DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, 11, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 8 and 9, recites, “a release handle that extends along the length of the body between opposite front and rear ends of the release handle,” which is confusing. A release handle that extends along the length of the release handle is a circular statement, and not how the release handle is described in the instant Specification. Rather, the release handle is described as extending along the length of the body of the cassette, between opposite front and rear ends of the body (see, e.g., p. 27 of Specification). For purposes of examination, this is how the claim will be interpreted.
Claim 8 states “the release handle includes a transition arrangement that defines the first ramped surface, wherein the transition arrangement straddles the stop member, and wherein the transition arrangement defines another first ramped surface at an opposite side of the stop member from the first ramped surface.” It is unclear what is meant or how it is possible that “the transition arrangement defines another first ramped surface at an opposite side of the stop member from the first ramped surface.” How can there be another first ramped surface, it seems that this would, by definition be a second ramped surface, however a second ramped surface is already claimed (see claim 3). Turning to the Specification and figures for clarification, none can be found. The “another first ramped surface” is neither discussed in the Specification nor shown in the figures. This portion of the claim will not be further examined on the merits.
Claims 11, 12, and 17 use the term “carrying” regarding elements engaging with one another. It is not clear if these elements are meant to be integral or if these are separate elements that interact with one another. Applying the broadest reasonable interpretation, to carry generally means to support or to hold. For purposes of examination, this is how the term will be interpreted – that is to say, separate elements that engage with one another, rather than necessarily being integral. Examiner also notes that “carrying” is a verb and implies an action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,647,197 B1 Marrs et al. (herein “Marrs”, cited on the attached PTO-892) in view of US 2016/0217097 A1 Gomez et al. (herein “Gomez”, cited on the attached PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Marrs discloses:
A communications cassette (module 18) comprising:
a body (18) extending along a length between opposite front and rear ends (front shown at 102, rear is opposite to 102), along a width between opposite first and second ends (width shown between 102 - left and 102 - right), and along a height between a top and a bottom (height shown, not labeled), the body including a latching arrangement (109) disposed at the first end of the body, the latching arrangement including:
a stop member (131) configured to move along the height of the body between a lock position (131 shown in Fig. 5) and a release position (131 shown in Fig. 3) (wherein Figs. 3, 4, and 5, show, in sequence, 131 in an unlocked position in Fig. 3, then 131 moves up the height of the body in Fig. 4, and then finally down the height of the body in Fig. 5 into a locked position; col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 13); and
a release handle (109), the release handle (109) being slidable along a forward-rearward axis relative to the body (18) (col. 4, lines 48-51, wherein latch arm 109 slides forward into 138; col. 4, lines 63-65, wherein the module is slid into engagement with enclosure; col. 5, lines 1-5, wherein sides of module 18 ride along guide rails 154, which are along a forward-rearward axis of the body 18), the release handle being configured to transition the stop member (131) from the lock position (shown at 131 in Fig.5) to the release position (shown at 131 in Fig. 3) (wherein Figs. 3, 4, and 5, show, in sequence, 131 in an unlocked position in Fig. 3, then 109 moves along a forward-rearward axis into a locked position shown in Fig. 5).
Marrs is silent as to the release handle extending along the length of the body between opposite front and rear ends of the release handle so that the front end of the release handle extends outwardly beyond the front end of the body and the rear end of the release handle extends outwardly beyond the rear end of the body.
Gomez discloses in Figs. 1-5, an example of a release handle used with a communications cassette, wherein the release handle (402, 403-1) that extends along the length of the body between opposite front and rear ends (front shown at 401, rear is opposite to 401 shown at 407) of the release handle so that the front end (402) of the release handle extends outwardly beyond the front end of the body (shown in Fig. 4, where 402 extends beyond 401 in a profile view) and the rear end (403-1) of the release handle extends outwardly beyond the rear end of the body (where 403-1 is shown in Fig. 4 extending beyond 407). Gomez teaches that this arrangement allows for the length of the cassette to be properly aligned with alignment guides along the entire length of the cassette (paras [0056-0059]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the release handle extending along the length of the cassette and extending beyond the front and rear ends, so as to ensure the cassette is properly aligned and not askew when slid into the storage device carrier assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Marrs/ Gomez discloses in Figs. 1-5, the release handle (109) defines a first ramped surface (128 shown as having a ramped surface), wherein the stop member (131) is operatively coupled to the release handle (109) so that a portion of the stop member cams along the first ramped surface as the release handle is slid relative to the cassette along the forward-rearward axis, wherein camming over the first ramped surface transitions the stop member between the lock and release positions (lock and release positions shown in Figs. 3-5).
Examiner notes that the limitation in claim 2, “a portion of the stop member cams along the first ramped surface as the release handle is slid relative to the cassette along the forward-rearward axis, wherein camming over the first ramped surface transitions the stop member between the lock and release positions” is an intended use type limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Regarding claim 3, Marrs/ Gomez discloses in Figs. 1-5, the release handle (109) defines a second ramped surface (ramped surface on 131) so that the first and second ramped surfaces (128, 131) extend outwardly in opposite directions from a common location. Examiner notes that “a common location” is overly broad. The entire device or any part of the device thereof can be considered the common location.
Regarding claim 4, Marrs/ Gomez discloses in Figs. 1-5, the stop member (131) is disposed in the lock position (shown in Fig. 5) when disposed at the common location between the first and second ramped surfaces (128, 131).
Regarding claim 5, Marrs/ Gomez discloses in Figs. 1-5, the stop member (131) is disposed in the release position (shown in Fig. 3) when disposed at the common location between the first and second ramped surfaces (128, 131).
Regarding claim 6, Marrs/ Gomez discloses in Figs. 1-5, the stop member is a first stop member (131), and wherein the latching arrangement (109) includes a second stop member (123) that faces in an opposite direction than the first stop member (131) (123, best seen in Fig. 4, as protruding “upwards”, whereas 131 protrudes “downwards” which is an opposite direction).
Regarding claim 7, Marrs is silent as to a camming member. However, Gomez discloses in Fig. 3, an example of a camming mechanism (302) used in a pluggable cassette (module) system. Gomez teaches that a camming mechanism facilitates physical coupling and securing of storage device carrier assemblies (paras [0050, 0054]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include the camming mechanism taught by Gomez with the stop member of Marrs (stop member 131), because including a camming mechanism extending from the stop member (31) of Marrs towards the body (18), and arranging it such that the stop member (131) defines oppositely facing engagement surfaces (creating by camming member, see Fig. 3 of Gomez) at an opposite end of the stop member from the camming member. Including a camming member, like the example taught by Gomez, with the stop member (131), where stop member (131) enters latch opening (165, see Fig. 4), would improve that latching by allowing for a vertical rotation (as taught by Gomez; para [0054]), which would result in a smoother latching process due to the addition of the vertical rotation and would prevent accidental removal of the cassette by providing a more secure connection as taught by Gomez.
Regarding claim 8, Marrs/ Gomez discloses the release handle (109) includes a transition arrangement (138) towards the back end of the latching arrangement, but Marrs and Gomez are both silent as to specifically including the transition arrangement on the first ramped surface. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a transition arrangement on the first ramped surface as well, since Marrs already demonstrates possession of the knowledge of the benefits of such transition arrangements. Marrs teaches that providing transition regions (138) helps facilitate the latching movement while securing the stop member into the locked position (col. 4, lines 48-65).
Regarding claim 9, Marrs is silent as to specifically a front gripping end of the release handle is flexible. However, Examiner notes that front gripping end of release handle (109) is necessarily flexible otherwise it would snap and break when engaged. Applicant is broadly claiming flexibility without claiming any specific material. Release handle (109) would necessarily have to be flexible to be moveable from an unlocked to a locked position. Furthermore, Examiner notes, “to enable deflection of the front gripping end of the release handle along the width of the cassette relative to a remainder of the release handle” is an intended use limitation. For product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties and/or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP § 2112.01(I). Regardless, Gomez discloses handle (402, 403-1) is made out of a flexible material (paras [0058-0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a flexible material so that the release handle does not snap and properly engages.
Regarding claim 10, Marrs discloses a front gripping end of the release handle (109) is different than a rear gripping end of the release handle (by definition and by location, the front is different from the rear; see e.g. Fig. 3, wherein “front” shown at 109, is different from “rear” 119 – Examiner further notes that “front” and “rear” are directional terms that are meaningless without context and without defining what front and rear are relative to).
Regarding claim 11, Marrs discloses in Fig. 1, the body is configured to carrying at least one port member (wherein cassettes 18 all show rectangle openings for ports).
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0077298 A1 Wiltjer et al. (herein “Wiltjer”, cited on the IDS of 8/18/2023).
Regarding claim 12, Wiltjer discloses in the figures:
A communications panel (2) comprising:
a chassis (100) defining an interior (interior is where cassettes 400 are placed);
a tray arrangement (200) configured to mount within the interior of the chassis (100), the tray arrangement (200) extending along a forward-rearward axis between opposite front and rear ends (front shown at 140, rear shown opposite front) and along a lateral axis between opposite first and second sides (108, 110) carrying a plurality of guides (102, 104, 106) spaced from each other along the lateral axis and extending generally parallel to each other (shown in figures), each of the guides extending along the forward-rearward axis (front shown at 140, rear shown opposite front), each of the guides defining a notch (120, 122, 124, best shown at 122 in Fig. 15) at a top of the guide (wherein 122 is considered the top of the guide and area below 114 is considered the bottom of the guide, see Fig. 15); and
a cassette (400) mounted to the tray arrangement and selectively slidable along the forward- rearward axis (each tray is slidable, see e.g. para [0072]), the cassette (400) extending along the forward-rearward axis between opposite front and rear ends of the cassette and along the lateral axis between opposite first and second ends of the cassette (front shown at 140, rear shown opposite front), the cassette carrying a latching arrangement (214) at the first end (wherein when cassette engages with latching arrangement, it is considered to be “carrying” the latching arrangement – see 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection).
Wiltjer discloses the latching arrangement including a stop member (forward limiting bracket 136, see Figs. 16, 17, and 22, best seen in Fig. 22) aligned with one of the guides when the cassette is mounted to the tray (wherein 136 engages with guide 106, side by side cassette trays 200, and chassis 100; para [0069]).
Wiltjer does not show in the figures the exact configuration of how stop member (136) engages with the other elements. Wiltjer is silent as to the stop member being aligned over the top of one of the guides, the stop member riding over the top of the guide as the cassette is slid along the forward-rearward axis (cassette 400 is mounted to tray 200, and each tray 200 is slidable; para [0072]) until the stop member aligns with the notch defined in the top of the guide, the stop member entering the notch when aligned with the notch along the forward-rearward axis to lock the cassette relative to the tray. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would understand that in order for stop member (136) to be effective and functional, stop member would necessarily have to engage with the other elements, and figuring out exactly how would require only routine skill in the art, so as to ensure once the elements are in place they are locked and do not move, otherwise the stop member would be ineffective.
Examiner notes that the limitation “the stop member riding over the top of the guide as the cassette is slid along the forward-rearward axis” is an intended use type limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the tray is stationary within the interior of the chassis and wherein the tray is movable relative to the chassis (each tray is slidable, see e.g. para [0072]; however, the trays are stationary when they are not being slid, therefore the trays are both movable and stationary).
Regarding claim 15, Wiltjer discloses the stop member is movable transverse to both the lateral axis and the forward-rearward axis between a lock position and a release position, the stop member being biased to the lock position (para [0083, wherein, “catch wall 266 includes a divot 272 which is shaped to engage with front post 410 of the cassette 400 such that catch wall 266 prohibits the cassette 400 from upward movement until sufficient upward force is applied to the cassette 400 to deflect the flex beam 214”, meaning when pressure is applied additional movement in other directions besides front-rearward can take place).
Regarding claim 16, Wiltjer discloses a release handle (414) movable along the forward-rearward axis between a neutral position and an actuate position, wherein the release handle transitions the stop member from the lock position to the release position when the release handle is moved from the neutral position to the actuate position (para [0086], wherein, “Cassette rear post release latch stop 416 is disposed on the body of the cassette 400 in a position to engage with the cassette rear post release latch 414 when inwardly directed pressure is placed on cassette rear post release latches 414. The cassette rear post release latch stop 416 is positioned to allow the cassette rear post 412 to travel a sufficient distance in the inward direction to disengage from the cassette tray rail rear post stop 238 while blocking the cassette rear post 412 from over traveling in the inward direction”).
Regarding claim 17, Wiltjer discloses a method of removing a cassette from a tray having a plurality of parallel guides each extending parallel to a forward-rearward axis of the tray, the cassette being slidable along the tray relative to the guides (para [0079], wherein “due to the continued forward movement of the cassette 400, urges the cassette 400 into proper alignment with the cassette tray rails 240 or 242” indicating that the cassette is moveable along the guides within the tray in a forward-rearward direction, in alignment with the rails), each cassette carrying a release handle (414; para [0086], wherein “release latches 414 are designed to disengage the cassette rear posts 412 from the cassette tray rail rear post stops 238 when a user desires to uninstall a cassette 400”), the method comprising:
choosing one of a forward direction and a rearward direction along which to remove the cassette from the tray (cassette can be inserted or removed; para [0104], wherein, “[a] user may then pull the cassette 400 toward the front of the chassis 100 until the cassette 400 clears the chassis 100, generally maintaining the tilt of cassette 400”); and
continuing to pull the release handle in the chosen direction to slide the cassette in the chosen direction relative to the first guide (para [0103], wherein, “the user continues to apply inward pressure to the rear post release latches 414, the user pulls the cassette 400 toward the rear of the chassis 100 until the cassette 400 clears the chassis 100”).
Wiltjer discloses first applying an inward pressure to release the latches before pulling the release handle relative to the cassette in the chosen direction to unlatch the cassette from a first of the guides.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention that even though an inward pressure is required, the cassette cannot be fully disengaged without pulling the cassette (e.g. the same way a door is not opened until a user turns the handle and pulls), and pulling in the chosen direction is required to release the cassette.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Wiltjer discloses the chosen direction is the forward direction or the rearward direction (para [0105]).
Regarding claim 20, Wiltjer discloses pulling the release handle includes grasping a flexible gripping section of the release handle (para [0104], wherein “user applies enough upward pressure on the cassette 400 to cause the flex beam 214 to flex”).
Conclusion
/MARY A EL-SHAMMAA/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874