DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to claims filed on 08/18/2023. Claims 1-16, 37-39 and 42 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-16, 37-39 and 42 is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 12-16, 37-38, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mink (US Patent 6303081).
Regarding independent claim 1, Mink teaches an oral sampling device (Abstract: “A device for collecting and transporting aqueous fluid from the oral cavity to a lateral chromatographic strip for test is disclosed.”) comprising:
a body (Fig. 1), wherein at least a portion of the body:
is sized to fit inside of a mouth of a human (Column 7, lines 36-37: “the device is inserted into the oral cavity”); and comprises:
an outer surface (Column 2, lines 52-54: “The apparatus comprises a capillary matrix having exposed a surface for insertion into an oral cavity”); and
a recess defined in the outer surface (Column 5, lines 52-56: “The terms "capillary matrix" or "porous matrix" are used herein to refer to a highly porous material characterized by a pore size sufficiently small that the material rapidly takes up aqueous solution (e.g., of oral fluid) predominantly by capillary action or "wicking"”),
a material of the body within the recess having been subjected to a surface treatment to promote capture of an analyte found in saliva (Column 9, lines 8-15: “In addition to having a pore size (channel size) that results in rapid uptake of the oral fluid, the surfaces of the capillary matrix should be chemically compatible with rapid uptake of the oral fluid. Thus, preferred capillary matrix materials are themselves hydrophilic or treated to be hydrophilic (e.g., by addition of a surfactant also referred to as a detergent or wetting agent). That is to say, water must flow on and be attracted to the surfaces of these materials.”).
Regarding claim 2, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, wherein the recess comprises at least one of a groove or a pit (Column 5, lines 52-56: “The terms "capillary matrix" or "porous matrix" are used herein to refer to a highly porous material characterized by a pore size sufficiently small that the material rapidly takes up aqueous solution (e.g., of oral fluid) predominantly by capillary action or "wicking"”. The pore is being interpreted as being a pit.).
Regarding claim 3, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 2, wherein: the groove is at least one of: a spiral groove having more than one turn; or one or more grooves having a radial pattern; or the pit is one of multiple pits spatially distributed across the outer surface (Column 5, lines 52-56: “The terms "capillary matrix" or "porous matrix" are used herein to refer to a highly porous material characterized by a pore size sufficiently small that the material rapidly takes up aqueous solution (e.g., of oral fluid) predominantly by capillary action or "wicking"”. The pore is being interpreted as being a pit.).
Regarding claim 4, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, wherein the surface treatment comprises at least one of: oxygen plasma treatment; coating the material with an affinity reagent; or hydrophilic treatment (Column 9, lines 8-15: “In addition to having a pore size (channel size) that results in rapid uptake of the oral fluid, the surfaces of the capillary matrix should be chemically compatible with rapid uptake of the oral fluid. Thus, preferred capillary matrix materials are themselves hydrophilic or treated to be hydrophilic (e.g., by addition of a surfactant also referred to as a detergent or wetting agent). That is to say, water must flow on and be attracted to the surfaces of these materials.”; Column 13, lines 21-23: “the strip will include means for immunospecifically binding the analyte to be detected with its specific binding partner”).
Regarding claim 7, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 4, wherein the affinity reagent is a binding molecule for the analyte (Column 13, lines 21-23: “the strip will include means for immunospecifically binding the analyte to be detected with its specific binding partner”).
Regarding claim 12, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, wherein the recess has a width equal to or less than 2 millimeters (Column 9, lines 4-7: “Preferred materials have an average pore size that ranges from about 40 µm to about 250 µm, more preferably from about 60 µm to about 200 µm, and most preferably from about 80 µm to about 120 µm.).
Regarding claim 13, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, further comprising a flavored substance disposed on at least the portion of the body, wherein the flavored substance does not cover the recess (Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials. The bite portion is connected to a housing having a cavity in which the lateral flow chromatography strip is at least partially disposed.”).
Regarding claim 14, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 13, wherein the flavored substance is configured to release a flavor over a period of time while at least the portion of the body is disposed inside of the mouth (Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials. The bite portion is connected to a housing having a cavity in which the lateral flow chromatography strip is at least partially disposed.”. Based on the materials that the flavored portion could be made up from, these substances are reasonably understood to dissolve over a period of time when placed in an aqueous solution, therefore teaching on this limitation.).
Regarding claim 15, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 13, wherein the flavored substance is at least one of a gel, a hard candy, a gummy material, an artificial sweetener, or flavored isomalt (Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials. The bite portion is connected to a housing having a cavity in which the lateral flow chromatography strip is at least partially disposed.”).
Regarding claim 16, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1, wherein the body comprises a handle and a head coupled to the handle, wherein at least the portion of the body comprises the head (Column 3, lines 63-64: “The housing can act as a handle for inserting the capillary matrix into the oral cavity”; Column 12, lines 63-65: “the capillary matrix is also paddle-shaped, but has a narrow handle portion widening to a relatively short head portion”).
Regarding claim 37, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 14, wherein the flavored substance is configured to dissolve over the period of time while at least the portion of the body is disposed inside of the mouth (Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials. The bite portion is connected to a housing having a cavity in which the lateral flow chromatography strip is at least partially disposed.” Based on the materials that the flavored portion could be made up from, these substances are reasonably understood to dissolve over a period of time when placed in an aqueous solution, therefore teaching on this limitation.).
Regarding claim 38, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 14, wherein the flavored substance is configured to cease releasing the flavor after at least the portion of the body has been disposed inside of the mouth for the period of time (Column 4, lines 14-24: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance selected from the group consisting of citric or other acids (e.g., tartaric, fumaric, ascorbic, malic, etc.) acid, salt, and natural sweetener (e.g. fructose, glucose, sucrose etc.) or artificial sweetener (e.g. Nutrasweet.RTM.). The bite portion can optionally include other materials such as artificial or natural flavors and/or aromatic substances, and/or polysaccharides, gelatin, shellac, or other coating materials. The bite portion is connected to a housing having a cavity in which the lateral flow chromatography strip is at least partially disposed.”. Based on the materials that the flavored portion could be made up from, these substances are reasonably understood to dissolve over a period of time when placed in an aqueous solution, and once they are dissolved they will stop releasing flavor, therefore teaching on this limitation.).
Regarding claim 42, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 13, wherein the flavored substance is configured to stimulate a neurological response that causes the human to produce the analyte (Column 4, lines 14-15: “The bite portion may include a saliva-stimulating substance”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mink as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 1.
However, Mink does not teach wherein the recess has a depth equal to or greater than 0.5 millimeter.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to construct the pores to have a depth equal to or greater than 0.5 millimeter, since Mink is silent on the depth of the pores, and a mere change in size of a component is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mink as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zegarelli (US PG Pub 20170347956).
Regarding claim 5, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 4.
However, Mink does not teach wherein the affinity reagent is fibronectin or collagen.
Zegarelli discloses an oral data collecting device. Specifically, Zegarelli teaches wherein the affinity reagent is fibronectin or collagen ([0101]: “hydrogel materials provide an effective contact medium for gum compression and for collecting biological materials for diagnosis. The above can hold the sample (e.g., saliva, blood, cells, etc.) when the oral appliance is removed and then the oral appliance can be sent to the lab for testing”; [0102]: “Hydrogels obtained from natural sources are particularly appealing because they are more likely to be biocompatible for in vivo applications. Suitable hydrogels include natural hydrogels, such as for example, … collagen”). Mink and Zegarelli are analogous arts as they are both related to devices used to collect oral samples from a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the affinity reagent being collagen from Zegarelli into the device from Mink as it allows the device to use a natural material to hold the samples from the user, which is more biocompatible for in vivo applications (Zegarelli, [0102]).
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mink as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Harley (US PG Pub 20140370505).
Regarding claim 6, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 4.
However, Mink does not teach wherein the affinity reagent is an aptamer.
Harley discloses a saliva collection device. Specifically, Harley discloses wherein the affinity reagent is an aptamer ([0133]: “The binding moieties can be any material that selectively binds cells targeted for separation. Materials that selectively bind target cells include, for example, polypeptides (e.g., antibodies, receptors) or nucleic acids (e.g., aptamers)”). Mink and Harley are analogous arts as they are both related to devices used to collect oral samples from a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the aptamer from Harley into the device from Mink as the properties of the capturing entities can change the ability of the device to capture different analytes, therefore it allows the device to be more versatile and capture different samples depending on the intended use of the device (Harley, [0120]).
Regarding claim 8, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 7.
However, Mink does not teach wherein the binding molecule is a nucleic acid that hybridizes to the analyte or is a protein binding domain that binds the analyte.
Harley teaches wherein the binding molecule is a nucleic acid that hybridizes to the analyte or is a protein binding domain that binds the analyte ([0133]: “The binding moieties can be any material that selectively binds cells targeted for separation. Materials that selectively bind target cells include, for example, polypeptides (e.g., antibodies, receptors) or nucleic acids (e.g., aptamers)” ; [0134]: “A binding moiety may be any protein that selectively or specifically binds a target of interest. Thus, a binding domain protein may be, for example, a receptor ligand, a ligand receptor or a ligand binding domain thereof (e.g., an extracellular domain (ECD) thereof), an antibody, or antigen-binding fragment thereof, a single-chain antibody, or antigen-binding fragment thereof”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the nucleic acid and protein binding domain from Harley into the device from Mink as the properties of the capturing entities can change the ability of the device to capture different analytes, therefore it allows the device to be more versatile and capture different samples depending on the intended use of the device (Harley, [0120]).
Regarding claim 9, the Mink/Harley combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 8, wherein the protein binding domain comprises an antibody or a binding fragment thereof (Harley, [0135]: “the binding moiety can be an antibody.”).
Regarding claim 10, the Mink/Harley combination teaches the oral sampling device of claim 9, wherein the binding fragment thereof is a single chain variable fragment (scFv) (Harley, [0135]: “he binding moiety can be an antibody. The term "antibody" refers to a polypeptide structure, e.g., an immunoglobulin, conjugate, or fragment thereof that retains antigen binding activity. The term includes but is not limited to polyclonal or monoclonal antibodies of the isotype classes IgA, IgD, IgE, IgG, and IgM, derived from human or other mammalian cells, including natural or genetically modified forms such as humanized, human, single-chain, chimeric, synthetic, recombinant, hybrid, mutated, grafted, and in vitro generated antibodies. The term encompasses conjugates, including but not limited to fusion proteins containing an immunoglobulin moiety (e.g., chimeric or bispecific antibodies or scFv's), and fragments, such as Fab, F(ab')2, Fv, scFv, Fd, dAb and other compositions.”).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mink as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Van Workum (US PG Pub 20220143608).
Regarding claim 39, Mink teaches the oral sampling device of claim 14.
However, Mink does not teach wherein the flavored substance is configured to change color after at least the portion of the body has been disposed inside of the mouth for the period of time.
Van Workum discloses a sample management module for collecting a fluid sample. Van Workum teaches wherein the flavored substance is configured to change color after at least the portion of the body has been disposed inside of the mouth for the period of time ([0055]: “The pad of porous material 24 provides a positive indicator such as a change of one or more colours or a change of transparency, in order to provide visible indication when sample has been collected.”). Mink and Van Workum are analogous arts as they are both related to devices used to collect fluid samples including saliva.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the color changing aspect from Van Workum as it allows the user to visually see when the sample has been collected, which can be easier for the user to interpret and ensures the sample is fully collected for analysis.
Conclusion
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791