DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 2 -3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation "…the direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction… " in lines 2-3 and 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests amending the first recitation of “ "…the direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction… FILLIN "Enter appropriate information" \* MERGEFORMAT " to "… a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction… FILLIN "Enter appropriate information" \* MERGEFORMAT " . Claim 2 recites the limitation s "…the plurality of first members … FILLIN "Enter appropriate information" \* MERGEFORMAT " (plural) in line 2 and "…the plurality of second members… FILLIN "Enter appropriate information" \* MERGEFORMAT " (plural) in line 4 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim , as claim 1 recites “ a first member” and “ a second member” (singular) . Claim 3 recites “… a first battery cell…” (line 2) and further recites “…from the first battery cell to a first battery cell, other than the first battery cell…” (lines 4-5) . It appears as though the claim is referring to different cells using the same term “a first battery cell” , which may lead to confusion over which first battery cell is being referred to in line 5 and is indefinite because it is uncertain as to the first battery cell to which reference is made. See MPEP 2173.05(e). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 3 -7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu et al. (US 2019/0267686). Regarding Claim 1, Shimizu et al. teaches a battery module (Fig. 6, #30) (i.e. a battery unit) comprising batteries (Fig. 6, #11) (i.e. a plurality of battery cells) arranged side by side in a predetermined direction (see Fig. 6), a cooling-plate that is a thermally- conductive material having a first component/plate and a second component/plate disposed beneath batteries and having a liquid a refrigerant such as a coolant inside the plate (Para. [0049], [0050]) (i.e. cooling part that cools the plurality of battery cells by exchanging heat between the plurality of battery cells and a heat transfer medium) where in the first plate (Fig. 6 , #41) is provided between the batteries and the coolant (i.e. that is provided between the plurality of battery cells and the cooling part) and has a plurality of projections (Para. [0055] and see Fig. 6) in contact with batteries #11A and not in contact with batteries #11B (Para. [0054]) (i.e. has a plurality of convex portions which contact the plurality of battery cells, in a manner to contact every other battery cell) and the second plate (Fig. 6, #43) is provided between the batteries and a coolant ( i.e. that is provided between the plurality of battery cells and the cooling part) and has a plurality of projections (Para. [0055] and see Fig. 6) in contact with batteries #11 B and is not in contact with batteries #11A (Para. [0054]) (i.e. has a plurality of convex portions which contact the plurality of battery cells that are not in contact with the first member ) . Regarding Claim 3 , Shimizu et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above. Shimizu et al. further teaches no heat transfer channel is shared by adjacent batteries, and heat generated the battery 11AX (or 11AY in Fig. 8A) is readily transferred to the first plate and is diffused and radiated via the first plate (Para. [0059]) also in contact with battery cells other than the battery 11AX/11AY (see Fig. 8A) (i.e. the amount of heat transferred from a first battery cell in contact with the first member to a second battery cell in contact with the second member, through the first member and the second member, is smaller than an amount of heat transferred from the first battery cell to a first battery cell, other than the first battery cell, in contact with the first member through the first member and the second member). Regarding Claim 4 , Shimizu et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above. Shimizu et al. further teaches the first plate (Fig. 7A, #41) has a plurality of projections formed on a top surface of the first plate on which the battery assembly is assembled (Para. [0055]) and is only in contact with batteries #11A (Para. [0056]) as the depressions in the first plate constitute gaps between the first plate and alternate batteries #11B (Para. [0056]) (i.e. the plurality of first convex portions contact the first battery cells, which are some of the plurality of battery cells, in a manner to contact every other battery cell) Regarding Claim 5 , Shimizu et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 4 as explained above. Shimizu et al. further teaches the second plate (Fig. 7 B , #4 3 ) has a plurality of projections formed on a top surface of the second plate on which the battery assembly is assembled (Para. [005 7 ]) and is only in contact with batteries #11 B ( Fig. 7B ) as the depressions in the second plate constitute gaps between the second plate and alternate batteries #11 A (Para. [00 57 ]) (i.e. the plurality of second convex portions contact the second battery cells, which are different from the first battery cells, among the plurality of battery cells, in a manner to contact every other battery cell) . Regarding Claim 6 , Shimizu et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above. Shimizu et al. further teaches the first plate (Fig. 7A, #41) has a plurality of projections formed on a top surface of the first plate on which the battery assembly is assembled (Para. [0055]) further teaches the second plate (Fig. 7B, #43) has a plurality of projections formed on a top surface of the second plate on which the battery assembly is assembled (Para. [0057]) (i.e. the first member and the second member are provided below the plurality of battery cells, and the first convex portions and the second convex portions are provided on upper surfaces of the first member and second member to support lower portions of the plurality of battery cells). Regarding Claim 7 , Shimizu et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above. Shimizu et al. further teaches a first component/plate and a second component/plate disposed beneath batteries and having a liquid a refrigerant such as a coolant inside the plate (Para. [0049], [0050]) (i.e. the cooling part is provided below the first member and the second member). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (US 2019/0267686). Regarding Claim 2, Shimizu et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above. Shimizu et al. further teaches the first plate (Fig. 6, #41) and the second plate (Fig. 6, #43) are provided in an alternating manner in the direction orthogonal to the stacking direction of the battery cells (see Fig. 6) (i.e. the first and second members are provided in an alternating manner in the direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction). While Shimizu et al. does not teach a plurality of first members and a plurality of second members , a duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza 124 USPQ 70 (See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). Further, it would be o bvious to one of ordinary skill to include a plurality of first plates and second plates such as for increased reduction of thermal impact of abnormal heat generation on adjacent battery cells (Para. [0058]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ARMINDO CARVALHO JR. whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5292 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Thursday 7:30a.m.-5p.m. . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Ula Ruddock can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571 272-1481 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729