DETAILED ACTION
3. Response to Election/Restriction filed on 4/29/2026 is acknowledged.
4. Claim filed on 4/29/2026 is acknowledged.
5. Claims 7-9 and 15-17 have been cancelled.
6. Claims 1-6, 10-14 and 18-26 are pending in this application.
7. Claims 10-14 and 18 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 4 and 21-25 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected species.
8. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 19, 20 and 26 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
9. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-6 and 19-26) and election without traverse of
as species of compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in the reply filed on 4/29/2026 is acknowledged. The requirement is made FINAL in this office action.
Group 1 is drawn to a compound of formula (I)
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. A search was conducted on the elected species; and this appears to be free of prior art. A search was extended to the genus in claim 1; and prior art was found. Claims 4 and 21-25 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected species. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 19, 20 and 26 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Sequence Non-Compliance
10. This application contains sequence disclosures that are encompassed by the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 through 1.825 for the reason(s) set forth below. All sequences disclosed in the application must comply with the requirements of 37 C.F.R. 1.821-1.825, not only those recited in the claims.
In the instant case, instant specification and figures disclose various peptides, for example, cyclic Arg on page 23 of instant specification; and many others in instant specification and instant figures. However, these various peptides are not in the filed sequence listing.
All such sequences are relevant for the purposes of building a comprehensive database and properly assessing prior art. It is therefore essential that all sequences, whether only disclosed or also claimed, be included in the database.
Objections
11. The specification is objected to for containing/referring to sequences without also identifying them by the sequence identifier assigned to them in the sequence listing as required by 37 CFR 1.821(d). The specification discloses various peptides, for example, cyclic Arg on page 23 of instant specification; and many others in instant specification. However, these various peptides are not in the filed sequence listing, and they are missing the sequence identifier.
Furthermore, many peptides disclosed in the instant specification are missing the sequence identifier.
Applicant is required to amend the specification to comply with 37 CFR 1.821(c) and 1.821(d).
Please note: The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification (see MPEP § 608.01).
12. The drawings are objected to for the following minor informality:
Figures 1-19, 21-40 and 42-45: These figures recite various peptides. However, some of the recited peptides are not in the filed sequence listing, and all these peptides are missing the sequence identifier.
13. Claim 1 is objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 1 as “A compound of formula (I):
, wherein:…each m is independently an integer…Z is…a peptide that is 2 to 10 amino acids in length, and…”.
Furthermore, Applicant is suggested to amend the recited “(C1-C6)alkyl” as “C1-6 alkyl”.
14. Claim 3 is objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 3 as “…Z is…a peptide that is 2 to 10 amino acids in length”.
15. Claim 5 is objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 5 as “…wherein the compound is a compound of formula (2)…and wherein A, L…”.
16. Claim 6 is objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 6 as “…and wherein B1 and B2 are independently selected from the group consisting of CH2, NH and O; h is an integer…”.
17. Claim 19 is objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 19 as “…and wherein # indicates the point of attachment to the L…”.
18. Claim 20 is objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 20 as “…wherein the EWG is selected from…and wherein
indicates the point of attachment to the S”.
19. Claim 26 is objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 26 as “…wherein the compound is a compound of formula (2b)…and wherein A…”.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112 paragraph (b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
21. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 19, 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
22. Claim 1 recite the limitation “Z is…a hydrophobic moiety”. With regards to the term “hydrophobic moiety”, the instant specification fails to define it. Therefore, it is unclear what is the cutoff between “a hydrophobic moiety” and “a hydrophilic moiety”. Using hydrophobic amino acid as an example, the list of hydrophobic amino acid varies, as disclosed in the Amino Acid Physical Properties document (from ThermoFisher Scientific, 2026, enclosed pages 1-3, see for example, the list on page 2) and the Amino Acids Reference Chart document (from Millipore Sigma, 2026, enclosed pages 1-9, see for example, pages 4-5). Therefore, it is unclear what is encompassed within the recited “Z is…a hydrophobic moiety”. Thus, the metes and bounds of instant claim 1 is vague and indefinite. Because claims 2, 5, 6, 19, 20 and 26 depend from indefinite claim 1; and none of these claims clarifies the point of confusion, they must also be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112 paragraph (a)
Written Description
24. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient” (MPEP § 2163).
A claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species or disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics such as functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure (MPEP § 2163(3)a(II)). The number of species that describe the genus must be adequate to describe the entire genus; if there is substantial variability, a large number of species must be described.
The analysis for adequate written description considers (a) actual reduction to practice, (b) disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, (c) sufficient relevant identifying characteristics in the way of complete/partial structure or physical and/or chemical properties or functional characteristics when coupled with known or disclosed correlation with structure, and (d) representative number of samples.
In the instant case, claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 26 are drawn a compound of formula (I)
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein A is a moiety capable of binding to a cell surface.
The genus of instant claimed A is extremely broad, including any moiety that can bind to a cell surface under any condition.
The instant specification discloses various examples of A on pages 39-48 of instant specification.
The issue at question is whether a person of ordinary skilled in the art would be able to determine what structural feature is required for a moiety to have the functional characteristics of being capable of binding to a cell surface or not.
(a) actual reduction to practice and (b) disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas:
In the instant case, the instant specification discloses various examples of A on pages 39-48 of instant specification.
Furthermore, maleimide, 5(6)-carboxytetramethylrhodamine (TAMRA), Cys, or thionitrobenzoic acid (TNB) as A are tested in the working examples in instant specification.
Taken all these together, other than the limited examples, the instant specification fails to disclose what structural feature is required for a moiety to have the functional characteristics of being capable of binding to a cell surface.
(c) sufficient relevant identifying characteristics in the way of complete/partial structure or physical and/or chemical properties or functional characteristics when coupled with known or disclosed correlation with structure:
As discussed above, in the instant case, based on the disclosure of instant specification, other than the limited examples, a person of ordinary skilled in the art would not be able to determine what structural feature is required for a moiety to have the functional characteristics of being capable of binding to a cell surface.
With regards to a moiety capable of binding to a cell surface, the art is unpredictable, as discussed in Lowe (2022, pages 1-6, from https://www.science.org/content/blog-post/not-alphafold-s-fault) and many others. Lowe explicitly states that “the number of strong binding interactions predicted is basically the same between the active compounds and the inactive ones” (see page 2, the 2nd paragraph).
Therefore, based on the state of art, a person of ordinary skilled in the art would not be able to determine what structural feature is required for a moiety to have the functional characteristics of being capable of binding to a cell surface.
(d) representative number of samples:
In the instant case, the genus of instant claimed A is extremely broad, including any moiety that can bind to a cell surface under any condition.
And, as discussed in (a) and (b) above, the instant specification discloses various examples of A on pages 39-48 of instant specification.
Furthermore, maleimide, 5(6)-carboxytetramethylrhodamine (TAMRA), Cys, or thionitrobenzoic acid (TNB) as A are tested in the working examples in instant specification.
Considering the broadness of the genus of instant claimed moiety capable of binding to a cell surface, the instant specification fails to provide sufficient examples to describe the entire genus of a moiety capable of binding to a cell surface claimed.
Taken all these together, considering the state of the art and the disclosure in instant specification, it is deemed that the instant specification fails to provide adequate written description for the claimed genus of a moiety capable of binding to a cell surface; and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
26. Claims 1-3, 5, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parang et al (US 2015/0038671 A1).
The instant claims 1-3, 5, 19 and 20 are drawn to a compound of formula (I)
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Parang et al teach compound R7C with the structure
, for example, Figure 19. The compound R7C in Parang et al is a compound of instant formula (2) with A being
, L being a bond, n being 6 and Z being NH2. It meets the limitations of instant claims 1-3, 5, 19 and 20.
Furthermore, the MPEP states the following: “A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990)” (see MPEP § 2131.02).
Since the reference teaches all the limitations of instant claims 1-3, 5, 19 and 20; the reference anticipates instant claims 1-3, 5, 19 and 20.
27. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tartaglia et al (US 2014/0329743 A1), and as evidenced by Granell et al (PNAS, 2013, 18, pages E4733-E4742).
The instant claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 26 are drawn to a compound of formula (I)
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Tartaglia et al teach peptide of SEQ ID NO: 263 consisting of the amino acid sequence Ac-Nle-c(Cys-D-Ala-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Cys)-Doc-(Arg)5-Gln-(Arg)3-NH2, for example, page 19, SEQ ID NO: SEQ ID NO: 263. The peptide of SEQ ID NO: 263 in Tartaglia et al is a compound of instant formula (2b) with A being Ac-Nle-c(Cys-D-Ala-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Cys) (a moiety that binds to MC4R, see SEQ ID NO: 107 on page 10), L being
, n being 4, and Z being a peptide comprising 4 amino acids (Gln-(Arg)3-NH2). And as evidenced by Granell et al, MC4R is a cell surface hormone receptor (see page E4733, Section “Significance”). Therefore, the peptide of SEQ ID NO: 263 in Tartaglia et al meets the limitations of instant claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 26.
Furthermore, the MPEP states the following: “A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990)” (see MPEP § 2131.02).
Since the reference teaches all the limitations of instant claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 26; the reference anticipates instant claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 26.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/LI N KOMATSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658