DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection, see page 9, filed 3/16/26, with respect to amended claim 12 has been fully considered and is persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding prior art rejections (based on Buckley in view of Shrestha), filed 3/16/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-4, 9,10, 12-16, 18, 20-23, 41 and 42, the applicant argued that, “…Buckley in view of Shrestha fails to teach or suggest a relay UE "forwarding the SIB message containing the PWS message to the at least one remote UE via a sidelink interface in a unicast sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message" …Although Shrestha describes the network transmits SIB 10/11/12 via dedicated signaling or unicast, PDSCH or MPDCCH, Shrestha is silent regarding forwarding or relaying the SIB via unicast. Combining Shrestha with Buckley merely results in the network sending SIB via unicast (as described in Shrestha) and relaying the SIB containing PWS to a remote UE, but fails to teach or suggest relaying via a unicast message as recited in claim 1. Further, Shrestha is silent regarding relaying the SIB via a sidelink RRC message as further recited in claim 1. Therefore, Shrestha fails to overcome the deficiencies of Buckley…” in page 7-8. [Emphasis added]
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees since arguments are against the references individually. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references1. In this case, the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha disclosure the broadly claim limitation as detailed below.
Buckley discloses forward the SIB message containing the PWS message (see FIG. 3-4, Step-3 relay/forward PWS 306 or 406/408 embedded SB11 ) to at least one remote UE via a side link interface in a system/configuration sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (see FIG. 3-4, to Remote UE 330 via a sidelink/PC5 interface in a system/configuration RRC higher layer message; see ¶¶88, 95, 99, 123, 129, 131, 132, 135, 138, 142, 146, 156; also see ¶¶114, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 161,163).
Shrestha teaches receive a system information block (SIB) message containing a broadcast public warning system (PWS) message (see ¶¶ 207, 209; receive SIB messages with PWS notification); wherein the relay UE (see FIG. 1, UE (e.g. UE1, 101A) that relay/forward the information received from the network) forwards the PWS message to at least remote UE via a sidelink interface in a unicast sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (see FIG. 1, ¶¶42, 47, 53, , 199, 200, 211, 213-225,251; UE (e.g. UE1, 101A) forwards/transmit PWS notification (ETWS2/CMAS3) via sidelink/ProSe interface 105 to another UE (e.g. UE2, 101B) in unicast RRC messages; also see FIG. 11 & 12; unicast messages).
As shown above, Buckley already discloses the relay UE forwarding the PWS message via a sidelink interface in a system/configuration sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message. Shrestha teaches such “sidelink RRC message” being a “unicast” message. Thus, Shrestha is not required to disclose “relaying via” a unicast message since said limitation has already been disclosed by Buckley, and the rejection is based on combination of Buckley and Shrestha.
The following paragraph shows that Shrestha still discloses, Inter alia, the argued limitations.
[0042] To address these problems, the present disclosure provides DCI, RRC and MAC CE based options for PWS (e.g., ETWS/CMAS) notification for BL UEs or UEs in CE to acquire PW S (e.g., ETWS/CMAS) information.
[0047] … In implementations, the UEs 101 may directly exchange communication data via a ProSe interface 105. The ProSe interface 105 may alternatively be referred to as a SL interface 105 and may comprise one or more logical channels, including but not limited to a PSCCH, a PSSCH, a PSDCH, and a PSBCH.
[0053] In implementations, the UEs 101 can be configured to communicate using OFDM communication signals with each other or with any of the RAN nodes 111 over a multicarrier communication channel in accordance with various communication techniques, such as, but not limited to, an OFDMA communication technique (e.g., for downlink communications) or a SC-FDMA communication technique (e.g., for uplink and ProSe or sidelink communications)…
[0199] In some implementations, dedicated signaling for ETWS/CMAS notifications can be achieved using unicast MPDCCH. The unicast MPDCCH can include a novel DCI format that either (i) directly indicates the PWS notification by defining new DCI bit-fields or reinterpreting existing DCI bit-fields or (ii) schedules a PDSCH to carry the PWS notification, which is described in more detail below. Examples of a novel DCI formats are set forth below with reference to DCI format 6-1A and DCI format 6-1B, respectively.
[0200] In some implementations, dedicated signaling for ETWS/CMAS notifications can be achieved using unicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). The unicast PDSCH can include new or updated RRC messages that can be used for PWS notification. Alternatively, or in addition, the PDSCH can include new or updated MAC CE PDUs that can be used for the PWS notification. In some implementations, the PWS notification can be implicit. An implicit notification can include an RRC msg or an MAC CE PDU that already carries the PWS notification information. Alternatively, the PWS notification can be explicit. An explicit notification can convey an indication for UE to acquire SIB10/11/12 or convey the scheduling information of SIB10/11/12 for the UE to acquire them.
[Emphasis added]
In view of the above, it is clear that Shrestha’s UE1/101A forwards/transmit SIB embedded with PWS notification (ETWS4/CMAS5) via sidelink/ProSe interface 105 to another UE2/101B in unicast RRC messages.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 9,10, 12-16, 18, 20-23, 41 and 42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (Buckley in view of Freda) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 13, 18, 20, 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley (US 2018 0324571) in view of Shrestha (US 2022 0167140).
Regarding Claim 1 and 41, Buckley discloses an apparatus performing a method for wireless communications by a relay user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 3-4, RSU/Relay UE 320), comprising:
one or more memories (see FIG. 17, memory 3224, 3225 of communication device/remote UE 320) comprising computer-executable instructions (see ¶¶161,179, 185, 187; store application software); and
one or more processors (see FIG. 17, processor 3220, 3238 of communication device/relay UE 320) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (see ¶¶ 179, 181, 185) and cause the apparatus to:
receive a broadcast system information block (SIB) message containing a broadcast public warning system (PWS) message (see FIG. 3-4, Step 1- receiving system information block (SIB11) which contain PWS message 302/402broadcast from eNB 310: see ¶¶ 88, 89, 106, 116, 129, 148, 132, 135, 138,140-143, 171); and
forward the SIB message containing the PWS message (see FIG. 3-4, Step-3 relay/forward PWS 306 or 406/408 embedded SB11 ) to at least one remote UE via a side link interface in a system/configuration sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (see FIG. 3-4, to Remote UE 330 via a sidelink/PC5 interface in a system/configuration RRC higher layer message; see ¶¶88, 95, 99, 123, 129, 131, 132, 135, 138, 142, 146, 156; also see ¶¶114, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 161,163);
Although Buckley discloses the relay UE forwarding the PWS message via a sidelink interface in a system/configuration sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (also see ¶¶99, 106, 116, 132) as set forth above, Buckley does not explicitly disclose the message being a “unicast” message. [Emphasis added]
However, Shrestha teaches receive a system information block (SIB) message containing a broadcast public warning system (PWS) message (see ¶¶ 207, 209; receive SIB messages with PWS notification);
wherein the relay UE (see FIG. 1, UE (e.g. UE1, 101A) that relay/forward the information received from the network) forwards the PWS message to at least remote UE via a sidelink interface in a unicast sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (see FIG. 1, ¶¶42, 47, 53, , 199, 200, 211, 213-225,251; UE (e.g. UE1, 101A) forwards/transmit PWS notification (ETWS6/CMAS7) via sidelink/ProSe interface 105 to another UE (e.g. UE2, 101B) in unicast RRC messages; also see FIG. 11 & 12; unicast messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message being “unicast” message as taught by Shrestha in the system of Buckley, so that it would reduce UE power consumption; see Shrestha ¶41.
Regarding Claims 2, Buckley discloses discovering the at least the at least one remote UE supports receiving forwarded broadcast PWS message (see FIG. 3-4, 5, relay UE discover/determine whether remote UE is able to receive re-broadcast PWS message (i.e. support PWS capability); see ¶¶99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 14; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404).
Regarding Claim 4, Buckley discloses a direct link established message ( see ¶¶93-102, 111-114; relay UE discover/determine (to able to receive re-broadcast PWS message) via RRC_CONNECTED message; see ¶¶93-102, 111-114, 120, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 144; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404), from the least one remote UE indicating that the least one remote UE supports receiving PWS message (see FIG. 3-4, 5; remote UE is able to receive re-broadcast PWS message (i.e. support PWS capability) since relay UE has determined/indicates to receive PWS message; see ¶¶99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 14; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404). Shrestha also discloses receiving a discovery message (see ¶ 88, receive discovery requests).
Regarding Claim 9, The combined system of Buckley and Shrestha discloses all claim limitation.
In particular, Buckley the sidelink RRC message is a message type dedicated to PWS forwarding (see FIG. 5, Sidelink RRC message is a configuration information types within a PWS message which indicate whether the PWS message is to be forwarded (i.e. b1=0 or b2=0 to relay PSW messages); see ¶¶132, 136-140, 151-153; also see FIG. 6, information element/group names (i.e. warning type, rebroadcast indication, …); see ¶168 and FIG. 11).
Shrestha disclose the unicast sidelink RRC message is a message type dedicated to PWS forwarding ( see ¶¶81, 199, 211, 213-241, 218; Prose/sidelink RRC unicast message is a message for PWS relay/forwarding the information received from the network; also see FIG. 11 & 12; unicast message).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha discloses all claim limitation.
In particular, Buckley discloses a message type dedicated to SIB forwarding or another message type with an indication the message is for SIB forwarding (see FIG. 5, via/through configuration information types within a PWS embedded SB11 message which indicate whether the PWS embedded with SB11 message is to be forwarded (i.e. b1=0 or b2=0 to relay PSW messages); see ¶¶95, 123, 129, 132, 136-140,142,146, 151-153,156,161,163; also see FIG. 6, information element/group names (i.e. warning type, rebroadcast indication, …); see ¶168 and FIG. 11).
Shrestha disclose the unicast message is a message type dedicated to SIB forwarding ( see ¶¶81, 199, 207. 209, 211, 213-241, 218; unicast message is a message for SIB/PFW relay/forwarding the information received from the network; also see FIG. 11 & 12; unicast message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message being “unicast” message as taught by Shrestha in the system of Buckley, so that it would reduce UE power consumption; see Shrestha ¶41.
Regarding Claim 18, Buckley discloses obtaining information regarding a location of the remote UE (see FIG. 3, Step-2 304 and FIG. 4, Step-2 & 5; 404, 412; geographical location of a user; see ¶¶105, 116, 117);
obtaining location information in the PWS message (see FIG. 3, Step-2 304 and FIG. 4, Step-2 & 5; 404, 412; geographical location area affected by the event in PWS; see ¶¶ 92, 96, 108, 154, 155, 177); and
deciding whether to forward the PWS message based on the information regarding the location of the remote UE and the location information in the PWS message (see FIG. 3, Step-2 304 and FIG. 4, Step-2 & 5; 404, 41; Relay UE determine whether to rebroadcast/relay/forward the PWS message base on the information (see FIG. 5-9; configuration information, flag, data, …); see ¶¶136, 144, 145, 151, 163, 169, 173) regarding the geographical location of a user/remote UE and geographical area affected by the event in PWS; see ¶¶99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 144).
Regarding Claims 20 and 42, Buckley discloses an apparatus performing a method for wireless communications by a remote user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 3-4, Remote UE 330), comprising:
one or more memories (see FIG. 17, memory 3224, 3225 of communication device/remote UE 330) comprising computer-executable instructions (see ¶¶179, 185, 187); and
one or more processors (see FIG. 17, processor 3220, 3238 of communication device/remote UE 330) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (see ¶¶ 179, 181, 185) and cause the apparatus to:
receive a system information block (SIB) message containing a public warning system (PWS) message (see FIG. 3-4, Step-3 receiving system information block (SIB11) which contain PWS 306 or 406/408/414/416)) forwarded by a relay UE (see FIG. 3-4, relay/forward by RSU/Relay UE 320) via a sidelink interface in a system/configuration sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (see FIG. 3-4, via a sidelink/PC5 interface in a system/configuration RRC higher layer message; see ¶¶88, 95, 99, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 142, 146, 156; also see ¶¶114, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 161,163); and
forwarding the PWS message to a PWS component of the remote UE (see FIG. 17, encode/forward received PWS message to the display/component (e.g. display 3222) of the Remote UE 330 to play a PWS notification on screen and/or encode/forward received PWS message generate an audible alert (e.g. speaker 3234); see ¶¶161, 185, 186, 191, 193, 200).
Although Buckley discloses the relay UE forward the PWS message via a sidelink interface in a system/configuration sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message as set forth above, Buckley does not explicitly disclose the message being a “unicast” message. [Emphasis added]
However, Shrestha teaches receive a system information block (SIB) message containing a broadcast public warning system (PWS) message (see ¶¶ 207, 209; receive SIB messages with PWS notification) forwarded from the relay UE to at least remote UE via a sidelink interface in a unicast sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (see FIG. 1, ¶¶42, 47, 53, , 199, 200, 211, 213-225,251; UE (e.g. UE1, 101A) forwards/transmit PWS notification (ETWS8/CMAS9) via sidelink/ProSe interface 105 to another UE (e.g. UE2, 101B) in unicast RRC messages; also see FIG. 11 & 12; unicast messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message being a “unicast” message as taught by Shrestha in the system of Buckley, so that it would reduce UE power consumption; see Shrestha ¶41.
Claims 3, 14-16, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley in view of Shrestha as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of, ETSI TS 136 300 V15.4.0 (hereinafter TS 136 300).
Regarding Claim 3, Buckley discloses wherein discovering is via a link procedure (see ¶¶93-102, 111-114; relay UE discover/determine (to able to receive re-broadcast PWS message) via RRC connection procedure/establishment; see ¶¶93-102, 111-114, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 144; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404) and
wherein the method further comprise
indicating, during the link procedure, that relay UE supports forwarding broadcast PWS messages (see FIG. 3-4, Step-3 relay/forward PWS 306 or 406/408; relay UE forward/rebroadcast the PWS message to remote UE during RRC connection procedure/establishment: see ¶¶95, 132, 142, 146, 156).
Although the combined system Buckley and Shrestha discloses wherein discovering via a link procedure wherein the method further comprise indicating, during the link procedure, that relay UE supports forwarding broadcast PWS messages as set forth above, the combined system Buckley and Shrestha does not explicitly disclose via a link “establishment” procedure or link “update” procedure.
However, such a concept is so well known in the art as shown by 3GPP 5G standard. In particular, TS 136 300 discloses the discovering via a link establishment procedure or link update procedure, and wherein the method further comprises indicating, during the link establishment procedure or link update procedure, that the relay UE supports forwarding broadcast PWS messages (see pages 317-319, §23.10.3, 23.10.4 : Relay UE (i.e., ProSe UE-to-network Relay) perform discovery operation (of public Safety ProSe carrier message/PWS ) via link establishment or RRC/signaling connection process, in which Relay UE determine/indicates to forward broadcasted public Safety ProSe carrier message/PWS received from eNodeB; also see § 23.11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined system Buckley and Shrestha does not explicitly disclose via a link “establishment” procedure or link “update” procedure as taught by TS 136 300 in the combined system Buckley and Shrestha so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility while assuring public safety and quality of the network; see TS 136 300 §23.11.1.
Regarding Claim 14, Buckley discloses the receiving the SIB message is via a layer (see FIG. 3-4, Step 1- receiving broadcast SIB message embedded with PWS message 302/402 via a lower layer (e.g. Layer 2): see ¶¶88,89, 106, 114, 116, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 140-143, 161,163 , 171) ; and
Forwarding is via a layer (see FIG. 3-4, Step-3 relay/forward PWS 306 or 406/408 to remote UE 330 via higher layer (e.g. application layer); see ¶¶95, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 142, 146, 156, 161, 163).
Shrestha also discloses the receiving the SIB message is via a “an access stratum (AS)” layer (see ¶¶ 161, 162, receiving SIB via an access stratum (AS) layer).
Although the combined system Buckley and Shrestha discloses receiving SIB message via “an access stratum (AS)” layer and forwarding via a higher layer as set for the above, the combined system Buckley and Shrestha does not explicitly disclose “forwarding” is via a AS layer. [Emphasis added]
However, such a concept is so well known in the art as shown by 3GPP 5G standard. In particular, TS 136 300 discloses the receiving the SIB message via an access stratum (AS) layer (see Figs 23.10.2.1-1, 23.10.2.2-1, 23.10.2.2-2, 23.11.1-1; receive SIB embedded with public Safety AS message/PWS message via Access Stratum protocol stack/layer (e.g. a combined system of MAC, PHY, …, layer); see § §§ 23.7a-b, 23.10.2.1, 23.10.2,2, 23.10.3, 23.10.4, 23.11.1, 23.11.2, 23.11.3); and
the forwarding is via the AS layer (see Figs 23.10.2.1-1, 23.10.2.2-1, 23.10.2.2-2, 23.11.1-1; forward SIB embedded with public Safety carrier message/PWS message to UE B via Access Stratum protocol stack/layer (e.g. a combined system of MAC, PHY,.., layer(s)); see §§§ 23.7a-b, 23.10.4, 23.11.1, 23.11.2 , 23.11.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “forwarding” is via a AS layer as taught by TS 136 300 in the system of Buckley, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility while assuring safety and quality of the network; see TS 136 300 §23.11.1.
Regarding Claim 15, The combined system of Buckley, Shrestha and TS 136 300 discloses all claim limitation.
Buckley discloses exchanging, with the at least one remote UE via a sidelink signaling information regarding support for forwarding PWS messages (see FIG. 3-4, relay UE 320 transmission/exchange communication by relaying/forwarding PWS 306 or 406/408 with remote UE 330 via PC5/sidelink RRC higher layer (e.g. application layer) signaling; see ¶¶95, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 142, 146, 156, 161, 163.)
Shrestha disclose exchanging, with at least one remote UE via sidelink unicast signaling, information (see ¶¶ 41, 53, 199 ; communicating with UE using unicast sidelink signaling/notification).
TS 136 300 also discloses exchanging, with at least one remote UE via sidelink unicast signaling, information regarding support for forwarding PWS messages (see FIG. 23.10.2-2, 23.102.2-2; UE-to-network Relay (i.e. Relay UE), UE A transmission/exchange communication by relaying/forwarding public Safety carrier message/PWS message to UE B via V2X PC5/sidelink signaling; see § 23.6.1, 23.7a-b, 23.10.3, 23.10.4, 23.11.1, 23.11.2, 23.14.1.1, 23.14.1.2,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sidelink “unicast” s as taught by Shrestha in the system of Buckley, so that it would reduce UE power consumption; see Shrestha ¶41.
Regarding Claim 16, Buckley discloses wherein a layer of the relay UE configures the layer with information for forwarding the PWS message to the at least one remote UE (see FIG. 3-4, a layer/stack of relay UE 320 is configured with higher layer (e.g. application layer) to relay/forward PWS 306 or 406/408 to remote UE 330; see ¶¶95, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 142, 146, 156, 161, 163) and utilizing proximity service (ProSe) architecture (see ¶110).
Shrestha discloses utilizing proximity service (ProSe) layer (see ¶¶ 45, 47, 53; ProSe interface 105) and the configures the AS layer (see ¶¶ 161, 162, receiving SIB via an access stratum (AS) layer) .
Although the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha discloses wherein a layer of the relay UE configures the AS layer with information for forwarding the PWS message to the at least one remote UE, the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha does not explicitly disclose a proximity service (ProSe) layer “configures” the AS layer.
However, such a concept is so well known in the art as shown by 3GPP 5G standard. In particular, TS 136 300 discloses wherein a proximity service (ProSe) layer of the relay UE configures the AS layer with information for forwarding the PWS message to the at least remote UE (see FIG. 23.11.1-1; a ProSe layer of UE-to-network Relay (i.e. Relay UE) UE A configures Access Stratum (AS) protocol stack/layer (e.g. a combined system of MAC, PHY…, layer(s)) with information/data for forwarding public Safety carrier message/PWS message to UE B; see § 23.10.4, 23.11.1, 23.11.2; also see 23.10.2.2, 23.10.3, 23.11.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a proximity service (ProSe) layer “configures” the AS layer.as taught by TS 136 300 in the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility while assuring safety and quality of the network; see TS 136 300 §23.11.1.
Regarding Claim 21, Buckley discloses that the remote UE supports receiving forwarded broadcast PWS messages (see FIG. 3-4, 5, remote UE 330 is able to receive re-broadcast PWS message (i.e. support PWS capability); see ¶¶99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 14; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404).
Although the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha discloses a remote UE supports reviving forwarded broadcast PWS messages set forth above, the combined system Buckley and Shrestha does not explicitly disclose “providing an indication to the relay UE”.
However, such a concept is so well known in the art as shown by 3GPP 5G standard. In particular, TS 136 300 discloses providing an indication, to the relay UE, that the remote UE supports receiving forwarded broadcast PWS messages (see FIG. 23.11.1-1, §23.11.1; Remote UE B send an indication (e.g. discovery solicitation message or dedicated signaling from remote UE announcing/solicitation) to obtain forwarded public Safety ProSe carrier message/PWS; see §317-319, §23.10.3, 23.10.4,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “providing an indication to the relay UE” as taught by TS 136 300 in the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility while assuring safety and quality of the network; see TS 136 300 §23.11.1.
Regarding Claim 22, Buckley discloses wherein discovering via a link procedure (see ¶¶93-102, 111-114; relay UE discover/determine (to able to receive re-broadcast PWS message) via RRC connection procedure/establishment; see ¶¶93-102, 111-114, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 144; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404) that the Relay UE supports broadcast PWS messages (see FIG. 3-4, Remote UE discover that relay UE is able to re-broadcast PWS message (i.e. support PWS capability) by receiving rebroadcast PWS message; see ¶¶99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 144; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404) and
indicating, during the link procedure, that remote UE supports receiving forwarded broadcast PWS messages (see FIG. 3-4, Step-3 relay/forward PWS 306 or 406/408; remote UE receives forward/rebroadcast the PWS message to remote UE during RRC connection procedure/establishment: see ¶¶95, 132, 142, 146, 156).
Although the combined system Buckley and Shrestha discloses wherein discovering via a link procedure that relay UE supports forwarding broadcast PWS messages as set forth above, the combined system Buckley and Shrestha does not explicitly disclose via a link “establishment” procedure or link “update” procedure.
However, such a concept is so well known in the art as shown by 3GPP 5G standard. In particular, TS 136 300 discloses the discovering via a link establishment procedure or link update procedure, that the relay UE supports forwarding broadcast PWS messages (see pages 317-319, §23.10.3, 23.10.4 : Relay UE (i.e., ProSe UE-to-network Relay) perform discovery operation (of public Safety ProSe carrier message/PWS ) via link establishment or RRC/signaling connection process, in which Relay UE determine/indicates to forward broadcasted public Safety ProSe carrier message/PWS received from eNodeB; also see § 23.11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide via a link “establishment” procedure or link “update” procedure as taught by TS 136 300 in the system of Buckley, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility while assuring safety and quality of the network; see TS 136 300 §23.11.1.
Regarding Claim 23, the combined system of Buckley, Shrestha and TS 136 300 discloses all claim limitations.
Buckley discloses discovering procedure (see ¶¶93-102, 111-114; relay UE discover/determine (to able to receive re-broadcast PWS message) via RRC connection procedure/establishment; see ¶¶93-102, 111-114, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 144; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404) the relay UE indicating that the relay UE support of PWS message forwarding (see FIG. 3-4, 5; remote UE is able to receive re-broadcast PWS message (i.e. support PWS capability) since relay UE has determined/indicates PWS message relaying/forwarding); see ¶¶ 99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 14; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404).
Shrestha also discloses receiving or sending a discovery message (see ¶ 88, receive/send discovery requests).
TS 136 300 disclose sending a discovery message indicating that the remote UE support of PWS message (see pages 317-319, §23.10.3, §23.10.4; ProSe UE-to-network Relay (i.e. Relay UE) receive discovery solicitation message or dedicated signaling from remote UE announcing/solicitation to obtain public Safety ProSe carrier message/PWS ; see FIG. 23.11.1- 1, §23.11.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending “discovery message" indicating that the remote UE as taught by TS 136 300 in the combined system Buckley and Shrestha, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility while assuring safety and quality of the network; see TS 136 300 §23.11.1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley in view of Shrestha and further in view of Khoryaev (US 2018 0146494).
Regarding claim 10, Buckley disclose receiving, via proximity service (ProSe) architecture (see ¶¶47, 53, 110, ProSe or sidelink ), a response and forwarding SIB message containing the PWS message as set in claim 1 above.
Although the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha disclose receiving via ProSe layer, a response from that at least one remote UE of the forwarded SIB message containing the PWS message as set forth above, the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha does not explicitly disclose the response being “acknowledge receipt of the forwarded message”.
However, Khoryaev discloses a Relay UE receiving, via the ProSe layer, a response from the at least one remote UE acknowledging receipt of the forwarded PWS message (see FIG. 4 , Relay UE 420 receive via a ProSe control layer a respond from remote UE 430 up reception of its control message (i.e. public safety/warning communication/messages); see ¶¶16, 18-20, 21-23, 48, 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the response being “acknowledge receipt of the forwarded message” as taught by Khoryaev , in the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha , so that it would avoid performances loss; see Khoryaev see ¶29.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley in view of Shrestha and further in view of Freda (US 2024 0163934)10.
Regarding Claim 12, Buckley discloses type of SIB messages (see ¶¶ 106: SIB1, SIB10, SIB11, or SIB12), and determining which type of messages to forward to the at least one remote UE (see ¶¶ 88, 131-132: UE determine, in view of the policy, the suitable type of PWS messages to forward/relay to another UE (i.e. amber alert, a presidential alert, etc.)). ; and
forwarding only those types of messages to the at least one remote UE (see ¶¶ 88, 131-132; relay only certain type of message that is suitable to the rules/policy).
Although the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha disclose type of SIB messages and determining which type of messages to forward to the at least one remote UE, forwarding only those types of messages to the at least one remote UE as set forth above, the combined system of Buckley and Shrestha does not explicitly disclose the forwarded type being “types of SIB messages”. [Emphasis added]
However, Freda discloses a relay user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 3, L2 Relay UE) determining which type of SIB messages to forward to the at least one remote UE (see ¶¶ 376, 572: determine type of SIBs to relay to remote UEs) ; and
forwarding only those types of SIB messages to the at least one remote UE (see ¶¶ 376, 572: relay certain/specific/only type of SIBs to relay to remote UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the forwarded type being “types of SIB messages” as taught by Freda in the combined system of Buckley, so that it would provide QoS enhancement requirements (see Freda ¶ 3).
Second Rejection
Claims 1, 2, 4,9,18, 20, 41, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley (US 2018 0324571) in view of Freda (US 2024 0163934).
Regarding Claim 1 and 41, Buckley discloses an apparatus performing a method for wireless communications by a relay user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 3-4, RSU/Relay UE 320), comprising:
one or more memories (see FIG. 17, Flash memory 2554, RAM 3226 communication Relay/RSU UE 320) comprising computer-executable instruction (see ¶¶ 161,185,188; store applications or software); and
one or more processors (see FIG. 17, processor 3220, 3238 of communication device/relay UE 320) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (see ¶¶ 179, 181, 185) and cause the apparatus to:
receive a broadcast system information block (SIB) message containing a broadcast public warning system (PWS) message (see FIG. 3-4, Step 1- receiving system information block (SIB11) which contain PWS message 302/402broadcast from eNB 310: see ¶¶ 88, 89, 106, 116, 129, 148, 132, 135, 138,140-143, 171); and
forward the SIB message containing the PWS message (see FIG. 3-4, Step-3 relay/forward PWS 306 or 406/408 embedded SB11 ) to at the least one remote UE via a sidelink interface in a sidelink system/configuration message (see FIG. 3-4, to Remote UE 330 via a sidelink interface in a sidelink/PC5 system/configuration message; see ¶¶95, 99, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 142, 146, 156; also see ¶¶114, 123, 129, 132, 135, 138, 161,163) and radio resource control (RRC) (see ¶¶ 71, 93; RRC).
Although Buckley discloses the relay UE forward the PWS message via sidelink interface in a system/configuration message (also see ¶¶99, 106, 116, 132) and RRC as set forth above, Buckley does not explicitly disclose forwarding via a “unicast radio resource control (RRC)” message.
However, Freda discloses a relay UE (see FIG. 2-3, L2 Relay UE) receive a system information block (SIB) message containing a broadcast public warning system (PWS) message (see ¶¶ 376, 414, 137; receive SIB messages with PWS/SI11 notification, PWS/SI-SIBs);
forwards the PWS message to at least one remote UE via a sidelink interface in a unicast sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (see FIG. 2-3: see ¶¶98-100, 100, 150, 395; relay/forward UE serve/forward PWS/SI notification/indication to remote UE in unicast PC5-RRC message included in paging message; also see FIG. 10, ¶573)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide forwarding via a “unicast radio resource control (RRC)” message as taught by Freda in the system of Buckley, so that it would further extend sidelink connectively in NR framework; see Freda ¶3.
Regarding Claims 2, Buckley discloses discovering the at least one remote UE supports receiving forwarded broadcast PWS message (see FIG. 3-4, 5, relay UE discover/determine whether remote UE is able to receive re-broadcast PWS message (i.e. support PWS capability); see ¶¶99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 14; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404). Freda discloses discovering the at least one remote UE supports receiving forwarded broadcast PWS message (see ¶¶ 79, 81, 90; during discovery procedure remote UE1 supports/participate receiving relayed broadcast public safety prose carriers indication/PWS/SI).
Regarding Claim 4, Buckley discloses a direct link established message ( see ¶¶93-102, 111-114; relay UE discover/determine (to able to receive re-broadcast PWS message) via RRC_CONNECTED message; see ¶¶93-102, 111-114, 120, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 144; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404), from the least one remote UE indicating that the least one remote UE supports receiving PWS message (see FIG. 3-4, 5; remote UE is able to receive re-broadcast PWS message (i.e. support PWS capability) since relay UE has determined/indicates to receive PWS message; see ¶¶99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 14; also see FIG. 3-4, Step 2- 304/404).
Freda also discloses a discovery message (see ¶¶ 79, 81, 90: discovery solicitation message), from the least one remote UE indicating that the least one remote UE supports receiving PWS message (see ¶¶ 79, 81, 90: from remote UE1 indicates that its supports/participate receiving relayed broadcast public safety prose carriers indication/PWS/SI).
Regarding Claim 9, The combined system of Buckley and Freda discloses all claim limitation.
Buckley discloses the sidelink message is a message type dedicated to PWS forwarding (see FIG. 5, sidelink/PC5 system/configuration message has configuration information types within a PWS message which indicate whether the PWS message is to be forwarded (i.e. b1=0 or b2=0 to relay PSW messages); see ¶¶95, 99, 123, 129, 132, 136-140, 142, 146, 151-153, 156; also see FIG. 6, information element/group names (i.e. warning type, rebroadcast indication, …); see ¶168 and FIG. 11) and radio resource control (RRC) (see ¶¶ 71, 93; RRC).
Freda further discloses a unicast sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message is a message type dedicated to PWS forwarding (see FIG. 2-3: see ¶¶98-100, 100, 150, 395; in unicast PC5-RRC message is a message type to serve/forward/relay PWS/SI notification/indication to remote UE included in paging message; also see FIG. 10, ¶573).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a “unicast radio resource control (RRC)” message as taught by Freda in the system of Buckley, so that it would further extend sidelink connectively in NR framework; see Freda ¶3.
Regarding Claim 18, Buckley discloses obtaining information regarding a location of the remote UE (see FIG. 3, Step-2 304 and FIG. 4, Step-2 & 5; 404, 412; geographical location of a user; see ¶¶105, 116, 117);
obtaining location information in the PWS message (see FIG. 3, Step-2 304 and FIG. 4, Step-2 & 5; 404, 412; geographical location area affected by the event in PWS; see ¶¶ 92, 96, 108, 154, 155, 177); and
deciding whether to forward the PWS message based on the information regarding the location of the remote UE and the location information in the PWS message (see FIG. 3, Step-2 304 and FIG. 4, Step-2 & 5; 404, 41; Relay UE determine whether to rebroadcast/relay/forward the PWS message base on the information (see FIG. 5-9; configuration information, flag, data, …); see ¶¶136, 144, 145, 151, 163, 169, 173) regarding the geographical location of a user/remote UE and geographical area affected by the event in PWS; see ¶¶99, 126, 128, 129, 132, 142, 143, 144).
Regarding Claims 20 and 42, Buckley discloses an apparatus performing a method for wireless communications by a remote user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 3-4, Remote UE 330), comprising:
one or more memories (see FIG. 17, memory 3224, 3225 of communication device/remote UE 330) comprising computer-executable instructions (see ¶¶179, 185, 187); and
one or more processors (see FIG. 17, processor 3220, 3238 of communication device/remote UE 330) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (see ¶¶ 161,185,188; store applications or software); and cause the apparatus to:
receive a system information block (SIB) message containing a public warning system (PWS) message (see FIG. 3-4, Step-3 receiving system information block (SIB11) which contain PWS 306 or 406/408/414/416)) forwarded by a relay UE (see FIG. relay/forward by RSU/Relay UE 320) via a sidelink interface in a sidelink system/configuration message (see FIG. 3-4, via sidelink interface in a sidelink/PC5 system/configuration message; ¶¶88, 95, 99, 106, 116, 129, 132, 142, 146, 156, 160, 161); and radio resource control (RRC) (see ¶¶ 71, 93; RRC); and
forwarding the PWS message to a PWS component of the remote UE (see FIG. 17, encode/forward received PWS message to the display/component (e.g. display 3222) of the Remote UE 330 to play a PWS notification on screen and/or encode/forward received PWS message generate an audible alert (e.g. speaker 3234); see ¶¶161, 185, 186, 191, 193, 200).
Although Buckley discloses the remote UE receives the PWS message via a sidelink interface in a system/configuration message and RRC as set forth above, Buckley does not explicitly disclose receiving via a “unicast radio resource control (RRC)” message.
However, Freda discloses a remote UE (see FIG. 2-3, Remote UE 1) receive a system information block (SIB) message containing a broadcast public warning system (PWS) message (see ¶¶ 376, 414, 137; receive SIB messages with PWS/SI12 notification, PWS/SI-SIBs) forward by a relay UE via a sidelink interface in a unicast sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (see FIG. 2-3: see ¶¶98-100, 100, 137, 150, 395; relay/forward by a relayed/forwarded UE serve/forward PWS/SI notification/indication (i.e. short message) to remote UE 1 in unicast PC5-RRC message included in paging message; also see FIG. 10, ¶573)
forwards the PWS message to PWS component of remote UE (see FIG. 1B, 2-3: see ¶¶23,36, 41, 79, 137, 376,517, 573, 576, 422 ; relay/forward UE serve/forward PWS/SI notification/indication (i.e. short message) to remote UE’s head mount display (HMD) 128 ; also see FIG. 10, ¶573).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving via a “unicast radio resource control (RRC)” message as taught by Freda in the system of Buckley, so that it would further extend sidelink connectively in NR framework; see Freda ¶3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
IAN N. MOORE
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)
2 ETWS= earthquake and tsunami warning system
3 CMAS= commercial mobile alert system
4 ETWS= earthquake and tsunami warning system
5 CMAS= commercial mobile alert system
6 ETWS= earthquake and tsunami warning system
7 CMAS= commercial mobile alert system
8 ETWS= earthquake and tsunami warning system
9 CMAS= commercial mobile alert system
10 in light of provisional application: 63/167307 (see ¶¶71, 74, 79, 80, 149)
11 SI=System Information which is PWS notification, Id. at ¶137
12 SI=System Information which is PWS notification, Id. at ¶137