server system 120 may allow the client system 130 to establish (create), edit, and/or manage templates of configuration parameters and/or settings. Also teaches, the server system 120 may allow the client system 130 to remotely push individual and/or bulk parameters or settings to the installed system (e.g., controller 104). ¶0023 also teaches, the client system 130 located at a dealer location (“computer at the dealer location”). ¶0010 teaches HVAC systems located at customer location)
Land is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, configuring electronically programmable heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (“HVAC”) (see Abstract). A combination of Land with Khan would allow generating configuration file by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Land with Khan. Creating configuration file at dealer location is known in the art as evident by Land in ¶0023 and ¶0025. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2,
Khan and Land teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying, by the mobile device, the configuration file downloaded from the central storage unit; and (Khan in Column 15 Line 58-65 teaches, The user interface generator 670 is a component that generates a user interface allowing a user (e.g., field engineer) to generate and execute various instructions for operating the controller device 410 disclosed herein. In one aspect, the user interface generator 670 generates a user interface that allows a user to authenticate retrieving configuration data)
before transmitting, by the mobile device, the downloaded configuration file to the HVAC control unit, obtaining, by the mobile device, a confirmation from a user at the operation site. (Khan in Column 15 Line 58-65 teaches, the user interface generator 670 generates a user interface that allows a user to authenticate retrieving configuration data, modifying configuration data, and uploading modified configuration data)
Regarding claim 3,
Khan and Land teaches, The method of claim 2, further comprising:
before obtaining, by the mobile device, the confirmation from the user, determining, by the mobile device, that a local connection at the operation site between the mobile device and the HVAC control unit is established. (Khan in Column 20 Line 48-55 teaches, a field engineer may place the controller device 410 near (e.g., within 5 inch) the edge device 460, and the controller device 410 may detect the edge device 460 through a short-range communication (e.g., near field communication, Bluetooth Low Energy communication, etc.). After detecting the edge devices 460, the controller device 410 generates a list of detected edge devices 460, and forwards the list to the server 430 through a connection 415 (e.g., wired, WLAN or cellular connection).
Regarding claim 4,
Khan and Land teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing, by the computing device, the configuration file with identity information including at least one of first HVAC object information, first user information and first HVAC service information of the HVAC system to be delivered to the operation site; and (Khan in Column 20 Line 5-10 teaches, server transmits the requested configuration data to the edge device 460 identified by the received identification through the edge device communication interface 820)
before transmitting, by the mobile device, the downloaded configuration file to the HVAC control unit, checking, by the mobile device, whether the identity information comprised in the downloaded configuration file corresponds to installation information comprised in the HVAC system located at the operation site, wherein the installation information comprises at least one of second HVAC object information, second user information and second HVAC service information of the HVAC system located at the operation site. (Khan in Column 15 Line 10-20 teaches, the configuration data retriever 652 of the controller device 410 transmits a request for configuration data for one or more edge devices 460 through the server communication interface 610. In response to the request, the configuration data retriever 652 receives, through the server communication interface 610, requested configuration data and stores the received configuration data at a local storage (e.g., memory 650). The configuration data stored may be indexed by corresponding identifications of edge devices 460.)
Regarding claim 6,
Khan and Land teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
storing, by the central storage unit, a plurality of previous first parameter sets, wherein each set comprises a plurality of previous operation site parameters obtained from a corresponding previous operation site; (Khan in Column 19 Line 59-67 teaches server storing identifications of the edge devices sent by the controller device 410)
storing, by the central storage unit, a plurality of previous second parameter sets, wherein each set comprises a plurality of previous HVAC configuration parameters of a corresponding previous HVAC system; (Khan in Column 19 Line 59-67 teaches server storing configuration data of the edge devices sent by the controller device 410)
generating, by the computing device, a plurality of previous configuration files each associated with any one set comprised in the plurality of previous first parameter sets and any one set comprised in the plurality of previous second parameter sets; (Khan in Column 19 Line 59-67 teaches server storing configuration data identified by corresponding identifications of the edge devices)
matching, by the computing device, the stored first parameter set with a previous first parameter set comprised in the plurality of previous first parameter sets; (Khan in Column 20 Line 1-16 teaches configuration data transmitter 858 identifying an edge device by the received identification)
matching, by the computing device, the stored second parameter set with a previous second parameter set comprised in the plurality of previous second parameter sets; and (Khan in Column 20 Line 1-16 teaches configuration data transmitter 858 identifying configuration data based on the received identification of edge device)
obtaining, by the computing device, the configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system on the basis of the plurality of previous configuration files. (Khan in Column 15 Line 7-20 teaches configuration data retriever 652 of controller device retrieves and stores configuration data from the server.)
Regarding claim 10,
Khan teaches, A method for configuring and commissioning an HVAC system, comprising:
storing, by a central storage unit, a first parameter set comprising a plurality of operation site parameters obtained from an operation site, where the HVAC system is to be installed; (Column 19 Line 40-58 teaches storing configuration data indexed by corresponding identifications (site parameter) of edge devices 460 in memory of server 430. Column 10 Line 51 teaches, “The edge device 460 is a HVAC”)
storing, by the central storage unit, a second parameter set comprising a plurality of HVAC configuration parameters of the HVAC system; (Column 19 Line 40-58 teaches storing target set points and determines operating parameters of edge devices. Column 10 Line 51 teaches, “The edge device 460 is a HVAC”)
generating, by a computing device,…. a configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system such that the HVAC system is brought into operation, wherein the configuration file is generated ….on the basis of the first parameter set and the second parameter set stored in the central storage unit; and (Column 19 Line 40-55 teaches generating indexed configuration data based on configuration data and identification)
commissioning, by an HVAC control unit comprised in the HVAC system, the HVAC system located at the operation site with the transmitted configuration file. (Column 15 Line 7-20 teaches configuration data retriever 652 of controller device retrieves and stores configuration data from the server. Column 13 Line 1-5 teaches, the controller device may automatically connect to multiple edge devices within the predetermined distance through wireless networks hosted by the edge devices and transmit configuration data through the wireless networks. Column 13 Line 5-7 teaches, the controller device 410 may configure multiple edge devices within the predetermined distance through a seamless process)
Khan doesn’t teach, generating, by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold and that is different than the operation site, a configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system such that the HVAC system is brought into operation, wherein the configuration file is generated at the configuration site (Khan in Column 19 Line 40-55 teaches computing device (server 430) generating configuration data. However, it doesn’t teach the configuration data is generated by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold. Land in ¶0023 teaches, server system 120 may facilitate the ability of the client system 130 to specify and program the configuration of the controller 104 at a customer's site and the server system 120 may allow the client system 130 to establish (create), edit, and/or manage templates of configuration parameters and/or settings. Also teaches, the server system 120 may allow the client system 130 to remotely push individual and/or bulk parameters or settings to the installed system (e.g., controller 104). ¶0023 also teaches, the client system 130 located at a dealer location (“computer at the dealer location”). ¶0010 teaches HVAC systems located at customer location)
Land is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, configuring electronically programmable heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (“HVAC”) (see Abstract). A combination of Land with Khan would allow generating configuration file by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Land with Khan. Creating configuration file at dealer location is known in the art as evident by Land in ¶0023 and ¶0025. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11,
Khan and Land teaches, The method of claim 10, further comprising:
storing, by the central storage unit, a plurality of previous first parameter sets, wherein each set comprises a plurality of previous operation site parameters obtained from a corresponding previous operation site; (Khan in Column 19 Line 59-67 teaches server storing identifications of the edge devices sent by the controller device 410)
storing, by the central storage unit, a plurality of previous second parameter sets, wherein each set comprises a plurality of previous HVAC configuration parameters of a corresponding previous HVAC system; (Khan in Column 19 Line 59-67 teaches server storing configuration data of the edge devices sent by the controller device 410)
generating, by the computing device, a plurality of previous configuration files each associated with any one set comprised in the plurality of previous first parameter sets and any one set comprised in the plurality of previous second parameter sets; (Khan in Column 19 Line 59-67 teaches server storing configuration data identified by corresponding identifications of the edge devices)
matching, by the computing device, the stored first parameter set with a previous first parameter set comprised in the plurality of previous first parameter sets; (Khan in Column 20 Line 1-16 teaches configuration data transmitter 858 identifying an edge device by the received identification)
matching, by the computing device, the stored second parameter set with a previous second parameter set comprised in the plurality of previous second parameter sets; and (Khan in Column 20 Line 1-16 teaches configuration data transmitter 858 identifying configuration data based on the received identification of edge device)
obtaining, by the computing device, the configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system on the basis of the plurality of previous configuration files. (Khan in Column 15 Line 7-20 teaches configuration data retriever 652 of controller device retrieves and stores configuration data from the server.)
Regarding claim 12,
Khan teaches, A system for configuring and commissioning an HVAC system, comprising a computing device, a central storage unit, a mobile device and the HVAC system, wherein: (Khan in Column 10 Line 36-50 teaches, a server 430 (computing device), Column 19 Line 20-25 teaches memory 850 (central storage device), Column 10 Line 50-52 teaches The edge device 460 is a HVAC device and Column 10 Line 35-40 teaches, “the controller device 410 is implemented as a smart phone”)
the central storage unit is configured to store a first parameter set comprising a plurality of operation site parameters obtained from an operation site where the HVAC system is to be installed; (Khan in Column 19 Line 40-58 teaches storing configuration data indexed by corresponding identifications (site parameter) of edge devices 460 in memory of server 430. Column 10 Line 51 teaches, "The edge device 460 is a HVAC")
the central storage unit is further configured to store a second parameter set comprising a plurality of HVAC configuration parameters of the HVAC system; ((Khan in Column 19 Line 40-58 teaches The configuration data generator 852 may generate the configuration data indicating determined operating parameters of the edge devices 460 and store the configuration data)
the computing device is…. configured to generate a configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system on the basis of the first parameter set and the second parameter set stored in the central storage unit such that the HVAC system is brought into operation, (Column 19 Line 40-55 teaches generating indexed configuration data based on configuration data and identification)
the computing device is further configured to upload the generated configuration file to the central storage unit; (Khan in Column 4 Line 40-44 teaches, A server (also referred to as “a central computing device”) generates and stores configuration data specifying one or more parameters of the edge devices for climate control. Column 19 Line 43-45 teaches configuration data generator 852 of server 430 stores the default values of the operating parameters at the memory 850.
the mobile device is configured to download the uploaded configuration file from the central storage unit, and to transmit the downloaded configuration file to an HVAC control unit comprised in the HVAC system located at the operation site; and (Khan in Column 15 Line 7-20 teaches configuration data retriever 652 of controller device retrieves and stores configuration data from the server. Column 11 Line 35-40 teaches, “the controller device 410 is implemented as a smart phone”. Column 13 Line 1-5 teaches, the controller device may automatically connect to multiple edge devices within the predetermined distance through wireless networks hosted by the edge devices and transmit configuration data through the wireless networks. Column 18 Line 7-15 teaches edge device includes a HVAC controller.)
the HVAC control unit is configured to commission the HVAC system located at the operation site with the transmitted configuration file. (Khan in Column 13 Line 5-7 teaches, the controller device 410 may configure multiple edge devices within the predetermined distance through a seamless process. Column 18 Line 7-15 teaches edge device includes a HVAC controller.)
Khan doesn’t teach, the computing device is located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold and is configured to generate a configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system such that the HVAC system is brought into operation, wherein the configuration file is generated at the configuration site and the HVAC system is to be delivered to an operation site where the HVAC system is to be installed and that is different than the configuration site; (Khan in Column 19 Line 40-55 teaches computing device (server 430) generating configuration data. However, it doesn’t teach the configuration data is generated by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold. Land in ¶0023 teaches, server system 120 may facilitate the ability of the client system 130 to specify and program the configuration of the controller 104 at a customer's site and the server system 120 may allow the client system 130 to establish (create), edit, and/or manage templates of configuration parameters and/or settings. Also teaches, the server system 120 may allow the client system 130 to remotely push individual and/or bulk parameters or settings to the installed system (e.g., controller 104). ¶0023 also teaches, the client system 130 located at a dealer location (“computer at the dealer location”). ¶0010 teaches HVAC systems located at customer location)
Land is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, configuring electronically programmable heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (“HVAC”) (see Abstract). A combination of Land with Khan would allow generating configuration file by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Land with Khan. Creating configuration file at dealer location is known in the art as evident by Land in ¶0023 and ¶0025. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13,
Khan teaches, A system for configuring and commissioning an HVAC system, comprising a computing device, a central storage unit, a mobile device and the HVAC system, wherein: (Column 10 Line 36-50 teaches, a server 430 (computing device), Column 19 Line 20-25 teaches memory 850 (central storage device), Column 10 Line 50-52 teaches The edge device 460 is a HVAC device and Column 10 Line 35-40 teaches, “the controller device 410 is implemented as a smart phone”)
the central storage unit is configured to store a first parameter set comprising a plurality of operation site parameters obtained from an operation site, where the HVAC system is to be installed; (Column 19 Line 40-58 teaches storing configuration data indexed by corresponding identifications (site parameter) of edge devices 460 in memory of server 430. Column 10 Line 51 teaches, “The edge device 460 is a HVAC”. Column 5 line 40-54 teaches HVAC is located at building 10)
the central storage unit is further configured to store a second parameter set comprising a plurality of HVAC configuration parameters of the HVAC system; (Khan in Column 19 Line 40-58 teaches The configuration data generator 852 may generate the configuration data indicating determined operating parameters of the edge devices 460 and store the configuration data)
the computing device ….is configured to generate a configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system such that the HVAC system is brought into operation, wherein the configuration file is generated … on the basis of the first parameter set and the second parameter set stored in the central storage unit; and (Column 19 Line 40-55 teaches generating indexed configuration data based on configuration data and identification)
an HVAC control unit comprised in the HVAC system is configured to commission the HVAC system located at the operation site with the transmitted configuration file. (Column 15 Line 7-20 teaches configuration data retriever 652 of controller device retrieves and stores configuration data from the server. Column 13 Line 1-5 teaches, the controller device may automatically connect to multiple edge devices within the predetermined distance through wireless networks hosted by the edge devices and transmit configuration data through the wireless networks. Column 13 Line 5-7 teaches, the controller device 410 may configure multiple edge devices within the predetermined distance through a seamless process)
Khan doesn’t teach, the computing device is located at a configuration site, which is where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold and which is different than the operation site, and is configured to generate a configuration file for commissioning the HVAC system such that the HVAC system is brought into operation, wherein the configuration file is generated at the configuration site (Khan in Column 19 Line 40-55 teaches computing device (server 430) generating configuration data. However, it doesn’t teach the configuration data is generated by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold. Land in ¶0023 teaches, server system 120 may facilitate the ability of the client system 130 to specify and program the configuration of the controller 104 at a customer's site and the server system 120 may allow the client system 130 to establish (create), edit, and/or manage templates of configuration parameters and/or settings. Also teaches, the server system 120 may allow the client system 130 to remotely push individual and/or bulk parameters or settings to the installed system (e.g., controller 104). ¶0023 also teaches, the client system 130 located at a dealer location (“computer at the dealer location”). ¶0010 teaches HVAC systems located at customer location)
Land is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, configuring electronically programmable heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (“HVAC”) (see Abstract). A combination of Land with Khan would allow generating configuration file by a computing device located at a configuration site where the HVAC system is manufactured or sold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Land with Khan. Creating configuration file at dealer location is known in the art as evident by Land in ¶0023 and ¶0025. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 14,
Khan and Land teaches, A computing device comprising a non-transitory computer readable media with a computer program stored thereon with instructions which, when being executed by the computing device, cause the computing device to carry out the steps performed by the computing device according to the method of claim 1. (Khan in Column 19 Line 18-39 teaches, the processing circuit 840 of server 430 includes a processor 845 , and memory 850 storing instructions ( or program code ) executable by the processor 845.)
Regarding claim 15,
Khan and Land teaches, A mobile device comprising a non-transitory computer readable media with a computer program stored thereon with instructions which, when being executed by the mobile device, cause the mobile device to carry out the steps performed by the mobile device according to the method of claim 1. (Khan in Column 14 Line 51-67 teaches, the processing circuit 640 of controller device 410 includes a processor 645, and memory 650 storing instructions (or program code) executable by the processor 645. Column 11 Line 35-40 teaches, “the controller device 410 is implemented as a smart phone”)
Regarding claim 16,
Khan and Land teaches, A computing device comprising a non-transitory computer readable media with a computer program stored thereon with instructions which, when being executed by the computing device, cause the computing device to carry out the steps performed by the computing device according to the method of claim 10. (Khan in Column 19 Line 18-39 teaches, the processing circuit 840 of server 430 includes a processor 845 , and memory 850 storing instructions ( or program code ) executable by the processor 845.)
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN (US10778460B1) in view of Land (US20160116179A1) and further in view of Atchison (US20180031262A1)
Regarding claim 7,
Khan and Land as modified doesn’t explicitly teach, The method of claim 1,further comprising:
providing, by the central storage unit, the uploaded configuration file with test run data for validation of the HVAC system and expected test result data associated with the test run data; (Atchison in ¶0056 teaches, the system controller 300 may instruct one or more components of the HVAC system 100 to perform a self-diagnostic check and provide the results to the system controller 300. Information about the components and correct operation may be stored in the memory 316 of the system controller 300 and may be accessed on the user interface 302 or may be stored on the network 318 and may be available using the communications interface 310)
initiating, by the HVAC control unit, a test run on the HVAC system located at the operation site according to the test run data comprised in the configuration file transmitted from the mobile device; and (Atchison in ¶0056 teaches, a system diagnostic is performed at process block 612)
generating, by the HVAC control unit, validation analysis data on the basis of actual test result data obtained from the initiated test run and the expected test result data comprised in the configuration file transmitted from the mobile device. (Atchison in ¶0056 teaches, at process block 614, the processor evaluates the results of the system diagnostics check and provides the results to the technician using the user interface 302. For example, the user interface 302 will display an alert if a component of the HVAC system 100 is not operating correctly.)
Atchison is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, an HVAC system (see Abstract). A combination of Atchison with Khan and Land would allow the combine system to perform validation of the HVAC system using the configuration information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Atchison with Khan and Land. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so will allow the system to perform a diagnostics check to ensure proper function of all the HVAC components after commissioning, as taught by Atchison in ¶0047.
Regarding claim 8,
Khan, Land and Atchison teaches, The method of claim 7, further comprising:
transmitting, by the HVAC control unit, the obtained actual test result data to the central storage unit, wherein the obtained actual test result data is directly transmitted to the central storage unit and/or transmitted to the central storage unit via the mobile device; (Atchison in ¶0056 and Fig. 6 step 614 teaches receiving diagnostic results)
and generating, by the central storage unit and/or by the mobile device, validation analysis data on the basis of the transmitted actual test result data and the expected test result data comprised in the configuration file. (Atchison in ¶0056 teaches, At process block 614, the processor evaluates the results of the system diagnostics check and provides the results to the technician using the user interface 302.)
Regarding claim 9,
Khan, Land and Atchison teaches, The method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving, by the mobile device, the generated validation analysis data from the HVAC control unit or the central storage unit; (Atchison in ¶0056 teaches user interface 302 receiving result of the system diagnostics check)
generating, by the mobile device, user instructions on the basis of the transmitted validation analysis data; and (Atchison in ¶0056 teaches generating an alert if a component of the HVAC system 100 is not operating correctly)
displaying, by the mobile device, the generated user instructions and/or the transmitted validation analysis data. (Atchison in ¶0056 teaches, the user interface 302 will display an alert if a component of the HVAC system 100 is not operating correctly)
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN (US10778460B1) in view of Land (US20160116179A1) and further in view of Khiani (US20150323209A1)
Regarding Claim 18,
Khan and Land as modified doesn’t explicitly teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the operation site parameters are selected from the group consisting of address information, customer inquiry information, parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated, and parameters regarding any previously commissioned HVAC systems. (Khiani in ¶0027 teaches Controller 102 may pass location 206 over network connection 116 to a network device such as manufacturer server 122. In response, the network device may send location-specific setting information 214 to controller 102)
Khiani is an art in the area of interest as it relates to heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning unit controllers and, more particularly, to adjustment of unit controller settings (see ¶0001). A combination of Khiani with Khan and Land would allow the operation site parameters to be selected from a group consisting of address information, customer inquiry information, parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated, and parameters regarding any previously commissioned HVAC systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combined the teachings of Khiani with Khan and Land. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow adjusting settings according to the geographical location, as taught by Khiani in ¶0005. It would make it possible to determine a correct setting for HVAC automatically with a high degree of confidence, as taught by Khiani in ¶0004.
Regarding Claim 19,
Khan and Land as modified doesn’t explicitly teach, The method of claim 10, wherein the operation site parameters are selected from the group consisting of address information, customer inquiry information, parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated, and parameters regarding any previously commissioned HVAC systems. (Khiani in ¶0027 teaches Controller 102 may pass location 206 over network connection 116 to a network device such as manufacturer server 122. In response, the network device may send location-specific setting information 214 to controller 102)
Khiani is an art in the area of interest as it relates to heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning unit controllers and, more particularly, to adjustment of unit controller settings (see ¶0001). A combination of Khiani with Khan and Land would allow the operation site parameters to be selected from a group consisting of address information, customer inquiry information, parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated, and parameters regarding any previously commissioned HVAC systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combined the teachings of Khiani with Khan and Land. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow adjusting settings according to the geographical location, as taught by Khiani in ¶0005. It would make it possible to determine a correct setting for HVAC automatically with a high degree of confidence, as taught by Khiani in ¶0004.
Regarding Claim 20,
Khan and Land as modified doesn’t explicitly teach, The system of claim 12, wherein the operation site parameters are selected from the group consisting of address information, customer inquiry information, parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated, and parameters regarding any previously commissioned HVAC systems. (Khiani in ¶0027 teaches Controller 102 may pass location 206 over network connection 116 to a network device such as manufacturer server 122. In response, the network device may send location-specific setting information 214 to controller 102)
Khiani is an art in the area of interest as it relates to heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning unit controllers and, more particularly, to adjustment of unit controller settings (see ¶0001). A combination of Khiani with Khan and Land would allow the operation site parameters to be selected from a group consisting of address information, customer inquiry information, parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated, and parameters regarding any previously commissioned HVAC systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combined the teachings of Khiani with Khan and Land. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow adjusting settings according to the geographical location, as taught by Khiani in ¶0005. It would make it possible to determine a correct setting for HVAC automatically with a high degree of confidence, as taught by Khiani in ¶0004.
Regarding Claim 21,
Khan and Land as modified doesn’t explicitly teach, The system of claim 13, wherein the operation site parameters are selected from the group consisting of address information, customer inquiry information, parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated, and parameters regarding any previously commissioned HVAC systems. (Khiani in ¶0027 teaches Controller 102 may pass location 206 over network connection 116 to a network device such as manufacturer server 122. In response, the network device may send location-specific setting information 214 to controller 102)
Khiani is an art in the area of interest as it relates to heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning unit controllers and, more particularly, to adjustment of unit controller settings (see ¶0001). A combination of Khiani with Khan and Land would allow the operation site parameters to be selected from a group consisting of address information, customer inquiry information, parameters regarding the building in which the operation site is situated, and parameters regarding any previously commissioned HVAC systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combined the teachings of Khiani with Khan and Land. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow adjusting settings according to the geographical location, as taught by Khiani in ¶0005. It would make it possible to determine a correct setting for HVAC automatically with a high degree of confidence, as taught by Khiani in ¶0004.
Conclusion
/ISTIAQUE AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116