DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claims 1-6 are examined in this Office action.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 02/22/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy, in English, of the JP2021-026492 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-
English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on
11/06/2023 is attached to the instant Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c) (see instant Specification at page 8, paragraph 0025; and page 11, paragraph 0035).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings (see Figures 1-10).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01 (see page 3, paragraph 0009).
The use of the terms Nextera XT, Hiseq X, and Varscan (see page 9, lines 1, 2, and 11, respectively) which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: in regard to claim 2, the full name of the S-ELF3 gene should be written out the first time it is used in a claim; in regard to claim 3, the full name of the S-ELF3-PS1 gene should be written out the first time it is used in a claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The S-ELF3 gene recited in claim 2 will be interpreted as SEQ ID NO: 1 in the Sequence Listing file; the S-ELF3-PS1 gene recited in claim 3 will be interpreted as SEQ ID NO: 2 in the Sequence Listing file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation
that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
Claims 1-6 are rendered indefinite for the recitation of “transcription factor-like”. The term “transcription factor-like” is not defined by the claim or in the instant Specification. One of ordinary skill in the art will recognize a transcription factor gene as a gene encoding a protein that regulates the transcription of other genes by binding to specific DNA sequences. However, it is unclear what makes a gene “transcription factor-like”. What are the differences and similarities between a transcription factor gene and a “transcription factor-like” gene? A review of the instant specification shows no express definition for the term “transcription factor-like”. Additionally, a review of the prior art shows that the term “transcription factor-like” is not a well-recognized term as it relates to Fagopyrum stamen and pistil length control.
Written Description
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
Claim 1 recites “[a] loss-of-function transcription factor-like gene produced by: identifying a transcription factor-like gene formed by a linked gene group that controls lengths of stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant from mapping results of a genomic sequence of the Fagopyrum plant; and allowing the transcription factor-like gene thus identified to lose a function by mutagenesis”.
Claim 1 is broadly drawn to any transcription factor-like gene associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant. Applicant has described one transcription factor-like gene associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant – transcription factor-like gene S-ELF3 represented by instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Applicant has not described any other transcription factor-like gene associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant.
YASUI (Yasui et al., 2012, PLOS One, Vol. 7(2), pp. 1-9; included on IDS dated 11/06/2023) describes S-ELF3 as the most promising candidate gene for controlling heteromorphic self-incompatibility (SI) in buckwheat. The presence of a functional S-ELF3 gene is found only in the S haplotype (self-compatible); and, floral organ-specific expression of S-ELF3 suggests that it has an important role for the formation of the S phenotype. Specifically, expression of S-ELF3 before flowering raised the possibility that S-ELF3 is involved in the development of pistils and stamens of short-styled flowers (Yasui, 2012, page 6, left column, first paragraph). Thus, the prior art does not disclose any transcription factor-like gene associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant other than S-ELF3 (instant SEQ ID NO: 1).
The instant claims encompass a large genera of transcription factor-like genes, and the Applicant has only reduced to practice the transcription factor-like gene S-ELF3 (SEQ ID NO: 1), which is associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant. Given that there have not been an adequate number of species reduced to practice to be representative of the broad genera of claimed transcription factor-like genes, and there is no description of structures that are correlated with the required function, there is not an adequate written description to support the breadth of the claims.
Scope of Enablement
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for transcription factor-like gene S-ELF3 represented by instant SEQ ID NO: 1 associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant, does not reasonably provide enablement for all possible transcription factor-like genes associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
The instant Specification does not describe any transcription factor-like gene associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant other than S-ELF3 (SEQ ID NO: 1). In the instant case, the specification does not provide sufficient guidance with respect to how to identify and alter any other transcription factor-like gene associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant other than S-ELF3 (SEQ ID NO: 1). Absent such guidance one skilled in the art would have to search the genomic sequence of the Fagopyrum plant to identify other possible transcription factor-like genes associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil, and make each of the loss-of-function transcription factor-like genes, and then test the ability of each transcription factor-like variant to control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil, in order to determine whether and how a transcription factor-like variant can be used as a loss-of-function transcription factor-like gene associated with the control of the lengths of the stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant. Such a trial-and-error approach to practicing the claimed invention would constitute undue experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over YASUI (Yasui et al., International Publication Number WO 2013/047736 A1, International Publication Date 04/04/2013).
Claim 1 recites “[a] loss-of-function transcription factor-like gene produced by: identifying a transcription factor-like gene formed by a linked gene group that controls lengths of stamen and pistil of a Fagopyrum plant from mapping results of a genomic sequence of the Fagopyrum plant; and allowing the transcription factor-like gene thus identified to lose a function by mutagenesis”.
In regard to claim 1, Yasui (2013) teaches and claims a nucleic acid comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding a self-incompatibility regulation factor; a nucleic acid comprising a mutant gene in which a loss-of-function mutation is introduced into a gene encoding a self-incompatibility regulator contained in the nucleic acid; said mutation is introduced via ethyl methanesulfonate; and a self-incompatible plant belonging to the genus Fagopyrum (i.e., a loss-of-function transcription factor-like gene; a Fagopyrum plant; allowing the transcription factor-like gene to lose a function by mutagenesis) (Yasui 2013, Abstract; claims 1 and 2; paragraph 0049).
In regard to claim 2, Yasui (2013) teaches SSC7 (SEQ ID NO: 3), a base sequence of chromosomal DNA encoding a normal buckwheat self-incompatibility control factor, which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1 (see alignment below).
YASUI 2013 SSC7 GENE (SEQ ID NO: 3) ALIGNED WITH INSTANT S-ELF3 GENE (SEQ ID NO: 1)
Qy 1 ATGAGGTGGGTTTTATTGCCTGTTACATTGCCTAGTTGAAAAAGGGTCACTTTGTATTTT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 80 ATGAGGTGGGTTTTATTGCCTGTTACATTGCCTAGTTGAAAAAGGGTCACTTTGTATTTT 139
Qy 61 CTTTGCAAAATTTGTCTTTATAAGGTTGCTGAATGTTGGTCCTGCTAATTTGACTGTGCT 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 140 CTTTGCAAAATTTGTCTTTATAAGGTTGCTGAATGTTGGTCCTGCTAATTTGACTGTGCT 199
Qy 121 GCAGGAATTGGATGATTATGGGTGTTATAGTTTTTTCAAACACTTGAGTAGAAAATTTAG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 200 GCAGGAATTGGATGATTATGGGTGTTATAGTTTTTTCAAACACTTGAGTAGAAAATTTAG 259
Qy 181 GCCTCAATCTAATACATTTTGGTGGGGGTTATCAGATTTGAGTTCAATTGCAATTTTATC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 260 GCCTCAATCTAATACATTTTGGTGGGGGTTATCAGATTTGAGTTCAATTGCAATTTTATC 319
Qy 241 CACTTTTTATCTTCCTTCTGCTGTAAAAACTGATGTTTTCTAAAATTGGGTTCTAGTTAT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 320 CACTTTTTATCTTCCTTCTGCTGTAAAAACTGATGTTTTCTAAAATTGGGTTCTAGTTAT 379
Qy 301 ATGTCCTAATTTGAAAGTTTAAGTGGCTGAAGAGTTTGAGTCAATAGTAGAATGGAACCT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 380 ATGTCCTAATTTGAAAGTTTAAGTGGCTGAAGAGTTTGAGTCAATAGTAGAATGGAACCT 439
Qy 361 CTGTTTACTAGGTTGCATCTGAAAACTACCGAGAAAGGAGGGCCAAAGCCGCCTCCCAGA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 440 CTGTTTACTAGGTTGCATCTGAAAACTACCGAGAAAGGAGGGCCAAAGCCGCCTCCCAGA 499
Qy 421 AACAAAATGGCTGTTCATGAAGAGCCTATTGCTTCCTCTAGTAGGTTCAGCAATGGATCA 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 500 AACAAAATGGCTGTTCATGAAGAGCCTATTGCTTCCTCTAGTAGGTTCAGCAATGGATCA 559
Qy 481 ATAACCATGATGCAACTTCATCCTATTGGCGGTGTGCCGATCTCACAAGTGGGTTCTTCA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 560 ATAACCATGATGCAACTTCATCCTATTGGCGGTGTGCCGATCTCACAAGTGGGTTCTTCA 619
Qy 541 CAACAGGCCAGTTTCGTACATTTTATTCACTTTTTTCTTGTGCTTCCTAGCATATGGATT 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 620 CAACAGGCCAGTTTCGTACATTTTATTCACTTTTTTCTTGTGCTTCCTAGCATATGGATT 679
Qy 601 TGAAGCTTCTGCTTGTACTTGATAAATGCTCTTCATTGTTAATGTGTTCATATTTGTATC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 680 TGAAGCTTCTGCTTGTACTTGATAAATGCTCTTCATTGTTAATGTGTTCATATTTGTATC 739
Qy 661 TTTATTTTTTGTACATATCATCTTATACTGTTTTATTCAAGTGCTATTTCTGATATATAT 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 740 TTTATTTTTTGTACATATCATCTTATACTGTTTTATTCAAGTGCTATTTCTGATATATAT 799
Qy 721 GGACTTCAAAAAATGTGTTACACTCTCCTTAAATGTTTAAACTAACAGTTAGTTTTGCAT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 800 GGACTTCAAAAAATGTGTTACACTCTCCTTAAATGTTTAAACTAACAGTTAGTTTTGCAT 859
Qy 781 GCTTTTTAAGGATCATCTTTTCTTGTCTGTCAATTTTATCAGATTTTTATGGATAAAAAT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 860 GCTTTTTAAGGATCATCTTTTCTTGTCTGTCAATTTTATCAGATTTTTATGGATAAAAAT 919
Qy 841 GTGAAATTACTTCTTTCCCAGACTAAAGGCCCCATATATATTATGAATTTCTGATATGCA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 920 GTGAAATTACTTCTTTCCCAGACTAAAGGCCCCATATATATTATGAATTTCTGATATGCA 979
Qy 901 AGTAATGAAACAACGACTCTGGCTACGGACATCCAATAAACTTCCTGATTCATTCCAGCT 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 980 AGTAATGAAACAACGACTCTGGCTACGGACATCCAATAAACTTCCTGATTCATTCCAGCT 1039
Qy 961 TGGACCATAAATAGAATTTTAAAAATGAAAAGTTGGGTGATGGTGGCTCAACGGCCAACA 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1040 TGGACCATAAATAGAATTTTAAAAATGAAAAGTTGGGTGATGGTGGCTCAACGGCCAACA 1099
Qy 1021 ATGAAGCGTGCTATTCTTAAGCATCTTACAAAATCGTACTGTTCCGTGGGTAAAATTTAA 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1100 ATGAAGCGTGCTATTCTTAAGCATCTTACAAAATCGTACTGTTCCGTGGGTAAAATTTAA 1159
Qy 1081 CCTTGCATAGTTGCATTAATAGTAAACAATGGTAAACATCATCTTAATATGTAGTTACAG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1160 CCTTGCATAGTTGCATTAATAGTAAACAATGGTAAACATCATCTTAATATGTAGTTACAG 1219
Qy 1141 AATAATTTCATCCGCTTCATGTAATTGCCATTTTTAGTACTACAAAATGATATTTCCCTA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1220 AATAATTTCATCCGCTTCATGTAATTGCCATTTTTAGTACTACAAAATGATATTTCCCTA 1279
Qy 1201 GTAAAAATGTTTGCTCAATGTTTATTTTGGCTGATTACAGCAATTAATGAATGCTTACAG 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1280 GTAAAAATGTTTGCTCAATGTTTATTTTGGCTGATTACAGCAATTAATGAATGCTTACAG 1339
Qy 1261 GTTAATGGGCCAGAGAGGAAAACTCTTTCTGCCTTCTATAGTCTTCCTGCATCAACTCAT 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1340 GTTAATGGGCCAGAGAGGAAAACTCTTTCTGCCTTCTATAGTCTTCCTGCATCAACTCAT 1399
Qy 1321 AGGGCTCCAAGGATTGTCCCTTTGTCTGAATCTGATAGAATCTTGAGTAAAATATCCGAA 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1400 AGGGCTCCAAGGATTGTCCCTTTGTCTGAATCTGATAGAATCTTGAGTAAAATATCCGAA 1459
Qy 1381 AATTCAGCTGCTAAACCTCTTGACTATACCATCTCTAGCATTTCCTGTAATTCATTGATC 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1460 AATTCAGCTGCTAAACCTCTTGACTATACCATCTCTAGCATTTCCTGTAATTCATTGATC 1519
Qy 1441 ACATCCAGATCCAGGTCCACACCATCAATCTGCCCGTTTGGGTCATCACCTTTGTCTGTG 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1520 ACATCCAGATCCAGGTCCACACCATCAATCTGCCCGTTTGGGTCATCACCTTTGTCTGTG 1579
Qy 1501 ACCGCTAGTATTGACAGGCGGGCGGTCGAAGCCCAACGAGCTGGATTTGGTTTCCTCATT 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1580 ACCGCTAGTATTGACAGGCGGGCGGTCGAAGCCCAACGAGCTGGATTTGGTTTCCTCATT 1639
Qy 1561 ATCACCGATAATAGTGATGGTACTGGAAATAATAGTCAGTGTCTTGCGGGTGAAAATTAT 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1640 ATCACCGATAATAGTGATGGTACTGGAAATAATAGTCAGTGTCTTGCGGGTGAAAATTAT 1699
Qy 1621 TCCATGCATCCTAGAATTGTCCACAGAAATGAGGATGGTTCGGGCACTAGAAAGGTAGGT 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1700 TCCATGCATCCTAGAATTGTCCACAGAAATGAGGATGGTTCGGGCACTAGAAAGGTAGGT 1759
Qy 1681 TATGTAACGAGTGTCAGAATCTCCCCAGATGATGTTGTGCTAAAGATAGGGCAGGAAAAT 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1760 TATGTAACGAGTGTCAGAATCTCCCCAGATGATGTTGTGCTAAAGATAGGGCAGGAAAAT 1819
Qy 1741 TTCTGGAAAATAAGGCGAATCCTTGTCAAGTAAGCATATTTTGCATCACAGAATCATTTT 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1820 TTCTGGAAAATAAGGCGAATCCTTGTCAAGTAAGCATATTTTGCATCACAGAATCATTTT 1879
Qy 1801 CTGTTGTTTATCCTGATAATGAAGGTCTTTTTTTTTCTGTCCACTCTGCATTTATGGAAA 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1880 CTGTTGTTTATCCTGATAATGAAGGTCTTTTTTTTTCTGTCCACTCTGCATTTATGGAAA 1939
Qy 1861 CGATTAGAGCGTCCATATTGATCGATCTTGTAGTATTCTGCACGTAGGAGAGTCAAAAAA 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1940 CGATTAGAGCGTCCATATTGATCGATCTTGTAGTATTCTGCACGTAGGAGAGTCAAAAAA 1999
Qy 1921 AAAAAAAGGCACGAGAATACTTAGGGGTGTTATACGAGCCGAACGAGCCGAGCCTTAGCA 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2000 AAAAAAAGGCACGAGAATACTTAGGGGTGTTATACGAGCCGAACGAGCCGAGCCTTAGCA 2059
Qy 1981 TGCTCAAGCTCGGCTCGTTTATAAACGAGCCGAGTCCGAGTCCGAGCCGAGCTTTTGACG 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2060 TGCTCAAGCTCGGCTCGTTTATAAACGAGCCGAGTCCGAGTCCGAGCCGAGCTTTTGACG 2119
Qy 2041 AGCCGAATCCGAGTCGAGCCCGAGTAGTTCGTCTAAAATAATGCTCATATAGTGTTATTT 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2120 AGCCGAATCCGAGTCGAGCCCGAGTAGTTCGTCTAAAATAATGCTCATATAGTGTTATTT 2179
Qy 2101 TAGACGAACGAGCCGAGCTTTACCCGAACGAGCCGAGCTTTGGCGTGTTTAAGCTCGACT 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2180 TAGACGAACGAGCCGAGCTTTACCCGAACGAGCCGAGCTTTGGCGTGTTTAAGCTCGACT 2239
Qy 2161 CGTTTATAAACGAGCCGAGCTTTTAACGAGCCGAATGCGAGCCGAGCCCGAGAAGCTTGT 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2240 CGTTTATAAACGAGCCGAGCTTTTAACGAGCCGAATGCGAGCCGAGCCCGAGAAGCTTGT 2299
Qy 2221 CTCATGTATCAGCCCTAAGAATACTGGATGAATTAGTCTTCTCTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2300 CTCATGTATCAGCCCTAAGAATACTGGATGAATTAGTCTTCTCTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT 2359
Qy 2281 TTGATTAGTCTTCTCCAATACTATGTTCTTCTGTTTTCTCCATTTGACGTATTTTTACTA 2340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2360 TTGATTAGTCTTCTCCAATACTATGTTCTTCTGTTTTCTCCATTTGACGTATTTTTACTA 2419
Qy 2341 ATTCTTGGTTGTGTTTTTGCTCCATTATACATATAAAAACATAGTATTTATAATTTTGAC 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2420 ATTCTTGGTTGTGTTTTTGCTCCATTATACATATAAAAACATAGTATTTATAATTTTGAC 2479
Qy 2401 GTATAAAATAATTTGTGAACCATAAACATTCATTTAGCATATATAATTATTTCACTTACA 2460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2480 GTATAAAATAATTTGTGAACCATAAACATTCATTTAGCATATATAATTATTTCACTTACA 2539
Qy 2461 GAAAAAATGATATTTTGTCCATATAAATATACTGTTCTACCACATGTTGGGCTTCCATAT 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2540 GAAAAAATGATATTTTGTCCATATAAATATACTGTTCTACCACATGTTGGGCTTCCATAT 2599
Qy 2521 TTTTAATCGTCTTATTTTATTCACAAAGCATAATTTTTTGTTATTTTTAGTATTATTCTT 2580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2600 TTTTAATCGTCTTATTTTATTCACAAAGCATAATTTTTTGTTATTTTTAGTATTATTCTT 2659
Qy 2581 TTATATTGTTGTAAAGTGTTTCATTGATATGAATTAAAATAAATGAATTGGGTTCTTGAA 2640
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2660 TTATATTGTTGTAAAGTGTTTCATTGATATGAATTAAAATAAATGAATTGGGTTCTTGAA 2719
Qy 2641 TGATGTAACAGAGTGATGAAATTGTGGAATTGAGAAAAAGTGGATTAAAAACCGTCAGAG 2700
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2720 TGATGTAACAGAGTGATGAAATTGTGGAATTGAGAAAAAGTGGATTAAAAACCGTCAGAG 2779
Qy 2701 AAGTTATATGAATTATTTGATTTTAAGAGAAGTTATATGAATTTATTACCTTCGCTTCTG 2760
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2780 AAGTTATATGAATTATTTGATTTTAAGAGAAGTTATATGAATTTATTACCTTCGCTTCTG 2839
Qy 2761 CATGTTCTAGTATCATTTTCTTTAGCTACTTCGAGTATCCAGCTTGAAGTGCCTTTCTAC 2820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2840 CATGTTCTAGTATCATTTTCTTTAGCTACTTCGAGTATCCAGCTTGAAGTGCCTTTCTAC 2899
Qy 2821 CTTTTTGATGGTTTTATGTGTGAAGCTTTGAGTTGGTTCATAGAAGGTTGAAAGTATGCA 2880
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2900 CTTTTTGATGGTTTTATGTGTGAAGCTTTGAGTTGGTTCATAGAAGGTTGAAAGTATGCA 2959
Qy 2881 ATAAGACATTCTGAATTGAATATCTTGCATTATGATATGCAGACAGCAAAGGATCTTCTC 2940
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2960 ATAAGACATTCTGAATTGAATATCTTGCATTATGATATGCAGACAGCAAAGGATCTTCTC 3019
Qy 2941 GATTCAAGTTTTTGAATTACACCGTTTAGTTCAGGTGAGTGGTTGAGTTCATCCTTCCTT 3000
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3020 GATTCAAGTTTTTGAATTACACCGTTTAGTTCAGGTGAGTGGTTGAGTTCATCCTTCCTT 3079
Qy 3001 ATTATCATGTCGAACAAAAGCCATTCATTCTAATTCATCGTTGCAGAAATCTCTTGCTGG 3060
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3080 ATTATCATGTCGAACAAAAGCCATTCATTCTAATTCATCGTTGCAGAAATCTCTTGCTGG 3139
Qy 3061 TTCATCCCACCATTATATCAAGGATAGCATATATTTACAAGAACGCCTTGATGAAGTCTC 3120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3140 TTCATCCCACCATTATATCAAGGATAGCATATATTTACAAGAACGCCTTGATGAAGTCTC 3199
Qy 3121 CAGCAAAGAGGAATCATTACCACCTCAACTTCATCTACAAACACCACCACCGCTATCTAG 3180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3200 CAGCAAAGAGGAATCATTACCACCTCAACTTCATCTACAAACACCACCACCGCTATCTAG 3259
Qy 3181 TCTACTACGAACTCATCTTCAACCCAGTGAGTGCCCAAAGATTGCAGCTGATAGTTCGCT 3240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3260 TCTACTACGAACTCATCTTCAACCCAGTGAGTGCCCAAAGATTGCAGCTGATAGTTCGCT 3319
Qy 3241 GGTTAAGACCCCCGTTCCTCCTGTCCTCTACAATTCAATGAGGGTACCACTTCGGAAAAA 3300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3320 GGTTAAGACCCCCGTTCCTCCTGTCCTCTACAATTCAATGAGGGTACCACTTCGGAAAAA 3379
Qy 3301 AAAAAAAGCTTTATCAATGGTTATGGCCAACAAACCTTGTACGTCTTTCGATTCACCACC 3360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3380 AAAAAAAGCTTTATCAATGGTTATGGCCAACAAACCTTGTACGTCTTTCGATTCACCACC 3439
Qy 3361 ATCATTGCCACTACCGGGACCTCCACCACCTCCATCACATATTGAATGCAATAGTTTTTC 3420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3440 ATCATTGCCACTACCGGGACCTCCACCACCTCCATCACATATTGAATGCAATAGTTTTTC 3499
Qy 3421 TCTAAAGAATGCTATAGGTCCTGAAAACTCAGTTGAAAAGCGTTTACTTCCTCTAAGCTG 3480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3500 TCTAAAGAATGCTATAGGTCCTGAAAACTCAGTTGAAAAGCGTTTACTTCCTCTAAGCTG 3559
Qy 3481 TAACTCTAATAAGCTCTCGTTCTCTGGGCATCAATCCGGCAAATCAATGGCCACATCAGT 3540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3560 TAACTCTAATAAGCTCTCGTTCTCTGGGCATCAATCCGGCAAATCAATGGCCACATCAGT 3619
Qy 3541 GGGCACAGACAAGAGTATGACACCTTATGGTTATTCCCTCCCAACACCTCCTGGAGATTT 3600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3620 GGGCACAGACAAGAGTATGACACCTTATGGTTATTCCCTCCCAACACCTCCTGGAGATTT 3679
Qy 3601 GGCTCTCACTCAATCAAGTGTGCCTTGTCCGAAAACTGGAACACCTTCTGGAGAGTCACT 3660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3680 GGCTCTCACTCAATCAAGTGTGCCTTGTCCGAAAACTGGAACACCTTCTGGAGAGTCACT 3739
Qy 3661 CAGATTGATGCTACCAACTACTTGCTTCTACTCTACACCAGAAAAGCATTGGCCGTGTCC 3720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3740 CAGATTGATGCTACCAACTACTTGCTTCTACTCTACACCAGAAAAGCATTGGCCGTGTCC 3799
Qy 3721 CTTCTTGTCATCGGAAGGACTTGTGTACAAGCCCTACCCTGGACCCTACCCTCCCAATGC 3780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3800 CTTCTTGTCATCGGAAGGACTTGTGTACAAGCCCTACCCTGGACCCTACCCTCCCAATGC 3859
Qy 3781 AGCCAGCTTCACAGCTCATCTCTTTGGAAGTTGTGGGCCCATGATTGTCCGTCCAGGTGG 3840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3860 AGCCAGCTTCACAGCTCATCTCTTTGGAAGTTGTGGGCCCATGATTGTCCGTCCAGGTGG 3919
Qy 3841 CGGATCCTACATCCGGCATTCGGCCTATGGAATTCCACATGCTGCACAACAAGGGAAGGA 3900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3920 CGGATCCTACATCCGGCATTCGGCCTATGGAATTCCACATGCTGCACAACAAGGGAAGGA 3979
Qy 3901 GTTGGTCCCTGGAATCCCCATTAAAATGTCCTTTCTTGATCCCTGTGACTTTTCCTCAAC 3960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3980 GTTGGTCCCTGGAATCCCCATTAAAATGTCCTTTCTTGATCCCTGTGACTTTTCCTCAAC 4039
Qy 3961 CAATCTTTCTCCCTGGGAGCATGAAGTGGTCAAAGACATGAGCTCGAGCCACCAAAAAGG 4020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4040 CAATCTTTCTCCCTGGGAGCATGAAGTGGTCAAAGACATGAGCTCGAGCCACCAAAAAGG 4099
Qy 4021 TGTGTTCTGTAGTGATAGAACCGTTCCAAGGTCTAATGAAGGTGACCGACAAGGTAGCAC 4080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4100 TGTGTTCTGTAGTGATAGAACCGTTCCAAGGTCTAATGAAGGTGACCGACAAGGTAGCAC 4159
Qy 4081 AGGAAGCAGCTCCGTGGGAAGGGGTTCTCTAGACACGCTTCACCCGTTTCAATTGGAACT 4140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4160 AGGAAGCAGCTCCGTGGGAAGGGGTTCTCTAGACACGCTTCACCCGTTTCAATTGGAACT 4219
Qy 4141 GGTTGGAGCTCAAGAGCTGGAGAGTGGGGTTGGCAATGAGAAACTAACGCGAGCAATCAA 4200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4220 GGTTGGAGCTCAAGAGCTGGAGAGTGGGGTTGGCAATGAGAAACTAACGCGAGCAATCAA 4279
Qy 4201 GGCCGTGCCTTGTGATGGGAGACTCGCTTCTGAATCTGCAATGAAAATATTCCGTTCTAT 4260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4280 GGCCGTGCCTTGTGATGGGAGACTCGCTTCTGAATCTGCAATGAAAATATTCCGTTCTAT 4339
Qy 4261 ACAGAAAGAACGAAAACAAAACAACGTTTGA 4291
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4340 ACAGAAAGAACGAAAACAAAACAACGTTTGA 4370
Further in regard to claim 2, Yasui (2013) teaches that SSC7 is specifically expressed in the short style flower (S/s genotype) (i.e., wherein the transcription factor-like gene is S-ELF3 gene which is present only in a short-styled flower individual having S haplotype and absent in a long-styled flower individual having no S haplotype) (Yasui 2013, paragraph 0076; Figure 1).
In regard to claim 3, Yasui (2013) teaches and claims a mutagen is brought into contact with a self-incompatible buckwheat plant that holds the nucleic acid of the present invention, and a loss-of-function mutation is added to the gene. An example of said mutagen includes ethyl methanesulfonate (i.e., wherein the mutagenesis produces S-ELF3-PS1 gene by allowing the transcription factor-like gene to lose a function by ethyl methanesulfonate treatment); (Yasui 2013, paragraph 0049).
In regard to claim 5, Yasui (2013) teaches and claims the self-compatible buckwheat plant (i.e., a self-propagating Fagopyrum plant); a gene encoding a self-incompatibility control factor contained in the nucleic acid is destroyed in the self-incompatibility buckwheat plant (i.e., producing a loss-of-function transcription factor-like gene); breeding of plants exhibiting self-compatibility that can quickly and efficiently introduce useful traits (i.e., mating and cultivating an individual having this self-propagation gene) (Yasui 2013, paragraph 0008; claim 3).
Based on the teachings of Yasui (2013), it would have been obvious to introduce a loss-of-function mutation into a gene encoding a self-incompatibility control factor contained in the base sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 3 as taught by Yasui which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to introduce a loss-of-function mutation into a gene encoding a self-incompatibility control factor, thus conferring self-compatibility to a buckwheat plant, as taught by Yasui (2013). By following the teachings of Yasui, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success in achieving the loss-of-function transcription factor gene of instant claim 1.
The use of introducing mutations in plant genes to lose expression is a technique that was routine in the art at the time the application was filed, as taught by the cited reference and the state of the art in general.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YASUI (Yasui et al., International Publication Number WO 2013/047736 A1, International Publication Date 04/04/2013) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above.
Claim 4 recites “[t]he loss-of-function transcription factor-like gene according to claim 3, wherein in the S-ELF3-PS1 gene, a splicing site of intron 3 corresponding to a base at position 3046 of a genomic sequence of the S-ELF3 gene has been altered from G to A so that a codon at positions 2976 to 2978 has become a new stop codon”.
Yasui (2013) teaches that ordinary buckwheat is an unusual self-incompatible plant that bears fruit by cross-pollination, and therefore tends to reduce the yield, and it is difficult to carry out cross breeding. The present invention enables self-incompatibility that enables breeding of plants exhibiting self-compatibility that can quickly and efficiently introduce useful traits. It is an object of the present invention to provide a self-compatible buckwheat plant that can quickly and efficiently introduce useful traits (Yasui 2013, paragraphs 0005 and 0006).
Yasui (2013) teaches that the gist of the present invention is as follows: in a plant, an isolated nucleic acid encoding a self-incompatibility regulator that positively controls self-incompatibility; a nucleic acid comprising a mutant gene in which a loss-of-function mutation is introduced into a gene encoding a self-incompatibility regulator contained in the nucleic acid; a self-compatible buckwheat plant obtained by the production method (Yasui 2013, paragraph 0007).
Yasui (2013) further teaches said loss-of-function mutation is, for example:
(i) a loss of a portion corresponding to the active site of the self-incompatibility control factor in any of the base sequences;(ii) a mutation (frame shift mutation) that causes a frame shift with respect to any of the base sequences;(iii) a mutation (nonsense mutation) that causes a stop codon in an open holding frame in any of the base sequences;(iv) a mutation (for example, a mutation at a boundary between an intron and an exon) that causes a splicing abnormality to delete the function of the self-incompatibility control factor (for example, a mutation at a boundary between an intron and an exon);(v) a mutation in which a constituent amino acid residue in any of the base sequences is substituted with an amino acid residue having a different physicochemical property;
(vi) a mutation that loses the genomic region on which the self-incompatibility control factor gene is seated;(vii) the combination of (i) to (vi) (Yasui 2013, paragraph 0030).
Although Yasui (2013) does not explicitly teach in the S-ELF3-PS1 gene, a splicing site of intron 3 corresponding to a base at position 3046 of a genomic sequence of the S-ELF3 gene has been altered from G to A so that a codon at positions 2976 to 2978 has become a new stop codon, it is the position of this Office that any mutation introduced into the S-ELF3 gene which results in the loss of function of the S-ELF3 gene is rendered obvious by the teachings of Yasui (2013). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to introduce a loss-of-function mutation in the S-ELF3 gene as taught by Yasui (2013) to produce a self-compatible buckwheat plant.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YASUI (Yasui et al., International Publication Number WO 2013/047736 A1, International Publication Date 04/04/2013) as applied to claims 1-5 above, in view of MATSUI (Matsui et al., 01/30/2020, Breeding Science Preview, pp. 1-7, doi:10.1270/jsbbs.19083).
Claim 6 recites “[t]he self-propagating Fagopyrum plant according to claim 5, wherein in the mating and the cultivation, the breeding is performed by mating the individual having the S-ELF3-PS1 gene with a long-styled flower individual to separate an individual having long stamen and pistil”.
Yasui (2013) teaches the self-propagating Fagopyrum plant according to claim 5.
Yasui (2013) does not explicitly teach wherein in the mating and the cultivation, the breeding is performed by mating the individual having the S-ELF3-PS1 gene with a long-styled flower individual to separate an individual having long stamen and pistil.
Matsui (2020) teaches that buckwheat needs pollination between pin (long style, short stamen; s/s genotype) and thrum (short style, long stamen; S/s genotype) plants by bees or other insects to produce seeds. Pollination, and therefore yield, is strongly affected by environmental conditions. Self-incompatible (SI) plants maintain high heterogeneity, and fixing agricultural traits is time consuming. Attempts to introduce self-compatible (SC) traits from SC species into common buckwheat have been successful with F. homotropicum. However, plants produced by interspecific crosses have undesirable traits such as shattering and lodging. Matsui et al. (2003a) investigated the inheritance of the shattering habit and removed it by backcrossing with a leading SI common buckwheat cultivar, but more such crosses are needed to produce new cultivars desirable for farmers and consumers. The Sh allele, conferring the SC trait, is dominant over the s allele but recessive to the S allele. Thus, to obtain F1 plants with the SC trait, pin plants and SC lines need to be crossed (i.e., the breeding is performed by mating the individual having the S-ELF3-PS1 gene (SC line) with a long-styled flower individual (pin plants – long style, short stamen; s/s genotype) to separate an individual having long stamen and pistil) (page 5, left column).
Based on the teachings of Yasui (2013) and Matsui, it would have been obvious to cross plants of an SC line with pin plants (long style, short stamen; s/s genotype) as taught by Matsui to obtain F1 plants with the SC trait. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to cross plants of an SC line with pin plants as taught by Matsui to obtain F1 plants with the SC trait, thus conferring self-compatibility to a buckwheat plant, as taught by Yasui (2013) and Matsui. By following the teachings of Yasui (2013) and Matsui, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success in achieving the self-propagating Fagopyrum plant of instant claim 6.
Summary
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
CHRISTINA MEADOWS
Examiner
Art Unit 1663
/CHRISTINA L MEADOWS/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663