DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment of claim 1, 19, in the paper of 6/8/2026, is acknowledged. Applicants' arguments filed on 6/8/2026 have been fully considered and are deemed to be persuasive to overcome some of the rejections previously applied. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11, 13, 14, 18, 19, 22-25 are still at issue and are present for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group 1, claims 1-9, 11, 15-21, to a DNase variant, in the paper of 1/14/2026, is acknowledged. Applicant's election with traverse of the following species:
Species Group 1: Y182H;
Species Group 2: S68;
Species Group 3: P in position 22, L in position 27, P in position 39, G in position 42, D in position 11;
Species Group 5: W57S;
in the paper of 1/14/2026, is acknowledged.
It is noted that applicants did not elect a species from Species groups 4, 6 and 7.
Claims 13, 14, 24 and 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 6-8, 18, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3, 4, 6-8, 18, 19 depend from rejected claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beier et al. (WO 2018/011276) is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims in the paper of 6/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beier et al. (WO 2018/011276) and Zhu et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy, Vol 113, No. 46, pp 12496-12951, Nov 2016).
Beier et al. (WO 2018/011276) teach Bacillus CIBI DNase variants and uses thereof. Beier et al. (WO 2018/011276) teach detergent compositions comprising DNase variants exhibiting alterations relative to the parent DNase in one or more properties including wash performance, detergent stability and/or storage stability. Beier et al. (WO 2018/011276) teach a DNase variant comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 (90.1% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1). Beier et al. (WO 2018/011276) teach the above DNase variant of SEQ ID NO:1 comprising a S82E, S82K, S82R and S82H substitutions (see page 2lines 22 thru 35 and supporting text).
Zhu et al. disclose analysis characterizing hydrophobicity of amino acid side chains in a protein environment via measuring contact angle of a water nanodroplet on planar peptide network. Zhu et al. teach that expectedly, all of the planar peptide networks with nonpolar amino acids are hydrophobic due to θ > 90°, whereas all of the planar peptide networks of the polar and charged amino acids are hydrophilic due to θ < 90°. Planar peptide networks of the charged amino acids exhibit complete-wetting behavior due to θ = 0. Zhu et al. disclose that the amino acids comprising charged side chains include histidine, lysine, glutamate, arginine and aspartate (Table 1, p 12948).
Before the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make similar amino acid substitutions at position S82 of the DNase taught by Beier et al. as a means of identifying DNase variants with improved properties including wash performance, detergent stability and/or storage stability. The obvious amino acid substitutions include those amino acids with similar charged amino acid side chains as taught by Beier et al. which include histidine, lysine, glutamate and arginine (i.e. S82E, S82K, S82R and S82H). The obvious amino acids include other charged amino acids such as aspartate (i.e. S82D) as taught by Zhu et al.. The expectation of success is high based upon the high level of skill in the art of recombinant protein engineering as exemplified by the teachings of Beier et al. who teach all the methods required to make the obvious DNase variants.
Thus claim(s) 1, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beier et al. (WO 2018/011276) and Zhu et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy, Vol 113, No. 46, pp 12496-12951, Nov 2016).
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oestergaard et al. (US 2019/0127664 and US 10,781,408) and Zhu et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy, Vol 113, No. 46, pp 12496-12951, Nov 2016).
Oestergaard et al. (US 2019/0127664 and US 10,781,408) teach Bacillus CIBI DNase variants and uses thereof. Oestergaard et al. (US 2019/0127664 and US 10,781,408) teach detergent compositions comprising DNase variants exhibiting alterations relative to the parent DNase in one or more properties including wash performance, detergent stability and/or storage stability. Oestergaard et al. (US 2019/0127664 and US 10,781,408) teach a DNase variant comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 (97% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1). Oestergaard et al. (US 2019/0127664 and US 10,781,408) teach the above DNase variant of SEQ ID NO:1 comprising a S82E, S82K, S82R and S82H substitutions (see claim 11 and supporting text).
Zhu et al. disclose analysis characterizing hydrophobicity of amino acid side chains in a protein environment via measuring contact angle of a water nanodroplet on planar peptide network. Zhu et al. teach that expectedly, all of the planar peptide networks with nonpolar amino acids are hydrophobic due to θ > 90°, whereas all of the planar peptide networks of the polar and charged amino acids are hydrophilic due to θ < 90°. Planar peptide networks of the charged amino acids exhibit complete-wetting behavior due to θ = 0. Zhu et al. disclose that the amino acids comprising charged side chains include histidine, lysine, glutamate, arginine and aspartate (Table 1, p 12948).
Before the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make similar amino acid substitutions at position S82 of the DNase taught by Oestergaard et al. (SEQ ID NO:28) as a means of identifying DNase variants with improved properties including wash performance, detergent stability and/or storage stability. The obvious amino acid substitutions include those amino acids with similar charged amino acid side chains as taught by Oestergaard et al. which include histidine, lysine, glutamate and arginine (i.e. S82E, S82K, S82R and S82H). The obvious amino acids include other charged amino acids such as aspartate (i.e. S82D) as taught by Zhu et al.. The expectation of success is high based upon the high level of skill in the art of recombinant protein engineering as exemplified by the teachings of Oestergaard et al. who teach all the methods required to make the obvious DNase variants.
Thus claim(s) 1, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oestergaard et al. (US 2019/0127664 and US 10,781,408) and Zhu et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy, Vol 113, No. 46, pp 12496-12951, Nov 2016).
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oestergaard et al. (US 2019/0127664 and US 10,781,408) and Zhu et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy, Vol 113, No. 46, pp 12496-12951, Nov 2016).
Oestergaard et al. teach Bacillus cibi DNase variants and uses thereof. Oestergaard et al. teach detergent compositions comprising DNase variants exhibiting alterations relative to the parent DNase in one or more properties including wash performance, detergent stability and/or storage stability. Oestergaard et al. teach a DNase variant comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:28 (97% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1). Oestergaard et al. teach the above DNase variant of SEQ ID NO:28 comprising a S68H substitution (see page claim 11 and supporting text).
Zhu et al. disclose analysis characterizing hydrophobicity of amino acid side chains in a protein environment via measuring contact angle of a water nanodroplet on planar peptide network. Zhu et al. teach that expectedly, all of the planar peptide networks with nonpolar amino acids are hydrophobic due to θ > 90°, whereas all of the planar peptide networks of the polar and charged amino acids are hydrophilic due to θ < 90°. Planar peptide networks of the charged amino acids exhibit complete-wetting behavior due to θ = 0. Zhu et al. disclose that the amino acids comprising charged side chains include histidine, lysine, glutamate, arginine and aspartate (Table 1, p 12948).
Before the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make similar amino acid substitutions at position S68 of the DNase taught by Oestergaard et al. (SEQ ID NO:28) as a means of identifying DNase variants with improved properties including wash performance, detergent stability and/or storage stability. The obvious amino acid substitutions include those amino acids with similar charged amino acid side chains as taught by Oestergaard et al. which include histidine (i.e. S68H). The obvious amino acids include other charged amino acids such as lysine (i.e. S68K) as taught by Zhu et al.. It would have been further to include the obvious DNAse variant comprising a S68K substitution in a detergent composition comprising additional detergent adjunct ingredients such as taught by Oestergaard et al.. The expectation of success is high based upon the high level of skill in the art of recombinant protein engineering as exemplified by the teachings of Oestergaard et al. who teach all the methods required to make the obvious DNase variants.
Thus claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beier et al. (WO 2018/011276) and Zhu et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy, Vol 113, No. 46, pp 12496-12951, Nov 2016).
Remarks
No claim is allowed.
rgh
8/27/2026
/RICHARD G HUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652