DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on March 25, 2026 has been entered.
Claim 1-2, 4-5, and 7-9 are amended.
Claims 1-11 are pending this application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appleford et al (US 2013/0293412 A1) in view of Gunnarsson et al (WO 2020/190198 A1) and Gebhard et al (BKG/RTCM, 2003).
Regarding Claim 1, Appleford teaches a method for acquiring GNSS correction data, using an electronic terminal the method comprising [0013, 0028 for downloading data]:
receiving cell allocation information from a server using an electronic terminal [0013 for receiving GNSS correction information, 0028, 0031].
Appleford fails to explicitly teach the cell allocation information including information about a coverage of the cells of a plurality of cells for allocating GNSS correction data; determining target cells of the plurality of cells using the electronic terminal based on at least the cell allocation information; sending a data acquisition request for acquiring the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells from the electronic terminal to the server; and receiving, using the electronic terminal, the GNSS correction data sent by the server in response to the data acquisition request, the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells.
Gunnarson has a method performed by a target device to obtain positioning assistance data from a location server (abstract) and teaches the cell allocation information including information about a coverage of the cells of a plurality of cells for allocating GNSS correction data [figure 3A 301-304 first logical position (first cell) and second logical position (second cell) with page 11 lines 15-25 for using positioning assistance with server requests and page 23 lines 10-20 for determining serving cell (target cell);
determining target cells of the plurality of cells using the electronic terminal based on at least the cell allocation information [page 10, lines 30-35 for having target device (electronic terminal request positioning assistance data (correction) from location server];
sending a data acquisition request for acquiring the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells from the electronic terminal to the server [page 4, lines 9-14 for mapping data and page 10, lines 30-35 for transmitting (sending) data from target device to server];
and receiving, using the electronic terminal, the GNSS correction data sent by the server in response to the data acquisition request, the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells [page 11, lines 1-15 for gettering positioning data from server serving the target device based on logical position (target cell) with page 23 lines 10-30 for using RTK/GNSS data (positioning data)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the positioning assistance techniques, as disclosed by Appleford, further including the target cell calculations as taught by Gunnarsson for the purpose to enable the location server to take into account the movement of the target device for updating position assistance data (Gunnarsson, page 11, lines 15-25).
Appleford fails to explicitly teach receiving cell allocation information without disclosing a specific position of the electronic terminal to the server, and a privacy of the electronic terminal protected from the server.
Gebhard has an application-level protocol that supports streaming Global Navigation Satellite System (page iii, first paragraph) and teaches receiving cell allocation information without disclosing a specific position of the electronic terminal to the server [page 16, section 5.3, first paragraph for some network-dependent applications it is necessary to send the position (position is not disclosed by default)],
and a privacy of the electronic terminal protected from the server [page 17, Table1, row 12 for determining when client (terminal) sends position information].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the positioning assistance techniques, as disclosed by Appleford, further including the position privacy calculations as taught by Gebhard for the purpose to determine the best data stream to broadcast (Gebhard, page 16, section 5.3, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2, Appleford teaches determining the target cells comprises [0013 for getting GNSS correction information without a dedicated connection, 0019 for handover information, 0028-0031]:
Determining the target cells of a plurality of cells further based on a future position to which the electronic terminal will move [0013 based on movement from one cell to another, 0019].
Regarding Claim 3, Appleford teaches sending an information acquisition request for acquiring the cell allocation information from the electronic terminal to the server [0027 for rover sending/receiving GNSS correction information, and 0028];
and sending the cell allocation information from the server to the electronic terminal in response to the server receiving the information acquisition request [0013, 0028 for downloading data].
Regarding Claim 4, Appleford teaches the target cells comprise at least one of (i) a cell of the plurality of cells to which the electronic terminal will move and (ii) a cell of the plurality of cells that is adjacent to the cell in which the electronic terminal is currently located [0013 for getting GNSS correction information without a dedicated connection and 0019 for handover data].
Regarding Claim 5, Appleford teaches a method sending GNSS correction data from a server to an electronic terminal, the method comprising [0013, 0028 for downloading data]:
sending cell allocation information from the server to the electronic terminal [0014 for using multiple transmit streams for local correction data and 0018].
Appleford fails to explicitly teach the cell allocation information including information about a coverage of the cells a plurality of cells for allocating GNSS correction data; receiving a data acquisition request for acquiring the GNSS correction data corresponding to only target cells a plurality of cells from the electronic terminal; and sending the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells to the electronic terminal in response to the data acquisition request.
Gunnarson has a method performed by a target device to obtain positioning assistance data from a location server (abstract) and teaches the cell allocation information including information about a coverage of the cells a plurality of cells for allocating GNSS correction data [figure 3A 301-304 first logical position (first cell) and second logical position (second cell) with page 11 lines 15-25 for using positioning assistance with server requests and page 23 lines 10-20 for determining serving cell (target cell);
receiving a data acquisition request for acquiring the GNSS correction data corresponding to only target cells a plurality of cells from the electronic terminal [page 11, lines 1-15 for gettering positioning data from server serving the target device based on logical position (target cell) with page 23 lines 10-30 for using RTK/GNSS data (positioning data)]
and sending the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells to the electronic terminal in response to the data acquisition request [page 4, lines 9-14 for mapping data and page 10, lines 30-35 for transmitting (sending) data from target device to server].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the positioning assistance techniques, as disclosed by Appleford, further including the target cell calculations as taught by Gunnarsson for the purpose to enable the location server to take into account the movement of the target device for updating position assistance data (Gunnarsson, page 11, lines 15-25).
Appleford fails to explicitly teach wherein a specific position of the electronic terminal is withheld from the server to protect a privacy of the electronic terminal from the server.
Gebhard has an application-level protocol that supports streaming Global Navigation Satellite System (page iii, first paragraph) and teaches wherein a specific position of the electronic terminal is withheld from the server to protect a privacy of the electronic terminal from the server [page 16, section 5.3, first paragraph for some network-dependent applications it is necessary to send the position (position is not disclosed by default) with page 17, Table1, row 12 for determining when client (terminal) sends position information].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the positioning assistance techniques, as disclosed by Appleford, further including the position privacy calculations as taught by Gebhard for the purpose to determine the best data stream to broadcast (Gebhard, page 16, section 5.3, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 6, Appleford teaches further comprising: receiving an information acquisition request from an electronic terminal for acquiring the cell allocation information [0027 for rover sending/receiving GNSS correction information, and 0028];
and sending the cell allocation information to the electronic terminal in response to the information acquisition request [0013, 0028 for downloading data].
Regarding Claim 7, Appleford teaches the target cells comprise at least one of (i) a cell of the plurality of cells to which the electronic terminal will move and (ii) a cell of the plurality of cells that isadjacent to the cell in which the electronic terminal is currently located in [0013 for getting GNSS correction information without a dedicated connection and 0019 for handover data].
Regarding Claim 8, Appleford teaches an electronic terminal for acquiring GNSS correction data, comprising [0013, 0028 for downloading data]:
a processor configured to:
process cell allocation information received by the electronic terminal from a server [0013 for receiving GNSS correction information 0028, 0031].
Appleford fails to explicitly teach the cell allocation information including information about a coverage of cells of a plurality of cells for allocating GNSS correction data; determine target cells of the plurality of cells based on at least the cell allocation information; cause a data acquisition request to be sent from the electronic terminal to the server, the data acquisition request for acquiring GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells to the server; and process GNSS correction data received by the electronic terminal, sent by the server in response to the data acquisition request, the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells.
Gunnarson has a method performed by a target device to obtain positioning assistance data from a location server (abstract) and teaches the cell allocation information including information about a coverage of cells of a plurality of cells for allocating GNSS correction data [figure 3A 301-304 first logical position (first cell) and second logical position (second cell) with page 11 lines 15-25 for using positioning assistance with server requests and page 23 lines 10-20 for determining serving cell (target cell);
determine target cells of the plurality of cells based on at least the cell allocation information [page 10, lines 30-35 for having target device (electronic terminal request positioning assistance data (correction) from location server];
cause a data acquisition request to be sent from the electronic terminal to the server, the data acquisition request for acquiring GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells to the server [page 4, lines 9-14 for mapping data and page 10, lines 30-35 for transmitting (sending) data from target device to server];
and process GNSS correction data received by the electronic terminal, sent by the server in response to the data acquisition request, the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells [page 11, lines 1-15 for gettering positioning data from server serving the target device based on logical position (target cell) with page 23 lines 10-30 for using RTK/GNSS data (positioning data)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the positioning assistance techniques, as disclosed by Appleford, further including the target cell calculations as taught by Gunnarsson for the purpose to enable the location server to take into account the movement of the target device for updating position assistance data (Gunnarsson, page 11, lines 15-25).
Appleford fails to explicitly teach and the cell allocation information received from the server without disclosing a specific position of the electronic terminal to the server; and a privacy of the electronic terminal protected from the server.
.
Gebhard has an application-level protocol that supports streaming Global Navigation Satellite System (page iii, first paragraph) and teaches and the cell allocation information received from the server without disclosing a specific position of the electronic terminal to the server [page 16, section 5.3, first paragraph for some network-dependent applications it is necessary to send the position (position is not disclosed by default)],
and a privacy of the electronic terminal protected from the server [page 17, Table1, row 12 for determining when client (terminal) sends position information].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the positioning assistance techniques, as disclosed by Appleford, further including the position privacy calculations as taught by Gebhard for the purpose to determine the best data stream to broadcast (Gebhard, page 16, section 5.3, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 9, Appleford teaches a server for sending GNSS correction data, the server device comprising [0013, 0028 for downloading data]:
Cause the server to send cell allocation information to an electronic terminal [0014 for using multiple transmit streams for local correction data and 0018].
Appleford fails to explicitly teach cell allocation information includes information about coverage of cells for allocating GNSS correction data; process a data acquisition request received by the server from the electronic terminal, the data acquisition request for acquiring the GNSS correction data corresponding to only target cells and cause the server to send the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells to the electronic terminal in response to the data acquisition request.
Gunnarson has a method performed by a target device to obtain positioning assistance data from a location server (abstract) and teaches cell allocation information includes information about coverage of cells for allocating GNSS correction data [figure 3A 301-304 first logical position (first cell) and second logical position (second cell) with page 11 lines 15-25 for using positioning assistance with server requests and page 23 lines 10-20 for determining serving cell (target cell);
process a data acquisition request received by the server from the electronic terminal [page 10, lines 30-35 for having target device (electronic terminal request positioning assistance data (correction) from location server];
the data acquisition request for acquiring the GNSS correction data corresponding to only target cells [page 4, lines 9-14 for mapping data and page 10, lines 30-35 for transmitting (sending) data from target device to server];
and cause the server to send the GNSS correction data corresponding to only the target cells to the electronic terminal in response to the data acquisition request [page 11, lines 1-15 for gettering positioning data from server serving the target device based on logical position (target cell) with page 23 lines 10-30 for using RTK/GNSS data (positioning data)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the positioning assistance techniques, as disclosed by Appleford, further including the target cell calculations as taught by Gunnarsson for the purpose to enable the location server to take into account the movement of the target device for updating position assistance data (Gunnarsson, page 11, lines 15-25).
Appleford fails to explicitly teach wherein the data acquisition request does not disclose a specific position of the electronic terminal to the server to protect a privacy of the electronic terminal from the server.
Gebhard has an application-level protocol that supports streaming Global Navigation Satellite System (page iii, first paragraph) and teaches wherein the data acquisition request does not disclose a specific position of the electronic terminal to the server to protect a privacy of the electronic terminal from the server [page 16, section 5.3, first paragraph for some network-dependent applications it is necessary to send the position (position is not disclosed by default) with page 17, Table1, row 12 for determining when client (terminal) sends position information].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the positioning assistance techniques, as disclosed by Appleford, further including the position privacy calculations as taught by Gebhard for the purpose to determine the best data stream to broadcast (Gebhard, page 16, section 5.3, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 10, Appleford teaches a computer program product, comprising: a computer program which, and when executed by a processor, executes the method [0048-0049].
Regarding Claim 11, Appleford teaches a computer program product, comprising: a computer program which, when executed by a processor, executes the method [0048-0049].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but
are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page 8, third paragraph of applicant’s argument, the applicant states none of the references teach without disclosing the position of the terminal. The examiner thanks the applicant for the amendments for clarification: new reference Gebhard teaches an option to disclose or not disclose the position of the terminal [Gebhard, page 17, Table1, row 12 for determining when client (terminal) sends position information].
On page 9, last paragraph of applicant’s argument, the applicant states Appleford and Gunnarsson do not explicitly disclose keeping the privacy of the electronic terminal. The examiner respectfully disagrees: new reference Gebhard teaches that only for some network dependent applications is it necessary to send position of the client (terminal), therefore, position is not automatically sent to the server [Gebhard, page15, 6th paragraph].
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648