DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 7 “a plurality of grooves including a plurality of aligned grooves arranged adjacent to each other”. However, it is unclear how exactly and in relation to what are this plurality of grooves “aligned”. Further clarification is needed. In line 9 “the cutting edge side” has insufficient antecedent basis, since no “cutting edge side” has been previously set forth. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in lines 2-3 that the grooves extend on the rake surface “in a direction intersecting a/the direction in which the chip is ejected”. However, the way these limitations have been set forth is unclear. From where to where are each of these directions taken from? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 9 recites in lines 2-4 that the grooves have a groove width and a groove depth “greater than at least hard particles, which appear between the rake surface and the chip when the workpiece is cut”. The way these claim limitations have been set forth is unclear. What are the metes and bounds and dimensions of something that is greater than at least hard particles, which appear between the rake surface and the chip when the workpiece is cut? Are these limitations, intended use? Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niebauer US 5,791,833.
In regards to claim 1, Niebauer discloses a cutting tool (1) comprising: a cutting edge (11) configured to cut a workpiece; a rake surface (5) including a part configured to come in contact with a chip, which appears when the workpiece is cut by the cutting edge (Figure 9); and a relieved surface (clearance side surface 9) including a part configured to come in contact with a to-be-cut surface of the workpiece, wherein a plurality of grooves (27) including a plurality of aligned grooves (27) arranged adjacent to each other and a connection groove (25) connecting at least two of the plurality of aligned grooves (27) to each other are formed on the cutting edge side of the rake surface.
In regards to claim 2, Niebauer discloses the cutting tool according to claim 1, Niebauer discloses that the plurality of grooves (27) are formed on the cutting edge side of the rake surface (see Figure 1); and a groove formation area (34) in which the plurality of grooves (27) are formed extends from the cutting edge side toward a side opposite to the cutting edge (11) on the rake surface (5).
In regards to claim 3, Niebauer discloses the cutting tool according to claim 2, Niebauer discloses that the connection groove (25), which connects the at least two of the plurality of aligned grooves (27) to each other, is arranged on an outer edge of the groove formation area (34).
In regards to claim 5, Niebauer discloses the cutting tool according to claim 2, Niebauer discloses that the rake surface (5) has a chip handler (3) configured to bend the chip toward a side opposite to the rake surface; and the groove formation area (34) does not overlap the chip handler on the rake surface.
In regards to claim 6, Niebauer discloses the cutting tool according to claim 5, Niebauer discloses that the chip handler (3) is arranged in a central part of the rake surface (5) in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the chip is ejected; and the groove formation area (34) is formed in a U shape so as to surround the chip handler (3).
In regards to claim 7, Niebauer discloses the cutting tool according to claim 2, Niebauer discloses that the plurality of aligned grooves (27) extend on the rake surface (5) in a direction intersecting a/the direction in which the chip is ejected (see Figure 9).
In regards to claim 8, Niebauer discloses the cutting tool according to claim 7, Niebauer discloses that the plurality of aligned grooves (27) extend on the rake surface (5) in a direction substantially orthogonal to the direction in which the chip is ejected (Figure 9).
In regards to claim 9, Niebauer discloses the cutting tool according to claim 2, Niebauer discloses that the plurality of grooves (27) have a groove width and a groove depth (Figure 6) capable of being greater than at least hard particles, which appear between the rake surface and the chip when the workpiece is cut (Figure 9).
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomoda et al. US 2016/0243624 (hereafter—Tomoda--).
In regards to claim 1, Tomoda discloses a cutting tool (1) comprising: a cutting edge (4) configured to cut a workpiece; a rake surface (31) including a part configured to come in contact with a chip, which appears when the workpiece is cut by the cutting edge; and a relieved surface (clearance side surface) including a part configured to come in contact with a to-be-cut surface of the workpiece, wherein a plurality of grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) including a plurality of aligned grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) arranged adjacent to each other and a connection groove (7) connecting at least two of the plurality of aligned grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) to each other are formed on the cutting edge side of the rake surface.
In regards to claim 2, Tomoda discloses the cutting tool according to claim 1, Tomoda discloses that the plurality of grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) are formed on the cutting edge side of the rake surface (see Figure 3); and a groove formation area (in the same way as presented by Applicant) in which the plurality of grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) are formed extends from the cutting edge side toward a side opposite to the cutting edge (4) on the rake surface (31).
In regards to claim 3, Tomoda discloses the cutting tool according to claim 2, Tomoda discloses that the connection groove (7), which connects the at least two of the plurality of aligned grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) to each other, is arranged on an outer edge of the groove formation area (in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 4, Tomoda discloses the cutting tool according to claim 3, Tomoda discloses that the connection groove (7), which connects the at least two of the plurality of aligned grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) to each other, is a closure extending along the outer edge so as to surround the groove formation area (in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 5, Tomoda discloses the cutting tool according to claim 2, Tomoda discloses that the rake surface (31) has a chip handler (portion of 31 between V shaped grooves) configured to bend the chip toward a side opposite to the rake surface; and the groove formation area does not overlap the chip handler on the rake surface (in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 6, Tomoda discloses the cutting tool according to claim 5, Tomoda discloses that the chip handler (portion of 31 between V shaped grooves) is arranged in a central part of the rake surface (31) in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the chip is ejected; and the groove formation area is formed in a U shape so as to surround the chip handler (in the same way as presented by Applicant, see Figure 3).
In regards to claim 7, Tomoda discloses the cutting tool according to claim 2, Tomoda discloses that the plurality of aligned grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) extend on the rake surface (31) in a direction intersecting a/the direction in which the chip is ejected.
In regards to claim 8, Tomoda discloses the cutting tool according to claim 7, Tomoda discloses that the plurality of aligned grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) extend on the rake surface (31) in a direction substantially orthogonal to the direction in which the chip is ejected.
In regards to claim 9, Tomoda discloses the cutting tool according to claim 2, Tomoda discloses that the plurality of grooves (Figure 3, refer to the V shaped grooves) have a groove width and a groove depth (Figures 4 and 5) capable of being greater than at least hard particles, which appear between the rake surface and the chip when the workpiece is cut.
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722