DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to claims filed on 08/12/2026. Claims 1-5, 7-16, 37, 39, and 46-48 are pending. An action on the merits of claims 1-5, 7-16, 37, 39, and 46-48 is as follows.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, 16, and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slowey (US 20100137741) in view of Chronis (US 20200397416).
Regarding independent claim 1, Slowey teaches an oral sampling device ([0002]: “The present invention relates to devices for collecting body fluid samples”) comprising:
a body, wherein at least a portion of the body (Fluid sample collection system 10):
is sized to fit inside of a mouth of a human ([0054]: “the handle 20 embodiments illustrated including an offset may aid the collection of samples from the buccal region(s) (i.e., toward the inside of the cheek) of the mouth”); and comprises:
an outer surface (Collection portion 30); and
a recess defined along the outer surface (Sample holes 32 are the recess along the outer surface), wherein a length of the recess extends along a plane parallel to the outer surface (Figs. 1-4 show the recess (the plurality of sample holes) are along a parallel plane to the outer surface (collection portion 30)).
However, Slowey does not teach wherein a material of the body within the recess having been subjected to a surface treatment to promote capture of an analyte found in saliva.
Chronis discloses a device for collecting samples from a user’s mouth. Specifically, Chronis teaches a material of the body within the recess having been subjected to a surface treatment to promote capture of an analyte found in saliva ([0015]: “the at least one reservoir component is the sample detection component. In further embodiments, the sample detection component comprises at least of the following: an analyte binding component, an analyte activated component, a detectable label, a secondary label, and components of a nucleic acid detection assay, and components of a protein detection assay. In other embodiments, the analyte binding component is selected from the group consisting of: an anti-analyte antibody or analyte binding portion thereof, a nucleic acid sequence configured to hybridize to the analyte, a small molecule configured to bind to the analyte, an aptamer for the analyte, and a receptor for the analyte”). Slowey and Chronis are analogous art as they are all related to the same field of endeavor of devices used to collect samples of saliva from a user’s mouth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the surface treatment from Chronis into the device from Slowey as it allows the device to secure the samples of saliva more effectively in the recesses, which can ensure a collection of the specific analyte desired for analysis.
Regarding claim 2, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, wherein the recess comprises at least one of a groove or a pit (Slowey, The sample holes 32 are pits, as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 2, wherein: the groove is at least one of: a spiral groove having more than one turn; or one or more grooves having a radial pattern; or the pit is one of multiple pits spatially distributed across the outer surface (Slowey, Fig. 4 shows the pits spatially distributed across the outer surface.).
Regarding claim 4, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, wherein the surface treatment comprises at least one of: oxygen plasma treatment; coating the material with an affinity reagent; or hydrophilic treatment (Chronis, [0015]: “the at least one reservoir component is the sample detection component. In further embodiments, the sample detection component comprises at least of the following: an analyte binding component, an analyte activated component, a detectable label, a secondary label, and components of a nucleic acid detection assay, and components of a protein detection assay. In other embodiments, the analyte binding component is selected from the group consisting of: an anti-analyte antibody or analyte binding portion thereof, a nucleic acid sequence configured to hybridize to the analyte, a small molecule configured to bind to the analyte, an aptamer for the analyte, and a receptor for the analyte”. The aptamer for the analyte is the affinity reagent that coats the material.).
Regarding claim 5, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 4, wherein the affinity reagent is fibronectin or collagen, and/or wherein the affinity reagent is an aptamer (Chronis, [0015]: “the at least one reservoir component is the sample detection component. In further embodiments, the sample detection component comprises at least of the following: an analyte binding component, an analyte activated component, a detectable label, a secondary label, and components of a nucleic acid detection assay, and components of a protein detection assay. In other embodiments, the analyte binding component is selected from the group consisting of: … an aptamer for the analyte”).
Regarding claim 7, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 4, wherein the affinity reagent is a binding molecule for the analyte (Chronis, [0015]: “the at least one reservoir component is the sample detection component. In further embodiments, the sample detection component comprises at least of the following: an analyte binding component, an analyte activated component, a detectable label, a secondary label, and components of a nucleic acid detection assay, and components of a protein detection assay. In other embodiments, the analyte binding component is selected from the group consisting of: … an aptamer for the analyte”. The aptamer is the analyte binding component, therefore it is a binding molecule for the analyte.).
Regarding claim 8, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 7, wherein the binding molecule is a nucleic acid that hybridizes to the analyte or is a protein binding domain that binds the analyte (Chronis, [0015]: “the analyte binding component is selected from the group consisting of: an anti-analyte antibody or analyte binding portion thereof, a nucleic acid sequence configured to hybridize to the analyte”).
Regarding claim 9, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 8, wherein the protein binding domain comprises an antibody or a binding fragment thereof (Chronis, [0015]: “the analyte binding component is selected from the group consisting of: an anti-analyte antibody or analyte binding portion thereof”).
Regarding claim 11, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1.
However, the Slowey/Chronis combination does not teach wherein the recess has a depth equal to or greater than 0.5 millimeter.
Chronis teaches wherein the recess has a depth equal to or greater than 0.5 millimeter ([0076]: “Each sealed reservoir system in the MRU array can have a footprint of 5 mm×5 mm and a depth of 2 mm and accommodate a chamber sealing system with a 3 mm in diameter saliva collection microchamber (FIG. 5)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the depth from Chronis into the Slowey/Chronis combination as the combination is silent on the depth of the recess, and Chronis discloses a suitable depth in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 12, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, wherein the recess has a width equal to or less than 2 millimeters (Slowey, [0057]: “The collection portion 30 of an embodiment may include approximately 100 sample holes 32, each with a diameter of approximately 0.08 inches”. The diameter if the recesses are analogous to the width of the recess, which are about 2 millimeters.).
Regarding claim 16, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, wherein the body comprises a handle and a head coupled to the handle, wherein at least the portion of the body comprises the head (Slowey, [0021]: “An embodiment is a fluid sample collection system comprising … a handle, and a collection portion coupled to the handle”. The collection portion is the head, which includes the body and is coupled to the handle.).
Regarding claim 47, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1.
Slowey discloses that the diameter can be changed relative to the needs of the device ([0057]: “The diameter of the sample holes 32 maybe adjusted to take up or otherwise collect a fluid or fluids with differing viscosity”), however the Slowey/Chronis combination does not teach wherein an aspect ratio of a width of the recess to a depth of the recess is in a range of 0.1 to 4.
Chronis teaches wherein an aspect ratio of a width of the recess to a depth of the recess is in a range of 0.1 to 4 ([0076]: “Each sealed reservoir system in the MRU array can have a footprint of 5 mm×5 mm and a depth of 2 mm and accommodate a chamber sealing system with a 3 mm in diameter saliva collection microchamber (FIG. 5)”. The width to depth ratio is 3/2, which is within the range.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the width to depth ratio from Chronis into the Slowey/Chronis combination as the combination is silent on the width to depth ratio, and Chronis discloses a suitable ratio in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 48, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1.
However, the Slowey/Chronis combination does not teach wherein the recess has a cross-section having at least one sharp corner.
Chronis teaches wherein the recess has a cross-section having at least one sharp corner (Fig. 5 shows the cross section of the recess having at least one sharp corner.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the recess cross-section having at least one sharp corner from Chronis into the Slowey/Chronis combination as the combination is silent on what the cross-section of the recess looks like, and Chronis discloses a suitable cross-section in an analogous device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Slowey/Chronis combination as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Harley (US 20140370505).
Regarding claim 10, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 9.
However, the Slowey/Chronis combination does not teach wherein the binding fragment thereof is a single chain variable fragment (scFv).
Harley discloses a saliva collection device. Specifically, Harley discloses wherein the binding fragment thereof is a single chain variable fragment (scFv) ([0135]: “The binding moiety can be an antibody. The term "antibody" refers to a polypeptide structure, e.g., an immunoglobulin, conjugate, or fragment thereof that retains antigen binding activity. The term includes but is not limited to polyclonal or monoclonal antibodies of the isotype classes IgA, IgD, IgE, IgG, and IgM, derived from human or other mammalian cells, including natural or genetically modified forms such as humanized, human, single-chain, chimeric, synthetic, recombinant, hybrid, mutated, grafted, and in vitro generated antibodies. The term encompasses conjugates, including but not limited to fusion proteins containing an immunoglobulin moiety (e.g., chimeric or bispecific antibodies or scFv's), and fragments, such as Fab, F(ab')2, Fv, scFv, Fd, dAb and other compositions.”). Slowey, Chronis, and Harley are analogous arts as they are all related to the same field of endeavor of devices used to collect oral samples from a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the type of binding fragment from Harley into the Slowey/Chronis combination as the combination is silent in regard to the type of binding fragment, and Harley discloses a suitable type of binding fragment in an analogous device.
Claims 13-15, 37, 39, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Slowey/Chronis combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mink (US 6303081).
Regarding claim 13, the Slowey/Chronis combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1.
However, the Slowey/Chronis combination does not teach the device further comprising a flavored substance disposed on at least the portion of the body, wherein the flavored substance does not cover the recess.
Mink discloses a device for collection of oral fluids. Specifically, Mink teaches the device further comprising a flavored substance disposed on at least the portion of the body, wherein the flavored substance does not cover the recess (Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials.”. The materials of the saliva-stimulating substance are materials that have flavor, therefore can be the flavored substance. Additionally, these flavors can be placed anywhere on the device, including either the underside, or the areas surrounding the recesses but not covering them.). Slowey, Chronis, and Mink are all analogous art as they are all related to the same field of endeavors of devices used to collect saliva from a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the flavored substance from Mink into the Slowey/Chronis combination as it allows the device to include a material that can induce more saliva from the user, which can increase the amount of analytes that are generated and can be used for analysis, providing more samples to the device.
Regarding claim 14, the Slowey/Chronis/Mink combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 13, wherein the flavored substance is configured to release a flavor over a period of time while at least the portion of the body is disposed inside of the mouth (Mink, Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials”. Based on the materials that the flavored portion could be made up from, these substances are reasonably understood to dissolve over a period of time when placed in an aqueous solution, therefore teaching on this limitation.).
Regarding claim 15, the Slowey/Chronis/Mink combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 13, wherein the flavored substance is at least one of a gel, a hard candy, a gummy material, an artificial sweetener, or flavored isomalt (Mink, Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials.”).
Regarding claim 37, the Slowey/Chronis/Mink combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 14, wherein the flavored substance is configured to dissolve over the period of time while at least the portion of the body is disposed inside of the mouth, and/or wherein the flavored substance is configured to cease releasing the flavor after at least the portion of the body has been disposed inside of the mouth for the period of time (Mink, Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials. The bite portion is connected to a housing having a cavity in which the lateral flow chromatography strip is at least partially disposed.” Based on the materials that the flavored portion could be made up from, these substances are reasonably understood to dissolve over a period of time when placed in an aqueous solution, therefore teaching on this limitation. Additionally, based on the materials that the flavored portion could be made up from, these substances are reasonably understood to dissolve over a period of time when placed in an aqueous solution, and once they are dissolved they will stop releasing flavor, therefore teaching on this limitation.).
Regarding claim 39, the Slowey/Chronis/Mink combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 14, wherein the flavored substance is configured to change color after at least the portion of the body has been disposed inside of the mouth for the period of time, and/or wherein the flavored substance is configured to stimulate a neurological response that causes the human to produce the analyte (Mink, Column 4, lines 14-15: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance”; Column 16, lines 46-47: “This invention also provides kits for the detection of an analyte in an oral fluid”. The analytes are in the saliva, therefore the saliva-stimulating substance simulates the human to produce the analyte.).
Regarding claim 46, the Slowey/Chronis/Mink combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 13, wherein the flavored substance is disposed on at least a portion of the outer surface (Mink, Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials.”. The materials of the saliva-stimulating substance are materials that have flavor, therefore can be the flavored substance. Additionally, these flavors can be placed anywhere on the device, including either the underside, or the areas surrounding the recesses but not covering them.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-16, 37 and 39 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791