DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tagakiuchi et al (JP 1986261368) . With regards to claim s 1 , 6 , and 7 , Tagakiuchi teaches a resin composition (page 1) that contains the following compound: (page 1) wherein R 2 includes O-CH(CH 3 )-CH 2 and n is from 1 to 100 (pages 1 and 2) and wherein R 3 is a C 9 alkyl group (page 2) and the number of H atoms is 19 (page 2). With regards to claim 8 , Tagakiuchi teaches the amount of the above compound in the composition to be from 0.1 to 50% (page 2). With regards to claim 9 , Tagakiuchi teaches the amount of the above compound in the composition to be from 0.1 to 50% (page 2). With regards to claim 10 , Tagakiuchi teaches the composition to contain no water (pages 1-5) reading on less than 1%. With regards to claim 11 , Tagakiuchi teaches the composition to include an oligomer (page 3) and a photoinitiator (page 2). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 1-5, 8-12, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hishinuma et al (WO 2020/138132) with US 2022/0056286 used for citation purposes in view of Guo et al (CN 110483300) . With regards to claim s 1 - 3 and 4 - 5 , Hishinuma teaches an active energy ray-curable composition (abstract) that contains the following compound: (abstract) wherein (abstract). Hishinuma does not teach the compound to have the claimed structure. Guo teaches a cashew polyoxyvinyl acrylic ester (page 1) cardanol compound (title) having the following structure: (page 5) wherein n is 10 (page 5). Guo teaches the motivation for using this compound to be because it is made by a simple process, low production cost, mild reaction conditions, and a less time-consuming reaction while providing a compound having a large molecular weight and high surface activity for the purposes of demulsification and dehydration (page 2). Hishinuma and Guo are enalogous in the art of compositions containing cardanol-derived monomers. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the compound of Guo as the compound of Hishinuma, thereby obtaining the present invention. With regards to claim s 8 and 9 , Hishinuma teaches the amount of the similar compound to be from 0 to 100% by mass (0044). With regards to claim 10 , Hishinuma teaches the composition to be free from water (0290 examples 1-6) reading on less than 1 wt% water. With regards to claim 11 , Hishinuma teaches the energy ray curable composition to include a polyfunctional (polyester) oligomer (0023) and a photoinitiator (0183). With regards to claim 12 , Hishinuma teaches the oligomer to have ethylenic unsaturated bond (0071) such as (meth)acryloyl groups (0071) that includes urethaqne (meth)acrylates (0071). With regards to claim s 19 and 20 , Hishinuma does not teach the amount of oligomer present in the composition. However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, w here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the amount of oligomer in order to achieve the desired viscosity and reactivity of the composition. With regards to claim 21 , Hishinuma teaches the photoinitiator to include SB-PPI 719: bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl-diphenyl-phenyl phosphine oxide (0272) in an amount of 0 to 3% (0193). With regards to claim 22 , Hishinuma teaches the composition to be used for coating an optical fiber (0217). With regards to claim 23 , Hishinuma teaches the process of forming the compound similar to the claimed compound to be reacting a cardanol derived cashew-nut shell liquid with a glycidyl methacrylate (0035). Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hishinuma et al (WO 2020/138132) with US 2022/0056286 used for citation purposes in view of Guo et al (CN 110483300) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Szum et al (US 2001/0033725) . The disclosure of Hishinuma in view of Guo is adequately set forth in paragraph 5 above and is herein incorporated by reference. With regards to claim s 1 3-18 , Hishinuma does not teach the oligomer to be have the claimed functionality, molecular weight, and to be a reaction of the claimed compounds. Szum teaches a radiation curable optical fiber coating composition (title) that includes an oligomer (0048) that includes a urethane oligomer with at least one functional group (0049), a number average molecular weight of 200 to 10,000 (0155), and a polyether backbone (0168). Szum teaches the urethane to be formed from a reaction between isophorone diisocyanate, hydroxyethyl acrylate (0188) having a molar ratio of isocyanate to hydroxyl group of 2. Szum teaches the motivation for using this oligomer to be because it provides for a composition having excellent stripping and adhesion behavior (abstract). Szum and Hishinuma are analogous in the art of curable compositions for coating optical fibers. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to make the urethane of Hishinuma by the process of Szum, thereby obtaining the present invention. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JESSICA WHITELEY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5203 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8 - 5:00 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Joseph Del Sole can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 5712721130 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-100 0. /JESSICA WHITELEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763