DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 14-20 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected in the official action mailed 11-05-2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUATAMA (US 2014/0188348) in view of ODEJERTE (US 2019/0212425) in view of MASUDAYA (US 2005/0046546).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 13,
GUATAMA teaches a method for providing an authorization to access a vehicle 110 by means of a portable electronic key (170 per [0031]) configured for handling wireless signal exchanges, the vehicle comprising at least two transceivers (122A-D per [034], [0037]) distributed at different locations (fig. 1A), each of the at least two transceivers being configured to emit a respective first signal ([0037] teaches antenna 122 transmits) and to receive a respective second signal from the portable electronic key([0045] teaches the central module 144 can perform a filtered scan for advertisement messages transmitted from the end device 170 over an advertising channel), the authorization being subject to a successful completion of a control procedure ([0047] teaches that based on the distance of the end device 170 from the vehicle the central module 144 can then determine whether the end device is within range for authorization) comprising:
determining, for each of the first signals, a respective first piece of information based on a respective strength measurement of the respective first signal at the portable electronic key ([0038] teaches that end device receives signals from antenna 122 to determine signa strength; [0045] teaches that the sensors 120 can transmit advertisement messages over an advertising channel, and the end device 170 performs a filtered scan for advertisement messages transmitted from each of the sensors 120, and, upon receipt, can determine signal strength information from the advertisement messages),
determining, for each of the at least two transceivers, a respective second piece of information based on a strength measurement of the second signal at respective transceivers ([0045] teaches that each sensor 120 can scan for the advertisement messages, and upon detection, can determine signal strength information for the advertisement messages).
GUATAMA fails to expressly teach: ordering the first pieces of information into a first ordered sequence based on intensities of the strength measurements of the first signals; ordering the second pieces of information into a second ordered sequence based on intensities of the strength measurements of the second signals; comparing the first ordered sequence to the second ordered sequence; and based on consistency between the first ordered sequence and the second ordered sequence, granting access to an unlocking procedure configured to provide said authorization.
ODEJERTE teaches a system and method for communicating with a vehicle comprising: checking whether the first pieces of information are consistent with the second pieces of information and, if so, initiating or granting access to an unlocking procedure configured to provide said authorization ([0073] teaches the system may function such that at 124, the communication system 22 may compare (i) an RSSI value corresponding to the first and/or second wireless transmission node 64, 70 of the (portable electronic key) to (ii) an RSSI value corresponding to the communication node 34c.; [0075] and [0076] teach that based upon the comparison result, method 100 may proceed to 128-At 128, the method 100 the communication system 22 may communicate with the access system 20 in order to permit the vehicle operator to access the vehicle 12.) Odejerte therefore teaches checking consistency between information derived from signals exchanged between the portable electronic key and vehicle communication nodes for determining authorization.
MASUDAYA teaches ordering first pieces of information corresponding to strength measurements of first received signals into a first ordered sequence based on intensities of the strength measurements; and ordering second pieces of information corresponding to strength measurements of second received signals into a second ordered sequence based on intensities of the strength measurements (Masudaya teaches ordering signal-strength-derived information according to relative received signal strength magnitude. Specifically, Masudaya teaches a selector circuit for selecting and outputting detection outputs “in the order of the magnitude of the received signal strength” ([0015]). Masudaya further teaches that “each detection output which is output from each detector is selected in the order in which the received signal strength is high” ([0016]). Additionally, [0033]-[0037] teach determining RSSI (1), RSSI (2), and RSSI (3) corresponding to respective received signals, comparing the relative magnitudes of the RSSI values, and sequentially selecting the outputs according to the determined signal-strength ordering. [0045]-[0047] further teaches selecting detection outputs according to comparative RSSI magnitudes and selecting outputs having comparatively higher received signal strength.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the Guatama system per the teachings of Odejerte by checking consistency between signal-strength-based information associated with the portable electronic key and signal-strength-based information associated with vehicle communication nodes for the purpose of verifying the portable key’s actual proximity and location relative to the vehicle and preventing relay attacks.
Furthermore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to further modify the combined Guatama and Odejerte system per the teachings of Masudaya by ordering signal-strength-derived information associated with first signals emitted by the vehicle transceivers into a first ordered sequence based on relative signal strength magnitude and ordering signal-strength-derived information associated with second signals emitted by the portable electronic key into a second ordered sequence based on relative signal strength magnitude, and comparing the ordered sequences for consistency, for the purpose of improving the reliability and accuracy of vehicle proximity determination and authorization processing by utilizing relative signal-strength ordering relationships across multiple transceivers to distinguish legitimate proximity conditions from inconsistent or potentially relayed signal conditions.
Regarding claim 3,
Guatama and Odejerte teach that each of the first pieces of information and the second pieces of information relates to at least one of a received signal strength indicator, a calculated distance between the transceiver and the portable electronic key and a distance or received signal strength indicator variation (Guatama teaches in [0038] that the signal processing module 132 of the end device proximity detection/determination module 130 processes information from signals received by the Bluetooth antenna 122 to determine signal strength information, and in some implementations, to determine the approximate distance between the vehicle and the portable key; [0044] of Odejerte teaches determine a location of the vehicle access device 14 based on a received single strength indication (RSSI) value).
Regarding claim 4,
Guatama teaches sending, between the vehicle and the portable electronic key, at least one parameter regarding transmission power of the first signals (Guatama teaches wireless transmission of advertisement messages and wireless signals between the vehicle transceivers/sensors 120, 122 and the portable electronic key/end device 170 ([0037]-[0045]). GUATAMA further teaches determining signal strength information from the transmitted advertisement messages ([0045]), wherein the signal strength information corresponds to transmission-power-related characteristics of the first signals exchanged between the vehicle transceivers and the portable electronic key).
Regarding claim 5,
Masudaya teaches that the control procedure is performed at the portable electronic key ([0030]-[0037] and [0040]-[0048] teach substantial signal processing operations occurring at the portable unit).
Regarding claim 6,
Odejerte teaches that if the control procedure is performed at the portable electronic key and at the vehicle, initiating or granting access to the unlocking procedure is subject to the successful completion of the control procedures at the portable electronc key and at the vehicle (Odejerte teaches that based upon the comparison result, method 100 may proceed to 128-At 128, the method 100 the communication system 22 may communicate with the access system 20 in order to permit the vehicle operator to access the vehicle 12; Masudaya teaches in [0030]-[0037] and [0040]-[0048] teach substantial signal processing operations occurring at the portable unit).
Regarding claim 7,
Guatama teaches that the information is transmitted in an encrypted form ([0075] teaches that the SMP provides a mechanism to encrypt the data and also to provide data authentication.)
Regarding claim 8,
Guatama teaches that at least one of the first signal or the second signal comprises a radio signal comprising at least one of a Bluetooth signal, a Bluetooth low energy signal, or a Wi-Fi signal ([0010] teaches teach that the advertising channels and the data channel are compliant with Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication standards.)
Regarding claim 9,
Guatama, as modified by Odejerte and Masudaya, teaches that the vehicle comprises several access ways and the authorization relates to access to the vehicle via the way closest to a transceiver involved with the first and/or second piece of information associated with a greatest strength measurement (Guatama teaches a vehicle comprising multiple transceivers/sensors 120, 122A-D distributed at different locations on the vehicle (FIG. 1A; [0034], [0037]), wherein signal strength information is determined relative to the different transceivers and utilized for determining proximity and authorization ([0038], [0045], [0047]). Odejerte teaches comparing RSSI values associated with different wireless transmission nodes and communication nodes for determining the location and proximity of the portable electronic key relative to the vehicle ([0073]-[0076]). Masudaya teaches comparing RSSI (1), RSSI (2), and RSSI (3), determining relative signal-strength magnitudes, and selecting the detection output associated with the comparatively highest received signal strength ([0033]-[0037], [0045]-[0047])). The combined disclosures therefor teach that a vehicle access authorization is associated with the access way closest to the transceiver corresponding to the greatest signal-strength measurement for the purpose of improving localization accuracy and facilitating intuitive access control based upon the determined proximity of the portable electronic key relative to different vehicle access locations.
Regarding claims 10, 16 and 18-19,
Guatama, as modified by Odejerte and Masudaya, teaches the that the unlocking procedure comprises an identification of the portable electronic key by the vehicle, and at least one of said identifications is subject to a second authentication process (Guatama teaches wireless communication and authorization processing between the vehicle transceivers/sensors 120 and the portable electronic key/end device 170, including performing authorization determinations based upon exchanged wireless signals and signal strength information ([0037]-[0047]); and determining whether the end device is within range for authorization ([0047]), thereby teaching identification and authentication processing associated with the portable electronic key. Odejerte teaches comparing RSSI values corresponding to wireless transmission nodes associated with the portable electronic key and vehicle communication nodes ([0073]), and that authorization and vehicle access are granted based upon the result of the comparison process ([0075]-[0076]), thereby teaching an additional authentication/verification process associated with vehicle access authorization.) Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the Guatama system per the teachings of Odejerte to subject identification of the portable electronic key to a second authentication process for the purpose of improving security and reducing the likelihood of unauthorized vehicle access and relay attacks.
Regarding claim 11,
Guatama, as modified by Odejerte, teaches the recited features. Odejerte teaches that the vehicle is a motor vehicle, a mobility device, or a micro-mobility device, and/or the portable electronic key is a key fob, a smart phone, a personal assistant, a netbook, a smart watch, or a smart wearable ([0004] of Odejerte teaches communication with a motor vehicle; Guatama teaches a vehicle access authorization system for a vehicle 110 utilizing a portable electronic key/end device 170 for wireless communication and authorization processing (see [0031]-[0047])).
Regarding claim 14,
Guatama teaches sending, between the vehicle and the portable electronic key, at least one parameter regarding transmission power of the second signals ([0037]-[0045] of Guatama teaches bidirectional wireless communication between the vehicle transceivers/sensors 120, 122 and the portable electronic key/end device 170 including determining signal strength information from advertisement messages transmitted from the end device 170; [0045] teaches the signal strength information corresponds to transmission-power-related characteristics of the second signals.)
Regarding claim 15,
Guatama teaches that each first piece of information is transmitted to the vehicle and the control procedure is performed at the vehicle (Guatama teaches that sensors/transceivers 120 communicate signal-strength-related information to the central module 144 of the vehicle, and that the central module performs the authorization determination procedure based upon the received signal information , see [0045]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 17,
Guatama teaches that the second pieces of information is transmitted in an encrypted form ([0075] teaches that the SMP provides a mechanism to encrypt the data and also to provide data authentication.)
Regarding claim 20,
Guatama teaches that the portable electronic key is a key fob, a smart phone, a personal assistant, a netbook, a smart watch, or a smart wearable (Guatama teaches a portable electronic key/end device 170 configured for wireless communication with the vehicle, see [0031]-[0045], wherein the disclosed wireless communication and advertisement messaging techniques are applicable to portable electronic communication devices including smart phones and wearable wireless devices.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/DIONNE PENDLETON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689