Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 14-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO-2007/101852 to Thomas et al.
As to claims 1-8 and 14-15, Thomas discloses a film prepared from solution polymerization of a composition comprising 100 parts of polyarylene (P1*, Table 1, Primospire PR-120, same as applicant) or a mixture of polyarylene P1 and polyarylene P2 (Primosphere PR-250) wherein the after solution polymerization the films may be oriented by stretching in two dimensions (Pg.22, ll. 23-Pg. 23, ll. 5).
The characterization of the film having a free shrink of at least 5% in at least one of the longitudinal or tranversal direction is an inherent property attributed to the film composition. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find that a film comprising the same type of polymer prepared from solution casting would exhibit a free shrink of at least 5% when using the claimed test. The claimed test of measuring the free shrink does not differentiate film from Thomas with the claimed film derived from the same solution cast polyarylene. Taking a polymer, forming the polymer into a film, and measuring a certain property does not provide a patentable distinction over the same polymer in the prior art that uses said polymer in films and stretches the film. As to claims 9-10 and 18-19, with regards to the additional properties, taking a polymer, forming the polymer into a film, and measuring a certain property does not provide a patentable distinction over the same polymer in the prior art that uses said polymer in films and stretches the film. It is noted that claim 20 claims a film, the elected claim is recited in the product-by-process format by use of the language, “A film wherein the film is oriented by stretching…” Case law holds that: Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
To the extent that the process limitations in a product-by-process claim do not carry weight absent a showing of criticality, the reference discloses the claimed product in the sense that the prior art product structure is seen to be no different from that indicated by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Claims 10-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2007/101852 to Thomas et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0234077 to Myrick et al.
Thomas discloses a film prepared from solution polymerization of a composition comprising 100 parts of polyarylene (P1*, Table 1, Primospire PR-120, same as applicant) or a mixture of polyarylene P1 and polyarylene P2 (Primosphere PR-250) wherein the after solution polymerization the films may be oriented by stretching in two dimensions (Pg.22, ll. 23-Pg. 23, ll. 5).
Thomas discloses solution polymerization of the polymer composition into films and stretching the films.
Some of the claim characteristics are not expressly disclosed by Thomas.
However, within the same field of endeavor Myrick discloses the use of rigid-rod polyarylene polymers used in films and teaches methods of stretching the films using heat to give specific and desired orientations (0081-0082).
Accordingly, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include stretching techniques taught in Myrick within the process of Thomas to provide the film with desired orientation.
As to claims 13 and 17, the references teach rolling methods to prepare the film. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the use multiple rolls in order to obtain desired thickness, orientation, and other film properties (0081-0082).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763