DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending, and claims 1-10 are currently under review.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 12/01/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/01/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guillou et al. (2019, Room temperature magnetic anisotropy in Fe2P-type transition metal based alloys).
Regarding claims 1-3, Guillou et al. discloses a magnet having a composition of Fe1.8Co0.2P1-ySiy with y having values of 0.1, 0.15, 0.2, etc. [p.406, fig.4-5]. The examiner notes that these compositions fall within and anticipate the claimed ranges. One of ordinary skill would further recognize the magnet of Guillou et al. to be hard magnet based on the disclosed magnetic properties and anticipatory composition of Guillou et al.
Regarding claim 5, Guillou et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Guillou et al. further teaches a saturation magnetization at room temperature (ie. approximately 293 K) µ0Ms is about 0.9T, which meets the claimed range [p.411].
Regarding claim 6, Guillou et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Guillou et al. further teaches a magnetic anisotropy at room temperature (ie. approximately 293 K) of about 0.9 Mjm^-3, which meets the claimed range [abstract].
Regarding claim 7, Guillou et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Guillou et al. further teaches obtaining a curie temperature of at least 640 K, which meets the claimed range [abstract].
Regarding claims 8-10, Guillou et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Guillou et al. does not expressly teach a hardness parameter, compositional change in HCl, or first order transition parameter as claimed. However, one of ordinary skill would understand that these are intrinsic properties which merely depend upon the magnetic alloy composition. See MPEP 2112. This is further supported by applicant’s own specification which teaches that the claimed properties are achieved by meeting the claimed composition [0035, 0037-0038 instant spec]. Since Guillou et al. discloses an anticipatory composition, one of ordinary skill would have expected identical ranges of properties to naturally flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guillou et al. (2019, Room temperature magnetic anisotropy in Fe2P-type transition metal based alloys).
Regarding claims 1-4, Guillou et al. discloses a magnet having a composition of Fe2-zCozP1-ySiy with z ranging from 0 to 0.3 and y ranging from 0 to 0.6 [abstract, p.404, p.406, fig.4-5]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the compositional ranges of Guillou et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). One of ordinary skill would further recognize the magnet of Guillou et al. to be hard magnet based on the disclosed properties of Guillou et al.
Regarding claim 5, Guillou et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Guillou et al. further teaches a saturation magnetization at room temperature (ie. approximately 293 K) µ0Ms is about 0.9T, which meets the claimed range [p.411].
Regarding claim 6, Guillou et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Guillou et al. further teaches a magnetic anisotropy at room temperature (ie. approximately 293 K) of about 0.9 Mjm^-3, which meets the claimed range [abstract].
Regarding claim 7, Guillou et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Guillou et al. further teaches obtaining a curie temperature of at least 640 K, which meets the claimed range [abstract].
Regarding claims 8-10, Guillou et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Guillou et al. does not expressly teach a hardness parameter, compositional change in HCl, or first order transition parameter as claimed. However, one of ordinary skill would understand that these are intrinsic properties which merely depend upon the magnetic alloy composition. See MPEP 2112. This is further supported by applicant’s own specification which teaches that the claimed properties are achieved by meeting the claimed composition [0035, 0037-0038 instant spec]. Since Guillou et al. discloses a substantially similar, overlapping composition, one of ordinary skill would have expected substantially similar, overlapping ranges of properties relative to those as claimed to naturally flow.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734