Status of the Claims
Claim 2 is canceled and new claim 21 is presented, thus claims 1 and 3-21 are pending in the response filed 3/16/26.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II and the species
and Alzheimer’s in the reply filed on 3/16/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The search for the treatment of Alzheimer’s with the elected compound was found to be free of the art. The search was extended to the genus of compounds for Alzheimer’s, and did not result in art. The search was further extended to the species within claim 15, and was found to be free of the art.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/16/26.
It is noted that claim 20 is not subject to rejoinder should the claims be fully in condition for allowance.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BOWEN (WO 2021/042178 A1, IDS 9/7/23). Additionally, Claim(s) 1, 3-14, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BOWEN (WO 2021/042178 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The instant claims are drawn generally to a method of treating/preventing aggression, irritability, and/or anger in a subject comprising administration of a compound of formula I, such as
.
Bowen teaches treatment of opioid withdrawal with the compounds of formula I (e.g. claim 1), where the compound is
(e.g. claim 3), where the symptoms include, irritability, restlessness, anxiety, and others (e.g. claim 12) as well as the compound for use in treating opioid withdrawal and/or a symptom associated with withdrawal (e.g. claim 14). The doses administered are equivalent to those provided in the instant specification as effective doses (e.g. page 28 of Bowen). Administration is by any suitable means, including IV, parenteral, infusion, injection, and others (e.g. page 27). Opioid use is considered chemical injury to the brain, or causes injury to the brain, in that it causes physical dependence and results in abuse from both recreational and therapeutic use. And replacement opioids result in side effects when discontinued (page 2). Administration is concurrent with the last dose of opioid (e.g. claim 5), prior to cessation (claim 6), and thus administration would necessarily “prevent” the anger/aggression/irritation. It is noted that claims such as 11-14 limit the subset of conditions, but do not require selection of those conditions, thus the application of the compound in the context of opioid withdrawal is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 17-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over MCGREGOR (WO 2020/102857 A1, IDS 9/15/25).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The instant claims are drawn generally to a method of treating/preventing aggression, irritability, and/or anger in a subject comprising administration of a compound of formula I, such as
where the aggression/agitation/irritation is associated with/caused by a condition such as Prader-Willi syndrome.
McGregor teaches treating obesity with the instantly claimed compounds, where the subject might be at risk of becoming overweight, or be obese, and the excess food consumption is from a disorder such as Prader-Willi syndrome (e.g. page 3, page 44). McGregor teaches the effective doses are the same as those instantly taught to be effective (e.g. page 39) and is formulated in conventional formulations for intravenous, infusion, implantation for parenteral, topical and other routes of administration (e.g. page 38).
It would have been obvious to have treated a patient with Prader-Willi syndrome with the compounds such as
to treat obesity or the risk of becoming obese, as McGregor states the patient population is contemplated as one that would benefit. In treating these patients, one would necessarily be preventing any agitation/aggression/irritation associated with the Prader-Willi syndrome.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While the art, as described above, teaches the compounds and uses for various methods of treatment, it does not teach the use for treating aggression, agitation, and/or anger associated with, or caused by, the conditions of claim 15. The claims amount to a new use of an old product, and the prior art does not contain a nexus between the conditions previously treated and those instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625