DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that: “Applicant respectfully submits that Minowa does not disclose a second surface of the contact support portion vertically spaced apart from the upper wall of the case such that a space is provided adjacent to either circled protrusion in annotated Fig. 3 of the Office Action.” This argument is not persuasive because the contact support portion including all of its surfaces is spaced apart from the upper wall. There is clearly a distance/space between the upper wall and the contact support portion as shown in figure 3.
The applicant argues that: “Claim 1 further requires the protrusion to contact and support the extension portion of the fixed terminal and to restrict movement of the extension portion in the second direction, i.e., from the movable contact toward the fixed contact.” This limitation is met by the prior art structure because the protrusion prevents the extension portion from vibrating and bouncing during switching, which moves the extension portion in both the first and second directions.
The applicant further argues that: “Minowa appears to rely on the fixed terminal abutting the case to retain the terminal and withstand electromagnetic repulsive forces. Incorporating Lim's spaced-apart structure would appear to reduce the support/contact area and impair Minowa's stated objective of robust fixation and positional accuracy. Thus, the proposed modification would undermine the reference's purpose and does not support obviousness.” The examiner agrees that there may be less support in the structure of Lim, however, this argument is still not persuasive because the purpose of the devices in all of the references used in the rejection is to provide switching in the same way as the claimed device. This purpose is not undermined in the modification because the device of Lim is clearly a functional device, with sufficient support, that performs the same function as the device of Minowa, and therefore providing a spaced apart structure of Lim to the device of Minowa would not prevent the device from performing its intended function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-2, 4-5, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 1, a newly added limitation of “a space” is in conflict with already claimed spaces. It is not clear what the differences between these spaces are or whether they are the same space. It appears there are three different spaces claimed in claim 1. There needs to be more differentiation between the claimed spaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihara et al. (US 8138872) in view of Minowa (US 2019/0304729) and Lim (US 8461950).
In re claim 1, Yoshihara, in figures 1-14, discloses an electromagnetic relay, comprising: a case (70) including insulating material, a movable contact piece (63) including a movable contact, the movable contact piece being disposed inside the case; a fixed terminal (95,96) held by the case, the fixed terminal including a fixed contact (52,53) disposed to face the movable contact, a contact support portion (portion to which fixed contact attaches) configured to support the fixed contact, an extension portion extending from the contact support portion in a longitudinal direction of the movable contact piece, and a bent portion extending in a bent shape from the extension portion in a first direction from the fixed contact toward the movable contact, the bent portion overlapping the movable contact piece (as best seen in figure 2); a driving device disposed inside the case, the driving device being configured to move the movable contact piece in the first direction and a second direction from the movable contact toward the fixed contact (as seen in figure 2); and an insulating wall that is integral with the case, the insulating wall being disposed between the bent portion and the movable contact piece (as best seen in figure 2), the insulating wall configured to insulate the bent portion from an arc generated between the fixed contact and the movable contact (inherent function of the wall). Yoshihara does not teach the bent portion overlapping the movable contact piece when viewed from the claimed direction or the second surface being spaced apart from the case, or the protrusion extending in the claimed direction. Minowa however, teaches a similar device the bent portion overlapping the movable contact piece when viewed from the longitudinal direction of the movable contact piece (as best seen in figures 3 and 12) and wherein the contact support portion of the fixed terminal has a first surface on which the fixed contact is disposed and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the extension portion of the fixed terminal and the second surface being disposed in a same space as a space in which the movable contact piece is disposed, and the second surface is vertically spaced apart from the upper wall of the case, such that a space is provided adjacent to the protrusion (as seen in the figures; any adjacent space meets this limitation). Minowa also teaches a protrusion extending from an upper wall in the first direction and having the claimed functionality (as circled in the annotated figure above); the protrusion restricts movement of the extension portion in the second direction, an upper surface of the extension portion is supported by the protrusion (the protrusion prevents vibration that causes movement of the extension portion in both directions). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the teaching of a slimmer fixed contact arrangement taught by Minowa to the device of Yoshihara to reduce the size of the device, and to also have adapted the protrusions to provide additional support for the fixed contact and the extension portion (while keeping the positions of the fixed and movable contacts in the first direction as shown by Yoshihara). Lim teaches a similar device having a second surface being spaced apart from the case (see figures 8-9 for best view). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the configuration with the second surface being spaced apart as taught by Lim for the device of Yoshihara/Minowa to improve cooling of the second surface.
In re claim 2, Yoshihara, in figures 1-14, discloses that the fixed terminal is held only by the case (as best shown in figure 2, this is also taught by the other references).
In re claim 4, Yoshihara, in figures 1-14, discloses that the case includes a case body (70) having an opening that is open on one side in a lateral direction of the movable contact piece; a lid (10) configured to close the opening; and a groove (as best seen in figure 4) formed in the case body and in which the fixed terminal is positioned, the groove extending from one side in the lateral direction of the movable contact piece, the groove being configured to receive the fixed terminal (as best seen in figures 2 and 4).
In re claim 5, Yoshihara, in figures 1-14, discloses that the fixed terminal further includes an external connecting portion disposed outside the case, and the case includes an inner support portion configured to support a first surface of the extending portion of the fixed terminal and an outer support portion (portions of 74,75) configured to support a second surface of the external connecting portion, the first surface facing the first direction inside the case, the second surface facing the first direction (as best seen in figure 2, in the same way as shown by the applicant).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihara et al. (US 8138872) in view of Minowa, Lim, and Kabono (US 9412545).
In re claims 6-7, Yoshihara teaches the claimed device except for the magnet and the yoke. Kabono however, in figures 1-14, teaches a similar device having a magnet (19) and a yoke (10, 12c) positioned in a location similar to the claimed location with respect to the contacts. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted a magnet and a yoke as taught by Kabono to the device of Yoshihara to control arcing.
In re claim 9, Yoshihara, in figures 1-14, discloses an inner member (55-57) disposed inside the case, wherein the inner member includes an opening that opens toward the second direction, the opening being configured to accommodate the movable contact piece, the opening being covered by the case.
In re claim 12, Yoshihara in view of Minowa and Lim discloses that the extension portion of the fixed terminal has a third surface facing the first direction inside the case and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface, the protrusion of the case is in contact with the fourth surface of extension portion of the fixed terminal (Minowa shows the protrusions in contact with the same surfaces as the claimed invention in the annotated figure above).
In re claim 13, Minowa discloses an inner support portion configured to support the third surface of the extension portion of the fixed terminal (this is shown in figures 3 and 12 where the inner support portion and the protrusion are positioned in contact with the opposite surfaces of the extension portion).
Conclusion
/Alexander Talpalatski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837