DETAILEED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/05/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II claims 8-16 in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Straubel wire is not severed upon exposure to a theoretical value of a predetermined current being reach. This is not found persuasive because applicant’s arguments only focus on a single stated intended use of the frangible conductor breaking as a result of mechanical force and ignores the other instances in which it is taught that the frangible conductor may break during an overcurrent or thermal event such as an overcurrent [0335, 0339, Straubel]. These teachings read on the claimed limitation in which the wire is severed when a predetermined current exceeds a threshold value for a predetermined period of time.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Straubel (US20090139781A1; filed IDS 08/18/2023).
Regarding claim 8, Straubel discloses a cell assembly comprising: a plurality of cells (14I) arranged within a housing (18I) [0328-0329, fig. 49 Straubel]; and at least one wire bond (12I) electrically connecting each cell of the plurality of cells (14I) to the other cells of the plurality of cells [0328-0339, fig. 49-52, Straubel], wherein each wire bond is selected to conduct current from a respective cell during normal operation and to sever such electrical connection through the wire bond when a predetermined current exceeds a threshold value for a predetermined period of time [0328-0339, Straubel].
Straubel teaches that the wire may break due to various conditions included a predetermined thermal [0328] or overcurrent [0335] event. These thermal means may include but are not limited to an over current, etc [0339].
Regarding claim 9, Straubel teaches the cell assembly, wherein the cells are electrically connected in series [0331, Straubel].
Regarding claim 10, Straubel teaches the cell assembly, wherein a wire bond of one cell connects from a positive terminal of the cell to a negative terminal of an adjacent cell [0224, 0330-0332, fig. 16A, 51, Straubel].
Regarding claim 11, Straubel teaches the cell assembly, wherein the cells are electrically connected in parallel [0331, Straubel].
Regarding claim 12, Straubel teaches the cell assembly, further comprising a collector plate (16I, “conductor”) [0328-0339, fig. 49-50, Straubel], wherein each wire bond is connected to the conductor that electrically connects the plurality of cells [0330-0332, fig. 49-50, Straubel].
Regarding claim 13, Straubel teaches the cell assembly, further comprising an adhesive layer arranged between the conductor and the housing and configured to secure the conductor to the housing [0331, Straubel teaches of using epoxy to connect the collector plate to the housing, this reads on an adhesive layer].
Regarding claim 15, Straubel teaches the cell assembly, further comprising a cell assembly first (“positive”) terminal and a cell assembly second (“negative”) terminal configured to electrically connect to an external electrical device [0465, fig. 93C, Straubel].
Regarding claim 16, Straubel teaches the cell assembly, wherein the at least one wire bond (144A) of each cell is connected at a positive terminal (114A) of the respective cell [0221-0222, Fig. 16a, Straubel], the cell assembly further comprising at least one additional wire bond (142A) configured to attach to a negative terminal (116A) of the respective cells [0221-0222, Fig. 16a, Straubel].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straubel as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Motokawa (US20170200926A1: filed as WO2016031208A1 in IDS 02/19/2026).
Regarding claim 14, Straubel teaches of a printed circuit board (26J) being located between a housing (28J) and conductor (30J) [0347-0348, fig. 53, Straubel].
Straubel is silent to a stiffening layer arranged between the conductor and the housing and configured to provide stability to the conductor.
However, Motokawa teaches a plurality of battery cells (1) contained by a housing (3) and block holder (17/23) on each end of the cell [0047, 0055, fig. 9, Motokawa]. A reinforcing component (19) made from a glass epoxy resin is placed between the block holder and electrode leads (21/27) and current collectors (13/15) [0054-0058, fig. 9, Motokawa]. Where the reinforcing component is used for reinforcing the strength of the block holder when gas is released from the cell [0059, Motakawa].
The examiner notes that a glass epoxy resin is a stable reinforcing material and as such, when it is placed between a housing and current collector would be able to be configured to provide stability to the conductor.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Straubel such that a reinforcing component, such as a glass epoxy resin was placed between the housing and conduct. Or such that the reinforcing component was incorporated into the PCB layer of Straubel. Doing so can provide additional reinforcing strength the housing as well as reduce the influence of high-temperature gas [0059, Motakawa].
Conclusion
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724