Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Si et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0038050 A1).
1, SI teaches a UE (user equipment) comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor, communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory [par 0013, a terminal, including a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor. When the computer program is executed by the processor, the steps of the signal measurement method are implemented]
configured to: transmit, via the transceiver to a network entity, a first PG message (processing gap message) including a first PG request for a first PG configuration [par 0098-0101, if a signal for measurement by using the measurement gap by the terminal is a positioning reference signal, the measurement gap configuration is further related to a positioning frequency layer. The measurement gap configuration needs to further include a positioning frequency layer identifier. Sending first request signaling; where the first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information];
and transmit a second PG message via the transceiver to the network entity in response to lack of an acceptable response to the first PG message being received, the second PG message including a second PG request, or a PG error message, or a combination thereof [par 0112, 0113, 0128, 0129, sending second request signaling; where the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information. In another optional implementation, if the first request signaling or the second request signaling is associated with the positioning frequency layer, the first request signaling (start signaling) or the second request signaling (stop signaling) is related to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter or signaling is used for controlling start or stop of a measurement gap associated with the positioning frequency layer. If the start or stop signaling is unrelated to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter is used for starting or stopping all measurement gaps],
wherein the second PG request indicates a second PG configuration that is different from the first PG configuration, or an acceptance/rejection indication for a proposed PG configuration received by the UE, or a combination thereof [par 0102-0110, 0114-0122, The second request signaling includes at least one of the following: a stop parameter; The paragraph shows the difference between the first and second measurement gap signals],
and wherein the PG error message indicates that no PG configuration message was received by the UE or that the proposed PG configuration was deficient [par 0084, 0113, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information].
2, SI conveys the UE of claim 1, wherein the first PG request includes a plurality of first
PG configurations, or the second PG message includes the second PG request which
includes a plurality of second PG configurations that are different from the first PG
request, or a combination thereof [par 0067, 0068, the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information and the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information satisfy at least one of the following: a gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap length indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information];
3, SI reveals the UE of claim 2, wherein: the first PG request includes the plurality of first PG configurations and indicates a first priority of the plurality of first PG configurations; or the second PG message includes the second PG request which includes the plurality of second PG configurations that are different from the first PG request, and the second PG request indicates a second priority of the plurality of second PG configurations; or a combination thereof [par 0114-0122, 0126-0128, The second request signaling includes at least one of the following: a gap pattern identifier expected by the terminal; a gap offset expected by the terminal; a gap timing advance (gap TA) expected by the terminal; a gap period scaling factor expected by the terminal; a gap length scaling factor expected by the terminal; at least one parameter carried in the first request signaling or the second request signaling is grouped by positioning frequency layer. For example, one frequency layer corresponds to one group of parameters such as gap pattern ID, gap offset, gap TA, gap length/period scaling factor, and frequency information. According to applicant’s specification para 0030 a priority of configurations indicates a component carrier, frequency layer, and/or frequency range].
4, Si illustrates the UE of claim 1, wherein the second PG message includes the PG error message and the PG error message indicates whether a proposed PG timing parameter is unacceptable, or whether a proposed PG frequency parameter is unacceptable, or a combination thereof [par 0067- 0069, the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information and the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information satisfy at least one of the following: a gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap length indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information; a gap repetition period indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap repetition period indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information];
5, Si demonstrates the UE of claim 4, wherein the PG error message indicates that a proposed processing gap is too short, or that a proposed processing gap periodicity is incorrect, or that a proposed processing gap offset is incorrect, or that a proposed processing gap frequency range is incorrect, or that a proposed processing gap frequency band is incorrect, or that a proposed processing gap component carrier is incorrect, or any combination thereof [par 0084, 0113, 0115, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information].
6, Si disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the second PG message including the second PG request including the acceptance/rejection indication in response to the processor receiving the proposed PG configuration [par 0114, 0115, 0133-0137, receiving trigger signaling, where the trigger signaling is used to trigger an on-demand measurement gap, and the on-demand measurement gap may also be referred to as an aperiodic measurement gap; obtaining a start time of the on-demand measurement gap according to the trigger signaling; and based on the start time of the on-demand measurement gap, performing signal measurement by using the on-demand measurement gap. In this case, the first measurement gap configuration information or the second measurement gap configuration information. The second request signaling includes at least one of the following: a stop parameter],
the acceptance/rejection indication indicating whether the UE accepts the proposed PG configuration or rejects the proposed PG configuration [par 0084, 0113, 0115, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information].
7, Si displays the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the second PG message including the second PG request including the acceptance/rejection indication in response to the processor receiving a plurality of proposed PG configurations, the acceptance/rejection indication indicating a selected one of the plurality of proposed PG configurations that the UE accepts [par 0084, 0113, 0115, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information].
8. Si provide the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the second PG message including the second PG request in response to passage of a threshold amount of time since transmission of the first PG message without receipt of a PG configuration proposal [par 0078-0081, the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information and the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information satisfy at least one of the following: a gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than 6 ms; a gap repetition period indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than 160 ms; ora gap pattern identifier indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than 23].
9. Si displays the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the second PG message including the second PG request in response to passage of a threshold amount of time since transmission of the first PG message without receipt of a PG configuration proposal that is acceptable to the UE[par 0084, 0101, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information].
10, SI provide the UE of claim 9, wherein the first PG configuration includes a plurality of first PG configuration parameters, and wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the proposed PG configuration is acceptable to the UE based on whether the plurality of first PG configuration parameters meet at least one combination criterion [par 0067-0070, 0102-0109, the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information and the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information satisfy at least one of the following: a gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap length indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information; a gap repetition period indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap repetition period indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information].
11, Si discloses a positioning method comprising: transmitting, from a UE (user equipment) to a network entity, a first PG message (processing gap message) including a first PG request for a first PG configuration[par 0098-0101, if a signal for measurement by using the measurement gap by the terminal is a positioning reference signal, the measurement gap configuration is further related to a positioning frequency layer. The measurement gap configuration needs to further include a positioning frequency layer identifier. Sending first request signaling; where the first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information];
and transmitting a second PG message from the UE to the network entity in response to lack of an acceptable response to the first PG message being received by the UE [par 0112, 0113, 0128, 0129, sending second request signaling; where the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information. In another optional implementation, if the first request signaling or the second request signaling is associated with the positioning frequency layer, the first request signaling (start signaling) or the second request signaling (stop signaling) is related to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter or signaling is used for controlling start or stop of a measurement gap associated with the positioning frequency layer. If the start or stop signaling is unrelated to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter is used for starting or stopping all measurement gaps],
the second PG message including a second PG request, or a PG error message, or a combination thereof, wherein the second PG request indicates a second PG configuration that is different from the first PG configuration, or an acceptance/rejection indication for a proposed PG configuration received by the UE, or a combination thereof[par 0102-0110, 0114-0122, The second request signaling includes at least one of the following: a stop parameter; The paragraph shows the difference between the first and second measurement gap signals],
and wherein the PG error message indicates that no PG configuration message was received by the UE or that the proposed PG configuration was deficient [par 0084, 0113, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information].
12, Si creates the method of claim 11, wherein the first PG request includes a plurality of first PG configurations, or the second PG message includes the second PG request which includes a plurality of second PG configurations that are different from the first PG request, or a combination thereof [par 0067, 0068, the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information and the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information satisfy at least one of the following: a gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap length indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information];
13, SI displays the method of claim 12, wherein: the first PG request includes the plurality of first PG configurations and indicates a first priority of the plurality of first PG configurations; or the second PG message includes the second PG request which includes the plurality of second PG configurations that are different from the first PG request, and the second PG request indicates a second priority of the plurality of second PG configurations; or a combination thereof[par 0114-0122, 0126-0128, The second request signaling includes at least one of the following: a gap pattern identifier expected by the terminal; a gap offset expected by the terminal; a gap timing advance (gap TA) expected by the terminal; a gap period scaling factor expected by the terminal; a gap length scaling factor expected by the terminal; at least one parameter carried in the first request signaling or the second request signaling is grouped by positioning frequency layer. For example, one frequency layer corresponds to one group of parameters such as gap pattern ID, gap offset, gap TA, gap length/period scaling factor, and frequency information. According to applicant’s specification para 0030 a priority of configurations indicates a component carrier, frequency layer, and/or frequency range].
14. SI defines the method of claim 11, wherein the second PG message includes the PG error message and the PG error message indicates whether a proposed PG timing parameter is unacceptable, or whether a proposed PG frequency parameter is unacceptable, or a combination thereof[par 0067- 0069, the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information and the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information satisfy at least one of the following: a gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap length indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information; a gap repetition period indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap repetition period indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information].
15. SI creates the method of claim 14, wherein the PG error message indicates that a proposed processing gap is too short, or that a proposed processing gap periodicity is incorrect, or that a proposed processing gap offset is incorrect, or that a proposed processing gap frequency range is incorrect, or that a proposed processing gap frequency band is incorrect, or that a proposed processing gap component carrier is incorrect, or any combination thereof[par 0084, 0113, 0115, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information].
16, SI conveys the method of claim 11, wherein the method comprises receiving the proposed PG configuration, wherein transmitting the second PG message comprises transmitting the second PG message including the second PG request including the
acceptance/rejection indication in response to receiving the proposed PG configuration[par 0114, 0115, 0133-0137, receiving trigger signaling, where the trigger signaling is used to trigger an on-demand measurement gap, and the on-demand measurement gap may also be referred to as an aperiodic measurement gap; obtaining a start time of the on-demand measurement gap according to the trigger signaling; and based on the start time of the on-demand measurement gap, performing signal measurement by using the on-demand measurement gap. In this case, the first measurement gap configuration information or the second measurement gap configuration information. The second request signaling includes at least one of the following: a stop parameter],
the acceptance/rejection indication indicating whether the UE accepts the proposed PG configuration or rejects the proposed PG configuration[par 0084, 0113, 0115, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information].
17. SI provides the method of claim 11, wherein the method comprises receiving a plurality of proposed PG configurations, wherein transmitting the second PG message comprises transmitting the second PG message including the second PG request including the acceptance/rejection indication in response to receiving the plurality of proposed PG configurations, the acceptance/rejection indication indicating a selected one of the plurality of proposed PG configurations that the UE accepts[par 0084, 0113, 0115, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information].
18. SI demonstrates the method of claim 11, wherein transmitting the second PG message comprises transmitting the second PG message including the second PG request in response to passage of a threshold amount of time since transmission of the first PG message without receipt of a PG configuration proposal [par 0078-0081, the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information and the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information satisfy at least one of the following: a gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than 6 ms; a gap repetition period indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than 160 ms; ora gap pattern identifier indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than 23].
19. SI provides the method of claim 11, wherein transmitting the second PG message comprises transmitting the second PG message including the second PG request in response to passage of a threshold amount of time since transmission of the first PG message without receipt of a PG configuration proposal that is acceptable to the UE [par 0084, 0101, a gap length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a length in the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, so that the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough. The first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information].
20, SI creates the method of claim 19, wherein the first PG configuration includes a plurality of first PG configuration parameters, and wherein the method further comprises determining whether the proposed PG configuration is acceptable to the UE based on whether the plurality of first PG configuration parameters meet at least one combination criterion[par 0067-0070, 0102-0109, the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information and the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information satisfy at least one of the following: a gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap length indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information; a gap repetition period indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap repetition period indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information].
21, SI teaches a network entity comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor, communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory[par 0026, an embodiment of the present disclosure further provides a network device, including a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor. When the computer program is executed by the processor],
receive, from a UE (user equipment), a first PG message (processing gap message) including a first PG request for a first PG configuration[par 0098-0101, if a signal for measurement by using the measurement gap by the terminal is a positioning reference signal, the measurement gap configuration is further related to a positioning frequency layer. The measurement gap configuration needs to further include a positioning frequency layer identifier. Sending first request signaling; where the first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information];
receive from the UE a UE message sent in response to a lack of an acceptable response to the first PG message being received by the UE[par 0112, 0113, 0128, 0129, sending second request signaling; where the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information. In another optional implementation, if the first request signaling or the second request signaling is associated with the positioning frequency layer, the first request signaling (start signaling) or the second request signaling (stop signaling) is related to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter or signaling is used for controlling start or stop of a measurement gap associated with the positioning frequency layer. If the start or stop signaling is unrelated to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter is used for starting or stopping all measurement gaps],
the UE message indicative of one or more first PG parameters indicating that a first PG timing parameter is acceptable, or that a first PG frequency parameter is acceptable, or that a second PG timing parameter is unacceptable, or that a second PG frequency parameter is unacceptable, or that a PG configuration was not received by the UE, or any combination thereof [par 0101-0110, the first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information. The first request signaling includes at least one of the following: a gap pattern identifier expected by the terminal (UE expect/prefer); a gap pattern type expected by the terminal; or frequency information for measurement expected by the terminal];
and provide, based on the one or more first PG parameters, a first indication
of a positioning reference signal configuration, or a second indication of one or more second PG parameters of one or more processing gaps, or a combination thereof [par 0056, 0061, For the measurement gap configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal, the network device determines content (a combination of gap length and gap repetition period) of a gap pattern based on a request of the terminal or the network device itself determines content of a gap pattern to be used by the terminal. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, different gap pattern configuration information corresponds to different gap patterns. The measurement gap configuration information is used for measurement on positioning signals, for example, measuring a reference signal time difference (RSTD), a reference signal received power (RSRP), or the like. The measurement gap configuration information may be configured by using radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The first measurement gap configuration information and the second measurement gap configuration information each may further include a gap offset and a gap timing advance (gap TA)],
the one or more second PG parameters including a third PG timing parameter, or a third PG frequency parameter, or a combination thereof [par 0127, 0128, in a parameter table corresponding to request signaling of the UE, at least one parameter carried in the first request signaling or the second request signaling is grouped by positioning frequency layer. For example, one frequency layer corresponds to one group of parameters such as gap pattern ID, gap offset, gap TA, gap length/period scaling factor, and frequency information].
22. SI provides the network entity of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to provide, in response to the UE message indicating that the second PG timing parameter is unacceptable, or indicating that the second PG timing parameter is unacceptable, or a combination thereof [par 0066-0068, In the signal measurement method in this embodiment of the present disclosure, because the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is different from the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, the terminal can perform measurement on positioning signals by using more gap patterns, increasing a matching degree between measurement gap configurations and positioning signal configurations. gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap length indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information];
the second indication of the one or more second PG parameters including the third PG timing parameter with the third PG timing parameter being different from the second PG timing parameter, or the third PG frequency parameter with the third PG frequency parameter being different from the second PG frequency parameter, or a combination thereof [par 0072, 0073, the gap length, the gap repetition period, or the gap pattern identifier indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information may be interpreted as a maximum gap length, a maximum gap repetition period, or a maximum gap pattern identifier indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information]
23. SI describes the network entity of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to provide, via the transceiver to the UE, the second indication of the one or more second PG parameters indicating a plurality of processing gap configurations [par 0056, For example, the protocol defines a table, and the table contains a plurality of gap pattern configurations. For the measurement gap configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal, the network device determines content (a combination of gap length and gap repetition period) of a gap pattern based on a request of the terminal or the network device itself determines content of a gap pattern to be used by the terminal. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, different gap pattern configuration information corresponds to different gap patterns].
24, SI defines the network entity of claim 23, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a selection message, from the UE via the transceiver, indicating a selected one of the plurality of processing gap configurations; and transmit a processing gap configuration message, to a transmission/reception point, indicating the selected one of the plurality of processing gap configurations [par 0101-0110, the first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information. The first request signaling includes at least one of the following a gap pattern identifier expected by the terminal (UE expect/prefer); a gap offset expected by the terminal; a gap timing advance expected by the terminal;].
25. SI convey a positioning method comprising receiving, from a UE (user equipment), a first PG message (processing gap message) including a first PG request for a first PG configuration[par 0098-0101, if a signal for measurement by using the measurement gap by the terminal is a positioning reference signal, the measurement gap configuration is further related to a positioning frequency layer. The measurement gap configuration needs to further include a positioning frequency layer identifier. Sending first request signaling; where the first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information];
receiving at a network entity from the UE, a UE message sent in response to lack of an acceptable response to the first PG message being received by the UE[par 0112, 0113, 0128, 0129, sending second request signaling; where the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information. In another optional implementation, if the first request signaling or the second request signaling is associated with the positioning frequency layer, the first request signaling (start signaling) or the second request signaling (stop signaling) is related to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter or signaling is used for controlling start or stop of a measurement gap associated with the positioning frequency layer. If the start or stop signaling is unrelated to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter is used for starting or stopping all measurement gaps],
the UE message indicating that a first PG timing parameter is acceptable, or that a first PG frequency parameter is acceptable, or that a second PG timing parameter is unacceptable, or that a second PG frequency parameter is unacceptable, or that a PG configuration was not received by the UE, or any combination thereof[par 0101-0110, the first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information. The first request signaling includes at least one of the following: a gap pattern identifier expected by the terminal (UE expect/prefer); a gap pattern type expected by the terminal; or frequency information for measurement expected by the terminal];
and providing, from the network entity to the UE based on the one or more first PG parameters, a first indication of a positioning reference signal configuration, or a second indication of one or more second PG parameters of one or more processing gaps, or a combination thereof[par 0056, 0061, For the measurement gap configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal, the network device determines content (a combination of gap length and gap repetition period) of a gap pattern based on a request of the terminal or the network device itself determines content of a gap pattern to be used by the terminal. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, different gap pattern configuration information corresponds to different gap patterns. The measurement gap configuration information is used for measurement on positioning signals, for example, measuring a reference signal time difference (RSTD), a reference signal received power (RSRP), or the like. The measurement gap configuration information may be configured by using radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The first measurement gap configuration information and the second measurement gap configuration information each may further include a gap offset and a gap timing advance (gap TA)],
the one or more second PG parameters including a third PG timing parameter, or a third PG frequency parameter, or a combination thereof[par 0127, 0128, in a parameter table corresponding to request signaling of the UE, at least one parameter carried in the first request signaling or the second request signaling is grouped by positioning frequency layer. For example, one frequency layer corresponds to one group of parameters such as gap pattern ID, gap offset, gap TA, gap length/period scaling factor, and frequency information].
26. SI determines The method of claim 25, wherein the method comprises providing, in
response to the UE message indicating that the second PG timing parameter is
unacceptable, or indicating that the second PG timing parameter is unacceptable, or a
combination thereof[par 0066-0068, In the signal measurement method in this embodiment of the present disclosure, because the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is different from the gap pattern configuration information indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information, the terminal can perform measurement on positioning signals by using more gap patterns, increasing a matching degree between measurement gap configurations and positioning signal configurations. gap length indicated by the second measurement gap configuration information is greater than a gap length indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information];
the second indication of the one or more second PG parameters
including the third PG timing parameter with the third PG timing parameter being
different from the second PG timing parameter, or the third PG frequency parameter
with the third PG frequency parameter being different from the second PG frequency parameter, or a combination thereof[par 0072, 0073, the gap length, the gap repetition period, or the gap pattern identifier indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information may be interpreted as a maximum gap length, a maximum gap repetition period, or a maximum gap pattern identifier indicated by the first measurement gap configuration information]
27. SI discloses the method of claim 25, wherein the method comprises providing the second indication of the one or more second PG parameters indicating a plurality of processing gap configurations[par 0056, For example, the protocol defines a table, and the table contains a plurality of gap pattern configurations. For the measurement gap configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal, the network device determines content (a combination of gap length and gap repetition period) of a gap pattern based on a request of the terminal or the network device itself determines content of a gap pattern to be used by the terminal. In this embodiment of the present disclosure, different gap pattern configuration information corresponds to different gap patterns].
28. SI displays the method of claim 27, wherein the method comprises: receiving a selection message, from the UE, indicating a selected one of the plurality of processing gap configurations; and transmitting a processing gap configuration message, to a transmission/reception point, indicating the selected one of the plurality of processing gap configurations[par 0101-0110, the first request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to start performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information or a measurement gap corresponding to the second measurement gap configuration information. The first request signaling includes at least one of the following a gap pattern identifier expected by the terminal (UE expect/prefer); a gap offset expected by the terminal; a gap timing advance expected by the terminal;].
Response to Arguments
The examiner note the examiner did not go final because claim 16 was not rejected in previous non-final claim rejections.
Si does not disclose all the features of independent claims 1 and 11 or amended independent claims 21 and 25. Specifically, without conceding the merits of the rejection of independent claims 21 and 25 under 35 U.S.C. § 102-and solely to expedite prosecution- Applicant has amended independent claims 21 and 25 to include similar features as independent claims 1 and 11.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the examiner believes under the broadest reasonable interpretation the claims are anticipated by prior art Si.
The Office Action alleges that the second request signaling of Si discloses "transmit a second PG message via the transceiver to the network entity in response to lack of an acceptable response to the first PG message being received," as recited in independent claim 1. Office Action, p. 3 (citing Si " [0112], [0113]). But the cited features of Si are not the same as those recited in independent claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the term lack of an acceptable response is a very broad and generic term that can be given a broad reasonable interpretation. As disclose the in paragraph 0113 of Si the second request in response to the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information found in the first signal shown in paragraph 0102-0110.
Under this language, the UE "transmit[s] a second PG message via the transceiver to the network entity in response to lack of an acceptable response to the first PG message being received," meaning the "second PG message" is "transmit[ted]" based on the UE not receiving an acceptable response to its "first PG message." Si explicitly states that the second request signaling is sent "after the performing signal measurement based on the measurement gap configuration information," and later confirms that "the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement." Si " [0111], [0113] (emphasis added).
The examiner respectfully disagree as stated the term lack of an acceptable response is a very broad and generic term that can be given a broad reasonable interpretation. The examiner disagrees that the second request is sent "after the performing signal measurement based on the measurement gap configuration information. The first request discloses expected measurements such as a gap pattern identifier expected by the terminal (UE expect/prefer); a gap offset expected by the terminal; a gap timing advance expected by the terminal; a gap length scaling factor expected by the terminal;
a gap period scaling factor expected by the terminal; a gap pattern type expected by the terminal as shown in paragraphs 0102-0110,
Paragraph 0113, shows the second request in response to the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information, which shows the measurement is occurring.
The "in response to lack of an acceptable response to the first PG message being received" language, as recited in claim 1, necessitates the "second PG message" to be transmitted before any PRS measurement has occurred, because the UE has not yet obtained a workable processing gap configuration that would allow measurement to proceed, and the "second PG message" exists to continue the negotiation so that the UE can eventually measure PRS.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the applicant claim doesn’t state the time or when the second request is supposed to be sent. Therefore under broadest reasonable interpretation the second request can be transmitted while the measurement is occurring or when the measurement is disclosed. The first request which can include a gap pattern identifier expected by the terminal (UE expect/prefer); a gap offset expected by the terminal; a gap timing advance expected by the terminal; etc as shown Si paragraphs 0102-0110, Therefore the first request can disclosed processing gap that is not workable, hence the reason for the second request to issue a stop command.
Paragraph 0113 shows, “the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information”, this paragraph supports the examiner interpretation the second request can be transmitted when the measurement is disclosed by the first request.
Si's second request signaling is triggered by success (e.g., the measurement was performed, and the terminal is finished and wants to stop), while the "second PG message" recited in claim 1 is "transmit[ted]" "in response to lack of an acceptable response," that is, triggered by the failure to receive an acceptable response, where measurement cannot yet proceed.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the Si second request doesn’t signal success, Paragraph 0113 shows the second request signaling is used to indicate to a network device that the terminal is to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap configuration information.
In an paragraphs 0128 , 0129, For example, one frequency layer corresponds to one group of parameters such as gap pattern ID, gap offset, gap TA, gap length/period scaling factor, and frequency information.
In another optional implementation, if the first request signaling or the second request signaling is associated with the positioning frequency layer, the first request signaling (start signaling) or the second request signaling (stop signaling) is related to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter or signaling is used for controlling start or stop of a measurement gap associated with the positioning frequency layer. If the start or stop signaling is unrelated to the frequency layer, that is, such parameter is used for starting or stopping all measurement gaps
The paragraphs show that the second request is used to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap found in the first request. The reason for the stop is supported by paragraph 0129, where the stop command use in the second signal is used to stop measurements that are unrelated to the frequency layer which corresponds to a gap pattern ID, gap offset, gap TA, gap length/period scaling factor, and frequency information.
Nothing in Si describes the terminal evaluating whether a response to its first request signaling was acceptable and transmitting a follow-up message based on determining it was not. Si 11 [0099]-[0122]. Thus, Si does not disclose at least "transmit a second PG message via the transceiver to the network entity in response to lack of an acceptable response to the first PG message being received," as recited in independent claim 1.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, independent claim 1 is allowable, including but not limited to over Si. Independent claim 11 and amended independent claims 21 and 25 are allowable for at least similar reasons.
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, 22-24, and 26-28 each depend from one of independent claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 11, 21, and 25 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reasons that independent claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 11, 21, and 25 are allowable. Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, 22- 24, and 26-28 also recite allowable features that have not been shown to be disclosed by Si.
The examiner respectfully disagrees as stated the paragraphs 0113, 0128, 0129, show that the second request is used to stop performing signal measurement by using a measurement gap corresponding to the first measurement gap found in the first request. The reason for the stop is supported by paragraph 0129, where the stop command use in the second signal is used to stop measurements that are unrelated to the frequency layer which corresponds to a gap pattern ID, gap offset, gap TA, gap length/period scaling factor, and frequency information.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468