DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 and 4-24 are pending. Claims 23-24 are new.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to European Patent Application No. 21159073.2 filed on 2/24/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/15/26, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, except where noted below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objections to the claims (page 7) are persuasive.
Applicant’s comments regarding the amendments to address the prior rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) (page 8) are not persuasive given the outstanding rejections indicated below. For example, the phrase ‘in terms of information technology’ remains indefinite as it is not precisely defined in the claims — in particular, the language of amended claim 1 does not actually define this phrase. With regard to claim 5, Applicant’s assertion is neither evidence nor reasoned argument and is therefore not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (page 8-9) are moot because the claims are no longer rejected under that statute.
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 (page 9-14) are moot in view of the newly cited references Huisking, Wang and Paulsson.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, this claim recites ‘in terms of information technology’ and it is unclear what the intended meaning of this phrase is in this particular context.
With regard to claim 5, this claim recites ‘the control device has a higher computing power than the drive controller’ and it is not clear what the metes and bounds are of ‘higher’ in this context.
With regard to claim 13, this claim recites ‘the process’ for which there is no antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 17, this claim recites ‘the process’ for which there is no antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 23, this claim recites ‘in terms of information technology’ and it is unclear what the intended meaning of this phrase is in this particular context.
With regard to claim 24, this claim recites ‘in terms of information technology’ and it is unclear what the intended meaning of this phrase is in this particular context.
The dependent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as they inherit all of the characteristics of the claim from which they depend and none of the dependent claims provide a cure for the indefiniteness of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 14, 19-20 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weik et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190281120 (hereinafter Weik) in view of Huisking U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130057695 (hereinafter Huisking).
Regarding claim 1, Weik teaches door system for one or a plurality of doors [0018-0019 — The preferred data connected components of this door control system invention include the following: Mitsubishi VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) or equivalent with its configuration files with or without a data link but with the necessary VFD control functions as I/O on the Control Board, wherein the Control Board is preferably a device known commercially as an SDS-0300 Controller offered commercially through Smartdoor Systems, Inc.;, 0028-0030, Fig. 1 — a schematic view of the system 100 according to the present invention. FIG. 1 shows the power, data or signal pathways between components that switch control signals on and off, and that carry data within the system components that process data signals. The connections between the components that pass data in both directions have arrows at each end…. doors have many control devices used to open; stop, close and safety reverse the door], the door system comprising:
at least one motorized door drive, wherein the door drive comprises a motor and a drive controller for actuating the motor of the door drive [0037, Fig. 1 — a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board… a motor assembly 6; 0091 — An “open”, “close” and “stop” button refers to the door position which the motor is intended to drive the door towards; claim 1 — A motor control system for controlling the motor of a motorized door or gate that is operably connected to a door or gate through a speed reducer that has at least an open position and a closed position with the motor capable of driving the door or gate to both the open and closed position],
wherein the door system comprises a control device which is connected to the drive controller [0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2],
wherein a processing flow is predefined by firmware of the control device, wherein the processing flow comprises an operating step to be carried out by the motor [0019 — a SBC (Single Board Computer) with a data link to the Control Board; the data link being any common data transfer technology not limited to blue tooth, USB, or serial formats, the SBC such as BlueChip Technologies' Beta 712H and its program with removable memory device typically a SD card (firmware); claim 15 — a boot loader program the system operation files… are uploaded to a SD card (firmware) which once inserted into the SBC (control device) uploads program files to any of the SBC, the FPGA and the microcontroller processor; 0047 — The SBC's 5 can manage Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections, onboard and removable memory (SD or other removable flash memory); 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection… Using the GPIO hardware option to send open, close and stop commands to the Door Controller is much faster… the Open and Close signals from the SBC need to be inverted],
wherein the drive controller and the control device are connected in terms of information technology, wherein the connection is configured as a connection via which electronic messages are exchanged with one another [0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2; 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred (electronic messages) from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection. Commands for opening, closing and stopping the door have a slight delay because of the software levels required to send a command to the Door Controller via the USB port (Universal Serial Bus) (information technology)].
But Weik fails to clearly specify that the door system comprises at least one locking element, and an operating step to be carried out by the locking element.
However, Huisking teaches a processing flow is predefined by firmware of the control device [0030, 0036 — control box 110 may include a processor, memory, storage, one or more controllers (such as an audio controller, a video controller, or the like), wireless transmitter/receiver, other computer hardware, software, firmware, or the like. The control box 110 may be communicatively coupled to the one or more video phones 120, the one or more doorbells 130, the one or more relays, and the one or more door locks 140] and the door system comprises at least one locking element, wherein a processing flow comprises an operating step to be carried out by the motor and an operating step to be carried out by the locking element [0033, 0040 — Each door or door lock 140 can be configured such that the control box (in response to a signal or command received from the video phone) can open or close the door by sending a signal to activate a relay configured to activate or power a door opener/closer mechanism (such as an electrical or motorized door opener/closer mechanism). Each door or door lock 140 can further be configured such that the control box (in response to a signal or command received from the video phone) can unlock or lock the door by sending a signal to activate a relay configured to activate or power an unlock/lock mechanism (such as an electrical or motorized unlock/lock mechanism); 0042, Fig. 17 — The product, device, control box, or board 210 can also handle action commands (Open Door/Close Door) received from a user of a mobile computing device 220 (such as smart phone). In response to receipt of a particular action command, the product, device, control box, or board 210 may, for example, perform door lock/unlock operations using electromechanical or mechanical relays (such as NC/NO ("normally closed/normally open") relays or the like). — processing flow is shown in Fig. 17].
Weik and Huisking are analogous art. They relate to door control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Weik, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Huisking.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide physical security for a door while enabling flexible programmatic control by the user, as suggested by the teachings of Huisking [0026-0030].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the drive controller and the control device are connected to one another with a first bus system [0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2; 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection. Commands for opening, closing and stopping the door have a slight delay because of the software levels required to send a command to the Door Controller via the USB port (Universal Serial Bus)],
wherein the control device is configured to be connected to a second bus system, wherein the control device is configured to receive an electronic configuration for controlling the door system via the second bus system [0037, Fig. 1 — a WAN/Internet 13; 0047, Fig. 1 — Single Board Computer (SBC) 5 is a preferred device to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) as well as any remote human interface via an APP on the smartphone 11; the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2; manage the display screen 11; handle the connectivity to the internet connection 13 to the server 10; 0043 — The microcontroller firmware contains a command interpreter that can be accessed via a USB port, by the SBC to update configuration information; 0071 — server 10 can hold archived program files for the system that programs the FPGA 2, the SBC 5, and the VFD 4 that can be downloaded to each component at point of manufacture specific to door type, voltage, etc. as called for in the production specification and application. The server 10 would also support the data collection from each network connected device, manage upgrades and “remember” the setup and program files for each controller by serial number, MAC address or other designation that identifies a specific controller.].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the drive controller is configured designed to accelerate and/or brake the motor such that a door is opened, stopped and/or closed [0041-0043 — the FPGA logic will set a slow speed and stops the door when it reaches the final open or close set point position by switching on the brake activation circuit relay on the Control Board of the controller 2 and configuring the VFD control relays on the Control Board to the OFF configuration].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the control device comprises at least one processor [0019 — a SBC (Single Board Computer) with a data link to the Control Board; the data link being any common data transfer technology not limited to blue tooth, USB, or serial formats, the SBC such as BlueChip Technologies' Beta 712H and its program with removable memory device typically a SD card with data link to the Internet, Smartphone or larger touch display type screen; 0047 — The Single Board Computer (SBC) 5 (SBC’s comprise processors) is a preferred device to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) as well as any remote human interface via an APP on the smartphone 11… basic programs and capabilities of the SBC 5 include driving the display with both video and text, touch screen support, manage wired or wireless internet connection, connections, manage NFC and Bluetooth connections, file management, support multi format pages for set up and configuration, and organization and implementation of application files] and the drive controller comprises at least one processor [0038, Fig. 1 — Control Board of the controller 2 is preferably a printed circuit board designed around a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) and a microcontroller with a processor. The FPGA is designed (using a hardware description language) to contain hardware logic circuits that create logical paths from inputs to outputs. After the FPGA is configured the internal logic is the same as having hardware logic gates on the board],
wherein the control device has a higher computing power than the drive controller [0047 — The Single Board Computer (SBC) 5 (SBC’s comprise processors and are more capable/powerful than microcontrollers, i.e. higher computing power) is a preferred device to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) as well as any remote human interface via an APP on the smartphone 11… basic programs and capabilities of the SBC 5 include driving the display with both video and text, touch screen support, manage wired or wireless internet connection, connections, manage NFC and Bluetooth connections, file management, support multi format pages for set up and configuration, and organization and implementation of application files; 0038, Fig. 1 — Control Board of the controller 2 is preferably a printed circuit board designed around a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) and a microcontroller with a processor.],
wherein a control device comprises a hardware accelerator [0038, Fig. 1 — Control Board of the controller 2 is preferably a printed circuit board designed around a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) (known type of hardware accelerator) and a microcontroller with a processor. The FPGA is designed (using a hardware description language) to contain hardware logic circuits that create logical paths from inputs to outputs. After the FPGA is configured the internal logic is the same as having hardware logic gates on the board].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Weik, by incorporating a hardware accelerator, as taught by Weik, into the control device of Weik in order to increase processing speed of the control device and thus manage data flow and other functions with less delay. In addition, it would be obvious to simply substitute the known processing of Weik with a known processing system comprising a hardware processor for the predictable result of a system with a hardware accelerator enhanced control device.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the control device is configured to evaluate, based on received signals, whether the door is to be opened, stopped or closed by the motor, wherein the control device causes the drive controller to actuate the motor based on the evaluation [0054-0056 — the Touch Screen Display interface of the SBC (control device) … The touch screen display can preferably include images of the open, close and stop buttons that when pressed can activate the door.; 0037, Fig. 1 — a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board… a motor assembly 6; 0091 — An “open”, “close” and “stop” button refers to the door position which the motor is intended to drive the door towards; claim 1 — A motor control system for controlling the motor of a motorized door or gate that is operably connected to a door or gate through a speed reducer that has at least an open position and a closed position with the motor capable of driving the door or gate to both the open and closed position].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the door system comprises at least one sensor, wherein a signal of the sensor is used to cause the door to open, stop and/or close by the door drive, wherein the sensor is connected to the first bus system and/or wherein the door system is configured to evaluate the signals of the sensor by way of the control device, wherein the control device causes the drive controller to actuate the motor based on the evaluation [0035-0037, Figs. 1 and 6 — FIG. 6 shows two example screens showing in the top screen a control panel as elements that can be selected, and in the bottom screen there is shown lines of computer code for viewing by a user. Those skilled in the art will recognize that these devices include but are not limited to and are commonly called push buttons, electric eyes, loop detectors, radio receivers, safety edges, ceiling pulls, key switch, push button keypads (sensors), and many other named devices that open, close, stop, or safety reverse the door… a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2; 0053 — mechanical or magnetic position switches, incremental encoders, or encoders; 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection — It would at least be obvious to connect the sensor to the first bus system to transfer information to the SBC.].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches at least one parameter for actuating the motor is stored in the control device and/or is configured to be received by the control device, wherein the control device causes the drive controller to actuate the motor, wherein the at least one parameter is used for setting at least one of the following features of the door system: an opening speed of the door, a closing speed of the door, a hold-open time of the door, a motor power of the motor, an opening width or an opening angle of the door, and an actuation of the motor as a function of a user action [0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2; 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection. Commands for opening, closing and stopping the door have a slight delay because of the software levels required to send a command to the Door Controller via the USB port (Universal Serial Bus); 0041 — FPGA logic responds to the operator type; single speed or variable; where position sensing determines if the door should run at a constant or fast, medium or slow speed, or stop. Typically, when opening, a faster speed is chosen and a medium speed when closing. When the door position is near to the full open or near full close position as determined a position sensor (encoder or limit switch), the FPGA logic will set a slow speed and stops the door when it reaches the final open or close set point position by switching on the brake activation circuit relay on the Control Board of the controller 2 and configuring the VFD control relays on the Control Board to the OFF configuration. The single speed type responds to a go or stop command in either direction.].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the element is connected to the first bus system [0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2; 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection. Commands for opening, closing and stopping the door have a slight delay because of the software levels required to send a command to the Door Controller via the USB port (Universal Serial Bus); 0054-0056 — the Touch Screen Display interface of the SBC (control device) … The touch screen display can preferably include images of the open, close and stop buttons that when pressed can activate the door.; 0037, Fig. 1 — a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board… a motor assembly 6; 0028-0030, Fig. 1 — a schematic view of the system 100 according to the present invention. FIG. 1 shows the power, data or signal pathways between components that switch control signals on and off, and that carry data within the system components that process data signals. The connections between the components that pass data in both directions have arrows at each end…. doors have many control devices used to open; stop, close and safety reverse the door].
Further, Huisking teaches a locking element is connected to the system [0033, 0040 — Each door or door lock 140 can be configured such that the control box (in response to a signal or command received from the video phone) can open or close the door by sending a signal to activate a relay configured to activate or power a door opener/closer mechanism (such as an electrical or motorized door opener/closer mechanism). Each door or door lock 140 can further be configured such that the control box (in response to a signal or command received from the video phone) can unlock or lock the door by sending a signal to activate a relay configured to activate or power an unlock/lock mechanism (such as an electrical or motorized unlock/lock mechanism); 0042, Fig. 17 — The product, device, control box, or board 210 can also handle action commands (Open Door/Close Door) received from a user of a mobile computing device 220 (such as smart phone). In response to receipt of a particular action command, the product, device, control box, or board 210 may, for example, perform door lock/unlock operations using electromechanical or mechanical relays (such as NC/NO ("normally closed/normally open") relays or the like). — processing flow is shown in Fig. 17].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Weik, by connecting a locking element, as taught by Huisking, to the first bus system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to actually operate the locking element using the drive controller of Weik.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the electronic configuration comprises the firmware or instructions for the firmware [0037, Fig. 1 — a WAN/Internet 13; 0047, Fig. 1 — Single Board Computer (SBC) 5 is a preferred device to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) as well as any remote human interface via an APP on the smartphone 11; the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2; manage the display screen 11; handle the connectivity to the internet connection 13 to the server 10; 0043 — The microcontroller firmware contains a command interpreter that can be accessed via a USB port, by the SBC to update configuration information; 0071 — server 10 can hold archived program files for the system that programs the FPGA 2, the SBC 5, and the VFD 4 that can be downloaded to each component at point of manufacture specific to door type, voltage, etc. as called for in the production specification and application. The server 10 would also support the data collection from each network connected device, manage upgrades and “remember” the setup and program files for each controller by serial number, MAC address or other designation that identifies a specific controller.; 0019 — a SBC (Single Board Computer) with a data link to the Control Board; the data link being any common data transfer technology not limited to blue tooth, USB, or serial formats, the SBC such as BlueChip Technologies' Beta 712H and its program with removable memory device typically a SD card (firmware); claim 15 — a boot loader program the system operation files… are uploaded to a SD card (firmware) which once inserted into the SBC (control device) uploads program files to any of the SBC, the FPGA and the microcontroller processor; 0047 — The SBC's 5 can manage Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections, onboard and removable memory (SD or other removable flash memory)].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches electronic configuration is predefined for a door system type and can be loaded from a first or second database during a commissioning process [0071 — The server 10 can hold archived program files for the system that programs the FPGA 2, the SBC 5, and the VFD 4 that can be downloaded to each component at point of manufacture specific to door type, voltage, etc. as called for in the production specification and application. The server 10 would also support the data collection from each network connected device, manage upgrades and “remember” the setup and program files for each controller by serial number, MAC address (link, an address specific to a piece of hardware and stored in the hardware) or other designation that identifies a specific controller.].
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches a bus address has been linked to a role of the door component in the door system during commissioning, wherein the link is stored in the control device [0071 — The server 10 can hold archived program files for the system that programs the FPGA 2, the SBC 5, and the VFD 4 that can be downloaded to each component at point of manufacture specific to door type, voltage, etc. as called for in the production specification and application. The server 10 would also support the data collection from each network connected device, manage upgrades and “remember” the setup and program files for each controller by serial number, MAC address (link, an address specific to a piece of hardware and stored in the hardware) or other designation that identifies a specific controller.].
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the control device is connected in terms of information technology to a computing unit, wherein the control device is configured to send electronic messages to the computing unit and to receive electronic messages from the computing unit via the information technology connection, and wherein the control device is configured to receive an electronic configuration via the information technology connection [0037, Fig. 1 — a WAN/Internet 13 (information technology); 0047, Fig. 1 — Single Board Computer (SBC) 5 is a preferred device to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) as well as any remote human interface via an APP on the smartphone 11; the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2; manage the display screen 11; handle the connectivity to the internet connection 13 to the server 10; 0043 — The microcontroller firmware contains a command interpreter that can be accessed via a USB port, by the SBC to update configuration information; 0071 — server 10 can hold archived program files for the system that programs the FPGA 2, the SBC 5, and the VFD 4 that can be downloaded to each component at point of manufacture specific to door type, voltage, etc. as called for in the production specification and application. The server 10 would also support the data collection from each network connected device, manage upgrades and “remember” the setup and program files for each controller by serial number, MAC address or other designation that identifies a specific controller; 0071 — The server 10 can hold archived program files for the system that programs the FPGA 2, the SBC 5, and the VFD 4 that can be downloaded to each component at point of manufacture specific to door type, voltage, etc. as called for in the production specification and application. The server 10 would also support the data collection from each network connected device, manage upgrades and “remember” the setup and program files for each controller by serial number, MAC address (link, an address specific to a piece of hardware and stored in the hardware) or other designation that identifies a specific controller.].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Weik and Huisking in view of Wang U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210332610 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches at least one parameter for actuating the motor is stored in the control device and/or is configured to be received by the door system, by the control device [0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2; 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection (hence initially stored in the SBC). Commands for opening, closing and stopping the door have a slight delay because of the software levels required to send a command to the Door Controller via the USB port (Universal Serial Bus); 0041 — FPGA logic responds to the operator type; single speed or variable; where position sensing determines if the door should run at a constant or fast, medium or slow speed, or stop. Typically, when opening, a faster speed is chosen and a medium speed when closing. When the door position is near to the full open or near full close position as determined a position sensor (encoder or limit switch), the FPGA logic will set a slow speed and stops the door when it reaches the final open or close set point position by switching on the brake activation circuit relay on the Control Board of the controller 2 and configuring the VFD control relays on the Control Board to the OFF configuration. The single speed type responds to a go or stop command in either direction.].
But the combination of Weik and Huisking fails to clearly specify at least one parameter for actuating the motor is stored individually for authorized users or for authorized user groups or individually for access attributes or for access attribute groups in, the door system, in the control device and/or is configured to be received by the door system, by the control device.
However, Wang teaches at least one parameter for actuating the motor is stored individually for authorized users or for authorized user groups or individually for access attributes or for access attribute groups in, the door system, in the control device and/or is configured to be received by the door system, by the control device [0035 — the outside of the door piece can install an exterior-side electronic lock module exclusive for exterior-side use through the technologies such as, but not limited to, password identification technology, electronic induction identification technology, or biometric identification technology, etc. for user identification and verification. After confirming the right to operate, the motor 21 will perform locking or unlocking; 0040 — The electronic lock 100 in accordance with the present invention can permit the user to manually perform the locking or unlocking from the interior side of the door with the turn piece 11, or permit the user, after passing the user identification verification, to order the internal motor 21 to perform the locking or unlocking from the interior side of the door, or permit the user, after passing the password, electronic induction or biological characteristics, to command the internal motor 21 to perform the locking or unlocking from the exterior side of the door, or permit the user to insert a key into the lock from the exterior side of the door to manually perform the locking or unlocking.].
Weik, Huisking and Wang are analogous art. They relate to door/lock control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Weik and Huisking, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to only provide access rights to authorized users, for example for security, as suggested by the teachings of Wang [0003].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Weik and Huisking in view of Davis U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170103647 (hereinafter Davis).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the door system, comprises a memory, wherein firmware is stored in the memory [0019 — a SBC (Single Board Computer) with a data link to the Control Board; the data link being any common data transfer technology not limited to blue tooth, USB, or serial formats, the SBC such as BlueChip Technologies' Beta 712H and its program with removable memory device typically a SD card (firmware); claim 15 — a boot loader program the system operation files… are uploaded to a SD card (firmware) which once inserted into the SBC (control device) uploads program files to any of the SBC, the FPGA and the microcontroller processor; 0047 — The SBC's 5 can manage Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections, onboard and removable memory (SD or other removable flash memory)].
But the combination of Weik and Huisking fails to clearly specify the firmware is independent of the configuration of the motor of the door drive.
However, Davis teaches the firmware is independent of the configuration of the motor of the door drive [0038-0044, Fig. 1 — an electronic locking device 100 comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) 110, a power supply 140, and an electric motor 150… Examples of software may include software components, programs, applications, computer programs, application programs, system programs, machine programs, operating system software, middleware, firmware… Electronic locking device 100 can include additional electronic memory sites if desired and indeed, an example arrangement of PCB 110 is depicted in FIG. 1 as comprising a separate flash memory 118 operatively associated with microprocessor 112… electronic locking device 100 is described and illustrated herein as containing a plurality of separate memory units (non-volatile memory 114, embedded on microprocessor 112, and flash memory 118), it will be understood that electronic locking device 100 may utilize any appropriate arrangement of electronic memory sites to store information, including a single non-volatile memory unit operatively linked to microprocessor 112].
Weik, Huisking and Davis are analogous art. They relate to door control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Weik and Huisking, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Davis.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to organize firmware/flash storage as desired by a user, for example to facilitate updating only a portion of the firmware, as suggested by Davis [0038-0044].
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Weik and Huisking in view of Yulkowski U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110016971 (hereinafter Yulkowski).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches it is predefined in the door system, in the firmware, under which conditions and in what way the motor is to be actuated, whether the door is to be opened or closed by the motor [0019 — a SBC (Single Board Computer) with a data link to the Control Board; the data link being any common data transfer technology not limited to blue tooth, USB, or serial formats, the SBC such as BlueChip Technologies' Beta 712H and its program with removable memory device typically a SD card (firmware); claim 15 — a boot loader program the system operation files… are uploaded to a SD card (firmware) which once inserted into the SBC (control device) uploads program files to any of the SBC, the FPGA and the microcontroller processor; 0047 — The SBC's 5 can manage Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections, onboard and removable memory (SD or other removable flash memory); 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection… Using the GPIO hardware option to send open, close and stop commands to the Door Controller is much faster… the Open and Close signals from the SBC need to be inverted; 0037, Fig. 1 — a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board… a motor assembly 6; 0091 — An “open”, “close” and “stop” button refers to the door position which the motor is intended to drive the door towards; claim 1 — A motor control system for controlling the motor of a motorized door or gate that is operably connected to a door or gate through a speed reducer that has at least an open position and a closed position with the motor capable of driving the door or gate to both the open and closed position].
But the combination of Weik and Huisking fails to clearly specify it is predefined in the door system, under which environmental conditions and in what way the motor is to be actuated, whether the door is to be opened or closed by the motor.
However, Yulkowski teaches it is predefined in the door system, in the firmware, under which environmental conditions and in what way the motor is to be actuated, whether the door is to be opened or closed by the motor [0028 — the term module refers to an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), an electronic circuit, a processor (shared, dedicated, or group) and memory that execute one or more software or firmware; 0045 — A hold-open 86 may also be incorporated within the door. The hold-open 86 may operate in response to a sensor 88. The hold-open 86 is illustrated as mounted within the door, but may be also mounted on the door frame. The hold-open 86 holds the door open and in response to sensing a condition at the sensor 88, allows the door to close. The door may close under the operation of the door operator assembly 20. The sensor 88 may, for example, be a smoke detector, a chemical detector, a carbon-monoxide detector, a radiation detector, or other types of sensors that sense conditions suitable for closing a door.; 0048-0050 — the temperature sensor 119 may be used for detecting fire or for energy management purposes. The temperature sensor 119 may trigger the closing of a door without further interaction.].
Weik, Huisking and Yulkowski are analogous art. They relate to door control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Weik and Huisking, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Yulkowski.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent a fire spreading, as suggested by Yulkowski [0045-0050].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of the combination of Weik. Huisking and Yulkowski teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the drive controllers are connected to the first bus system and/or the process is stored in the firmware [0019 — a SBC (Single Board Computer) with a data link to the Control Board; the data link being any common data transfer technology not limited to blue tooth, USB, or serial formats, the SBC such as BlueChip Technologies' Beta 712H and its program with removable memory device typically a SD card (firmware); claim 15 — a boot loader program the system operation files… are uploaded to a SD card (firmware) which once inserted into the SBC (control device) uploads program files to any of the SBC, the FPGA and the microcontroller processor; 0047 — The SBC's 5 can manage Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections, onboard and removable memory (SD or other removable flash memory); 0037, Fig. 1 — a WAN/Internet 13; 0047, Fig. 1 — Single Board Computer (SBC) 5 is a preferred device to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) as well as any remote human interface via an APP on the smartphone 11; the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2; manage the display screen 11; handle the connectivity to the internet connection 13 to the server 10; 0043 — The microcontroller firmware contains a command interpreter that can be accessed via a USB port, by the SBC to update configuration information; 0071 — server 10 can hold archived program files for the system that programs the FPGA 2, the SBC 5, and the VFD 4 that can be downloaded to each component at point of manufacture specific to door type, voltage, etc. as called for in the production specification and application. The server 10 would also support the data collection from each network connected device, manage upgrades and “remember” the setup and program files for each controller by serial number, MAC address or other designation that identifies a specific controller.].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Weik and Huisking in view of Andrus et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170002604 (hereinafter Andrus) and Soderqvist U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210222476 (hereinafter Soderqvist).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the door system comprises a control device and a door drive, wherein the door drive comprises a drive controller [0037, Fig. 1 — a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board… a motor assembly 6; 0091 — An “open”, “close” and “stop” button refers to the door position which the motor is intended to drive the door towards; claim 1 — A motor control system for controlling the motor of a motorized door or gate that is operably connected to a door or gate through a speed reducer that has at least an open position and a closed position with the motor capable of driving the door or gate to both the open and closed position; 0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2].
But the combination of Weik and Huisking fails to clearly specify the door system comprises a control device and a plurality of door drives, wherein the door drives each comprise a drive controller, wherein the control device is configured to coordinate the drive controllers for a process, wherein the door drives are configured to each be arranged on a door leaf of a double-leaf door and/or on door leaves of doors arranged one behind the other.
However, Andrus teaches the door system comprises a control device and a plurality of door drives, wherein the door drives each comprise a drive controller, wherein the control device is configured to coordinate the drive controllers for a process [0047 — rotation of one or more rotatable doors may be controlled by a controller. The controller may coordinate (e.g., synchronize) the rotational movements of one or more rotatable doors. In some embodiments, the controller may receive a signal from one or more devices (e.g., user inputs or sensors) to control the rotational movements of one or more rotatable doors. These signals may be used to open the rotatable doors, close the rotatable doors, stop rotation the rotatable doors, prevent the rotation of the rotatable doors, etc.; 0077 — control system 700 may include one or more sensors 730 in communication with controller 720. In some embodiments, controller 720 may be configured to control the rotation of one or more rotatable doors 710 based on signals received from one or more sensors 730. In some embodiments, controller 720 may be configured to prevent or stop rotation of one or more rotatable doors 710 in response to receiving a signal from one or more sensors 730. For example, if a sensor 730 detects the presence of an object between two rotatable doors in the open position, sensor 730 may send a signal to controller 720 indicating the presence of the object and, in turn, controller 720 may prevent or stop rotation of the two rotatable doors 710. Sensors 730 may include, but are not limited to, a motion sensor, an IR (infrared) sensor, a heat sensor, a touch sensor, a camera, a microphone, or a combination thereof; 0100-0101 — portions of controller 720 or server 760 may be implemented in computer system 1500 using hardware, software, firmware].
Weik, Huisking, and Andrus are analogous art. They relate to door control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known coordinated door system of Andrus for the known door system of Weik and Huisking for the predictable result of a lockable, coordinated, electronically connected, motorized door system.
But the combination of Weik, Huisking and Andrus fails to clearly specify the door drives are designed to each be arranged on a door leaf of a double-leaf door and/or on door leaves of doors arranged one behind the other.
However, Soderqvist teaches the door drives are designed to each be arranged on a door leaf of a double-leaf door and/or on door leaves of doors arranged one behind the other [0041-0044, Figs. 1-2 — swing door operator 10 of the swing door operator system 200, 300 as disclosed in FIG. 1, comprises a drive unit 100, a motor 101, a spring 102, a control unit 103, a memory 104 (in the control unit), and optionally an user interface 105 for operation/control, either being wirelessly accessible and/or by wiring, for manual operation and/or automatic. The drive unit 100 is also operatively and/or physically connected to an axle 1, an arm system 2 comprising one or more arms 3, 3A, 3B and/or an arm guide 4; 0036, 0056, Fig. 3 — a single leaf swing door operator system 200, as disclosed in FIG. 2, 4-8 or a double leaf swing door operator system 300 as disclosed in FIG. 3].
Weik, Huisking, Andrus and Soderqvist are analogous art. They relate to door control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known double-leaf door system of Soderqvist for the known door system of Weik, Huisking and Andrus for the predictable result of a door control system with drives on a double-leaf door and/or on door leaves of doors arranged one behind the other.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Weik and Huisking in view of Paulsson et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200217121 (hereinafter Paulsson).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the door system comprises a motor, wherein the drive controller actuates the component, wherein the motor is connected to the first bus system [0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2; 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection. Commands for opening, closing and stopping the door have a slight delay because of the software levels required to send a command to the Door Controller via the USB port (Universal Serial Bus); 0054-0056 — the Touch Screen Display interface of the SBC (control device) … The touch screen display can preferably include images of the open, close and stop buttons that when pressed can activate the door.; 0037, Fig. 1 — a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board… a motor assembly 6; 0028-0030, Fig. 1 — a schematic view of the system 100 according to the present invention. FIG. 1 shows the power, data or signal pathways between components that switch control signals on and off, and that carry data within the system components that process data signals. The connections between the components that pass data in both directions have arrows at each end…. doors have many control devices used to open; stop, close and safety reverse the door].
Further, Huisking teaches the door system comprises a lock, wherein the drive controller actuates the lock [0033, 0040 — Each door or door lock 140 can be configured such that the control box (in response to a signal or command received from the video phone) can open or close the door by sending a signal to activate a relay configured to activate or power a door opener/closer mechanism (such as an electrical or motorized door opener/closer mechanism). Each door or door lock 140 can further be configured such that the control box (in response to a signal or command received from the video phone) can unlock or lock the door by sending a signal to activate a relay configured to activate or power an unlock/lock mechanism (such as an electrical or motorized unlock/lock mechanism); 0042, Fig. 17 — The product, device, control box, or board 210 can also handle action commands (Open Door/Close Door) received from a user of a mobile computing device 220 (such as smart phone). In response to receipt of a particular action command, the product, device, control box, or board 210 may, for example, perform door lock/unlock operations using electromechanical or mechanical relays (such as NC/NO ("normally closed/normally open") relays or the like). — processing flow is shown in Fig. 17].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Weik, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Huisking.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide physical security for a door while enabling flexible programmatic control by the user, as suggested by the teachings of Huisking [0026-0030].
But the combination of Weik and Huisking fails to clearly specify a motor lock.
However, Paulsson teaches a motor lock [0077-0083, 0088, 0128 — a motor lock].
Weik, Huisking and Paulsson are analogous art. They relate to door/lock control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known motor lock of Paulsson for the known lock of Weik and Huisking for the predictable result of a door control system utilizing a motor locking mechanism.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Weik and Huisking in view of Hom et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20030033388 (hereinafter Hom).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the drive controller and the control device and a motor of the door drive [0037, Fig. 1 — a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board… a motor assembly 6; 0091 — An “open”, “close” and “stop” button refers to the door position which the motor is intended to drive the door towards; claim 1 — A motor control system for controlling the motor of a motorized door or gate that is operably connected to a door or gate through a speed reducer that has at least an open position and a closed position with the motor capable of driving the door or gate to both the open and closed position; 0037, Fig. 1 — a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2].
But the combination of Weik and Huisking fails to clearly specify the drive controller and the control device are arranged in a housing, wherein the housing accommodates a motor of the drive.
However, Hom teaches the drive controller and the control device are arranged in a housing, wherein the housing accommodates a motor of the drive [0010 — It will be understood that the controller 12 and gate operating mechanism 11 may be a part of the same unit, e.g., located on the same printed circuit board (not shown) or in the same gate controller housing (not shown) or they could be remote from each other].
Weik, Huisking and Hom are analogous art. They relate to door/gate access control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known controller/motor housing arrangement of Hom for the known controller/motor arrangement of Weik and Huisking for the predictable result of a door control system where a drive controller and the control device are arranged in a housing, wherein the housing accommodates a motor of the drive. In addition, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange these components within the same housing to facilitate communication between them and to reduce mechanical complexity/cost.
Claim(s) 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Weik and Huisking in view of Engel et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20050061586 (hereinafter Engel).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the electronic configuration and components of the intended door components of the door system, which are connected to the control device [0018-0019 — The preferred data connected components of this door control system invention include the following: Mitsubishi VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) or equivalent with its configuration files with or without a data link but with the necessary VFD control functions as I/O on the Control Board, wherein the Control Board is preferably a device known commercially as an SDS-0300 Controller offered commercially through Smartdoor Systems, Inc.;, 0028-0030, Fig. 1 — a schematic view of the system 100 according to the present invention. FIG. 1 shows the power, data or signal pathways between components that switch control signals on and off, and that carry data within the system components that process data signals. The connections between the components that pass data in both directions have arrows at each end…. doors have many control devices used to open; stop, close and safety reverse the door].
But the combination of Weik and Huisking fails to clearly specify the electronic configuration comprises a list of components in which are listed the intended door components of the system.
However, Engel teaches the electronic configuration comprises a list of components in which are listed the intended door components of the system [0014 — the configuration data are transferred to the indicating and control unit so that the check program can be set up there. The check program can, however, also be set up in the elevator controller and then transferred to the processor of the indicating and control unit in order to be worked down there… the components incorporated in the elevator installation are initialized in the check according to the invention. This can be carried out by switching on the elevator installation or also by manual activation of the components by the person carrying out the check. It is possible through the initialization to detect the scope of the incorporated components and to derive therefrom and detect the configuration data of the elevator installation and store the data in the memory of the elevator installation. The configuration data of the elevator installation preferably comprise an identification number and/or a list of all components of the elevator installation which have to be taken into consideration in the check.; 0040 — a door drive controller ADDU is connected to the ECU].
Weik, Huisking and Engel are analogous art. They relate to door control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Weik and Johnson, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Engel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce errors and enable a convenient and reliable acceptance check/commissioning of an installation, as taught by Engel [0009-0010].
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Weik and Huisking teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Weik teaches the door system, in addition to the door drive and the control device, comprises further door components, that are connected to the control device in terms of information technology and the electronic configuration [0018-0019 — The preferred data connected components of this door control system invention include the following: Mitsubishi VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) or equivalent with its configuration files with or without a data link but with the necessary VFD control functions as I/O on the Control Board, wherein the Control Board is preferably a device known commercially as an SDS-0300 Controller offered commercially through Smartdoor Systems, Inc.;, 0028-0030, Fig. 1 — a schematic view of the system 100 according to the present invention. FIG. 1 shows the power, data or signal pathways between components that switch control signals on and off, and that carry data within the system components that process data signals. The connections between the components that pass data in both directions have arrows at each end…. doors have many control devices used to open; stop, close and safety reverse the door; 0035-0037, Figs. 1 and 6 — FIG. 6 shows two example screens showing in the top screen a control panel as elements that can be selected, and in the bottom screen there is shown lines of computer code for viewing by a user. Those skilled in the art will recognize that these devices include but are not limited to and are commonly called push buttons, electric eyes, loop detectors, radio receivers, safety edges, ceiling pulls, key switch, push button keypads (sensors), and many other named devices that open, close, stop, or safety reverse the door… a single board computer 5, hereafter referred to as an SBC 5 — connects to controller 2; 0053 — mechanical or magnetic position switches, incremental encoders, or encoders; 0058 — Most commands and status information is transferred from the Door Controller to the SBC using a USB connection (information technology); 0037, Fig. 1 — a WAN/Internet 13 (information technology)].
But the combination of Weik and Huisking fails to clearly specify the electronic configuration in each case comprises a component list wherein the intended door components of the door system that are listed.
However, Engel teaches the electronic configuration in each case comprises a component list wherein the intended door components of the door system that are listed [0014 — the configuration data are transferred to the indicating and control unit so that the check program can be set up there. The check program can, however, also be set up in the elevator controller and then transferred to the processor of the indicating and control unit in order to be worked down there… the components incorporated in the elevator installation are initialized in the check according to the invention. This can be carried out by switching on the elevator installation or also by manual activation of the components by the person carrying out the check. It is possible through the initialization to detect the scope of the incorporated components and to derive therefrom and detect the configuration data of the elevator installation and store the data in the memory of the elevator installation. The configuration data of the elevator installation preferably comprise an identification number and/or a list of all components of the elevator installation which have to be taken into consideration in the check.; 0040 — a door drive controller ADDU is connected to the ECU].
Weik, Huisking and Engel are analogous art. They relate to door control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Weik and Johnson, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Engel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce errors and enable a convenient and reliable acceptance check/commissioning of an installation, as taught by Engel [0009-0010].
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119