DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1a. Claims 9-10 and 14 are objected to as dependent upon rejected claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
1b. Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed on1/27/2026 (hereinafter Remarks), are acknowledged, and have been fully considered.
Regarding to Applicant’s remarks about “interference associated with an uplink signal” and “a first numerology different from a second numerology”; The Examiner conduct a new search and finds Byun (US 20200178221 AI), and updates the rejection accordingly:
Receiving, from a base station, an indication of interference associated with an uplink signal of a second UE
[(see Byun:
[0196] Compared to proposed method 1, proposed method 2 has an advantage of measuring interference of an uplink in a sidelink by measuring a channel between UEs.
[0178] … However, when an SRS is for measuring interference of a sidelink in an uplink, the SRS may be transmitted by obtaining an additional resource for a sidelink resource (S1710).
wherein the interference comprises a first numerology different from a second numerology used by the first UE
[(see Byun:
[0203] The proposed method enables time/frequency resources to be shared even when the sidelink and the uplink have different numerologies.
[0179] When the sidelink and the uplink have different numerologies and share time/frequency resources, the UE operates as follows. When a reference signal transmission resource for the UE is configured in an uplink resource, the UE may perform the following two operations. …
Thus, Applicant’s claims have been disclosed by prior art.
The Examiner updates the rejections accordingly, and this office action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 1-8, 11, 13 and 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 20210067261 A1) in view of Balasubramanian (US 20200145963 A1)
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Shin discloses a method for network assisted interference cancellation.
Balasubramanian’s discloses a method for active interference management.
Byun discloses a method for performing device to device communications.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Shin discloses:
A method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE) comprising [(see Figs 4-7 and 8-9)]:
receiving, by a first user equipment (UE) from a base station, an indication of interference associated with an uplink signal of a second UE
[(Shin discloses UE receiving interference information:
[0081] If the interference information signaled from the base station is identified (400), the terminal identifies existence/nonexistence of an interference signal for data and a control channel (410), and determines whether to apply NAICS with respect to the data and the control channel (420).
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)];
wherein the interference comprises a first numerology different from a second numerology used by the first UE
[(Shin discloses at least one of the numerology information of the neighboring cell:
[0113] ……….. The network deployment information may further include at least one of the numerology information of the neighboring cell and the frame structure information. Further, the base station can acquire scheduling information including information on the transmission time interval of the neighboring cell, and can transmit the scheduling information to the terminal.
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)];
receiving a downlink communication from the base station; cancelling the interference from the downlink communication according to the indication; and
[(Shin discloses receiving downlink data and cancelling the interference from the data:
[0082] If it is determined to apply the NAICS, the terminal acquires other interference information in addition to the interference information signaled from the base station (400) through blind detection (430). The terminal cancels the interference signal using the interference information acquired through operations 400 and 430, or calculates an LLR through a probability distribution function in which the statistical characteristics of the interference signal are reflected (440). Last, the terminal decodes data and a control signal (450) after cancelling or suppressing the interference signal.
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)];
decoding the downlink communication
[(Shin discloses decoding the downlink data:
[0083] In contrast, if it is determined that the NAICS is not applied at operation 420, the terminal calculates the LLR without considering the interference (460), and decodes the data and the control signal (450).
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Shin does not elaborate about interference associated with uplink signals.
However, Balasubramanian discloses:
receiving, by a first user equipment (UE) from a base station, an indication of interference associated with an uplink signal of a second UE
[(Balasubramanian discloses UAV PDSCH interference management based on uplink interference information:
[0146] Uplink interference management may be provided by eNBs/cells. For example, a dedicated data region/zone may be extended to uplink transmissions. An eNB may determine MCS and PRB allocations for its users in an uplink. An eNB may (e.g., also) transmit uplink interference information to neighboring cells.
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)];
wherein the interference comprises a first numerology different from a second numerology used by the first UE
[(Balasubramanian discloses various transmissions associated with various different numerologies:
[0072] The WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c may communicate with gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c using transmissions associated with a scalable numerology. For example, the OFDM symbol spacing and/or OFDM subcarrier spacing may vary for different transmissions, different cells, and/or different portions of the wireless transmission spectrum.
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)];
receiving a downlink communication from the base station
[(Balasubramanian discloses receiving PDSCH including interference information:
[0098] A UAV may be scheduled for data transmission n a data region and/or a data zone. A data region (e.g., a UAV dedicated PDSCH 714, 716, and 718) may include, for example, multiple data zones (e.g., zones 1, 2, 3, and 4 in data regions 714, 716, 718). In an example, there may be four UAV designated PDSCH data zones numbered 1, 2, 3 and 4. ………….. Zones may (e.g., also) be distributed over PDSCH in a sub-frame.
Fig 7; Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)];
cancelling the interference from the downlink communication according to the indication; and decoding the downlink communication
[(Balasubramanian discloses decoding PDSCH and cancelling (or minus) interference:
[0125] A PDSCH of a neighboring cell may be decoded, for example, to perform code word level (e.g., successive) interference cancellation (e.g., perfect interference cancellation).
[0137] FIG. 15 is an example of superzone (e.g., region) interference management. In an example, there may be one RNTI for an entire UAV dedicated PDSCH (e.g., as shown by 1502 in FIG. 15). Several aggregation levels may be used (e.g. similar to previous examples) for the UAV dedicated PDSCH. A UAV may perform blind decoding for allowable aggregation levels using a (e.g. only one) zone and/or region RNTI (e.g., ZN-RNTI).
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)].
Further, Byun discloses about “interference associated with an uplink signal” and “a first numerology different from a second numerology”:
Receiving, from a base station, an indication of interference associated with an uplink signal of a second UE
[(see Byun:
[0196] Compared to proposed method 1, proposed method 2 has an advantage of measuring interference of an uplink in a sidelink by measuring a channel between UEs.
[0178] … However, when an SRS is for measuring interference of a sidelink in an uplink, the SRS may be transmitted by obtaining an additional resource for a sidelink resource (S1710).
wherein the interference comprises a first numerology different from a second numerology used by the first UE
[(see Byun:
[0203] The proposed method enables time/frequency resources to be shared even when the sidelink and the uplink have different numerologies.
[0179] When the sidelink and the uplink have different numerologies and share time/frequency resources, the UE operates as follows. When a reference signal transmission resource for the UE is configured in an uplink resource, the UE may perform the following two operations. …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shin’s method for network assisted interference cancellation with Balasubramanian’s method for active interference management and Byun’s method for performing device to device communications with the motivation being to improve performance (Balasubramanian, [0091]) and to perform device to device communication in share uplink resources (Byun, Title).
Regarding Claim 2, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication includes a cell identification associated with the interference
[(Shin discloses identifying interference cell through reference signal (RS):
[0068] DM-RS sequence information: Virtual cell ID, scrambling ID
[0108] ……. That is, if it is identified that the interference cell has M RS antenna ports through identification of RS information of the interference cell, ………..
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 3, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication identifies the first numerology associated with the uplink signal of the second UE
[(Shin discloses network information of an interference cell associated with numerology:
[0051] Network deployment information of an interference cell.
[0053] Numerology information: Subcarrier spacing
[0058] Uplink/downlink configuration information
[0068] DM-RS sequence information: Virtual cell ID, scrambling ID
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 4, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication identifies a resource allocation associated with the uplink signal of the second UE
[(Shin discloses network information of an interference cell associated with numerology
[0051] Network deployment information of an interference cell.
[0053] Numerology information: Subcarrier spacing
[0058] Uplink/downlink configuration information
[0068] DM-RS sequence information: Virtual cell ID, scrambling ID
[0076] Resource allocation bandwidth on frequency may differ in accordance with a used numerology.
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 5, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication identifies a modulation associated with the uplink signal of the second UE
[(Shin discloses network information of an interference cell associated with modulation:
[0051] Network deployment information of an interference cell.
[0062] Modulation order
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 6, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication identifies a coding associated with the uplink signal of the second UE
[(Shin discloses network information of an interference cell associated with coding:
[0051] Network deployment information of an interference cell.
[0058] Uplink/downlink configuration information
[0068] DM-RS sequence information: Virtual cell ID, scrambling ID
[0064] Precoding matrix indicator (PMI): Precoding information of an interference cell
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 7, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication identifies a demodulation reference symbol associated with the uplink signal of the second UE
[(Shin discloses network information of an interference cell associated with DM-RS:
[0051] Network deployment information of an interference cell.
[0058] Uplink/downlink configuration information
[0065] Demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) information
[0068] DM-RS sequence information: Virtual cell ID, scrambling ID
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 8, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication identifies quasi-colocation information associated with the uplink signal of the second UE
[(Shin discloses network information of an interference cell associated with UL/DL in some specific area:
[0051] Network deployment information of an interference cell.
[0058] Uplink/downlink configuration information
[0031] ………. For example, if needed, a control channel, such as PDCCH, may be located in a specific area of a data channel, such as PDSCH.
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 11, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication is received from a downlink control indicator (DCI)
[(see:
[0080] Referring to FIG. 4, a terminal identifies interference information signaled from a base station (400). A part of the interference information may be transferred from the base station to the terminal through higher layer signaling (e.g., radio resource control (RRC)). If necessary, a part of the interference information may be transferred from the base station to the terminal through dynamic signaling (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)).
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 13, Shin discloses:
wherein the indication is received from a radio resource control (RRC) signal
[(see:
[0080] Referring to FIG. 4, a terminal identifies interference information signaled from a base station (400). A part of the interference information may be transferred from the base station to the terminal through higher layer signaling (e.g., radio resource control (RRC)). If necessary, a part of the interference information may be transferred from the base station to the terminal through dynamic signaling (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)).
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 15, Shin discloses:
wherein either one of both of the first UE and the second UE comprises an air to ground (ATG) UE
[(Shin discloses a plurality wireless mobile communication technologist, all involve air (cellular radio) to ground (base stations or UEs) communication:
[0026] A wireless communication system was initially developed for the purpose of providing a voice-oriented service, but has been developed as a broadband wireless communication system that provides a high-speed and high-quality packet data service like communication standards, such as 3.sup.rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) high speed packet access (HSPA), Long Term Evolution (LTE), evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA), LTE-advanced (LTE-A), 3GPP2 high rate packet data (HRPD), ultra-mobile broadband (UMB), and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.16e.
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 20, Shin discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising [(see Fig 1, UE A, UE B; Figs 8-9)]:
at least one transceiver configured to [(see Figs 8-9, Terminal Receiver 800 and Terminer Transmitter 804)]:
at least one transceiver configured and at least one memory comprising instructions;at least one processor coupled configured to execute the instructions to cause the UE to [(see Figs 8-9, Terminal Receiver 800 and Terminer Transmitter 804)]:
receive, from a base station via the at least one transceiver, control information that includes information regarding interference associated with an uplink signal of an air to ground (ATG) UE; and
[(Shin discloses UE receiving interference information:
[0081] If the interference information signaled from the base station is identified (400), the terminal identifies existence/nonexistence of an interference signal for data and a control channel (410), and determines whether to apply NAICS with respect to the data and the control channel (420).
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)];
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a signal on a physical downlink shared Channel (PDSCH), the signal including the interference
[(Shin discloses UE receiving interference information through PDCCH/PDSCH:
[0043] Resource allocation for PDSCH interference and precoding granularity are assumed in the unit of a physical resource block (PRB) pair {1,2,3,4}.
[0044] Transmission mode (TM) of interference PDSCH
[0116] ……… The transmission parameters of the interference cell of the terminal determined by the base station are transmitted to the terminal through the base station transmitter 905. In accordance with the scheduling determined by the base station, the base station transmitter 905 transmits control information (i.e., PDCCH transmission) and data (i.e., PDSCH transmission) to the terminal. Further, the base station receives channel state information for scheduling of the terminal using the base station receiver 901.
Fig 1, PDSCH; Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B; Fig 9)];
wherein the interference includes a first numerology different from a second numerology associated with the PDSCH
[(Shin discloses at least one of the numerology information of the neighboring cell:
[0113] ……….. The network deployment information may further include at least one of the numerology information of the neighboring cell and the frame structure information. Further, the base station can acquire scheduling information including information on the transmission time interval of the neighboring cell, and can transmit the scheduling information to the terminal.
Fig 1, PDSCH; Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)];
cancel the interference according to the information regarding the interference; and
[(Shin discloses receiving downlink data and cancelling the interference from the data:
[0082] If it is determined to apply the NAICS, the terminal acquires other interference information in addition to the interference information signaled from the base station (400) through blind detection (430). The terminal cancels the interference signal using the interference information acquired through operations 400 and 430, or calculates an LLR through a probability distribution function in which the statistical characteristics of the interference signal are reflected (440). Last, the terminal decodes data and a control signal (450) after cancelling or suppressing the interference signal.
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)];
decode the signal on the PDSCH minus the interference
[0083] In contrast, if it is determined that the NAICS is not applied at operation 420, the terminal calculates the LLR without considering the interference (460), and decodes the data and the control signal (450).
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Shin does not elaborate about ATG.
However, Balasubramanian discloses
communicate with a base station to receive control information, the control information including information regarding interference associated with an uplink signal of an air to ground (ATG) UE; and
[(Balasubramanian discloses UAV PDSCH interference management based on uplink interference information:
[0137] FIG. 15 is an example of superzone (e.g., region) interference management. In an example, there may be one RNTI for an entire UAV dedicated PDSCH (e.g., as shown by 1502 in FIG. 15). Several aggregation levels may be used (e.g. similar to previous examples) for the UAV dedicated PDSCH. A UAV may perform blind decoding for allowable aggregation levels using a (e.g. only one) zone and/or region RNTI (e.g., ZN-RNTI).
[0146] Uplink interference management may be provided by eNBs/cells. For example, a dedicated data region/zone may be extended to uplink transmissions. An eNB may determine MCS and PRB allocations for its users in an uplink. An eNB may (e.g., also) transmit uplink interference information to neighboring cells.
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)];
receive a signal on a physical downlink shared Channel (PDSCH), the signal including the interference
[(Balasubramanian discloses receiving PDSCH including interference information:
[0098] A UAV may be scheduled for data transmission n a data region and/or a data zone. A data region (e.g., a UAV dedicated PDSCH 714, 716, and 718) may include, for example, multiple data zones (e.g., zones 1, 2, 3, and 4 in data regions 714, 716, 718). In an example, there may be four UAV designated PDSCH data zones numbered 1, 2, 3 and 4. …………. As seen in FIG. 7, cooperating eNBs may be eNB 702, eNB 704, and eNB 706. The cooperating eNBs may indicate interference information (e.g., interference information from a cell provided by the cooperating eNBs) for the date region and/or the date zone. Zones may (e.g., also) be distributed over PDSCH in a sub-frame.
Fig 7; Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)];
wherein the interference includes a first numerology different from a second numerology associated with the PDSCH
[(Balasubramanian discloses various transmissions associated with various different numerologies:
[0072] The WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c may communicate with gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c using transmissions associated with a scalable numerology. For example, the OFDM symbol spacing and/or OFDM subcarrier spacing may vary for different transmissions, different cells, and/or different portions of the wireless transmission spectrum.
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)];
cancel the interference according to the information regarding the interference; and decode the signal on the PDSCH minus the interference.
[(Balasubramanian discloses decoding PDSCH and cancelling (or minus) interference:
[0125] A PDSCH of a neighboring cell may be decoded, for example, to perform code word level (e.g., successive) interference cancellation (e.g., perfect interference cancellation).
[0137] FIG. 15 is an example of superzone (e.g., region) interference management. In an example, there may be one RNTI for an entire UAV dedicated PDSCH (e.g., as shown by 1502 in FIG. 15). Several aggregation levels may be used (e.g. similar to previous examples) for the UAV dedicated PDSCH. A UAV may perform blind decoding for allowable aggregation levels using a (e.g. only one) zone and/or region RNTI (e.g., ZN-RNTI).
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)];
Further, Byun discloses about “interference associated with an uplink signal” and “a first numerology different from a second numerology”:
receive, from a base station via the at least one transceiver, control information that includes information regarding interference associated with an uplink signal of an air to ground (ATG) UE; and
[(see Byun:
[0196] Compared to proposed method 1, proposed method 2 has an advantage of measuring interference of an uplink in a sidelink by measuring a channel between UEs.
[0178] … However, when an SRS is for measuring interference of a sidelink in an uplink, the SRS may be transmitted by obtaining an additional resource for a sidelink resource (S1710).
wherein the interference includes a first numerology different from a second numerology associated with the PDSCH
[(see Byun:
[0203] The proposed method enables time/frequency resources to be shared even when the sidelink and the uplink have different numerologies.
[0179] When the sidelink and the uplink have different numerologies and share time/frequency resources, the UE operates as follows. When a reference signal transmission resource for the UE is configured in an uplink resource, the UE may perform the following two operations. …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shin’s method for network assisted interference cancellation with Balasubramanian’s method for active interference management and Byun’s method for performing device to device communications with the motivation being to improve performance (Balasubramanian, [0091]) and to perform device to device communication in share uplink resources (Byun, Title).
Regarding Claim 21, Shin does not disclose ATG.
However, Balasubramanian discloses:
wherein canceling the interference includes: at least partially decoding the uplink signal of the ATG UE; and
[(Balasubramanian discloses decode both UAV uplink and downlink signals:
[0090] FIGS. 2-4 show the Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR) and the received power for different UAV altitudes for single-cell and multiple-cell scenarios. A drone may observe interference in a downlink and/or may generate interference in an uplink.
[0094] ………. A data region-specific control channel search space (e.g., a UAV data region specific control channel search space) may be defined, for example, to decode interference information from neighboring cells. An interference decoding process may comprise, for example, a control channel decoding (e.g., Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), enhanced PDCCH (ePDCCH), etc.) of a serving cell to infer a data region assignment, and an inter-cell control channel decoding (e.g., Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), enhanced PDCCH (ePDCCH), etc.) to enable interference cancellation.
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)].
removing the uplink signal of the ATG UE from the signal on the PDSCH
[(Balasubramanian discloses decoding PDSCH and cancelling (or minus) interference:
[0125] A PDSCH of a neighboring cell may be decoded, for example, to perform code word level (e.g., successive) interference cancellation (e.g., perfect interference cancellation).
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shin’s method for network assisted interference cancellation with Balasubramanian’s method for active interference management and Byun’s method for performing device to device communications with the motivation being to improve performance (Balasubramanian, [0091]) and to perform device to device communication in share uplink resources (Byun, Title).
Regarding Claim 22, Shin discloses:
wherein the uplink signal of the ATG UE has a different cyclic prefix than is associated with the signal on the PDSCH
[(Shin discloses network information of an interference cell associated with following information:
[0051] Network deployment information of an interference cell
[0057] Cyclic prefix information
[0060] Control channel (e.g., PDCCH) transmission area (or data channel (e.g., PDSCH) transmission area)
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)].
Regarding Claim 23, Shin discloses:
wherein the first numerology and the second numerology are non-aligning
[(Shin discloses information of at least more than one different (or non-aligning numerologies:
[0113] ……….. The network deployment information may further include at least one of the numerology information of the neighboring cell and the frame structure information. Further, the base station can acquire scheduling information including information on the transmission time interval of the neighboring cell, and can transmit the scheduling information to the terminal.
Fig 4, Steps 400-460; Figs 6-7; see also Figs 1-3B and 5A-5B)];
Regarding Claim 24, Shin discloses:
wherein the information regarding the interference identifies a time domain offset with a starting slot of the interference
[(see:
[0056] Subframe (or slot) number information.
Shin does not mention about offset.
However, Balasubramanian discloses:
wherein the information regarding the interference identifies a time domain offset with a starting slot of the interference
[(see:
[0134] In an example, a CSI-RS/sub-frame offset may be configured, for example, so that channel parameters may be measured less often (e.g., higher sub-frame offset/periodicity), e.g., for older and newer release WTRUs. Newer release WTRUs (e.g., UAV category WTRUs) may be configured with a DS-RS having lower sub-frame offsets/periodicity than a CSI-RS. A DS-RS scheme may enable an interference channel to be measured more often without transmitting over an entire bandwidth, which may improve spectral efficiency, e.g., relative to a CSI-RS.
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shin’s method for network assisted interference cancellation with Balasubramanian’s method for active interference management and Byun’s method for performing device to device communications with the motivation being to improve performance (Balasubramanian, [0091]) and to perform device to device communication in share uplink resources (Byun, Title).
Regarding Claim 25, Shin does not disclose this claim.
However, Balasubramanian discloses
wherein the transceiver is further configured to [(Fig 1B)]:
communicate with the base station to identify a capability of the UE; and receive further control information to configure downlink communications according to the capability
[(see:
[0042] Some or all of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d in the communications system 100 may include multi-mode capabilities (e.g., the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d may include multiple transceivers for communicating with different wireless networks over different wireless links). For example, the WTRU 102c shown in FIG. 1A may be configured to communicate with the base station 114a, which may employ a cellular-based radio technology, and with the base station 114b, which may employ an IEEE 802 radio technology.
Figs 15 and 18-19; see also Figs 5-14 and 16-17)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shin’s method for network assisted interference cancellation with Balasubramanian’s method for active interference management and Byun’s method for performing device to device communications with the motivation being to improve performance (Balasubramanian, [0091]) and to perform device to device communication in share uplink resources (Byun, Title).
Regarding Claim 26, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
3a. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 20210067261 A1) in view of Balasubramanian (US 20200145963 A1) with Byun (US 20200178221 AI) and Deogun (US 20180199343 A1).
3b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Shin discloses a method for network assisted interference cancellation.
Balasubramanian’s discloses a method for active interference management.
Byun discloses a method for performing device to device communications.
Deogun discloses a method for supporting multiple numerology in wireless communication system.
Regarding Claim 12, Shin and Balasubramanian Do not disclose this claim.
However, Deogun discloses:
wherein the indication is received from a media access control-control element (MAC-CE)
[(see:
[0143] Referring to FIG. 3, this signaling should be at min-slot/symbol level. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the active time period is indicated by the base station 100 using at least one of the explicit DCI signaling, an implicit DCI signaling, a MAC CE signaling, a time pattern, and a DRX signaling.
Figs 3-4)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shin’s method for network assisted interference cancellation with Balasubramanian’s method for active interference management and Byun’s method for performing device to device communications and Deogun’s method for supporting multiple numerology in wireless communication system with the motivation being to improve performance (Balasubramanian, [0091]) and to perform device to device communication in share uplink resources (Byun, Title) and to improve the decoding of the PDCCH (Deogun, [0148]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473