XiNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 05/11/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-10 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Schubert et al (US 2018/0298191, of record, IDS 08/23/23, ‘191 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-7, ‘191 discloses a polyamide resin composition comprising a polyamide resin, which contains a component unit derived from an aromatic dicarboxylic acid being terephthalic acid satisfying the limitations of present claim 7 ([0072], [0076], [0080], [0175]-[0176], PA-1); a component unit derived from a linear alkylene-diamine being 1,6-diaminohexane of 65 to 85 mol%, based on the total number of moles of the component units derived from diamine, satisfying the limitations of present claims 5-6 ([0069], [0085], 75 mol% in PA-1, [0175]-[0176]), and a component unit derived from 1,3-bis(aminomethyl) cyclohexane of 15 to 50 mol%, based on the total number of moles of the component unit derived from diamine, satisfying the limitations of present claim 4 ([0070], [0086], 25 mol% in PA-1); and a copper-based heat-resistance stabilizer with a content of 0.02 parts to 0.50 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of total polyamide resin composition ([0144]-[0147]), which overlaps instantly claimed range of 0.001 to 0.050 parts per 100 parts of polyamide resin (the amount of polyamide in the polyamide composition can be up to 100 wt%, see [0015]). ‘191 does not specifically exemplify a polyamide resin composition having a copper content falling within instantly claimed range, however, it is known in the art that the thermal stability of a polyamide resin is directly depended on the amount of the copper in the polyamide resin composition, thus the content of copper in the polyamide composition is an effective variable in terms of thermal stability of the polyamide resin in the composition. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the content of copper within the scope of the present claims so as to render sufficient thermal stability of the polyamide resin in the presently claimed polyamide resin composition.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, ‘191 also discloses that the polyamide resin composition further contains a glass fiber in a content range of 20-60 w%, wherein the glass fiber can be surface treated by a fatty acid ([0096]-[0116]), satisfying the limitations of present claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claims 8-10, ‘191 also discloses a molded article which can be used as an in-vehicle member ([0162]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach the presently claimed copper amount used in the presently claimed polyamide composition because the polyamide is a mixed polyamide in the composition and the content of the copper as disclosed is not based on the specific polyamide resin contained in the polyamide composition. The examiner’s position is that the cited prior art generally teaches that the copper amount used in a polyamide composition is very small and overlaps the amount range as presently claimed, and the effectiveness of a heat stabilizer such as copper-based heat stabilizer in the polyamide composition has content dependence, which is well-known in the art; thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the amount of copper, in the amount range as taught by the prior art, including the amount as presently claimed, to render a polyamide composition having desired heat stability without undue experimentation. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In addition, the experimental data as presented in the present specification and the Declaration filed on 05/11/2026 is not sufficient to establish the un-expected result of copper amount in the presently claimed range for the following reasons: (1) two point comparison, copper amount being 0.015 and 0.06, is not sufficient to show unexpected result in the range of 0.002 to 0.005 as claimed. It is also noted that the polyamide composition without adding copper-based heat stabilizer (the third point) shows highest high temperature tensile strength but does not show tensile strength retention ratio, thus the lower end point of copper amount range could be 0. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 716.02(d) II). (2) the data based one copper-based heat stabilizer (Copper I iodine) used in experiments are not sufficient to show all copper-based heat stabilizers providing the same effect in the instantly claimed amount range. Since the evidence presented to rebut prima facie obvious must be commensurate in scope with claim to which it pertains; evidence offered by way of affidavit that is considerably narrow in scope than claimed subject matter is not sufficient to rebut PTO’s prima facie case. In re Dill, 202 USPQ 805 (CCPA 1979).
For the reasons set forth above and of record, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782