Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 with respect Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that the prior art of Zheyang (JP6445370B2) does not teaches “in the second step, the push-in amount sequentially decreases to zero from the upstream side to the downstream side”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case:
Hiroaki discloses a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.4, paragraphs 001 and 0030), the method comprising:
a first step of feeding (fig.4: the wire (W) is feeding to the device (16) from the right side) the wire material while pressing the wire material by a first roller group (fig.4: (16)) including a plurality of rollers (fig.4: (51-52)) driven by a motor (Hiroaki does not explicitly disclose a motor, however, the device of the Hiroaki must have a motor in order to operate the rollers); and
a second step of feeding the wire material while pressing the wire material by a second roller group (fig.4: (17)) including a plurality of rotatably supported rollers (fig.4: (45-55)),
wherein the first step is provided upstream of the second step (fig.4), and
a push-in amount that is a difference between an outer dimension of the wire material and a gap between rollers of the plurality of rollers of the first roller group and the plurality of rotatably supported rollers of the second roller group, through which the wire material passes is larger in the first step than in the second step (paragraph 0030).
So, the prior art of Hiroaki discloses the second step; and
Hiroaki does not disclose in the second step the push-in amount sequentially decreases to zero from the upstream side to the downstream side;
Further, Zheyang teaches a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.1, paragraphs 001 and 0019-20), the method comprising:
a roller group including a plurality of rollers, a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first step of the method of Hiroaki to have a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side as taught by Zheyang in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016). Thereby having in the second step the push-in amount sequentially decreases from the upstream side to the downstream side.
Hiroaki in view of Zheyang does not disclose decreases to zero from the upstream side to the downstream side;
However, Zheyang teaches a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a push-in amount to be as desired depending on the amount of distortion to be corrected, including wherein in the second step, the push-in amount sequentially decreases to zero from the upstream side to the downstream side, as a matter of routine engineering design choice, in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016).
Accordingly; this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroaki (JP2007229745A attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Zheyang (JP6445370B2 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Hiroaki discloses a wire material shaping device (fig.4, paragraphs 001 and 0030) comprising:
a feeding unit that feeds a wire material (fig.4: the wire (W) is feeding to the device (16) from the right side);
a first roller group (fig.4: (16)) including a plurality of rollers (fig.4: (51-52)) driven by a motor (Hiroaki does not explicitly disclose a motor, however, the device of the Hiroaki must have a motor in order to operate the rollers) to press the wire material fed by the feeding unit; and
a second roller group (fig.4: (17)) that includes a plurality of rollers (fig.4: (45-55)) configured to further press the wire material pressed by the first roller group and is rotatably supported,
wherein a push- in amount that is a difference between an outer dimension of the wire material and a gap between rollers of the plurality of rollers of the first roller group and the plurality of rotatably supported rollers of the second roller group, through which the wire material passes is larger in the first roller group than in the second roller group (paragraph 0030); and
wherein the push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side (fig.4: the upstream side at element (16)) to a downstream side (fig.4: the downstream side at element (18)) (paragraph 0030)
Hiroaki does not disclose decreases to zero;
However, Hiroaki teaches wherein the push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side (fig.4: the upstream side at element (16)) to a downstream side (fig.4: the downstream side at element (18)) (paragraph 0030)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a push-in amount to be as desired depending on the amount of distortion to be corrected, including wherein the push-in amount sequentially decreases to zero from an upstream side to a downstream side, as a matter of routine engineering design choice, in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016).
Regarding claim 10, Hiroaki does not disclose wherein a minimum push-in amount in the first roller group is at least 10 times a maximum push-in amount in the second roller group.
However, Hiroaki discloses wherein a push- in amount that is a difference between an outer dimension of the wire material and a gap between rollers through which the wire material passes is larger in the first roller group than in the second roller group (paragraph 0030);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a minimum push-in amount in the first roller group relative to a maximum push-in amount in the second roller as desired depending on the amount of distortion to be corrected, including a minimum push-in amount in the first roller group is at least 10 times a maximum push-in amount in the second roller group, as a matter of routine engineering design choice.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroaki (JP2007229745A attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Zheyang (JP6445370B2 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Hiroaki discloses a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.4, paragraphs 001 and 0030), the method comprising:
a first step of feeding (fig.4: the wire (W) is feeding to the device (16) from the right side) the wire material while pressing the wire material by a first roller group (fig.4: (16)) including a plurality of rollers (fig.4: (51-52)) driven by a motor (Hiroaki does not explicitly disclose a motor, however, the device of the Hiroaki must have a motor in order to operate the rollers); and
a second step of feeding the wire material while pressing the wire material by a second roller group (fig.4: (17)) including a plurality of rotatably supported rollers (fig.4: (45-55)),
wherein the first step is provided upstream of the second step (fig.4), and
a push-in amount that is a difference between an outer dimension of the wire material and a gap between rollers of the plurality of rollers of the first roller group and the plurality of rotatably supported rollers of the second roller group, through which the wire material passes is larger in the first step than in the second step (paragraph 0030).
Hiroaki does not disclose in the second step the push-in amount sequentially decreases to zero from the upstream side to the downstream side;
Further, Zheyang teaches a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.1, paragraphs 001 and 0019-20), the method comprising:
a roller group including a plurality of rollers, a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first step of the method of Hiroaki to have a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side as taught by Zheyang in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016). Thereby having in the second step the push-in amount sequentially decreases from the upstream side to the downstream side.
Hiroaki in view of Zheyang does not disclose decreases to zero from the upstream side to the downstream side;
However, Zheyang teaches a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a push-in amount to be as desired depending on the amount of distortion to be corrected, including wherein in the second step, the push-in amount sequentially decreases to zero from the upstream side to the downstream side, as a matter of routine engineering design choice, in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016).
Regarding claim 2, Hiroaki does not disclose wherein in the first step, the push-in amount sequentially decreases from the upstream side to the downstream side.
Zheyang teaches a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.1, paragraphs 001 and 0019-20), the method comprising:
a roller group including a plurality of rollers, a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Both of the prior arts of Hiroaki and Zheyang a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first step of the method of Hiroaki to have a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side as taught by Zheyang in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016). Thereby having wherein in the first step, the push-in amount sequentially decreases from the upstream side to the downstream side.
Regarding claim 4, Hiroaki in view of Zheyang does not disclose wherein a minimum push-in amount in the first step is at least 10 times as large as a maximum push-in amount in the second step;
However, Hiroaki discloses push-in amount that is a difference between an outer dimension of the wire material and a gap between rollers through which the wire material passes is larger in the first step than in the second step (paragraph 0030);
Further, select a minimum push-in amount in the first step relative to a maximum push-in amount in the second step would have resulted from routine engineering practices depending on the amount of the amount of distortion to be corrected;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a minimum push-in amount in the first step relative to a maximum push-in amount in the second step as desired, including a minimum push-in amount in the first step is at least 10 times as large as a maximum push-in amount in the second step, as a matter of routine engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 5, Hiroaki discloses a third step of feeding the wire material by a third roller group (fig.4: (18)) including a plurality of rotatably supported rollers (fig.4: (57-58)), wherein the third step is provided downstream of the second step (fig.4: (17)), and
Hiroaki does not disclose the push-in amount in the third step is zero.
Zheyang teaches a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.1, paragraphs 001 and 0019-20), the method comprising:
a roller group including a plurality of rollers, a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Both of the prior arts of Hiroaki and Zheyang a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third step of the method of Hiroaki to have a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side as taught by Zheyang in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016). Thereby having wherein in the first step, the push-in amount sequentially decreases from the upstream side to the downstream side.
Hiroaki in view of Zheyang does not disclose the push-in amount in the third step is zero;
However, Zheyang teaches a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a push-in amount to be as desired depending on the amount of distortion to be corrected, including wherein in the third step, the push-in amount in the third step is zero, as a matter of routine engineering design choice, in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016).
Regarding claim 8, Hiroaki discloses wherein the first roller group (fig.4: (16)) is placed between the feeding unit fig.4: the wire (W) is feeding to the device (16) from the right side) and the second roller group (fig.4: (17)),
Hiroaki does not disclose the push-in amount in the first roller group sequentially decreases from the feeding unit to the second roller group.
Zheyang teaches a device for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.1, paragraphs 001 and 0019-20), the device comprising:
a roller group including a plurality of rollers, a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Both of the prior arts of Hiroaki and Zheyang a wire material shaping device that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first roller group of Hiroaki to have a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side as taught by Zheyang in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016). Thereby having the push-in amount in the first roller group sequentially decreases from the feeding unit to the second roller group.
Regarding claim 9, Hiroaki in view of Zheyang does not disclose wherein the push-in amount in the second roller group sequentially decreases to zero from the first roller group to an opposite side.
However, Zheyang teaches a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a push-in amount to be as desired depending on the amount of distortion to be corrected, including wherein the push-in amount in the second roller group sequentially decreases to zero from the first roller group to an opposite side, as a matter of routine engineering design choice, in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016).
Regarding claim 11, Hiroaki discloses further comprising a third roller group (fig.4: (18)) rotatably supported and including a plurality of rollers (fig.4: (57-58)) that further press the wire material pressed by the second roller group (fig.4: (17)),
wherein the push- in amount in the third roller group is zero.
Hiroaki does not disclose the push-in amount in the third step is zero.
Zheyang teaches a device for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.1, paragraphs 001 and 0019-20), the device comprising:
a roller group including a plurality of rollers, a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side of the roller group (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Both of the prior arts of Hiroaki and Zheyang a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third roller group of Hiroaki to have a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side as taught by Zheyang in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016). Thereby having wherein in the first step, the push-in amount sequentially decreases from the upstream side to the downstream side.
Hiroaki in view of Zheyang does not disclose the push-in amount in the third step is zero;
However, Zheyang teaches a push-in amount sequentially decreases from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.1: (14a), paragraphs 001 and 0019-20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a push-in amount to be as desired depending on the amount of distortion to be corrected, including wherein in the third step, the push-in amount in the third step is zero, as a matter of routine engineering design choice, in order to achieved a high straightness (Zheyang: paragraphs 0015-0016).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroaki (JP2007229745A attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Okada (JPH04119921U attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Hiroaki does not disclose wherein a surface of each roller constituting the first roller group is urethane rubber.
Okada teaches a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.4, paragraphs 001-003 and 0008-0009), the method comprising:
a surface of each roller constituting a first roller group is urethane rubber (paragraphs 0008-0009).
Both of the prior arts of Hiroaki and Okada a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first roller group of the method of Hiroaki to have a surface is urethane rubber as taught by Okada in order to prevent destructive phenomena such as peeling and cracking (Okada: paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 12, Hiroaki does not disclose wherein a surface of each roller constituting the first roller group is urethane rubber.
Okada teaches a device for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side (fig.4, paragraphs 001-003 and 0008-0009), the device comprising:
a surface of each roller constituting a first roller group is urethane rubber (paragraphs 0008-0009).
Both of the prior arts of Hiroaki and Okada a method for shaping a wire material that moves from an upstream side to a downstream side;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first roller group of the device of Hiroaki to have a surface is urethane rubber as taught by Okada in order to prevent destructive phenomena such as peeling and cracking (Okada: paragraph 0007).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725