DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on August 23, 2023, is acknowledged.
Cancellation of claims 15-16 and 18-19 has been entered.
Claims 1-14, 17 and 20-24 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 9-13 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0235172 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (SUB); a plurality of sub-pixels (RGB, Fig. 6) located on the base substrate, wherein each of at least part of sub-pixels comprises a light emitting element comprising a light emitting region (Fig. 7); the light emitting element comprises a light emitting functional layer (173), and a first electrode (171) and a second electrode (174) located on two sides of the light emitting functional layer in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate; the first electrode (171) is located between the light emitting functional layer (173) and the base substrate (SUB); the light emitting functional layer (173) comprises a plurality of film layers (Fig. 7); and the second electrode (174) covers the light emitting region of the sub-pixel; and a pixel defining pattern (180) located between the second electrode (174) and the base substrate (SUB) and located on a side, far away from the base substrate, of the first electrode (171), wherein the pixel defining pattern comprises a plurality of first openings (Fig. 7); one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening (Fig. 7); at least a portion of the light emitting element (172) of the sub-pixel is located in the first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (171), wherein the pixel defining pattern (180) further comprises a plurality of second openings (PIT) located between at least part of sub-pixels; and at least one layer of the light emitting functional layer (173) and at least a portion of the second electrode (174) are disconnected at the second opening (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses a display substrate wherein at least one second opening is formed around the light emitting region of at least one sub- pixel (Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses a display substrate wherein a portion, surrounding the second opening, of the second electrode comprises a structure in a closed ring shape.
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses a display substrate wherein the second opening (PIT) surrounding the light emitting region of at least one sub-pixel is of a structure in an unclosed ring shape (Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a display substrate wherein a shape of the light emitting region of at least one sub-pixel comprises a polygon, and the second opening is formed on a side, far away from a center of the light emitting region, of each edge of the polygon (Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses a display substrate wherein a boundary of the second opening comprises a portion extending in a direction intersecting a row direction and a column direction (Figs. 12A-12B).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a display substrate wherein an edge of the second opening comprises a portion extending in a direction parallel to one of the row direction and the column direction (Figs. 12A-12B).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses a display substrate wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first-color sub-pixels (R), a plurality of second-color sub-pixels (B), and a plurality of third-color sub-pixels (G); the plurality of sub-pixels is arranged in a plurality of first sub-pixel sets and a plurality of second sub-pixel sets disposed alternately in a first direction (Fig. 12A); each first sub-pixel set comprises the first-color sub-pixels (R) and the second-color sub-pixels (B) disposed alternately in a second direction, and each second sub-pixel set comprises the third-color sub-pixels (G) arranged in the second direction; and the first direction intersects the second direction (Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 24, Lee discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byun et al. (US 2018/0123078 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Byun discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (100); a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 4G) located on the base substrate, wherein each of at least part of sub-pixels comprises a light emitting element (210) comprising a light emitting region; the light emitting element comprises a light emitting functional layer (210), and a first electrode (180) and a second electrode (220) located on two sides of the light emitting functional layer in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate; the first electrode (180) is located between the light emitting functional layer (210) and the base substrate (100); the light emitting functional layer (210) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0085]); and the second electrode (220) covers the light emitting region of the sub-pixel; and a pixel defining pattern (200b) located between the second electrode (220) and the base substrate (100) and located on a side, far away from the base substrate, of the first electrode (180), wherein the pixel defining pattern (200b) comprises a plurality of first openings; one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening (Fig. 4G); at least a portion of the light emitting element (210) of the sub-pixel is located in the first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (180), wherein the pixel defining pattern (200b) further comprises a plurality of second openings (CH6) located between at least part of sub-pixels; and at least one layer of the light emitting functional layer (210) and at least a portion of the second electrode (220) are disconnected at the second opening (Fig. 4G).
Regarding claim 2, Byun discloses a display substrate wherein at least one isolation portion (175) is disposed within each second opening (CH6); and at least one layer of the light emitting functional layer (210) and at least a portion of the second electrode (220) are disconnected at the isolation portion (Fig. 4G).
Regarding claim 3, Byun discloses a display substrate wherein a gap is formed between an orthographic projection of a partial edge of the isolation portion (175) on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of an edge of the second opening where the isolation portion is located on the base substrate (Fig. 4G).
Regarding claim 4, Byun discloses a display substrate wherein two edges of the light emitting regions (210) of sub-pixels located on two sides of the isolation portion (174) in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the isolation portion have different distances to an edge, exposed by the second opening, of the isolation portion (Fig. 4G).
Regarding claim 7, Byun discloses a display substrate wherein a portion of the second electrode (220) overlapping the light emitting region of the sub-pixel and a portion of the second electrode (220) located at the second opening and far away from the light emitting region are of a continuous structure (Fig. 4G).
Regarding claim 8, Byun discloses a display substrate wherein the second electrode (220) of the sub-pixels located on two sides of the isolation portion (175) in the direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the isolation portion is connected at a position outside the second opening (¶[0053]).
Regarding claim 22, Byun discloses a display substrate further comprising an insulating layer (140) located between the pixel defining pattern (200c) and the base substrate (100), wherein the isolation portion (175) is located on a surface, far away from the base substrate, of the insulating layer (140); and the insulating layer (140) is disposed at other positions than the isolation portion (175) in the second opening (Fig. 4G).
Regarding claim 24, Byun discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 10 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2023/0309348 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (SUB); a plurality of sub-pixels (PX, Fig. 1) located on the base substrate, wherein each of at least part of sub-pixels comprises a light emitting element (LD1) comprising a light emitting region; the light emitting element comprises a light emitting functional layer (LEL), and a first electrode (PE1) and a second electrode (CEL) located on two sides of the light emitting functional layer in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate; the first electrode (PE1) is located between the light emitting functional layer (LEL) and the base substrate (SUB); the light emitting functional layer (LEL) comprises a plurality of film layers (Fig. 2); and the second electrode (CEL) covers the light emitting region of the sub-pixel; and a pixel defining pattern (PDL) located between the second electrode (CEL) and the base substrate (SUB) and located on a side, far away from the base substrate, of the first electrode (PE1), wherein the pixel defining pattern comprises a plurality of first openings (Fig. 2); one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening (Fig. 2); at least a portion of the light emitting element (LEL1) of the sub-pixel is located in the first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (PE1), wherein the pixel defining pattern (PDL) further comprises a plurality of second openings (DOP) located between at least part of sub-pixels; and at least one layer of the light emitting functional layer (LEL) and at least a portion of the second electrode (CEL) are disconnected at the second opening (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses a display substrate wherein at least one isolation portion (support structure supporting dummy element DE) is disposed within each second opening (DOP); and at least one layer of the light emitting functional layer (LEL) and at least a portion of the second electrode (CEL) are disconnected at the isolation portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon discloses a display substrate wherein a gap is formed between an orthographic projection of a partial edge of the isolation portion (support structure supporting dummy element DE) on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of an edge of the second opening where the isolation portion is located on the base substrate (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses a display substrate wherein a portion of the second electrode (CEL) overlapping the light emitting region of the sub-pixel and a portion of the second electrode (CEL) located at the second opening and far away from the light emitting region are of a continuous structure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses a display substrate wherein the second electrode (CEL) of the sub-pixels located on two sides of the isolation portion in the direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the isolation portion is connected at a position outside the second opening (¶[0065], common electrode is electrically connected to all pixels).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon discloses a display substrate wherein a shape of the light emitting region of at least one sub-pixel comprises a polygon, and the second opening is formed on a side, far away from a center of the light emitting region, of each edge of the polygon (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Kwon discloses a display substrate wherein at least one film layer of the light emitting functional layer comprises a charge generation layer (CGL1); the light emitting functional layer comprises a first light emitting layer (OEL1), the charge generation layer (CGL1), and a second light emitting layer (OEL2) that are stacked; and the charge generation layer is located between the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer and disconnected at an edge of the isolation portion (¶[0103], Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 24, Kwon discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 17, 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 14, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 14, and specifically comprising the limitation of the second opening comprises a first opening portion in the unclosed ring shape surrounding at least one first- color sub-pixel; and the first opening portion in the unclosed ring shape has a first fracture portion which is disposed opposite to at least one of an edge and an angle of the first-color sub-pixel wherein the second opening comprises a second opening portion in the unclosed ring shape surrounding at least one second-color sub-pixel; and the second opening portion in the unclosed ring shape has a second fracture portion which is disposed opposite to at least one of an edge and an angle of the second-color sub-pixel, and wherein the second opening comprises a third opening portion in the unclosed ring shape surrounding at least one third-color sub-pixel; and the third opening portion in the unclosed ring shape has a third fracture portion which is disposed opposite to at least one of an edge and an angle of the third-color sub-pixel.
Regarding claim(s) 17, 20 and 21, claims(s) 17, 20 and 21 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 14 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2022/0093721 A1) discloses a display device including a multilayer passivation structure and has an undercut formed in the passivation structure such that a connection between a cathode and an auxiliary wiring is formed inside the undercut.
Hu et al. (CN 113097407 A) discloses an OLED display panel comprising an auxiliary electrode; the upper region of the auxiliary electrode is formed with a through hole; the inner side wall of the through hole is formed with a bottom cavity; and a suspended part set above the bottom cavity; the cathode extends to the bottom cavity through the through hole and is lapped with the auxiliary electrode.
Saeki (JP 2005-197189 A) discloses a display comprising a light emitting layer between a pair of electrode layers, an electrode separating unit and a partition wall having a widening cross-section to surround a light emitting layer so as to overlap a part of the electrode separating unit.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879