DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to, since it requires substantial duplicate requirements of claim 1. Claim 3 requirement of “- at least one polyarylethersulfone (PAES polymer);” further narrows the claimed requirement, while the rest are present in claim 1. Applicant is encouraged to delete the duplicate portions of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 11, 18, 22, 26, 30, 35, 40 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox EP0182580 A2 in view of Saito et al. US 2021/0009846 A1, with evidentiary support of Victrex PEEK polymer 450P technical data sheet.
Regarding claims 1, 11, 18, 26, 30, 35, Cox teaches (page 5, line 1 and Example 1, and page 4, lines 32-36) Example 1, a polymer composition derived from 85 wt% polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and 15 wt% talc with an average particle size of 3.7µm, which is used as an insulation layer for wire coating. Cox’s disclosure of PEEK polymer in Example 1, Victrex polymer 450 P grade has a melt viscosity of 350 Pa.s (see Victrex data sheet), corresponds to applicant’s PEEK1.
Cox is silent on combining two PEEK polymers with different viscosities, however to optimize the PEEK based insulation layer, an artisan skilled in the art would look to analogous reference Saito who also teaches wire compositions derived from PEEK polymers (Saito title and para [0009]). Saito recommends blending two or more PEEK polymers with different melt viscosities to tailor the melt behavior of the polymer composition to improve adhesion of the polymer insulating film to the conductor (paras [0041] and [0035]). Saito discloses PEEK2 (para [0072]) with a melt viscosity of 150 Pa.s. Saito provides Ex 10 (Table 2) where two PEEK polymers are blended at 50/50 mass ratio.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have blended equal amount of PEEK2 as taught by Saito to PEEK1 of Cox in Example 1, for the same application of creating a wire layer with improved adhesion to the conductor. The required melt viscosity and viscosity ratio r would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Cox discloses (page 14, claim 6) polyaryletherketone where 100% of the repeat units can be the structure as shown below, which corresponds to the required J-A, with j’=0 and J’-A.
Regarding claim 40, obvious composition of Cox in view of Saito as discussed when addressing claim 1, with all the claimed ingredients would be reasonably expected to achieve the required elongation at break.
Regarding claim 43, Cox is silent on the wire type, however Saito discloses (para [0003]) magnet wire, thus making the claimed requirement obvious.
Claims 3, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox in view of Saito (and evidentiary support of Victrex PEEK polymer 450P technical data sheet), as applied to claims 1, 6, 9, 11, 18, 22, 26, 30, 35, 40 and 43 above, and further in view of Sato et al. WO2018/234116 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Cox and Saito are silent on the incorporation of polyarylethersulfone (PAES) polymer, however to optimize the PEEK based composition, an artisan skilled in the art would look to reference Sato who also discloses PEEK based insulation layers for conductive wires (Sato Page 1, Background). Sato encourages the blending of PAES with PEEK to increase the peel strength of the PEEK with epoxy, where epoxy is typically used for potting the PEEK-coated wires. Sato adds that the inclusion of PAES in PEEK eliminates the need for surface treatment without sacrificing chemical or mechanical properties (Sato Page 2, lines 10-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have blended PAES as taught by Sato to the PEEK based composition of Cox and Saito for the same application of creating a wire where the PEEK based insulating film has improved peel strength to the epoxy potting material.
Regarding claim 13, Sato teaches (page 4, line 25 and last line; page 5, line 3 and line 5) that the PAES polymer can be selected to be polyphenylenesulfone (PPSU) where 99 mol% of recurring units are formula B-1, as shown below and where each d is zero.
Regarding claim 14, Sato teaches (page 14, Materials) PPSU Radel® 5800NT from Solvay Specialty Polymers which is the same as used by the applicant (instant specification para [00151]) and has a MFR of 25g/10min, meeting the claimed requirement.
Regarding claim 16, Sato teaches (page 6, lines 11-16) the amount of PAES polymer in the polymer composition to be 12 to 17 w% based on the total weight of the PEEK and the PAES, meeting the claimed requirement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2026 have been fully considered, please see the response below.
Applicant argues that (Remarks page 14, para 2) that secondary reference Saito does not teach or suggest that the polyaryletherketone corresponding to PEEK1 exhibits a viscosity of 350 to 600 Pa.s and PEEK 2 exhibits a viscosity of 100 to 200 Pa.s, and the weight ratio of PEEK1/PEEK 2 is between 50/50 and 70/30. In response, it is noted that Saito provides encompassing range of viscosities of 100 to 1000 Pa.s for the two PEEK polymers. In the rejection above primary reference Cox teaches the required viscosity for the PEEK1 while Saito is utilized to teach PEEK2, which satisfy the claimed viscosity ranges. Additionally, Saito provides several examples where equal amounts of PEEK polymers are blended (such as Ex 2, Ex 5, Ex 8 and Ex10, Tables 1 and 2), thus encouraging a skilled artisan to create similar blends at 50/50 weight ratio. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s arguments are found to be unconvincing and the amendments do not distinguish from the prior art on record and therefore the rejections over the combination of Cox and Saito (and Sato) are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765