DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on February 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species I and Species II are essentially and mutually linked for the reasons set forth on pages 3 and 4 of the remarks. This is found persuasive. The requirement is therefore withdrawn and all claims are being examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US Pub. 2023/0261719).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a terminal in a communication system, the terminal comprising:
a transceiver; and a controller (par.080 transceiver and “a processor” which reads on “a controller”) configured to:
receive, from a base station, a higher layer parameter enabling a default beam and a default pathloss reference signal (RS) for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (par.036 “On the other hand…..higher layer parameter to ‘enable’, which means that a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS”),
identify a spatial relation for the PUCCH (par.007 “the higher layer parameters related to spatial relation is PUCCH-spatialRelationInfo”),
transmit, to the base station, the PUCCH based on the spatial relation, wherein the spatial relation for the PUCCH is associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of a control resource set (CORESET) with the lowest ID on an active downlink (DL) BWP (par.003 “The default spatial relation….dedicated-PUCCH resource….The UE may determine the default spatial relation by the activated TCI state with the lowest ID….in the active DL-BWP”, par.008 “each of the activated TCI states…..is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value”, par.058 “CoresetsPoolindex=0”), and wherein,
in case that the CORESET corresponds to more than one activated TCI state, the spatial relation for the PUCCH is associated with a first TCI state among the more than one activated TCI state (par.008 “TCI states……each of the activated TCI states…..is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value”, par.058 “CoresetsPoolindex=0”).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 10 and 14, Liu discloses identify a pathloss RS index used to determine power for the PUCCH, wherein the pathloss RS index is associated with the TCI state of the CORESET with the lowest ID on an active DL BWP, and wherein, in case that the CORESET corresponds to more than one activated TCI state, the pathloss RS index is associated with the first TCI state among the more than one activated TCI state (par.008 “a first TCI state pointed to by the lowest TCI codepoint….each of the activated TCI states….associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value……determining the default PL-RS comprises determining a RS resource index”).
Regarding claims 3, 7, 11 and 15, Liu discloses value of CORESET pool index does not corresponds to 1 for any CORESET (par.058 CORESETs in the PCell are associated with CORESETPoolindex=0”), or the value of CORESET pool index corresponds to 1 for all CORESETs (par.058 “while other CORESETs in the PCell are associated with CORESETPoolindex=1 (i.e. associated with TRP1)”).
Regarding claims 4, 8 and 12, Liu discloses a dedicated pathloss RS for the PUCCH and a dedicated spatial relation for the PUCCH are not configured from the base station (par.035 “The spatial relation and the PL-RS….may not configured for the target uplink signa”, par.061 “dedicated PUCCH resource without configured spatial relation and PL-RS”).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses a method performed by a terminal in a communication system, the method comprising:
receive, from a base station, a higher layer parameter enabling a default beam and a default pathloss reference signal (RS) for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (par.036 “On the other hand…..higher layer parameter to ‘enable’, which means that a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS”),
identify a spatial relation for the PUCCH (par.007 “the higher layer parameters related to spatial relation is PUCCH-spatialRelationInfo”),
transmit, to the base station, the PUCCH based on the spatial relation, wherein the spatial relation for the PUCCH is associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of a control resource set (CORESET) with the lowest ID on an active downlink (DL) BWP (par.003 “The default spatial relation….dedicated-PUCCH resource….The UE may determine the default spatial relation by the activated TCI state with the lowest ID….in the active DL-BWP”, par.008 “each of the activated TCI states…..is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value”, par.058 “CoresetsPoolindex=0”), and wherein,
in case that the CORESET corresponds to more than one activated TCI state, the spatial
relation for the PUCCH is associated with a first TCI state among the more than one activated TCI state (par.008 “TCI states……each of the activated TCI states…..is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value”, par.058 “CoresetsPoolindex=0”).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses base station in a communication system, the base station comprising:
a transceiver; and a controller (par.080 “The gNB…includes a processor, a memory, and a transceiver”) configured to:
transmit, to a terminal, a higher layer parameter enabling a default beam and a default pathloss reference signal (RS) for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (par.036 “On the other hand…..higher layer parameter to ‘enable’, which means that a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS”), and
receive, from the terminal, the PUCCH based on the spatial relation, wherein the spatial relation for the PUCCH is associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of a control resource set (CORESET) with the lowest ID on an active downlink (DL) BWP (par.003 “The default spatial relation….dedicated-PUCCH resource….The UE may determine the default spatial relation by the activated TCI state with the lowest ID….in the active DL-BWP”, par.008 “each of the activated TCI states…..is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value”, par.058 “CoresetsPoolindex=0”), and
wherein, in case that the CORESET corresponds to more than one activated TCI state, the spatial relation for the PUCCH is associated with a first TCI state among the more than one activated TCI state (par.008 “TCI states……each of the activated TCI states…..is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value”, par.058 “CoresetsPoolindex=0”).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses a method perform by a base station in a
communication system, the base station comprising:
transmit, to a terminal, a higher layer parameter enabling a default beam and a default pathloss reference signal (RS) for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (par.036 “On the other hand…..higher layer parameter to ‘enable’, which means that a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS”), and
receive, from the terminal, the PUCCH based on the spatial relation, wherein the spatial relation for the PUCCH is associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of a control resource set (CORESET) with the lowest ID on an active downlink (DL) BWP (par.003 “The default spatial relation….dedicated-PUCCH resource….The UE may determine the default spatial relation by the activated TCI state with the lowest ID….in the active DL-BWP”, par.008 “each of the activated TCI states…..is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value”, par.058 “CoresetsPoolindex=0”), and
wherein, in case that the CORESET corresponds to more than one activated TCI state, the spatial relation for the PUCCH is associated with a first TCI state among the more than one activated TCI state (par.008 “TCI states……each of the activated TCI states…..is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex value”, par.058 “CoresetsPoolindex=0”).
Conclusion
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Delany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/TU X. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642