DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Reul fails to disclose planar-layer geometry of the carrier film, so cannot disclose the newly added limitation. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Reul clearly discloses a planar overlap between the second adhesive layer and the carrier film (as annotated in the rejection of claim 1 below). For the period of overlaps, both elements are clearly planar. Therefore, Reul does disclose that in a region in which the at least one second adhesive layer extends, the carrier film extends as a single planar layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reul (US Publication No.: US 2010/0294566 A1 of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Reul discloses a connecting element (Figure 1, connecting element 4) comprising:
At least one flat conductor, which is arranged on a first side of an electrically insulating carrier film (Figure 1, carrier film 6, flat conductor 5), wherein
The at least one flat conductor has at least one first connection region with at least one first solder deposit and at least one second connection region with at least one second solder deposit (Figure 1, first solder deposit 3, second solder deposit 8), and
At least one second adhesive layer, which is arranged below and/or next to the at least one second connection region and a second side of the electrically insulating carrier film facing away from the first side (Figure 1, second adhesive layer 7), wherein
In a region in which the at least one second adhesive layer extends, the carrier film extends as a single planar layer (Figure 1, as annotated below, clearly discloses a single planar layer of the carrier film in the portion where the carrier film overlaps with the second adhesive layer).
Regarding Claim 2, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 1, wherein at least one first adhesive layer is arranged around the at least one first connection region on the first side of the electrically insulating carrier film (Figure 2, one first adhesive layer 11; Paragraph 0032).
Regarding Claim 7, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 1, wherein the electrically insulating carrier film in the at least one first connection region and/or the one second connection region is in each case formed as a strip (Figure 1 discloses the carrier film 6 formed as a strip).
Regarding Claim 8, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 7, wherein at least one sealing element is arranged on the connection region that connects the strip (Figure 2, sealing element 11 connects strips 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 1, wherein the at least one flat conductor contains or consists of a metal (Paragraph 0026).
Regarding Claim 18, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 2, wherein the at least one first adhesive layer is arranged at least in portions around the first solder deposit (Figure 2, first adhesive layer 11 is arranged in portions around the first solder deposit 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 12, 16-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reul in view of Christman et al (US Publication No.: US 2023/0299517 A1, “Christman”).
Regarding Claim 3, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 1.
Reul fails to disclose that a cover film is arranged at least in portions on the first side of the electrically insulating carrier film and one the at least one flat conductor.
However, Christman discloses a similar connecting element where a cover film is arranged at least in portions on the first side of the electrically insulating carrier film and one the at least one flat conductor (Christman, Figure 10, cover film 17f).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting element as disclosed by Reul to include a cover film as disclosed by Christman. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of protecting and isolating conductor elements (Christman, Paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 4, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 2, wherein at least one first adhesive layer is arranged around the at least one first connection region on the first side of the electrically insulating carrier film (Reul, Figure 2 discloses that the first adhesive layer 11 is arranged around the first connection region 8/9).
Reul fails to disclose that a cover film and/or the first adhesive layer have, adjacent to the first solder deposit, at least one recess.
However, Christman discloses a similar connecting element where a cover film and/or the first adhesive layer have, adjacent to the first solder deposit, at least one recess (Christman, Figure 10 discloses a cover film 17f which has recesses corresponding to the first solder deposit 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting element as disclosed by Reul to include a cover film as disclosed by Christman. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of protecting and isolating conductor elements (Christman, Paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 5, Reul in view of Christman discloses the connecting element according to claim 4.
Reul fails to disclose that the electrically insulating carrier film, the cover film, and/or the at least one second adhesive layer are opaque and electrically insulating.
However, Christman discloses a similar connecting film where the electrically insulating carrier film, the cover film, and/or the at least one second adhesive layer are opaque and electrically insulating (Christman, Paragraph 0045 discloses an opaque print of the carrier film 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting element as disclosed by Reul to include an opaque carrier film as disclosed by Christman. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing conduction (Christman, Paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 6, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 1.
Reul fails to disclose that two flat conductors are arranged on a carrier film and the carrier film has a double-T contour, wherein a connection region is arranged on a leg of the double-T contour.
However, Christman discloses a similar connecting film where two flat conductors are arranged on a carrier film and the carrier film has a double-T contour, wherein a connection region is arranged on a leg of the double-T contour (Christman, Figure 10, two flat conductors 30 are arranged in a double T contour, where Figure 8 discloses each single T contour, and the connection region 21 is on the leg of the double-T contour).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting element as disclosed by Reul to include a double-T contour as disclosed by Christman. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing conduction (Christman, Paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 12, Reul discloses a method for soldering a connecting element according to claim 1 with a busbar.
Reul fails to disclose that the method comprises providing at least one busbar with a heat-activatable, electrically conductive adhesive layer, a conductor track, and an opaque, electrically insulating covering; removing the covering of the busbar in a region to be soldered and exposing a portion to be soldered of the conductor track of the busbar, arranging the first adhesive layer of the connecting element on the busbar in such a way that the first solder deposit is located directly above or in contact with the exposed portion of the busbar, and applying at least one soldering tip to the second side of the electrically insulating carrier film substantially congruently to the first solder deposit and heating the solder deposit so that a solder connection is formed between the at least one flat conductor and the busbar.
Christman also fails to explicitly disclose the method as claimed. However, Christman discloses a method of providing at least one busbar with a heat-activatable, electrically conductive adhesive layer, a conductor track, and an opaque, electrically insulating covering (Christman, Paragraph 0045), wherein the first adhesive layer is arranged in such a way that the first solder deposit is located directly above or in contact with the exposed portion of the busbar (Christman, Paragraph 0050). When a limitation of a claim is a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which when modified achieves a recognized result, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges for the variable by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). In the instant claim recitation, the limitation regarding the exact method of applying at least one soldering tip to the second side of the electrically insulating carrier film substantially congruently to the first solder deposit and heating the solder deposit so that a solder connection is formed between the at least one flat conductor and the busbar is the result-effective variable, and when this method is optimized to the appropriate precision within the specified parameters of a given glazing, the recognized results of achieving optimized conduction are realized. While Christman does not directly disclose that applying at least one soldering tip to the second side of the electrically insulating carrier film substantially congruently to the first solder deposit and heating the solder deposit so that a solder connection is formed between the at least one flat conductor and the busbar, Christman does disclose the general conditions recited in the instant claim, as noted above. In light of the disclosure of Christman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to discover the limitation by routine experimentation a step of applying at least one soldering tip to the second side of the electrically insulating carrier film substantially congruently to the first solder deposit and heating the solder deposit so that a solder connection is formed between the at least one flat conductor and the busbar for the purpose of achieving optimized conduction.
Regarding Claim 16, Reul discloses a method comprising a providing a connect element according to claim 1.
Reul fails to disclose that the method comprises electrically contacting a busbar, which is bonded and electrically conductively connected to an electrically conductive coating and/or an electrically controllable functional element by means of an electrically conductive, head-activatable adhesive.
However, Christman discloses a similar method comprising electrically contacting a busbar, which is bonded and electrically conductively connected to an electrically conductive coating and/or an electrically controllable functional element by means of an electrically conductive, head-activatable adhesive (Christman, Paragraph 0045; Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Reul to include a step of electrically contacting a busbar as disclosed by Christman. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing conduction (Christman, Paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 17, Reul discloses the connecting element according to claim 1.
Reul fails to disclose that the connecting element contacts an electrically conductive coating and/or an electrically controllable functional element in an insulated glazing.
However, Christman discloses a similar element where the connecting element contacts an electrically conductive coating and/or an electrically controllable functional element in an insulated glazing (Christman, Figure 10, connecting element 30, conductive coating 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting element as disclosed by Reul to include an electrically conductive coating as disclosed by Christman. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of protecting and isolating conductor elements (Christman, Paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 19, Reul in view of Christman discloses the connecting element according to claim 3.
Reul fails to disclose that the cover film is arranged substantially completely on the first side of the electrically insulating carrier film and on the at least one flat conductor.
However, Christman discloses a similar element where the cover film is arranged substantially completely on the first side of the electrically insulating carrier film and on the at least one flat conductor (Christman, Figure 10, cover film 17f completely covers the flat conductor 30 and is disposed on the carrier film 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting element as disclosed by Reul to include a cover film as disclosed by Christman. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of protecting and isolating conductor elements (Christman, Paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 20, Reul in view of Christman discloses the connecting element according to claim 4.
Reul fails to disclose that the at least one recess extends up to the edge of the electrically insulating carrier film.
However, Christman discloses a similar element where the at least one recess extends up to the edge of the electrically insulating carrier film (Christman, the recess of the cover film 17f extends up to the carrier film 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting element as disclosed by Reul to include a cover film as disclosed by Christman. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of protecting and isolating conductor elements (Christman, Paragraph 0058).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reul in view of Christman in further view of Bronstein et al (US Publication No.: US 2022/0219254 A1, “Bronstein”).
Regarding Claim 13, Reul in view of Christman discloses the method according to claim 12.
Reul fails to disclose that the temperature of the soldering tip is selected such that the adhesive layer of the busbar is heat below the soldering point to a maximum temperature of less than 300°C, preferable less than 250°C, and in particular less than or equal to 230°C.
However, Bronstein discloses a similar method where the temperature of the soldering tip is selected such that the adhesive layer of the busbar is heat below the soldering point to a maximum temperature of less than 300°C, preferable less than 250°C, and in particular less than or equal to 230°C (Bronstein, Paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the soldering tip as disclosed by Reul to have a particular temperature as disclosed by Bronstein. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving adhesion (Bronstein, Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 14, Reul in view of Christman discloses the method according to claim 12.
Reul fails to disclose that a maximum temperature at the soldering element of less than or equal to 450°C.
However, Bronstein discloses a similar method where a maximum temperature at the soldering element of less than or equal to 450°C (Bronstein, Paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the soldering tip as disclosed by Reul to have a particular temperature as disclosed by Bronstein. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving adhesion (Bronstein, Paragraph 0024).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 15 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871