DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the projection module”, “the preprocessing module”, “the registration module”, “a femoral contour line generating unit”, “a femoral head fitting unit”, “a femoral neck characteristic line selecting unit”, “a femoral coordinate system establishing unit”, “a femoral characteristic circle generating unit”, “a femoral characteristic line selecting unit” and “a femoral characteristic point selecting unit”, “a first femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a second femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a third femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a fourth femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a fifth femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “femoral coordinate system overlap unit”, “a femoral characteristic point registration unit”, “ an interested region selecting unit” in claims 1-5.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Regarding “the projection module”, “the preprocessing module”, “the registration module”, “a femoral contour line generating unit”, “a femoral head fitting unit”, “a femoral neck characteristic line selecting unit”, “a femoral coordinate system establishing unit”, “a femoral characteristic circle generating unit”, “a femoral characteristic line selecting unit” and “a femoral characteristic point selecting unit”, “a first femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a second femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a third femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a fourth femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a fifth femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “femoral coordinate system overlap unit”, “a femoral characteristic point registration unit”, “ an interested region selecting unit”– the specification does not disclose the structure for these cited modules and units. See rejection under 35 U.S.C 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not disclose a written description for the structure for “the projection module”, “the preprocessing module”, “the registration module”, “a femoral contour line generating unit”, “a femoral head fitting unit”, “a femoral neck characteristic line selecting unit”, “a femoral coordinate system establishing unit”, “a femoral characteristic circle generating unit”, “a femoral characteristic line selecting unit” and “a femoral characteristic point selecting unit”, “a first femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a second femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a third femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a fourth femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “a fifth femoral characteristic line selecting subunit”, “femoral coordinate system overlap unit”, “a femoral characteristic point registration unit”, “ an interested region selecting unit” as recited in claims 1-5.
8. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claims 1-5, the various means plus function claim limitations for which it was indicated the specification fails to disclose the corresponding structure material or acts for performing the recited function are rejected as being indefinite for that reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim(s) 1, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al., Chinese Patent Publication No. CN112509022A (Publication Date – 03/16/2021).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an image registration system for a femur surgery, comprising:
a projection module, a preprocessing module and a registration module;
the projection module is configured to carry out DRR projections at different angles of a three-dimensional femur CT image, to obtain a plurality of two-dimensional DRR projection images (figure 5 – femur; page 2 – obtaining a series of three-dimensional image by CT…starting from 0 degree, generating N pieces of DRR image according to the three dimensional image provided by CT…obtaining the corresponding pose parameter P; wherein, P = (ø x, ø y, ø z, X, Y, Z); ø x, ø y, ø z represents the rotating direction; X, Y, Z represents the translation amount in each direction under the coordinate system);
the preprocessing module is configured to preprocess femur images in the two- dimensional DRR projection images and two-dimensional X-ray images, to generate femoral coordinate systems and femoral characteristic points (page 1 - Abstract – obtaining the pose coordinate P of each image; page 2 – “obtaining the corresponding pose parameter P; wherein, P = (ø x, ø y, ø z, X, Y, Z); ø x, ø y, ø z represents the rotating direction; X, Y, Z represents the translation amount in each direction under the coordinate system”; page 3 – contour extraction for contour correlation and points for point registration corresponds to the femoral characteristic points); and
the two-dimensional X-ray images include a plurality of X-ray plane images taken from different angles of a femur (page 2 - the X ray machine on the C-shaped arm obtains X-Ray perspective image with different angles); and
the registration module is configured to determine, from the plurality of two-dimensional DRR projection images, a two-dimensional DRR projection image in a same femoral posture as a femoral posture of the two-dimensional X-ray images according to the femoral coordinate systems and the femoral characteristic points of the two-dimensional DRR projection images and the two-dimensional X-ray images, to obtain a plurality of target DRR projection images (page 3 – outputting the image after accurate registration; page 5 – “7) matching the two DRR image and X-Ray image successfully, respectively extracting the shift angle point, as shown in FIG. 5 (c), (d), and performing angular point matching, obtaining the angular point matching matrix.”; Abstract – “in the operation, the X-ray machine obtains two X-Ray perspective images with different angles; 4) generating N DRR images according to the operation requirement; obtaining the pose coordinate P of each image; 5) processing the image data generated by the DRR algorithm; then selecting the interested area without fracture part, extracting the outline; 6) extracting the contour line of the real Xray according to the same method; 7) based on the contour line and characteristic point related property is three-dimensional image before operation and X-Ray perspective image accurate registration, outputting the image after accurate registration”).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per citations made in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses The image registration method according to claim 6, wherein the determining, from the plurality of two-dimensional DRR projection images, a two-dimensional DRR projection image in the same femoral posture as a femoral posture of a two-dimensional X-ray image according to the femoral coordinate systems and the femoral characteristic points of the two-dimensional DRR projection images and the two-dimensional X-ray images, to obtain a plurality of target DRR projection images specifically comprises: overlapping the femoral coordinate systems of the two-dimensional DRR projection images and the two-dimensional X-ray images; and matching positions of the femoral characteristic points of the two-dimensional DRR projection images and the two-dimensional X-ray images in a one-to-one correspondence (see the citations made in the rejection of claim 1; obtaining corresponding pose coordinates is nothing but obtaining overlapping pose coordinates).
12. Claims 7-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record as cited do not teach the subject matter as recited in claims 2-5, 7-8 and 10.
/Manav Seth/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
June 6, 2026