DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 13-14, and 16-22 are pending in this office action. Claims 16-22 are new. Claims 7, 10-12, and 15 are cancelled. All pending claims are under examination in this application.
Priority
The current application was filed on August 23, 2023 is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/054531 filed February 23, 2022. The current application claims foreign priority to EP21160052.3 filed on March 1, 2021.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-19 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 17-19 capitalize “Smectite”. Please use lower case.
Claim 21 is a new claim, yet it has an “-_” within the body of the claim indicating that it was amended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 13-14, 16-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlatter et al. (WO2006/024333A2) in view of Pasternak et al. (US2019/0001308A1), Heath (WO2018/206253A1), and Ishibashi et al. (US2018/0139956A1).
[The Examiner is going to introduce each reference and then combine them where appropriate to reject the instant claims.]
1. Schlatter et al.
Schlatter et al. is considered the closest prior art as it teaches aqueous neonicotinoid compositions for seed treatment (see title). Furthermore, Schlatter et al. disclose an aqueous composition suitable for applying insecticides or acaricides to plant propagation materials comprising water, an insecticidally or acaricidally effective amount of at least one nitroimino- or nitroguanidino-compound in free form or in agrochemical useful salt form and a blend of the following components, by weight: a) 2 - 10% of a surface-active agent comprising a) at least one anionic surfactant; b) 4 - 20% of at least one inorganic solid carrier; and c) 3 - 25% of at least one antifreeze agent. In one embodiment, the aqueous composition further comprises a fungicidally effective amount of at least one fungicidally active compound. The inventive composition is storage stable, ready-to-apply (RTA), ecologically and toxicologically favorable and has
good fungicidal efficacy (see abstract).
2. Pasternak et al.
Pasternak et al. teach method for the production of new nanomaterials (see title). In addition, Pasternak et al. disclose a method for producing new nanomaterials, 80 to 100 mol% of which are composed of TiO2 and 0 to 20 mol% are composed of another metal or semi-metal oxide that has a specific surface of 100 to 300 m2.g-1 and 1 to 3 hydroxyl groups per nm2 (see abstract).
These nanomaterials have found value in both pesticides and herbicides (see paragraph [0093] within Pasternak et al.).
3. Heath
Heath teaches pesticide compositions (see title). Additionally, Heath discloses a composition for treating seeds that includes talc and propylene glycol to reduce drying times of the composition once applied to the seed (see abstract).
4. Ishibashi et al.
Ishibashi et al. teach microcapsule suspension (see title). Also, Ishibashi et al. disclose that the present invention relates to a microcapsule suspension
containing (1) an oil core compound having a pesticide active agent dispersed in an oil compound, (2) an aqueous solution containing a polycationic colloid and a polyanionic
colloid in a ratio that the polycationic colloid is from 0.02 to 1 % by weight and the polyanionic colloid is from 0.02 to 2% by weight, and (3) a pH adjuster (see abstract).
Combination of Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath
Regarding instant claim 1, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach a pesticidal composition. The necessary citations of Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath that pertain to instant claim 1 are presented in Table I.
Table I
Instant Claim 1
Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath Citations
A pesticidal composition comprising: (a) a compound of formula (I) at an amount from 40% to 60% by weight, with respect to the total weight of the composition:
or an agrochemically acceptable salt, stereoisomer, enantiomer, tautomer or N-oxide thereof;
(b) water at an amount from 30% to 50% by weight, with respect to the total weight of the composition; and
(c) a surfactant system at an amount from 4% to 10% by weight, with respect to the total weight of the composition, comprising: at least one block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide of formula (II):
HO-(CH2CH2O)x-(CH(CH3)CH2O)y-(CH2CH2O)x’-H (II) wherein x and x', equal to or different from each other, are integers from 70 to 120, and y is an integer from 20 to 45, and wherein the polyoxyethylene:polyoxypropylene chain length ratio is from 4:1 to 7:1, and
Schlatter et al. disclose aqueous compositions comprising thiamethoxam [see claim 1 within Schlatter et al.; compound of formula (I)] and further components which can be a lignin sulfonate; Reax™ (see page 10, surface active agent within Schlatter et al.), Pluronic (see page 13, additional components within Schlatter et al.), a clay (see page 12, inorganic carrier within Schlatter et al.) and a thickener (see page 14, optional ingredient within Schlatter et al.) such as guar gum, locust bean gum, xanthan gum, carrageenan, alginate salt, casein, dextran, pectin or agar (see page 14, lines 11-12 within Schlatter et al.). These compositions which can comprise additional pesticides are used against insects and a variety of other pests (see page 16, Use within Schlatter et al.); Example 1 discloses a mixture comprising Pluronic, Reax™, and a xanthan gum which should be mixed with the active agent, which is one compound selected from thiamethoxam, imidacloprid, thiacloprid, nitenpyram and acetamiprid (see Example 1 within Schlatter et al.).
Furthermore, Schlatter et al. disclose that the term insecticide or insecticidally when used herein in connection with neonicotinoid compounds is intended to include or refer to both insecticidally and acaricidally active compounds (see page 4, lines 18-20 within Schlatter et al.). The insecticidally or acaracidally active compound or compound mixture is present in the composition in an amount of from about 0.5 % to about 50% by weight (see page 7, lines 12-14 within Schlatter et al.).
Schlatter et al. disclose water is present within Table IV (combination of thiamethoxam with fungicides) for Example 11 at 34.1% by weight (see page 27 within Schlatter et al.).
Schlatter et al. disclose 2 - 10% of at least one surface-active agent, comprising at least one anionic surfactant (see claim 1 within Schlatter et al.).
All of these w/w values are overlapping with the instant claim 1 limitations.
Schlatter et al. does not disclose the correct block copolymer (Pluronic).
But, Paternak et al. disclose both Pluronic F68 and F88 having the correct x and x’ (76/29 and 103/39 respectively) (see PTO-892 NPL U and V; NF). Furthermore, these block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide of formula (II) both have the appropriate chain length ratios of polyoxyethylene:polyoxypropylene at ~5.2.
At least one alkoxylated lignosulfonate salt of formula (III):
(III) wherein R2 and R3, equal to or different from each other, are independently selected from - CH2CH2-, - CH(CH3)CH2- and -CH2CH2CH2CH2-, i, j and k, equal to or different from each other, are 0 or integers from 1 to 15, with the proviso that at least one of i, j and k is different from 0, and X is sodium or potassium,
Schlatter et al. disclose the use of Reax 825™ an ethoxylated lignin sulfonate (see page 10, line 30 within Schlater et al.) which does not match the desired substitiuents.
However, Heath discloses use of Reax 1425e™ a lignin sulfonate ethoxylate which matches the claim limitation of instant claim 1 (see paragraph [0030] within Heath).
(d) at least one clay at an amount from 0.08% to 1.2% by weight, with respect to the total weight of the composition and (e) at least one heteropolysaccharide at an amount from 0.06% to 0.15% by weight, with respect to the total weight of the composition.
Schlatter et al. disclose the use of attapulgite-clay, that can be used both as an inorganic carrier (see page 12, lines 1-11 within Schlatter et al.) and as a thickener at a level of about 0.01 to about 25% w/w (see page 14, lines 17-20 within Schlatter et al.).
Schlatter et al. disclose the heteropolysaccharides pectin, guar gum, alginate salt, agar, and xanthan gum as thickeners comprising about 0.01 to about 25% w/w (see page 14, lines 7-15 within Schlatter et al.).
Again, all of these w/w values are overlapping with the instant claim 1 limitations.
Therefore, a skilled artisan (POSITA; person having ordinary skill in the art) would combine the Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and the Heath references under routine experimental conditions to afford the pesticide formulation of the present application. All references are within the pesticide arts and are thus analogous art.
Therefore, a skilled artisan (POSITA) would use the Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and the Heath references to teach every element of instant claim 1.
The remaining instant claims within this 35 U.S.C. § 103 section are directly or indirectly dependent on instant claim 1 and are taught in full by the combination of Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath.
Regarding instant claims 2-4, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach wherein in the block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide of formula (II) x and x', equal to or different from each other, are integers from 75 to 85, and is an integer from 25 to 35, and wherein the polyoxyethylene:polyoxypropylene chain length ratio is from 5:1 to 6:1. Paternak et al. disclose both Pluronic F68 having the correct x and x’ (76/29) (see PTO-892 NPL U; NF). Furthermore, this block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide of formula (II) has the appropriate chain length ratios of polyoxyethylene:polyoxypropylene at ~5.2.
Regarding instant claim 5, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach wherein in the alkoxylated lignosulfonate salt of formula (III) when any of R2 and R3 is -CH2CH2, i, j and k, equal to or different from each other, are integers from 1 to 12, preferably from 1 to 4, more preferably from 1 to 3. Heath discloses use of Reax 1425e™, a lignin sulfonate ethoxylate, which matches the claim limitation of instant claim 5 (see paragraph [0030] within Heath).
Regarding instant claim 6, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach wherein the surfactant system comprises: from 35% to 40% by weight, with respect to the total weight of the surfactant system, of at least one polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymer of formula (II); and from 60% to 65% by weight, with respect to the total weight of the surfactant system, of at least one alkoxylated lignosulfonate salt of formula (III).
Schlatter et al. disclose a surface-active agent system (see page 10, surface active agent, within Schlatter et al.). Furthermore, Schlatter et al. disclose that the aqueous compositions contain at least about 2% up to about 10% by weight of a surface-active agent comprising at least one anionic surfactant (see page 10 lines 2-6 within Schlatter et al.). This includes an ethoxylated lignin sulfonate, Reax 825™(see page 10 line 30 within Schlatter et al.).
Additionally, Schlatter et al. disclose that the aqueous compositions generally contain from about 0% to about 10% by weight of the composition of polymer (d) (see page 13, additional components, lines 5-6 within Schlatter et al.). Specific examples of suitable polymers include Pluronic P103 (BASF) (EO-PO-EO block copolymer), Pluronic P65 (BASF) (EO-PO-EO block copolymer), Pluronic P108 (BASF)(EO-PO-EO block copolymer)…” (see page 13, lines 29-31 within Schlatter et al.).
Therefore, the ratio of 3.5-4% block copolymer divided by 6-6.5% surface-active agent will afford the instant claim 6 limitation.
Regarding instant claims 8-9, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach said composition further comprising: (d) at least one clay; and (e) at least one heteropolysaccharide. Schlatter et al. disclose inorganic solid carrier at a level of about 4 and up to about 20% of which can include clay (see page 12, lines 2-11 within Schlatter et al.). Instead of an inorganic carrier, the attapulgite-clay can also act as a thickener (see the discussion within instant claim 1). In addition, Schlatter et al. disclose the use of a heteropolysaccharide such as xantham gum as a thickener in an amount from about 0.01% to about 25% w/w (see page 14, lines 5-12 within Schlatter et al.).
Thus, this can afford a ratio of clay (4-20%) divided by heteropolysaccharide 0.01-25%) of 9:1 to 10:1 (for example, 20% clay / 2% heteropolysaccharide = 10:1). [Alternatively, if the attapulgite-clay is categorized as a thickener and a skilled artisan uses the instant claim 1 limitations we can arrive at a 10:1 ratio (for example, 1.2% clay / 0.11% heteropolysaccharide = 10:1).]
Regarding instant claim 14, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach wherein the plant is selected from the group consisting of cereals, vegetables, field crops, oil seed crops, forage crops and fiber crops. Schlatter et al. disclose “a method wherein said plant propagation material is a plant seed selected from potatoes, wheat, barley, rye, oats, rice, maize, sugar beet, cotton, sorghum, sun flowers, beans, peas, canola, rape, soybeans, cabbages, tomatoes, eggplants and pepper.” (see claim 17 within Schlatter et al.).
Regarding instant claim 15, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach the use of the pesticidal composition as an insecticide, acaracide, nematicide or molluscicide. Please see the discussion and citation within instant claim 13 (insecticide).
Regarding instant claim 16, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach the pesticidal composition comprising (a1) through (d1). Please see the citations and discussion within instant claim 1 for the necessary rejection text.
Regarding instant claim 17, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach the pesticidal composition comprising (a1) through (d1). Please see the citations and discussion within instant claim 1 for the necessary rejection text. Additionally, the ethoxylated lignin sulfonate variant disclosed by Schlatter et al. classify as a surfactant and are used from 2 - 10% w/w (see claim 1 within Schlatter et al.). The block copolymer variant also disclosed by Schlatter et al. is classified as a film-forming polymer and the compositions contain from about 1.0% up to about 5% by weight (see page 13 within Schlatter et al.). The Smectite clay of (d1) would not be added to the composition.
Regarding instant claims 18 and 20, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., and Heath teach the pesticidal composition comprising (a1) through (d1). Please see the citations and discussion within instant claims 1 and 17 for the necessary rejection text.
Combination of Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al.
Regarding instant claim 13, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. teach a method of controlling insects, acarines, nematodes or molluscs in field crops which comprises applying an insecticidally, acaricidally, nematicidally or molluscicidally effective amount between 1 to 2000 l/ha of the pesticidal composition according to instant claim 1 to a pest, a locus of pest, to a plant susceptible to attack by a pest or to plant a propagation material thereof. Schlatter et al. disclose “a method of protecting plant propagation material against attack by insects and phytopathogenic fungi which comprises treating said plant propagation material with a pesticidally effective amount of a composition…” (see claim 16 within Schlatter et al.). Furthermore, Ishibashi et al. disclose an application level of 30 g/ha (see Example 3, Table 2 within Ishibashi et al.).
Regarding instant claim 21, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. teach a method of controlling insects, acarines, nematodes or molluscs in field crops, which comprises applying an insecticidally, acaricidally, nematicidally or molluscicidally effective amount between 1 to 2000 l/ha of the pesticidal composition according to instant claim 16 to a pest, a locus of pest, to a plant susceptible to attack by a pest or to plant a propagation material thereof. Please see the citations and discussion within instant claim 13 and 16 for the necessary rejection text.
Regarding instant claim 22, Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. teach wherein the plant is selected from the group consisting of cereals, vegetables, field crops, oil seed crops, forage crops and fiber crops. Ishibashi et al. disclose where tomato plants were subjected to application of the pesticide (see Example 4 within Ishibashi et al.).
Analogous Art
The Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. references are directed to the same field of endeavor as the instant claims, that is, a pesticidal composition.
Obviousness
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pesticidal composition disclosed by Schlatter et al., using the teachings of Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. to incorporate the necessary claim limitations. Starting with Schlatter et al., the skilled person only had to try the necessary claim limitations disclosed Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. The combination of Schlatter et al., Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. would allow one to arrive at the present application without employing inventive skill. This combination of the pesticidal composition taught by Schlatter et al. along with the use of the necessary claim limitations taught by Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. would allow a research and development scientist (POSITA) to develop the invention taught in the instant application. It would have only required routine experimentation to modify the pesticidal composition disclosed by Schlatter et al. with the use of the necessary claim limitations taught by Paternak et al., Heath, and Ishibashi et al. This combined modification would have led to an enhanced pesticidal formulation that would be beneficial for consumers.
In the context of instant method claims 13-14 and 21-22 the desired purpose defines an effect that arises from and is implicit in the method step(s). Thus, where the purpose is limited to stating a technical effect that inevitably occurs during the performance of the claimed method step(s), and is therefore inherent in that/those step(s), that technical effect is not limiting to the subject-matter of the claim. Thus, the present method claim, defining the application/use of the composition according to the prior art, and defining its purpose as "use", is anticipated by any document of the state of the art describing a method of application/use although not mentioning this specific use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The subject matter of claims 19 is allowable because the inorganic carrier smectite clay within (d1) is not taught at the low (<2% w/w) weight percent for the overall composition. For example, a majority of the relevant prior art teaches 4%-20% w/w. Motivation is lacking to add these two claim limitations to the closest prior art or Schlatter et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s claim amendments were sufficient to address the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections from the Non-Final Rejection dated September 5, 2025 are withdrawn from the record.
The Applicant’s claim amendments did necessitate a new ground of rejection.
Applicant Argument: The Applicant argues that the Pasternak et al. reference is non-analogous art.
Examiner’s Rebuttal: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner does submit that the Pasternak et al. reference is not part of the mainstream analogous art. However, the Examiner still has determined that the Pasternak et al. reference is relevant and would potentially be consulted by a skilled artisan (POSITA). Pasternak et al. disclose two important paragraphs:
Thus another purpose of this invention also relates to the use of a nanomaterial according to the invention to trap one or several compounds by adsorption to the surface of the nanomaterial. The compounds are preferably chosen from among organic compounds, preferably among dyes, pharmaceutical active constituents, pesticides, hormones, saccharides such as glucose, and/or hydrocarbons, preferably among dyes, pesticides, fungicides, saccharides such as glucose and hydrocarbons, and even more preferably among dyes (see paragraph [0089] within Pasternak et al.).
The compounds are preferably chosen from among organic compounds, preferably among dyes, pharmaceutical active constituents, pesticides, hormones, saccharides such as glucose, and/or hydrocarbons, preferably among dyes, pesticides, fungicides, saccharides such as glucose and hydrocarbons, and even more preferably among dyes (see paragraph [0093] within Pasternak et al.).
Yes, Pasternak et al. does not teach or describe any pesticidal compositions. Also, Pasternak et al. does claim a method for the photocatalytic degradation of several of the above organic compounds. But, this is not the only use…Pasternak et al. disclose that naturally, other embodiments of the invention could have been envisaged by an expert in the subject without going outside the framework of the invention defined by the claims…(see paragraph [0096] within Pasternak et al.).
Pasternak et al. is not required to present an example of every variation of the invention.
In addition, further literature supported the use of Pluronic F68. The enhanced stability of Pluronic F68 was alluded to for nanoparticles (see PTO-892 NPL V; F). Therefore, giving motivation to a skilled artisan (POSITA) to use the triblock copolymer Pluronic F68 with a pesticide for enhanced stability. This is despite the fact that the copolymer was used only within the nanomaterial synthesis and not with a pesticide within Pasternak et al.
Applicant Argument: The Applicant argues that the unexpected results within the specification (Table 1) show improved stability over the prior art comparative examples, and therefore support patentability.
Examiner’s Rebuttal: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The results presented within Table 1 of the specification are subjective. A score of 1 to 5 is assigned. This does not seem to be determined by an analytical instrument, but by a scientist (who may have a conflict of interest). Furthermore, comparative sample 4 scored a 3 for every data point, while the examples from the instant application scored a 3 or 4. The assignment of a 3 or 4 for the sample is questioned by the Examiner. How is this determined? Who makes the final decision? The difference seems very subjective. Therefore, calling into question the improved stability over the prior art.
Examiner’s Comment (A): Please have the inventors confirm the formula of Pluronic F68. The cited reference from the internet states that the PEO-PPO-PEO triblock copolymer has a structure of 76/29/76 (see PTO-892 NPL U). However, the instant specification and instant claims 18-20 cite a structure of 80/30/80. Please explain the discrepancy.
Examiner’s Comment (B): The Examiner respectfully submits that the conclusion of obviousness is based upon proper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection is maintained for instant claims 1-6, 8-9, 13-14, 16-18, and 20-22.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN W LIPPERT III/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615