DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 1/9/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 1 is allowable. This is not found persuasive because: see office action below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Knappe et al (US 5,985,146).
Knappe teaches the bypass control sleeve as claimed. It has steep face and the ratio of protrusion width to valley width is about 1:1, as can be seen in the figure as in claims 1 and 3, and would radially deflect feed flow as in claim 7.
Claim 2: protrusions are wrapped spirally – see fig. 3.
Claim 4: Valleys have the same diameter.
Claim 6: asymmetric protrusions – see claims 18 and 19 – random distribution and size would make them asymmetric.
Claim 10: installed in housing – se the figure 2.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knappe et al (US 5,985,146).
Claims 8 and 9: depth of valleys and pitch of the peaks ( which Knappe does not teach) provide the fluid flow path, which can be designed and optimized by a POSITA for the required bypass flow, and is not patentable.
Claims 11 and 12 recite the clearance between the protrusions and the housing wall, which Knappe does not teach, but teaches about the space and the close tolerance for easy installation and controlled bypass flow (Summary of invention). This tolerance required to fit the cartridge in the housing and to control the flow requirement can be designed and optimized by a POSITA.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Marchke, (US 8,940,168).
Marchke teaches (fig. 4, col. 6, lines 33-57)) the axial bypass seal sleeve with concave protrusions as claimed. They are also asymmetric because of the slant. About the concave shape, see col. 6 lies 4-9, curvilinear shape to avoid corners and creases. Avoiding creases in the angular protrusions would make the leading and lagging corners “concave curved.” Wrapped circumferentially as claimed, and would radially deflect the flow. Module with housing/pressure vessel and the sleeve around the module is see in the figure 4. Valleys (210) between protrusions have constant diameter.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777