CTFR 18/547,528 CTFR 84410 DETAILED ACTION Status of Case 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/20/2026. Claims 1-15 and 135-149 are pending, with claims 16-134 being cancelled. Response to Arguments 07-38 Applicant’s arguments filed on 4/20/2026 with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 8-9, 135-136, 142-143 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya (USPAN 2013/0303220) in view of Guo (USPAN 2020/0044797) and Haartsen (WO 2008/127165 A1) . Consider claims 1 and 135, Acharya discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see figure 4a, reproduced below for convenience, and paragraph 50, wherein disclosed is said method) , and a corresponding user equipment (UE) comprising a processing system (see figure 8(b) wherein disclosed is said UE comprising said processing system) comprising: reporting, to a base station, information indicating a set of channel properties of a wireless channel on which communication with the base station is configured, each of the set of channel properties being based on receiving a set of pilot signals from the base station (see paragraph 50: the BS transmits CSI-RS pilot signals to the UE and based on said CSI-RS pilot signals, the UE calculates CQI [i.e., channel properties] and reports the calculated CQI back to the serving BS) . PNG media_image1.png 380 552 media_image1.png Greyscale Although Acharya discloses resource allocation based on the information indicating the set of channel properties (see paragraph 91: information regarding the configuration determined by the CSI-RS resource configuration is transmitted to the UE 300 and the collaborating BS 200) , Acharya does not specifically disclose transmitting at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) in an SRS resource of an SRS resource set to the base station according to a configuration. Guo discloses transmitting at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) in an SRS resource of an SRS resource set to the base station according to a configuration (see abstract and paragraph 12: the UE transmits an SRS based on a SRS resource configuration) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Guo. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method that provides for low overhead and low latency in an advanced wireless communication system (see paragraph 9 of Guo) . Acharya does not specifically disclose that the information indicating the set of channel properties includes a Doppler spread indicating a coherence time of the wireless channel. Haartsen discloses that the information indicating the set of channel properties includes a Doppler spread indicating a coherence time of the wireless channel (see page 9 lines 14-20: the transmission quality and/or coherence properties of the communication channel 140 between the first node 120 and the at least one user equipment 110, 112, 114 may be based on an estimated parameter, or a plurality of estimated parameters, related to the transmission quality of the communication and/or coherence properties of the communication channel 140, such as e.g. mobile speed, Doppler spread, delay spread, coherence time, coherence bandwidth, Signal-to-Noise Ratio or path-loss, or a combination thereof) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Haartsen. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for scheduling transmission resources in a node in a cell comprised within a wireless communication network (see page 1 lines 4-7 of Haartsen) . Consider claims 2, 9, and 136, Acharya discloses determining the information indicating the set of channel properties based on receiving the set of pilot signals from the base station (see above) , and although Acharya discloses resource allocation based on the information indicating the set of channel properties (see paragraph 91: information regarding the configuration determined by the CSI-RS resource configuration is transmitted to the UE 300 and the collaborating BS 200) , Acharya does not specifically disclose receiving the configuration from the base station. Guo discloses receiving the configuration from the base station (see abstract and paragraph 12: the UE transmits an SRS based on a SRS resource configuration) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Guo. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method that provides for low overhead and low latency in an advanced wireless communication system (see paragraph 9 of Guo) . Consider claims 8 and 142, Acharya discloses a method of wireless communication at a base station (see figure 4a, reproduced below for convenience, and paragraph 50, wherein disclosed is said method) , and a corresponding base station comprising a processing system (see figure 8(b) wherein disclosed is said BS comprising said processing system) comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), information indicating a set of channel properties of a wireless channel on which communication with the UE is configured, each of the set of channel properties being based on a set of pilot signals transmitted on the wireless channel (see paragraph 50: the BS transmits CSI-RS pilot signals to the UE and based on said CSI-RS pilot signals, the UE calculates CQI [i.e., channel properties] and reports the calculated CQI back to the serving BS) . PNG media_image1.png 380 552 media_image1.png Greyscale Although Acharya discloses resource allocation based on the information indicating the set of channel properties (see paragraph 91: information regarding the configuration determined by the CSI-RS resource configuration is transmitted to the UE 300 and the collaborating BS 200) , Acharya does not specifically disclose receiving at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) in an SRS resource of an SRS resource set from the UE according to a configuration. Guo discloses receiving at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) in an SRS resource of an SRS resource set from the UE according to a configuration (see abstract and paragraph 12: the UE transmits an SRS based on a SRS resource configuration) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Guo. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method that provides for low overhead and low latency in an advanced wireless communication system (see paragraph 9 of Guo) . Acharya does not specifically disclose that the information indicating the set of channel properties includes a Doppler spread indicating a coherence time of the wireless channel. Haartsen discloses that the information indicating the set of channel properties includes a Doppler spread indicating a coherence time of the wireless channel (see page 9 lines 14-20: the transmission quality and/or coherence properties of the communication channel 140 between the first node 120 and the at least one user equipment 110, 112, 114 may be based on an estimated parameter, or a plurality of estimated parameters, related to the transmission quality of the communication and/or coherence properties of the communication channel 140, such as e.g. mobile speed, Doppler spread, delay spread, coherence time, coherence bandwidth, Signal-to-Noise Ratio or path-loss, or a combination thereof) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Haartsen. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for scheduling transmission resources in a node in a cell comprised within a wireless communication network (see page 1 lines 4-7 of Haartsen) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-4, 15, 137-138, and 149 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya (USPAN 2013/0303220) in view of Guo (USPAN 2020/0044797), Haartsen (WO 2008/127165 A1), and Ji (USPAN 2021/0250944) . Consider claims 3 and 137, although Acharya discloses determining the information indicating the set of channel properties, wherein the information indicating the set of channel properties comprising quantized values of at least two values (see above; the CQI that the UE reports to the BS) , Acharya does not specifically disclose calculating at least two values for an antenna port based on receiving the set of pilot signals, a first value of the at least two values being based on measurement of at least one Doppler shift on the antenna port and a second value of the at least two values being based on measurement of a delay spread on the antenna port; and quantizing each of the at least two values. Ji discloses calculating at least two values for an antenna port based on receiving the set of pilot signals, a first value of the at least two values being based on measurement of at least one Doppler shift on the antenna port and a second value of the at least two values being based on measurement of a delay spread on the antenna port; and quantizing each of the at least two values (see paragraph 104: two different antenna ports may be connected in a relationship of a (QCL) target antenna port and a (QCL) reference antenna port, and the terminal may apply (or assume) all or part of the statistical characteristics (e.g., a large scale parameter of a channel such as Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, average gain, spatial Rx (or Tx) parameter, or a reception spatial filter coefficient or a transmission spatial filter coefficient of the terminal) of the channel measured at the reference antenna port when receiving the target antenna port.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Ji. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for transmitting control information to multiple transmission points/panels/beams for the purpose of cooperative communications between multiple transmission points/panels/beams (see paragraph 2 of Ji) . Consider claims 4 and 138, although Acharya discloses determining the information indicating the set of channel properties, wherein the information indicating the set of channel properties comprising quantized values of at least two values (see above; the CQI that the UE reports to the BS) , Acharya does not specifically disclose the information indicating the set of channel properties comprises at least one of a Doppler shift that is measured on at least one antenna port based on at least one of the set of pilot signals, a Doppler spread calculated using the at least one Doppler shift, or a delay spread that is measured on at least one antenna port based on at least one of the set of pilot signals. Ji discloses the information indicating the set of channel properties comprises at least one of a Doppler shift that is measured on at least one antenna port based on at least one of the set of pilot signals, a Doppler spread calculated using the at least one Doppler shift, or a delay spread that is measured on at least one antenna port based on at least one of the set of pilot signals (see paragraph 104: two different antenna ports may be connected in a relationship of a (QCL) target antenna port and a (QCL) reference antenna port, and the terminal may apply (or assume) all or part of the statistical characteristics (e.g., a large scale parameter of a channel such as Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, average gain, spatial Rx (or Tx) parameter, or a reception spatial filter coefficient or a transmission spatial filter coefficient of the terminal) of the channel measured at the reference antenna port when receiving the target antenna port.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Ji. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for transmitting control information to multiple transmission points/panels/beams for the purpose of cooperative communications between multiple transmission points/panels/beams (see paragraph 2 of Ji) . Consider claims 15 and 149, although Acharya discloses determining the information indicating the set of channel properties, wherein the information indicating the set of channel properties comprising quantized values of at least two values (see above; the CQI that the UE reports to the BS) , Acharya does not specifically disclose the information indicating the set of channel properties comprises at least one quantized value corresponding to at least one of a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, or a delay spread. Ji discloses the information indicating the set of channel properties comprises at least one quantized value corresponding to at least one of a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, or a delay spread (see paragraph 104: two different antenna ports may be connected in a relationship of a (QCL) target antenna port and a (QCL) reference antenna port, and the terminal may apply (or assume) all or part of the statistical characteristics (e.g., a large scale parameter of a channel such as Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, average gain, spatial Rx (or Tx) parameter, or a reception spatial filter coefficient or a transmission spatial filter coefficient of the terminal) of the channel measured at the reference antenna port when receiving the target antenna port.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Ji. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for transmitting control information to multiple transmission points/panels/beams for the purpose of cooperative communications between multiple transmission points/panels/beams (see paragraph 2 of Ji) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-6, 10-13, 139-140, 144, 145-147 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya (USPAN 2013/0303220) in view of Guo (USPAN 2020/0044797), Haartsen (WO 2008/127165 A1), and Tomeba (USPAN 2019/0013912) . Consider claims 5, 11, 139, and 145 Acharya discloses information indicating the set of channel properties (see above) , but does not disclose a recommendation for at least one of a cover code, a difference of cyclic shifts, a comb size, or a cover code size. Tomeba discloses a recommendation for at least one of a cover code, a difference of cyclic shifts, a comb size, or a cover code size (see claim 15: second information indicating a cover code) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Tomeba. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for wireless communication that is capable of increasing the number of terminal apparatuses that can be spatially multiplexed in the uplink (see paragraph 10 of Tomeba) . Consider claims 6, 12, 140, and 146, Acharya discloses information indicating the set of channel properties (see above) , but does not disclose that the cover code comprises at least one of a time-domain orthogonal cover code (OCC) or a frequency-domain domain OCC. Tomeba discloses that the cover code comprises at least one of a time-domain orthogonal cover code (OCC) or a frequency-domain domain OCC (see claim 15: orthogonal cover code (OCC), which is in the frequency domain) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Tomeba. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for wireless communication that is capable of increasing the number of terminal apparatuses that can be spatially multiplexed in the uplink (see paragraph 10 of Tomeba) . Consider claims 10 and 144, Acharya discloses configuring a set of orthogonal resources for the at least one SRS resource on at least two antenna ports (see above) , but does not disclose using a cover code. Tomeba discloses using a cover code (see claim 15: orthogonal cover code (OCC), which is in the frequency domain) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Tomeba. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for wireless communication that is capable of increasing the number of terminal apparatuses that can be spatially multiplexed in the uplink (see paragraph 10 of Tomeba) . Consider claims 13, 143, and 147, Acharya discloses information indicating the set of channel properties and configuring at least one SRS resource on at least one antenna port (see above) , but does not disclose that the cover code comprises at least one of a time-domain orthogonal cover code (OCC) or a frequency-domain domain OCC. Tomeba discloses that the cover code comprises at least one of a time-domain orthogonal cover code (OCC) or a frequency-domain domain OCC (see claim 15: orthogonal cover code (OCC), which is in the frequency domain) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Tomeba. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for wireless communication that is capable of increasing the number of terminal apparatuses that can be spatially multiplexed in the uplink (see paragraph 10 of Tomeba) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7, 14, 141, and 148 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya (USPAN 2013/0303220) in view of Guo (USPAN 2020/0044797), Haartsen (WO 2008/127165 A1), and Su (USPAN 2019/0363844) . Consider claims 7, 14, 141, and 148, Acharya disclose information indicating the set of channel properties comprises a recommendation (see above) , but Acharya does not specifically disclose that the recommendation indicates at least one of a delay spread of the set of channel properties or a mobility status of the UE. Su discloses that a recommendation indicates at least one of a delay spread of the set of channel properties or a mobility status of the UE (see paragraph 173: the network side can determine the DMRS parameter according to a configuration or a system default value, where in the implementation in which the network side configures the DMRS parameter according to the recommendation information transmitted by the terminal, the terminal can measure a channel by measuring a movement speed, a Doppler spread, a Doppler shift, a delay spread, an attainable throughput, a predicated error probability, or another parameter, and further recommend the DMRS parameter for the network side according to a measurement result) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Acharya and combine it with the noted teachings of Su. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method of transmission that allows for the quality of channel estimation to be improved (see paragraphs 4-6 of Su) . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jamal Javaid whose telephone number is 571-270-5137 and email address is Jamal.Javaid@uspto.gov. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /JAMAL JAVAID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/547,528 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412