DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roth et al (US 8,083,547 B2). Roth teaches:
10/20. A fiber optic adapter assembly (Figs. 1-8), comprising:
an adapter body (112) having an outer surface and an inner surface (see Fig. 7), the inner surface defining at least in part a main opening (see where 121 points to in Fig. 7) between a first side (at 112; rear) and a second side (at 119; front), the second side (at 119) receiving a first multi-fiber ferrule connector (400);
a retention cap (240) attached to the first side (at 112; rear) of the adapter body (112) and capable of receiving a second multi-fiber ferrule connector (part of 150, see Fig. 3; C5 L32-41);
a spring clip (116, 118) disposed around at least a portion of the outer surface of the adapter body (112) (see Fig. 8) and between an inside portion of the retention cap (240) and the outer surface of the adapter body (112) (C6 L17-28); and
a first shutter (124) and a second shutter (124) movably engaging the spring clip (116, 118), the adapter body (112) and the retention cap (240) (C7 L54 – C8 L3).
13. The fiber optic adapter assembly according to claim 10, wherein the adapter body has a first side surface and a second side surface (see Fig. 7), and
the adapter body (112) further comprises: a first pair of pivot arms (the body portions of 119 that surround the top and bottom cutouts of 119, see Fig. 7) adjacent the first side surface (either) and extending longitudinally away from a forward facing surface around the main opening (at 119, 121 in Fig. 7), each of the first pair of pivot arms having a pivot end (the ends are considered the “pivot end” given no other structure that would differentiate from the end of anything); and
a second pair of pivot arms (the body portions of 119 that surround the top and bottom cutouts of 119, see Fig. 7) adjacent the second side surface (the opposite side not shown in Fig. 7) and extending longitudinally away from the forward facing surface around the main opening (at 119, 121 in Fig. 7), each of the second pair of pivot arms having a pivot end (the ends are considered the “pivot end” given no other structure that would differentiate from the end of anything).
19. The fiber optic adapter assembly according to claim 10, wherein the spring clip (116, 118) has a plurality of fingers (the body of 116 and 118 that surround the four openings 133) to engage the first shutter (124) and a plurality of fingers (the body of 116 and 118 that surround the four openings 133) to engage the second shutter (124) (each 116 and 118 have two fingers, one on top and one on bottom, making four total) (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth.
Regarding claim 11, Roth shows MT type multi-fiber ferrules (see Fig. 2) in use with the assembly so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try an MPO type multi-fiber, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. A MPO type connector would be predictable in view of Roth since both use MT type multi-fiber ferrules and for the same reason a person of ordinary skill the art would expect this type of connector to succeed in Roth and Lei.
Regarding the 18, Roth shows the spring clip (116, 118) having receptacles (131) for receiving corresponding tabs (126) in the adapter body (112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try reversing the receptacle and tab structure so the tab is in the spring clip and the receptacle is in the adapter body, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. This solution would be predictable since the two components already connect by a tab and receptable assembly and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the reverse tab and receptable structure to succeed in Roth since this assembly set up would similarly connect the two components securely.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lei et al (WO 2020/057528 A1).
Roth teaches the fiber optic adapter assembly previously discussed.
Roth does not teach expressly:
12. The fiber optic adapter assembly according to claim 10, wherein the first shutter has a protrusion at a free end thereof, and the second shutter has a recess at a free end thereof to receive the protrusion from the first shutter.
Lei teaches a fiber optic adapter assembly (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
wherein the first shutter (2) has a protrusion (part of 22) at a free end thereof, and the second shutter (2) has a recess (part of 22) at a free end thereof to receive the protrusion from the first shutter (P6 of detailed description of the translation).
Roth and Lei are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, fiber optic adapter assemblies.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shutters of Roth to include a protrusion and recess type shutter as taught by Lei.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create a more secure shutter closures state with overlapping doors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1-9: These claims are allowable over the prior art of record because the latter, either alone or in combination, does not disclose nor render obvious a fiber optic assembly, comprising the claimed adapter body, pivot arms, latch arm, shutters, retention cap and spring clip the extends around and engages an outer portion of the adapter body with fingers contacting each shutter,
in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 14-17: These claims would be allowable over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the latter, either alone or in combination, does not disclose nor render obvious a fiber optic assembly, comprising the claimed adapter body, pivot arms, latch arm, shutters, retention cap and spring clip the extends around and engages an outer portion of the adapter body with fingers contacting each shutter,
in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874