Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 03/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-21, 23, 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/19/2026.
Claim Interpretation
The term “means of the coupling mechanism” is treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fischer et al. (7,380,885).
Regarding claim 1, Fischer et al. disclose a vehicle seat, comprising a seat base U, a seat part F which is arranged on the seat base and can be adjusted relative to the seat base, a backrest R/1 which is mounted on the seat base so as to be pivotable between an upright use position (figure 1A) and a non-use position (figure 7) which is pivoted towards the seat part, a coupling mechanism for coupling an adjustment movement of the seat part to a pivot movement of the backrest, and a locking lever 6, which can be pivoted between a locking position and an unlocking position by means of the coupling mechanism (col. 10, lines24-41 disclose a Bowden cable as unlocking lever), is provided, which is in its locking position in the use position of the backrest and locks the backrest from pivoting into the non-use position, and can be pivoted from its locking position into its unlocking position for pivoting the backrest from the use position into the non-use position.
Regarding claim 2, Fischer et al. disclose the coupling mechanism for pivoting the locking lever from the unlocking position into the locking position and/or from the locking position into the unlocking position comprises an unlocking element (Bowden cable with an unlocking lever) which is displaceably mounted on the seat base and/or on the backrest and which adjusts the locking lever by way of a displacement.
Regarding claim 4, Fischer et al. disclose the locking lever 6 is pivotably mounted on the seat base 100 between the locking position and the unlocking position and in the locking position rests against a portion of the backrest.
Regarding claim 5, Fischer et al. disclose the vehicle seat has a spring element 65 with which the locking lever 6 is pre-tensioned in the direction of the unlocking position.
Regarding claim 6, Fischer et al. disclose the coupling mechanism for pivoting the locking lever from the unlocking position into the locking position comprises an unlocking element (Bowden cable with unlocking lever) which is displaceably mounted on the seat base and/or on the backrest and which, by way of a displacement, applies a deflecting force to the locking lever 6 against a pre-tension applied by the spring element 65.
Regarding claim 11, Fischer et al. disclose the seat part is translationally and/or rotationally adjustable relative to the seat base (see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 12, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haglund (6,685,270) in view of Sasaki et al. (7,025,419).
Regarding claim Haglund discloses a vehicle seat (col. 1, lines 3-8), comprising a seat part, a backrest 13, 24 which is mounted on the seat base so as to be pivotable between an upright use position and a non-use position which is pivoted towards the seat part, a coupling mechanism 1, 2, 32, 40 for coupling an adjustment movement of the seat part to a pivot movement of the backrest, and a locking lever 40, which can be pivoted between a locking position and an unlocking position by means of the coupling mechanism, is provided, which is in its locking position in the use position (figure 2) of the backrest and locks the backrest from pivoting into the non-use position (figure 4), and can be pivoted from its locking position into its unlocking position for pivoting the backrest from the use position into the non-use position.
However, Haglund et al. fails to disclose a seat base, a seat part which is arranged on the seat base and can be adjusted relative to the seat base.
Instead, Sasaki et al. disclose a seat base 15, 16, a seat part which is arranged on the seat base and can be adjusted relative to the seat base.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sasaki et al. and use a rail in the seat of Haglund for the purpose of accommodating user of all shape and size.
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki et al. disclose the locking lever 51 is mounted on the backrest 40 so as to be pivotable between the locking position and the unlocking position and in the locking position rests against a portion of the seat base.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sasaki et al. and place the locking lever on the backrest in the invention of Haglund in order to reduce space since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 7, Haglund discloses the seat base has a guide 9, 30 for guiding the backrest when pivoting between the use position and the non-use position.
Regarding claim 8, Haglund discloses a guide element 30 is arranged on the backrest and is guided along the guide 9 when the backrest is pivoted from the use position into the non-use position.
Regarding claim 9, Haglund discloses the guide element 30 rests against a first end portion of the guide 9 in the use position of the backrest and against a second end portion 9 of the guide in the non-use position of the backrest (see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki et al. disclose the coupling mechanism 86, 85, 84, 82 for coupling the adjustment movement of the seat part to the pivoting of the backrest has a coupling element 86 which transfers the adjustment movement of the seat part to the backrest.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sasaki et al. and place a sliding element to transfer the disengaging to the locking lever of Haglund because it is simple, time efficient.
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki et al. disclose the seat part has a sliding element 86 and the seat base has a rail and the sliding element is displaceably mounted on the rail.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sasaki et al. and place a sliding element to transfer the disengaging to the locking lever of Haglund because it is simple, time efficient.
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki et al. disclose the seat part has a sliding element 86 and the seat base has a rail and the sliding element is displaceably mounted on the rail, wherein the unlocking element 85 is arranged on the sliding element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sasaki et al. and place a sliding element to transfer the disengaging to the locking lever of Haglund because it is simple, time efficient.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haglund (6,685,270) in view of Sasaki et al. (7,025,419), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lynn et al. (3,398,987).
Regarding claim 10, Lynn et al. disclose the locking lever 31 rests against the guide element 24 in the locking position for locking the backrest in the use position.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Lynn et al. and use place the locking lever to rest on the guide element in the invention of Haglund in order to prevent any accident or injuries.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636