DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 2/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 12 is a linking process claim and has been included with group 2. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/22/2023, 2/7/2024, 7/1/2024, 1/30/2025, 8/21/2025, 9/16/2025, 11/25/2025 and 5/5/2026 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2001/0044477 A1) to Soane et al. (hereinafter Soane) in view of (US 2013/0040125 A1) to Eberstaller et al. (hereinafter Eberstaller) and in further view of (US 2010/02004349 A1) to Inohara et al. (hereinafter Inohara) and in further view of VICTOR A. OLIVEIRA et al, HYDROGELS OF CELLULOSE ACETATE CROSSLINKED WITH PYROMELLITIC DIANHYDRIDE - PART I: SYNTHESIS AND SWELLING KINETICS, Quim. Nova, 2013, Vol 36, No 1, Page 102-106 (hereinafter Oliveira).
Soane is directed toward thermally expandable microspheres made with cellulose. Soane discloses at paragraph [0018] that a shell surrounds a core of a blowing agent that is either a liquid or a solid. Soane discloses at paragraph [0059] that the shell may be made of a modified cellulose polymer. Soane discloses at paragraph [0061] that polymers, including cellulose, may contain one or more functionalities. Soane discloses at paragraph [0089] that the shells could be expanded at 160C, which is within the Tg range of Applicants range of 150 to 250C. Soane discloses at paragraph [0096] that the blowing agent used was isooctane. Soane discloses at paragraph [0061] that the shell may contain one or more reactive functionalities, such as carboxylic acids from maleic anhydride or alcohols.
Eberstaller is directed toward thermally expandable microspheres. Soane and Eberstaller are both directed toward thermally expandable microspheres and therefore are analogous art. Eberstaller teaches at paragraph [0023] that the expandable polymer is made of a cellulose acetate butyrate, which is an example of a cellulose acetate reacted with a butyrate used as an expandable particle using a heated blowing agent.
Inohara is directed toward thermally expandable microspheres. Soane and Inohara are both directed toward thermally expandable microspheres and therefore are analogous art. Inohara teaches at paragraph [0183] that the shells are made of a cellulose acetate. Inohara teaches at paragraph [0103] that a cross-linking agent minimizes the loss of the blowing agent.
Oliveira is directed toward thermally expandable microspheres made with cellulose. Soane and Oliveira are both directed toward thermally expandable microspheres made with cellulose and therefore are analogous art. Oliveira teaches that pyromellitic acid is used to crosslink shells of cellulose acetate. One would be motivated from the above cited references to use a carboxylic acid to crosslink a cellulose acetate shell to prevent loss of blowing agents during expansion.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Soane in view of the teachings of Eberstaller, Inohara and Oliveira to add a carboxylic acid to the shell formed by a cellulose acetate to improve thermal expansion by preventing blowing agent release that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-3, 5-11 and 16-17.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach these hydrogen donors.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766