Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 8/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6 and 16-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/4/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “the user” and “the environment” in lines 4 and 9, these should read “a user” and “an environment”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the position" in line 3, this should read “a position”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 7: “heat protection means” is being interpreted to mean a heat or position sensor or a thermal insulation device.
Claim 12: “adhesive means” is being interpreted to mean a silicone layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitations "the base body" and “the input” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as if this claim is intended to depend from claim 8 as claim 8 is the claim that recites “a base body”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 13, 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US-Pub 2017/0163437).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses a portable operating device (200, fig 2) for controlling a kitchen appliance (100b, fig 2) from different operating positions (S300, fig 25, the controller needs to be close to operate, not just coupled), the portable operating device comprising, a user interface (210, fig 3) for the user to input control information, a communication unit (203, fig 6) which is connected to the user interface in a signal-transmitting manner to wirelessly transmit the control information to the kitchen appliance, and at least one heat protecting means (par. 0224, the position sensor is included as a heat protecting means as based on the position sensor reading the appliance can shut off if the position reading is determined to be unsafe, applicants functions the same way (page 20 lines 5-25 of applicants specification)).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses the at least one heat protection means comprises a position sensor (par. 0221, the operating device using strength of signal from its signal detection system to detect its position relative to the device which it operates with) to determine the position of the operating device relative to the kitchen appliance.
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses the user interface comprises at least one control element (210b, fig 3) which is displaceable relative to the base body for the input of the control information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Zarcone (10890332).
Regarding claim 8, Yang does not disclose wherein the at least one heat protection means has at least one heat protection body to thermally decouple a base body from the environment
Zarcone teaches a knob (211, fig 1) for a kitchen appliance (col 1, lines 15-19, a hob is a cooktop kitchen appliance) which has at least one heat protection means (col 11, lines 42-55) comprising a heat protection body (the layer of silicone attached to the base of 213, col 11, lines 42-55) to thermally decouple a base body (213, fig 4) from the environment (Col 4, lines 57-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable operating device disclosed by Yang by having a protecting silicone layer located at the base of the controller based on the teachings of Zarcone. Doing so would protect the knob from temperature damage (Col 4, lines 57-67), as suggested by Zarcone.
Regarding claim 11, Yang as modified by Zarcone discloses the claimed invention except for the heat protection body being replaceably attached to the base body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the protection body be replaceable, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 12, Yang as modified by Zarcone discloses wherein the at least one heat protection means (the layer of silicone attached to the base of 213, col 11, lines 42-55, Zarcone) comprises an adhesive means (page 18, lines 3-10, applicants specification states a silicone layer can be the adhesive means, so the face of the heat protection means) for reversible, non-slip arrangement on a glass surface.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Barritt (5648008).
Regarding claim 14, Yang does not disclose the at least one heat protection means comprises a temperature sensor.
Barritt teaches an induction cooktop comprising a temperature sensor (79, fig 2) connected to the controller to detect whether the glass top is overheating (col 15, lines 3-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified heat protection means disclosed by Yang by having a temperature sensor located in the controller to detect the temperature of the glass top of the cookware to detect overheating based on the teachings of Barritt. This would allow the controller to generate an alarm signal to notify the user of potential damage (col 15, lines 5-17).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as modified by Zarcone as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Has (DE102008044236A1).
Regarding claim 9, Yang as modified by Zarcone does not disclose explicitly the at least one heat protection body comprises a material which is resistant up to at least 250°C.
Has teaches using silicone in a kitchen device (1, fig 1), wherein the silicon is resistant up to 300°C (page 8, par 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat protection body disclosed by Yang as modified by Zarcone by having the plastic be resistant up to at least 250C based on the teachings of Has. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that any part associated with a cooking device risks being exposed to high temperatures and thus would need to be made to resist damage from melting.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as modified by Zarcone as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Franco Gutierrez (US-Pub 2021/0259065).
Regarding claim 10, Yang as modified by Zarcone discloses does not explicitly disclose the at least one heat protection body comprises a material having a thermal conductivity of at most 5 W/mK.
Franco Gutierrez teaches using a Hob communication unit (20a, fig 2) which communicates information to an induction cooker in the same manner as Yang (par. 0072), which uses silicon with a thermal conductivity of below 5 W/mK (par. 0027, the conductivity maximum is preferably 0.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat protection body disclosed by Yang as modified by Zarcone by having a thermal conductivity below 5w/mk based on the teachings of Franco Gutierrez. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a low thermal conductivity would protect the electronics inside from the heat of appliance operation.
Conclusion
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741