DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is pending.
Claim 1 is rejected.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
It is noted that the abstract filed 08/23/2023 exceeds 150 words. Furthermore, abstract, line 1 discloses “The embodiments disclosed herein relates to” (emphasis added).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4 and 6-14 of co-pending Application No. 18472586 (co-pending). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons set forth below.
The present claims require A method for producing a secondary battery material from black mass, comprising: leaching a roasted black mass to separate a lithium (Li) solution and a cake;
producing lithium carbonate (Li2CO3) crystals from the lithium (Li) solution; neutralizing a leaching solution and separating the leaching solution into another lithium (Li) solution and another cake containing Ni, Co, and Mn (NCM cake); feeding the lithium carbonate (Li2CO3) crystals and the another lithium (Li) solution to produce a lithium hydroxide (LiOH).
The co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohde et al., US 2021/0147960 A1 (Rohde) (provided in IDS received on 08/23/2023) in view of Satoshi et al., JP 2012106874 A1 (Satoshi) (provided in IDS received on 04/12/2024) and Byun et al., US 2018/0170763 A1 (Byun) (provided in IDS received on 04/12/2024).
The examiner has provided a machine translation of Satoshi et al., JP 2012106874 A1. The citation of the prior art set forth below refers to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Rohde teaches process for the recovery of transition metal from spent lithium ion batteries containing nickel, wherein said process comprises the steps of (a) heating a lithium containing transition metal oxide material to a temperature in the range of from 400 to 1200° C (reading upon a roasted black mass), (b) treating said heat-treated material with water (reading upon leaching a roasted black mass), (c) treating the solid residue from step (b)with an acid selected from sulfuric acid, hydrochloric acid, nitric acid, methanesulfonic acid, oxalic acid and citric acid (Rohde, Abstract);
by solid-liquid separation an aqueous solution containing , Li2CO3 based on the respective acids employed in step (b) can be obtained. From this solution Li2CO3 with low solubility in water may be precipitated directly or after a concentration by water evaporation (reading upon producing lithium carbonate from the lithium solution) (Rohde, [0050]).
Given that Rohde teaches an identical or essentially identical process and using identical and essentially identical material, i.e., precipitation of Li2CO3 from concentrate, with those of the present invention (specification, [0030]), therefore, it is clear that the Li2CO3 precipitate of Rohde would necessarily be crystals.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Rohde further teaches the optional step (f) includes the precipitation of the transition metals as mixed hydroxides or mixed carbonates, preferably as mixed hydroxides; in cases where nickel and cobalt have been recovered by one of the methods described above (e.g. by hydrogen injection or electrolysis) step (f) serves to precipitate manganese and residual nickel and cobalt if applicable (reading upon separating into another cake containing Ni, Co, and Mn (NCM cake), the solution used for step(f) reads upon a leaching solution) (Rohde, [0087]);
step (f) is performed by the addition of ammonia and sodium hydroxide (i.e., to previously material treated in acid, therefore reading upon neutralizing a leaching solution) (Rohde, [0088]).
Rohde does not explicitly disclose (a) feeding the lithium carbonate (Li2CO3) crystals to produce a lithium hydroxide (LiOH); or (b) separating the leaching solution into another lithium (Li) solution and feed the another lithium (Li) solution to produce a lithium hydroxide (LiOH).
With respect to the difference (a), Satoshi teaches recovery of valuable metals from the lithium ion battery, such as lithium (Satoshi, page 2, 3rd-4th paragraphs). Satoshi specifically teaches lithium present in a lithium ion battery or during a valuable metal recovery process is recovered as lithium carbonate, which is a lithium carbonate. Lithium carbonate is refined into a lithium hydroxide crystal (LiOH·nH2O) (Satoshi, page 2, 4th paragraph).
As Satoshi expressly teaches, lithium carbonate is refined into a lithium hydroxide crystal (LiOH·nH2O) by a wet method in order to be used as, for example, a battery material (such as a positive electrode active material of a lithium ion battery) (Satoshi, page 2, 4th paragraph).
Satoshi is analogous art as Satoshi is drawn to recovery of valuable metals from the lithium ion battery.
In light of the motivation of refining lithium carbonate into a lithium hydroxide, as taught by Satoshi, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to refine the lithium carbonate of Rohde into lithium hydroxide (reading upon LiOH), in order to be used as a battery material, such as a positive electrode active material of a lithium ion battery, thereby arrive at the claimed limitation.
With respect to the difference (b), Byun teaches recovering lithium from waste solution of a waste lithium battery (Byun, [0007]). Byun specifically teaches…
As Byun expressly teaches, the lithium carbonate prepared through the above-described method (steps 1 to 7, S10 to S70), when performing the above-described method once, a solid lithium carbonate including 60 wt % to 80 wt % of lithium relative to the lithium content of a lithium waste solution of step 1 may be prepared, and if the above method is continuously performed and stabilized, only 3 wt % to 8 wt % of lithium relative to the lithium content of the lithium waste solution in step 1 can be disposed without being used (Byun, [0153]).
Byun is analogous art as Byun is drawn to recovering lithium from waste solution of a waste lithium battery.
In light of the motivation of continuously performing lithium carbonate formation from a lithium waste solution, as taught by Byun, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the lithium carbonate formation technique continuously to the leaching solution after precipitation of Mn, Ni Co of Rohde and Satoshi, prior lithium hydroxide formation from the produced lithium carbonate, to further recover lithium, e.g., only 3 wt % to 8 wt % of lithium relative to the lithium content of the lithium waste solution can be disposed without being used, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Furthermore/However, the recitation in the claims that the method is “for producing a secondary battery material from black mass” is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Rohde in view of Satoshi and Byun teaches the method as presently claimed, it is clear that the method of Rohde in view of Satoshi and Byun would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. for producing a secondary battery material from black mass, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732