DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 16-18, it is unclear where Applicant originally discloses “the radiation scattering characteristic is a proportion of reflected radiation received from the predetermined region by the detector to the electromagnetic radiation emitted onto the predetermined region by the electromagnetic radiation source.” That is, there is no ratio disclosed in the original disclosure. Examiner believes Applicant intended to say that the reflected light is part of a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, 12, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Brown et al. (U.S. Patent 5,373,365).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 10, 12, 14, Brown et al. disclose (Fig. 1) a method and a contact cleaning apparatus, comprising: an elastomeric roller (12, 14; col. 3, lines 29-32), rotatably mounted within said contact cleaning apparatus such that an outer surface (14) of said elastomeric roller is contactingly engageable with a substrate surface (10); and an apparatus for evaluating said outer surface of said elastomeric roller, comprising: an electromagnetic radiation source (16), configured to selectively emit electromagnetic radiation of a predetermined electromagnetic spectrum (e.g. IR) onto at least one predetermined region (incident light region) of said outer surface; a detector (18), configured to receive at least a first reflection of said electromagnetic radiation (col. 4, lines 59-60 “reflected light intensity IS”) from said at least one predetermined region; and a controller (26) operably coupled to said detector and adapted to determine at least one characteristic parameter of at least said first reflection, wherein said at least one characteristic parameter is a radiation scattering (IS) characteristic of at least said first reflection from said at least one predetermined region. As understood, since Brown et al. detects particle accumulation (col. 5, lines 4-30) on a surface, it determines a surface roughness as claimed.
Regarding claims 16-18, as understood, the radiation scattering characteristic is a part or a proportion of the reflected radiation (received by 18) that is from the electromagnetic radiation source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. in view of Hamilton et al. (GB 2523786).
Regarding claims 4-8, 13, Brown et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Brown et al. further disclose (col. 2, line 51) monitoring continuously (real-time) and using light intensity (col. 4, line 17) as claimed. As the roller (12) spins, the electromagnetic radiation is emitted onto a plurality of predetermined regions. Brown et al. do not explicitly disclose actuating an alarm signal when the characteristic parameter deviates by a predetermined threshold. Hamilton et al. teach (pg. 11, lines 23- 29) in a similar apparatus activating an alarm based on deviation from a predetermined threshold. The predetermined threshold can be designated as a maximum deviation from an initial value as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such an arrangement in the method and apparatus of Brown et al. in view of Hamilton et al. to conventionally notify a user of a met condition and improve operation of the device as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. in view of Hamilton et al., further in view of Clemente et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0069111).
Regarding claim 9, Brown et al. in view of Hamilton et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Brown et al. and Hamilton et al. do not disclose averaging the parameter as claimed. Clemente et al. teach ([0031[) averaging detected intensities in different regions to increase the accuracy of measurements. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide averaging as claimed in the apparatus of Brown et al. in view of Hamilton et al. and Clemente et al. to obtain more accurate results as taught, known and predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878